Guys,
Do you think Yamaha RX-V681 at RM2,499 is a good bargain.
Or just normal price?
AV Receivers/ Speakers/ Subwoofers, Discussion & Opinion
Dec 11 2016, 02:41 PM
468 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Guys,
Do you think Yamaha RX-V681 at RM2,499 is a good bargain. Or just normal price? |
Dec 11 2016, 08:13 PM
I am not sure what is the MSRP, but I look up lazada is selling at RM2899. If V861 not worth that money. Can recommend me a AVR that offer similar specs to V663 plus the 4k HDR pass through? Of course not breaking my bank account.
Dec 11 2016, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Dec 11 2016, 09:43 PM) Don't quote me on this, but I've seen the v681 for RM2199 from stylelaser just a month ago. Of course, whether that is a new unit or display model, I don't know. They didn't state what's the condition like. Thanks. Why don't you just search for last year's A850 instead? Should be going for around RM2.5k. You get better YPAO for one and the ability to EQ the sub(s). Only thing it lacks is DTS:X, but if you don't plan to do 5.1.2 then it doesn't really matter. Will try to look for the A850. |
May 5 2017, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ May 3 2017, 05:26 PM) Well for one, the A3050 won't have DV and HLG firmware update eventhough in theory - the hardware is capable of supporting it. So, is DV important to you? SSJBen, As for the PEQ range going down to 16hz, that was the only significant upgrade over the 2015's model. But understand that you WILL have to buy a better mic that can measure down below 20hz (like an Omni6 or UMIK1), know how to use REW and know how to port the results over. The automated YPAO is still limited at 30hz due to the subpar mic Yamaha refuses to change. If you ask me, if you have no plans for DV - the A3050 is the wiser choice. By saving near RM2k, you can use that fund to import a minidsp (or an antimode or whatever similar) and buy a good mic, learn how to use REW and you get MUCH more options and capability in how to EQ your system over what YPAO can do. A minidsp and a UMIK1 + import tax + shipping doesn't even come close to RM2k. I have no experience with the 64bit calculation for YPAO, nor have I seen any concrete test reports on how much better it is. So, no comment on that. I have read up the minidsp but still a bit confuse about it. Let say if I plan to manual adjust the PEQ in my A860. I don't have to buy the minidsp right? Just the mic and REW to collect the data will do? Thanks. |
May 14 2017, 03:29 PM
QUOTE Most soundbar would require me to use optical cable, so am I correct to assume the audio from my hard drive movies will play in the soundbar? I assume you connect your TV out with optical cable to your soundbar optical in. Then yes, the soundbar will replace your TV speakers. QUOTE If get an AVR, I will connect the TV to the ARC output with astro, BD, PS4 to the AVR. Then, the hard drive still to TV, will the audio play thru the AVR or just the TV speakers? What about laptop, usually I connect it to the TV HDMI, if I do that will the audio play via AVR or i have to connect it to the AVR HDMI Input? If both TV and AVR support ARC. Then the sound from TV can output in AVR. Eg. The movie from your hard drive that play in the TV. Or YouTube or any streaming apps in the TV.But all the others devices like BD, PS4, Astro, laptop that using hdmi connection have to connect to AVR hdmi input in order get sound from AVR. |
Oct 4 2018, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(yikyeou @ Oct 3 2018, 05:37 PM) Hihi, I am so new to HT and moving in into a new home. Budget is about 3.5-4k, is it too low to have a decent home theater system? It is all depends on your own preference (Movie/music/gaming?) and the size of the room.The budget is more than enough for HiTB, I think it also hit the bare minimum if you go for AVR + speakers route. If you want a decent one, then invest slowly. You can start with AVR + 2 bookshelf speakers + sub Later invest a decent tower and center speaker, move the bookshelf as surround. Got money later, can upgrade the sub or add another pair of speakers in the ceiling for atmos. repeat the process again |
Jun 29 2019, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(Dannyoski @ Jun 29 2019, 11:55 AM) Hi all avr sifu, long time didn't post here d. I used to have old Onkyo tnx616 avr that served me well for my home theater for many years for full hd source. I just bought Sony 65A8F oled tv to replace my projector and moving to 4K source. Any sifu have workaround to enable 4k passthrough and still retain Dolby truehd at my old avr? Depends on what you want and what players you are using.Or I should spend around 2k to buy a 2nd hand avr that support 4k passthrough and Atmos? Thanks Some high end players have 2 hdmi outputs. 1 for video connect directly to you 65A8F , 1 for audio connect to your 616. This way you can enjoy 4K and truehd. If your current avr doesn't support Atmos and you want Atmos. Then you have no choice but to change the avr. |
| Change to: | 0.0763sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:41 AM |