AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion

kkthen
post Jun 20 2020, 02:32 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylum88 @ Jun 20 2020, 12:51 PM)
Hi sifu, after doing some research and review. I have decided to get the Dali Oberon 5 LR for my living room, center and subwoofer will get later due to budget constraint for the moment.
please recommend me an avr to pair with it . This will be my 1st set of speaker so ill open to Any suggestion besides dali.
Marantz SR7013 very good for beginner. Audyssey auto sound calibration is easy to use.
kkthen
post Jun 20 2020, 03:39 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Jerrylum88 @ Jun 20 2020, 03:24 PM)
Bro, that was way out of my budget. I want something around 3k. Its just a small setup for my living room
Increase your budget get marantz SR5014 or denon 2600 . This is 2020 year latest model. But this is entry level only. Don't expect too much.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Jun 20 2020, 03:48 PM
kkthen
post Jun 23 2020, 02:51 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Jun 23 2020, 01:45 PM)
Hello all sifu, may I get your recommendation for receiver & speaker combo with Dolby Atmos for a budget of RM5k maybe max 6k? I had been looking around Onkyo (read many HDMI/ quality failure issue so I am a bit worried), Denon, Yamaha that seem to fit my budget. I want to replace my Yamaha YSP 3300 soundbar. due to the disappointing surround sound I use it primary for movie, gaming and occasionally music through spotify/tidal. I saw from Style Laser seem to be selling quite good price with combo set but I am not sure just too many options available in the market

https://shopee.com.my/Denon-AVR-S750H-Onkyo...4175.3935883658
https://shopee.com.my/Denon-Jamo-ELAC-Home-...4175.5616679702
you need to find at least 5.1.2 AVR for atmos . second one Denon AVR-X250BT only 5.1. first one Denon-AVR-S750H can play atmos .
kkthen
post Jun 24 2020, 10:04 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Jun 23 2020, 11:07 PM)
Hello sifus,

Been researching during the MCO to build up a 7.1 home theatre with the following selections. Haven't purchased anything yet, just been reading around and surveying prices on the net. Plan to drive the front stage with an amplifier and let the integrated receiver power the rest. Do comment if there is something better or lacking with my combinations. Thanks in advance. Next step is to do a .4 for Dolby Atmos, but that will be the last resort as the wiring work going behind walls puts me off.

Receiver: Denon AVR-X6700H
Amplifier: Emotiva XPA-3 Gen3
Subwoofer: SVS SB-4000
Front Channel: SVS Prime Pinnacle
Center Channel: Klipsch RP-404C
LR Channel: Klipsch RP-500M
Back Channel: SVS Prime Bookshelf
since you like SVS front speaker , why don't you using all speaker in same model & same brand. you can get consistent sound & same characteristic from every channel. Imagine one racer car come from left to right. Car engine sound will change from left to center , & change again form center to right , because your front & center channel is different brand speaker.
kkthen
post Jun 24 2020, 10:45 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Jun 24 2020, 10:20 AM)
Thanks for your input. Chose the Klipsch center speaker cos it's the only one with a height less than 6 inches in order to fit my tv rack. Had different brands for surround speakers cos I thought it wouldn't matter and would like to experiment on these 2 brands. Do they really sound that different? Sorry for being a noob here, never really experienced surround sound with a proper setup before. Just HT in a box.
Normally, We recommend Front & center channel same series . Surround & ceiling channel can be same series different models from front channel, but better same brand as front channel. To achieve consistent sound. We also try to use same series speaker cable for front & center channel . Off course , surround speaker cable can be cheaper but also need same series for all surround channel.
kkthen
post Jun 24 2020, 11:58 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Jun 24 2020, 11:19 AM)
is it true that Marantz output better music quality compare to Denon? perhaps sifu that experience with the 2 AVR can shed some light
Normally Marantz sound more quiet & warmer than denon. . Denon got more exciting sound got cooler sound.

kkthen
post Jun 24 2020, 03:14 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(potachan @ Jun 24 2020, 02:11 PM)
Exciting sound make it more suitable for movie? Like pew pew booomm ?  drool.gif
Both marantz & denon are good at movie & music. Their different characteristic aim for different taste of people. Nothing wrong for exciting sound or Warmer sound when playback Celion Dion concert. smile.gif
kkthen
post Jul 2 2020, 11:59 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Jul 2 2020, 11:25 AM)
after some searching I find that Elac Debut 2.0 speakers would suit my budget the test. I am considering a 5.1.2 setup. A few doubts, should i get the same 6.2 for front and surround since I am thinking a lesser model 5.2 would be ok? and what do you think of the subwoofer?

