id86
post Feb 15 2007, 06:24 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(matcatzz @ Feb 15 2007, 06:13 PM)
Hmmm...

For the sound card HSD,
1st time I tried the normal double sided tape, cant work, it droped...  sad.gif

2nd time I tried the normal double sided tape with cooling gel, cant work still, drop after heat up...  vmad.gif

3rd and last time I tried, I went to car accessory shop, bought the bouble sided tape which they used to tape the door visor, yea!! and also added cooling gel, then it works!! lolz!!  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

For the fan card,

I just drilled 2 holes and screwed it loo...  nod.gif  nod.gif
only two screws?so though shocking.gif

maybe can try this mod also.clean and tidy.i like it thumbup.gif

maybe you can start business to mod the fan cards laugh.gif
matcatzz
post Feb 15 2007, 06:36 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(id86 @ Feb 15 2007, 06:24 PM)
only two screws?so though shocking.gif

maybe can try this mod also.clean and tidy.i like it thumbup.gif

maybe you can start business to mod the fan cards laugh.gif
Yo bro, seriously Ive thought about it b4, but... Hehe, no ler, no model, no raputation, no stock also, hehe...
id86
post Feb 15 2007, 06:53 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(matcatzz @ Feb 15 2007, 06:36 PM)
Yo bro, seriously Ive thought about it b4, but... Hehe, no ler, no model, no raputation, no stock also, hehe...
no patent also since you copy the idea from Vantec fan tongue.gif

but you had made a good job.keep it up thumbup.gif
kidmad
post Feb 15 2007, 11:55 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 15 2007, 02:55 PM)
wahhahahahahah.....no u guys know the POWAAAAAHHH of the darkside!!! wakkakakaka
i used to run 1x80mm Delta FFB and 1x120mm Delta FFB in my case...even with my room door closed i can still hear my PC from downstairs...hehehhehe.

wat i did was i made a 12v/5v switch to help silence the fan when i need to sleep.... but when im fully awake...so are the fans flex.gif

out of curiosity...have u guys tried running the windstorm on 5v? does it work?

for FFBs some do but most wont. my 80mm did...but the motor would be clicking away..... as for 120mm... i have 4 120mm FFBs and only 1 will work on 5v.

but on 7v...they ALL work.
edit by mod: sales content deleted.  bruce.gif  bruce.gif  bruce.gif
madman mind teaching me hw u make a 12v/5v switch. aint no engineering student. lol. the other alternative is to get the fan controller from vcool later on. else i gonna face dis factory machine for a long long time.
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2007, 02:07 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(kidmad @ Feb 15 2007, 11:55 PM)
madman mind teaching me hw u make a 12v/5v switch. aint no engineering student. lol. the other alternative is to get the fan controller from vcool later on. else i gonna face dis factory machine for a long long time.
DO NOT use ANY fan controllers for ur windstorm or FFBs... ESPECIALLY FFBs.. if u do that...u might as well just burn ur money with a lighter. much quicker and much less painless tongue.gif

not unless u make the fan controller urself and made sure it can support uber high amperes. and i dont think its easy to make what with sourcing for the parts and all.

currently there are NO fan controllers in the market that can officially support the high amperes of the FFBs such as the FFB1212EHE (3.0A). even the ones in sidewinder computers wont recommend it. most fan controllers are meant for normal fans.. those that are around 1.0A and below.

as for the switch...its very easy...i oso not engineering student tongue.gif and when i made the switches... i had ZERO soldering knowledge. i used these pictures as a guide for the switches.

12v / 5v Switch

12v / 7v Switch

there are more switch configurations but i wanted simple ones. if ur interested to find out... head on over to CLIFF'S FANBUS which is where i got those pictures.

EDIT: forgot to mention.... the SPDT switch in the picture.. its basically and on-off-on switch. which is what i asked for when i went to the electronics shop biggrin.gif

also forgot to mention that before u start making the switch, better make sure that ur fan can start from standstill at 5v. and check if it can start at standstill at 7v as well. so that u can know how low u want the fan to go and which one would actually work for u

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Feb 16 2007, 02:13 AM
E-J@1
post Mar 11 2007, 09:23 PM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

anyone using this fan blink.gif

is this for real shocking.gif or just another marketing strategy whistling.gif

Thermaltake A2368 Product Link

Max. Air Flow: 78 CFM
Noise: 21 dBA
cablesguy
post Mar 11 2007, 11:23 PM

1,597 posts

that looks alot like the BTVX fans. altho thats orange but ths is red...if its the same fan...its has a decent cfm/noise ratio
treason
post Mar 14 2007, 10:44 AM

190 posts

hey guys! looking for a 92mm fan..hehehe any recommendations? anyone knows where to find vizo blue green uv led fan(92mm)...thanks!
E-J@1
post Mar 14 2007, 11:16 AM

Capital Eâ„¢
2,603 posts

QUOTE(treason @ Mar 14 2007, 10:44 AM)
hey guys! looking for a 92mm fan..hehehe any recommendations? anyone knows where to find vizo blue green uv led fan(92mm)...thanks!
Lowyat Plaza --> lots of shops selling it
Forum --> in bulk order, PM bombman icon_rolleyes.gif
seanl
post Mar 14 2007, 05:40 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Mar 11 2007, 09:23 PM)
anyone using this fan blink.gif

is this for real shocking.gif or just another marketing strategy whistling.gif

Thermaltake A2368 Product Link
[Max. Air Flow: 78 CFM
Noise: 21 dBA
that airflow/noise ratio cant be right....can it?????
mADmAN
post Mar 14 2007, 05:43 PM

10,530 posts

it is known that thermaltake has a tendency of bullshitting with their cfm/dba rates.
Doom
post Mar 14 2007, 08:56 PM

Doom"s here >_<"
4,496 posts

QUOTE(E-J@1 @ Mar 14 2007, 11:16 AM)
Lowyat Plaza --> lots of shops selling it
Forum --> in bulk order, PM bombman icon_rolleyes.gif
i thought there's only 12cm fan for VIZO that' selling at the shop..

