4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Blur windscreen after applying watermark removal, Ask for solution

TSleeweixian88
post Feb 9 2016, 06:04 PM, updated 10y ago

Hello Sifus,

I have purchased a watermark removal from shopping centre last week and DIY to remove the watermarks on windscreeen. I have also applied Rain X after the cleaning.

The windscreen looks fine from outside. But, it is blur (wavy look, e.g. defect film) from inside and affecting my vision.

May I know what caused this? And, how to solve this??

The photo with timestamp at 2100 is taken from inside, the 2059 is taken from outside. The quality is not that good, I will upload the day time photos tomorrow.

This post has been edited by leeweixian88: Feb 9 2016, 09:55 PM
DeJaV00
post Feb 9 2016, 06:07 PM

45 posts

picture please
magnesium
post Feb 9 2016, 06:22 PM

1,130 posts

Picture will be clearer.
lifeless_creature
post Feb 9 2016, 08:23 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

to check if ur windscreen is caused by outside or inside, use a damp cloth to wipe inside, if it is still blurry, that means it is from outside.

outside wise, either ur watermark removal liquid or the rain x u didnt buff off properly. use a clean dry cloth after its been washed n rebuff again.
silverwave
post Feb 9 2016, 09:34 PM

4,082 posts

is it the rainbow kind of blurness and quite irritating at night?
fireballs
post Feb 9 2016, 09:38 PM

5,650 posts

dont use rainx
TSleeweixian88
post Feb 9 2016, 09:38 PM

It works fine with the side mirrors and side windows, except the front windscreen. As far, I have not applied on the rear windscreen. I will upload the photos tomorrow as the photo quality is not good at night.

@lifeless_creature, it is definitely not from internal. It has not issue before using the WM removal. I washed the glass again with car shampoo, and cleaned with WM removal. Unfortunately, it doesn't work.

Let me be the first to cast the stone to gather the ideas that might caused the problem. Would it possible that the windscreen coming with a coating, and the WM removal has damaged it?

P/S: My car is the latest model of Toyota Vios.
TSleeweixian88
post Feb 9 2016, 09:42 PM

QUOTE(silverwave @ Feb 9 2016, 09:34 PM)
is it the rainbow kind of blurness and quite irritating at night?
No, not because of light refraction. It looks wavy. Horizontal lines across the windscreen. It irritates regardless day time or night time.
TSleeweixian88
post Feb 9 2016, 09:45 PM

QUOTE(fireballs @ Feb 9 2016, 09:38 PM)
dont use rainx
I have re-washed the windscreen with car shampoo and WM removal. Not using Rain X this time round. No improvement at all sad.gif
netmatrix
post Feb 9 2016, 09:59 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

My old car windscreeen i buff with autosol. hahaha. Damn shiny.
kww
post Feb 9 2016, 10:54 PM

320 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 09:38 PM)
It works fine with the side mirrors and side windows, except the front windscreen. As far, I have not applied on the rear windscreen. I will upload the photos tomorrow as the photo quality is not good at night.

@lifeless_creature, it is definitely not from internal. It has not issue before using the WM removal. I washed the glass again with car shampoo, and cleaned with WM removal. Unfortunately, it doesn't work.

Let me be the first to cast the stone to gather the ideas that might caused the problem. Would it possible that the windscreen coming with a coating, and the WM removal has damaged it?

Is the watermark removal contain ammonia or asid? What brand?
lifeless_creature
post Feb 9 2016, 11:11 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 09:38 PM)

If it is not from the inside, then its from the outside; improper buffing of rainX will cause ur windscreen to have the hazziness/blur, as well as whatever the 'watermark removal' product you used earlier. Certain products has properties which we cannot wash away with just shampoo/water, therefore even after you have washed with shampoo, the "thing" will still be there...
TSleeweixian88
post Feb 9 2016, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(kww @ Feb 9 2016, 10:54 PM)
Is the watermark removal contain ammonia or asid? What brand?
Would it be sensitive if I am posting the brand name here? The product is Getf1 watermark removal. I believe it is acidic based, and does not contain ammonia (I think I saw this on the packaging).

P/S: I am not saying the product is not good. In fact, it works well on my side mirrors and side windows. My windscreen might be a special case that it might not compatible with the product.
fireballs
post Feb 10 2016, 12:58 AM

5,650 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 09:45 PM)
I have re-washed the windscreen with car shampoo and WM removal. Not using Rain X this time round. No improvement at all sad.gif
Try use car polish. Yes gerf1 canuba is a good one. Else any brand would do.

Actually just use car polish would clean up everything. Dont use rainx anymore.
unitron
post Feb 10 2016, 08:46 AM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 11:14 PM)
Would it be sensitive if I am posting the brand name here? The product is Getf1 watermark removal. I believe it is acidic based, and does not contain ammonia (I think I saw this on the packaging).

P/S: I am not saying the product is not good. In fact, it works well on my side mirrors and side windows. My windscreen might be a special case that it might not compatible with the product.
Since it was fine before your watermark removal + rain-X application.
Definitely one or the other is causing the problem.

Improper buffing of Rain-X can cause a hazy appearance, and just washing will not get the excess off.
But I mostly suspect the watermark remover... maybe it has also etched the windscreen glass (don't know how much you applied and how long it was left on)

If that's the case (glass etched) only solution is to change the windscreen to a new one.
TSleeweixian88
post Feb 10 2016, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(unitron @ Feb 10 2016, 08:46 AM)
Since it was fine before your watermark removal + rain-X application.
Definitely one or the other is causing the problem.

Improper buffing of Rain-X can cause a hazy appearance, and just washing will not get the excess off.
But I mostly suspect the watermark remover... maybe it has also etched the windscreen glass (don't know how much you applied and how long it was left on)

If that's the case (glass etched) only solution is to change the windscreen to a new one.
I am also highly suspect the WM removal causing the blur. sad.gif That is the worst scenario and I am afraid of - etching windscreen
silverwave
post Feb 10 2016, 10:37 AM

4,082 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 11:14 PM)

I think I had the same issue, used that brand as well. I took it to the tint shop but after removing the tint layer it was the glass.

Thrust
post Feb 10 2016, 10:39 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,761 posts

Use soap to wash off the remaining residue of WM removal. It should be clear.

If not, I suspect your window tint is causing the problem. As I know, cheap tint will have a blurry look to it.
Quazacolt
post Feb 10 2016, 10:54 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 06:04 PM)
Hello Sifus,

I have purchased a watermark removal from shopping centre last week and DIY to remove the watermarks on windscreeen. I have also applied Rain X after the cleaning.

The windscreen looks fine from outside. But, it is blur (wavy look, e.g. defect film) from inside and affecting my vision.

May I know what caused this? And, how to solve this??

The photo with timestamp at 2100 is taken from inside, the 2059 is taken from outside. The quality is not that good, I will upload the day time photos tomorrow.
as per rain x bottle instructions, your windscreen will haze.

if you cannot deal with the hazing until next rain (i'd prefer to just let it sit so the product will etch towards the windscreen for longer periods) then you may wipe it off via damp paper towel/cloth
Quazacolt
post Feb 10 2016, 10:55 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(leeweixian88 @ Feb 9 2016, 09:45 PM)
assuming what you mention is true, then it is not caused by rain x.

if that is the case, your watermark removal product marred your windscreen. good luck polishing it back, it could be even worse.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:50 AM