Digital Door Lock, Recommendations?

TSpanda-man
post Feb 16 2016, 09:18 AM, updated 10y ago

2,691 posts

hi all,

considering to buy a digital door lock as so troublesome with many keys and carrying barang and managing baby etc. rclxub.gif at least 1 door less to cari kunci and open.

any recommendations? i saw got quite a few brands out there with the most common being Samsung. hoping to get one around RM600-800 only though. a bit lower budget, but as long as it works. no need the super canggih high end super tough etc one. if pencuri wanna masuk, i dont think this normal lock can stop them anyhow yawn.gif .. thanks.
Mr.Docter
post Feb 16 2016, 09:25 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

*park*
langstrasse
post Feb 16 2016, 09:28 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,589 posts

What happens when the power supply to the door is lost ? i.e. during a blackout
TSpanda-man
post Feb 16 2016, 09:30 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Feb 16 2016, 09:28 AM)
door lock to my knowledge is battery operated. so no link to the power supply. and apparently battery can last like 1-2 years depending on usage and got like low battery alarm thing.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Feb 16 2016, 09:30 AM
Zot
post Feb 16 2016, 09:33 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(panda-man @ Feb 16 2016, 09:18 AM)
hi all,

considering to buy a digital door lock as so troublesome with many keys and carrying barang and managing baby etc.  rclxub.gif at least 1 door less to cari kunci and open.

any recommendations? i saw got quite a few brands out there with the most common being Samsung. hoping to get one around RM600-800 only though. a bit lower budget, but as long as it works. no need the super canggih high end super tough etc one. if pencuri wanna masuk, i dont think this normal lock can stop them anyhow  yawn.gif .. thanks.
I think they are not expensive really. I think in the US the price is about 100~200. Maybe got people sell in Lelong imported from China. It is about your price and even use thumb print, perhaps. The Samsung I remember was about RM2000.

I would recommend not using number combination because the code button will wear off and can be easily guessed.

Another option is to use door knob follow standard. You can buy key which is registered type. This key cannot be duplicated because it is not sold. Then the knob you can change and use the same key for door. This way you carry only one key. How ever, each key hole is around RM300 also sad.gif
idoblu
post Feb 16 2016, 09:33 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

you want convenience have to go all the way and install one for your grill, one for your main door.

dont tell me, you want to fish out your keys to open your grills etc then use electronic lock for main door
Zot
post Feb 16 2016, 09:35 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(langstrasse @ Feb 16 2016, 09:28 AM)
They normally use battery. If the battery drained out, you can temporarily hold a 9V battery to a contact point externally usually beneath the knob
Zot
post Feb 16 2016, 09:44 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 16 2016, 09:33 AM)
you want convenience have to go all the way and install one for your grill, one for your main door.

dont tell me, you want to fish out your keys to open your grills etc then use electronic lock for main door
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Anyway, do not leave any spare key in your house. Once a thief enter the house, they can steal everything one they have the key to the main door and grill. It will be harder for the thief to tkae your dinner table through the roof tongue.gif
idoblu
post Feb 16 2016, 09:46 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 16 2016, 09:44 AM)
laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Anyway, do not leave any spare key in your house. Once a thief enter the house, they can steal everything one they have the key to the main door and grill. It will be harder for the thief to tkae your dinner table through the roof  tongue.gif
my doors all can be lock and unlock from the inside. that means no need keys also can open from the inside
TSpanda-man
post Feb 16 2016, 09:49 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 16 2016, 09:33 AM)
I think they are not expensive really. I think in the US the price is about 100~200. Maybe got people sell in Lelong imported from China. It is about your price and even use thumb print, perhaps. The Samsung I remember was about RM2000.

I would recommend not using number combination because the code button will wear off and can be easily guessed.

Another option is to use door knob follow standard. You can buy key which is registered type. This key cannot be duplicated because it is not sold. Then the knob you can change and use the same key for door. This way you carry only one key. How ever, each key hole is around RM300 also  sad.gif
i think the number or key card both ok. i thought the number ones mostly using touchpad and not physical number? the worry abotu the lelong ones are warranty. would prefer to shop at proper store, but will consider it if can get from US so cheap maybe will daigou it from amazon.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 16 2016, 09:33 AM)

well for the grill wont lock all the time, i live in apartment so wont be too obvious i go in and out of the place. just close the gate. sometimes go to the pool, or throw rubbish or just go out sekejap then dont need to lock. but main thing im interested is the autolock that most of them have. then just masuk and dont need to put down everyhting then go back and lock the door. forgot to lock the door several times already doh.gif barang + crazy son running around hahaha.

idoblu
post Feb 16 2016, 09:55 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 18 2020, 08:42 AM
Zot
post Feb 16 2016, 09:56 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Feb 16 2016, 09:46 AM)
my doors all can be lock and unlock from the inside. that means no need keys also can open from the inside
The thief can easily enter the house through roof which is not even nailed mostly. People normally put grill on the ceiling access door but the ceiling itself be easily break.

So your house is not secure in that sense..... and my house too .... Yes, the main door need no key from inside and I don't even have grill on main door. wink.gif
TSpanda-man
post Feb 16 2016, 10:13 AM

2,691 posts

i also wanna get a digital lock in case my keys kena curi, then at least they cannot simply just walk into my place and unlock the door. cant find the news article but like the lady got her bag snatched and then the robber just went to her house and robbed them. just walk in and used the keys. so easy. doh.gif i guess address is from IC or letters or something. yawn.gif

idoblu
post Feb 16 2016, 10:49 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 16 2016, 09:56 AM)
The thief can easily enter the house through roof which is not even nailed mostly. People normally put grill on the ceiling access door but the ceiling itself be easily break.

So your house is not secure in that sense..... and my house too .... Yes, the main door need no key from inside and I don't even have grill on main door.  wink.gif
i dont have grills myself. my roof is concrete slab, dont think anyone can get thru that biggrin.gif

tutuyao
post Feb 16 2016, 11:54 AM

noob
876 posts

http://www.samsunglock.com.my

all out of your budget TS
TSpanda-man
post Feb 16 2016, 01:26 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(tutuyao @ Feb 16 2016, 11:54 AM)
http://www.samsunglock.com.my

all out of your budget TS
am considering this one.

Samsung SHS-2920 only RM438 on Lazada. Will see if normal shop got stock or not. these ones from overseas all dont got warranty hmm.gif
http://www.lazada.com.my/samsung-shs-2920-...83533.html?mp=1
aerokhart
post Feb 26 2016, 02:31 PM

89 posts

getting is 1 issue...how about the installation of the lock...is it DIY?
telur
post Feb 26 2016, 11:04 PM

335 posts

Make sure you check the requirement 1st before u buy. For example minimum thickness of your door . Most models require thickness of 40mm above And also your hole of the current door if u r using old one .
Kiding
post Feb 27 2016, 01:24 PM

1,135 posts

I plan to get Schlage Connect Camelot Touchscreen Deadbolt w/ Built-In Alarm, it is z-wave digital lock, if you have home automatio, it can automatically unlock when a person reach home. Schlage is a well known lock in USA, the lock meets ANSI Grade 1 Highest Residential Security.

Another one that also pretty good is Gateman F10, it has fingerprint unlock which is pretty useful too

This post has been edited by Kiding: Feb 27 2016, 01:27 PM
tropicanagolf
post Feb 28 2016, 01:40 AM

19 posts

I have a deadbolt installed on the inside for when I am in because my house has no grills. This tech is for convenience not security.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:49 PM