Front - Elac Debut 2.0 B6.2
Surround - Elac Debut 2.0 B5.2
Center - ELAC Debut 2.0 A4.2 Atmos
Sub -Elac Debut 2.0 SUB3010 10" or ELAC Debut 2.0 S10.2 10" *** any idea how these 2 compare?
sub3010 is more powerful than s10.2, So get the one more powerful.
kkthen
post Jul 2 2020, 01:41 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Jul 2 2020, 12:52 PM)
Thanks mate, can i get also your opinion about what you think about front LR 6.2 to pair with surround 5.2?
Front & surround is good combination. Do you use ceiling speaker Or upfiring speaker for atmos surround? A42 only good for upfiring. If you want to install ceiling speaker, you should consider another pairs of 5.2
kkthen
post Jul 2 2020, 02:19 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Jul 2 2020, 01:47 PM)
I have a thought about that, I am thinking at upfiring Atmos speaker A42. If the receiver can support, perhaps 5.1.4 would be a better option? I read that upfiring Atmos effect isn't as strong as celing based Atmos speaker. I am waiting for the new Denon X2700 receiver, but looking at the specification I have no idea if it can support 5.1.4  rclxub.gif
Yes upfiring is waste of money, unless you room cannot install ceiling speaker . You better get better 5.1.2 Speaker first . If you amp not enough power, you cannot get benefit from 5.1.4. Maybe even worst, more channel need more powerful amp to drive. Some more now imax dts become more title from Sony movies. You need powerful ceiling speaker to handle the bass.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Jul 2 2020, 02:26 PM
kkthen
post May 15 2021, 11:51 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ May 15 2021, 10:45 AM)

I had set up my x3700h. Wanted to ask, after run audyssey, I was trying to check the speaker level matching.

The amp was using relative scale -79.5db - 18db, so I need to set the master vol to 0db and run test tone to see whether all speaker is @ 75db, correct?
you can go to manual setup > levels > run test tone , using SPL meter with weight C, Slow to check each channel speaker include Sub-woofer 75db . But be careful, some SPL meter is not be calibrated properly, may got +- 1.5db error. My SPL meter got this issue, after I compare with my friend SPL meter, find out my meter got +1.5db error. So i always adjust my speaker to 73.5db, but the sound setting is correct.
kkthen
post May 15 2021, 01:20 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ May 15 2021, 12:08 PM)
Hmm i'm using my phone as spl meter. When i set master vol to 0 and spl meter was showing bout 90db?

That's weird.... I know maybe phone spl meter app may no 100% accurate, but is way too far from 75db.. Even i reduce to - 12 still not reaching 75db....
your situation, Better leave default level after calibration. Do not use Phone app, too much error. Normally Audyssey auto level quit accurate, If you measure multi point mic position. Even got error, only 0.5db error.

This post has been edited by kkthen: May 15 2021, 01:22 PM
kkthen
post Sep 24 2021, 01:00 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(ave666 @ Sep 23 2021, 11:33 PM)
So basically 2*pb2000 pro is better than pb3000 for normal study room 20x15x12 feet? Or even dual pb1000 pro will do?
2 sub will better one sub. With front & back opposite corner placement. For Small room no need powerful subwoofer, unless you got very good room treatment to handle. For example, My velodyne subwoofer with 1250 watt RMS at living room of small apartment . The room EQ only allow my subwoofer open sound volume until 5 only. BUT My sub max volume is 99. If I increase volume to 6. My other channel will start become blur.
kkthen
post Sep 24 2021, 01:31 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(ave666 @ Sep 24 2021, 01:18 PM)
Thanks for the input guys. I'll put subwoofer into my study room as my living room occupied by my wifey to watch Korean drama which I felt no need for subwoofer there. How about dual sb series? Suitable for movies usage?
Yes. Dual sub good for movie & Music. This will improve sound quality of all channel.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Sep 24 2021, 01:32 PM
kkthen
post Sep 30 2021, 10:50 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 30 2021, 10:02 AM)
actually I'm just curious, im using soundbar for years

actually I don't really feel the surround at all already... y ar?