QUOTE(seanl @ Mar 14 2007, 05:40 PM)
that airflow/noise ratio cant be right....can it?????
it is not as i have used many thermaltake fan it has never being that quiet....

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 14 2007, 05:43 PM)
it is known that thermaltake has a tendency of bullshitting with their cfm/dba rates.
yah very right ... even the most quiet fan also not that quiet ..
cablesguy
post Mar 14 2007, 08:57 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 14 2007, 05:43 PM)
dont quote me onn this, but iinm i read somewhere that they measure dba frm like 10 feet away, if thats true, even the the delta's will sound acceptable
nazerry
post Mar 15 2007, 01:59 AM

274 posts

any suggestion on 40mm fan? what brand should i choose or does it make no different?
TSianho
post Mar 15 2007, 02:29 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(cablesguy @ Mar 14 2007, 08:57 PM)
dont quote me onn this, but iinm i read somewhere that they measure dba frm like 10 feet away, if thats true, even the the delta's will sound acceptable
LOL! Delta can be heard even from the next door house lar. I haf friends that got complains from neighbours about the whining jet engine sound coming from their servers at home.
cablesguy
post Mar 15 2007, 02:48 AM

1,597 posts

wahlao, what delta is that....anyway since talking abt delta's what u guyz think abt this 60mm delta...specs wise looks pretty decent...or dont tell me delta also bs abt specs

Specifications: 60x60x10mm, 13.42 CFM @ 3000 RPM, 24.5 dBA, 0.84 watts, 0.07 amps, Maximum Air Pressure 1.65 mm H²O, 12v DC, 3 pin Molex header connector.

pix frm sidewinder
mADmAN
post Mar 15 2007, 10:24 AM

10,530 posts

@cablesguy
i think that delta is the fan that comes with the stock heatsink for AMD64 s754 n s939. it does look like it
cablesguy
post Mar 15 2007, 06:31 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 15 2007, 10:24 AM)
@cablesguy
i think that delta is the fan that comes with the stock heatsink for AMD64 s754 n s939. it does look like it
any chance u tried the fan...coz the dba looks ok
mADmAN
post Mar 15 2007, 06:59 PM

10,530 posts

of course i did.... im using it in my HTPC. and used to run it in my main rig oso. its good enough to keep my S64 2500+ and A64 2800+ cool.

noise wise... as typical as a stock AMD cooler lor

EDIT: wait a minute...something just occured to me....is the s754 & s939 AMD cooler fans 60mm or 70mm? if im not mistaken theyre 70mm right? if theyre 70mm then most likely the 60mm cablesguy posted never used before laugh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Mar 15 2007, 07:03 PM
cablesguy
post Mar 16 2007, 06:00 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 15 2007, 06:59 PM)
of course i did.... im using it in my HTPC. and used to run it in my main rig oso. its good enough to keep my S64 2500+ and A64 2800+ cool.

noise wise... as typical as a stock AMD cooler lor

EDIT: wait a minute...something just occured to me....is the s754 & s939 AMD cooler fans 60mm or 70mm? if im not mistaken theyre 70mm right? if theyre 70mm then most likely the 60mm cablesguy posted never used before laugh.gif
np laugh.gif ...would be good if someone tried that...anyway some info for those looking for silent fans, managed to test 2 different type of 120mm fans, the Scythe S-Flex F and the Yate Loon D12SM-12

The scythe feels very solid and heavy for a 25mm thick fan whereas the yate loons are very light, but both pushed a decent amount of air, listening less than a feet away +-, unless my ear are playing tricks, abt the only sound i hear are the air being pushed

Some info and Specs:

Scythe S-Flex
Model: SFF21F
Fan Size: 120mm x 120mm x 25mm
Speed: 1600 RPM
Airflow: 63.7 CFM
Noise: 28.0 dBA
Bearing: S-FDB* (Sony patent pending Fluid Dynamic Bearing)
Voltage: 12 V
Current: .2 Amp
Fan Life: 150,000 hours
Connector: 3pin (length: 30cm) with 3pin to 4pin connector w/ separate RPM
Fan Screws: 4 fan screws included
*S-FLEX(tm) is registered trademark of SONY Corp.

Yate Loon
Model: D12SM-12
Fan Size: 120mm x 120mm x 25mm
Speed: 1650 +/- 10% RPM
Airflow: 70.5 CFM
Noise: 33.0 dBA
Bearing: Sleeve
Voltage: 12 V
Current: .3 Amp Max
Fan Life: 30,000 hours
Connector: 3pin and 4pin pass-through connector

125 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top