my soundbar too pariah?
This mean your ears are upgrade to another level. You need to start invest some 5.1 or 5.1.2 av system to enjoy better sound quality.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Sep 30 2021, 10:51 AM
kkthen
post Sep 30 2021, 11:32 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 30 2021, 11:06 AM)
hahhaha, i have those la

just tat my primary usage is just soundbar for the past 5 years

I remember initially I can still feel some surround from the soundbar, nowadays with streaming shows, I can't really feel anything

my current soundbar I think the models are slight middle low models
I think this depend the sound quality of the Movie or TV drama. Some movie I also hard to hear surround sound even I am using 5.1 system.
I like to test surround sound of UHD movie 10 Cloverfield Lane (2016) . I can feel monster run at top of my head, even using 5.1 non atmos system.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Sep 30 2021, 11:43 AM
kkthen
post Oct 5 2021, 10:02 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(cubicle @ Oct 5 2021, 09:29 AM)
hey bro!! how are you?

hahaha yes, i'm into stereo for many years, still learning though.

My friend will go for either yamaha, denon or marantz receiver, and pair with his current low priced speaker for now. Will keep poisoning him with higher-end item  biggrin.gif
I also stereo kaki long time ago. Now I am enjoy arcam receiver with xtz bookshelf speaker. Mostly I am using stereo mode to enjoy my tv drama, because most of the sources are pcm 2.0 only.Although I try to up-mix 2.0 source to 5.1 with dobly surround mode. But I prefer more natural stereo mode. Although dolby surround mode is louder.

So after that, I give up any upmix surround mode. IF source is dts hd, I play dts HD. source is dolby truhd, i play dolby truhd. If source is Atmos or DTS-x, I play Atmos or DTS-x. IF soure is stereo, I only use left & Right Channel to play.
kkthen
post Oct 6 2021, 11:33 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Oct 6 2021, 10:59 AM)
https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00080318/
yea bro.. i m using 1.. but cant feel shit abt atmos.. more like equalizer change when i enabled the atmos on my phone
Yes Bro. This is definitely one kind of surround mode. Actually dolby atmos sound mode make my phone sound terrible. I quickly turn this setting off after test few Music Video song on youtube.
kkthen
post Oct 6 2021, 01:02 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Oct 6 2021, 12:54 PM)
Use Atmos or Hifi Audio?
I turn off any sound effect of my mi phone. Non EQ is best. IF you really want to adjust your sound EQ. Better adjust your color temperature of display setting. This will affect your sound quality, but you need very good hearing to distinguish the difference.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Oct 6 2021, 01:14 PM
kkthen
post Oct 6 2021, 02:25 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 6 2021, 01:51 PM)
legendary story 神话
Not legndary story. Nobody to tell us this information only. Because normally nobody adjust the phone color setting & playing the music at the same time. You can do some simple test. playing a song on Spotify , Toggle ON & OFF the Eyecare mode on your phone quick setting. You should hear Eyecare mode on, your song will become warmer than eyecare mode off. This is fastest way to change your display color temperature in your phone. Eyecare mode are warmer color than normal mode.

Off course, you also can try to change the picture preset. vivid, SRGB or P3 or custom. more red, sound warmer . more blue, sound brighter. Color control actually is EQ. Best sound quality is close to D65 standard, but need calibration equipment. Because all the content like movie, music video , drama. They are using d65 standard to produce. So when our display close to d65 standard. You got better Picture & Sound quality.

This theory also can apply to tv , monitor , projector. User who calibrate their display always can get better sound quality than uncalibrated display sound system, Especially In AV home theater system. Display calibration not only can affect Picture quality , Sound quality also improve which seldom people will notice.

Do you notice, When you change new TV. Your home theater sound system tone will change. Because every TV preset color is difference.

This post has been edited by kkthen: Oct 6 2021, 05:05 PM

0.0841sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:27 PM