> [CLOSED] Joint account

TSPacmangoku
post Feb 7 2016, 03:00 AM, updated 10y ago

lë Fantôme
828 posts

dear Ktards

my partner I plan to open a joint saving account.

1. would that be possible seeing that we are no married yet? will the bank refuse us on this basis.
2. does this mean that we will be given two cards? when eating out for example, does only one holder need to sign the bill?

Thank you ktards, have a Happy Fire Monyet New Year smile.gif

This post has been edited by Pacmangoku: Jul 4 2016, 03:36 AM
mafioso
post Feb 7 2016, 03:01 AM

6,155 posts

1. what if she breaks up with you and take all yo moneh?
2. what if before she breaks up with you, she spent more than 500k on something with her 2nd bf.

then you have to pay liao.
TSPacmangoku
post Feb 7 2016, 03:04 AM

lë Fantôme
828 posts

QUOTE(mafioso @ Feb 7 2016, 03:01 AM)
1. what if she breaks up with you and take all yo moneh?
2. what if before she breaks up with you, she spent more than 500k on something with her 2nd bf.

then you have to pay liao.
oh i am not saying that this won't happen la, so I won't be putting a huge amount in it. Thank you for looking out. it will be used mainly to oay bills and save for vacation together.

savings account ny, not credit card, cannot spend till 500k de la.
qazhang
post Feb 7 2016, 03:26 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Pacmangoku @ Feb 7 2016, 03:04 AM)
oh i am not saying that this won't happen la, so I won't be putting a huge amount in it. Thank you for looking out. it will be used mainly to oay bills and save for vacation together.

savings account ny, not credit card, cannot spend till 500k de la.
It's okay. You can open one.
alextan99
post Feb 7 2016, 03:37 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

you can open a joint account with anyone you like. The bank will not question anything
SUSacer7254
post Feb 7 2016, 04:39 AM

Just open company account then.
TSOM
post Feb 7 2016, 04:42 AM

2,145 posts

yes you can.

you can ask for 2 debit cards if you want, but better apply for CC lah ....

since you're a guy, this is wise!! Tell your GF to put all her income into this account and let you handle the finance. brows.gif
luxollidd
post Feb 7 2016, 05:23 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ Feb 7 2016, 04:42 AM)
yes you can.

you can ask for 2 debit cards if you want, but better apply for CC lah ....

since you're a guy, this is wise!! Tell your GF to put all her income into this account and let you handle the finance. brows.gif
cc with strangers? not a very good move
SUSadeline1306
post Feb 7 2016, 05:29 AM

100 posts

Why youngsters nowadays want to cohabitate rather than get married is beyond me. If no money, make it a small dinner with jus family lah. I would rather my kids do that than have premarital sex. Srs.
thesoothsayer
post Feb 7 2016, 05:44 AM

954 posts

Don't think it's allowed. They'll ask for relationship of the applicants and reject you on the basis you're just friends.
DarkNite
post Feb 7 2016, 07:45 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(adeline1306 @ Feb 7 2016, 05:29 AM)
Why youngsters nowadays want to cohabitate rather than get married is beyond me. If no money, make it a small dinner with jus family lah. I would rather my kids do that than have premarital sex. Srs.
rclxub.gif
what has dinner & premarital sex got to do with joint bank account? hmm.gif
takadanicklagi
post Feb 7 2016, 07:47 AM

124 posts

Ehhh. I don't think u can open joint account with your gf. Wife lain cerita lo.
bearbearwong
post Feb 7 2016, 07:52 AM

9,533 posts

QUOTE(Pacmangoku @ Feb 7 2016, 03:00 AM)
dear Ktards

my girlfriend and I plan to open a joint savings bank account (Maybank or CIMb) together,
I have a few questions though:

1. would that be possible seeing that we are no married yet? will the bank refuse us on this basis (ironically, not married due to financial constraint)
2. does this mean that we will be given two cards? when eating out for example, does only one holder need to sign the bill?

Thank you ktards, have a Happy Fire Monyet New Year smile.gif
I tink possible to open jointly..

I did open joint fd accounts with my ex.. gotta sign imdemnity forms... and power of withdrawal will be vested on both parties..

also createx a joint saving accounts for money debit ing .. so I tink 2 cards is possible.
munkeyflo
post Feb 7 2016, 10:41 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Used to have a joint current MBB account with my ex. Yes you can.
sheahann
post Feb 7 2016, 10:45 AM

Crashing like a tidal wave..
2,263 posts

Then can choose both to sign. Or either one to sign.

Davez89
post Feb 7 2016, 10:48 AM

1,275 posts

QUOTE(sheahann @ Feb 7 2016, 10:45 AM)
Then can choose both to sign. Or either one to sign.
isnt that CURRENT account? I think TS talking about savings account
vassilius
post Feb 7 2016, 10:51 AM

494 posts

When me and my wife still bf/gf that time, we opened a joint account with Maybank.

So its like this, when u go bank open, the officer will ask ur relationship. If unmarried, they advised us to double confirm and think carefully first to avoid any future complications. Once confirm, then they will just proceed.

Now during the process, u may opt to link the account to u and ur gf existing maybank personal account. So when u open ur m2u, both of u will see that joint account and both will be able to perform transactions using that joint account from their own personal m2u site.

Hope this clears. By the way, I think no additional charges if not mistaken.

PS: u may get an ATM card for that account but we did not. Our objectives that time is to save money for house and marriage, so do not want ATM to restrict either one of us withdrawing the money...

This post has been edited by vassilius: Feb 7 2016, 10:54 AM
SUSStationMonkey
post Feb 7 2016, 10:52 AM

15 posts

allowed but subject to branch manager approval

you need to proof the strength of the relationship, i. e. if 2 weeks couple then wan bukak account then most likely reject, but if already couple for years and planning to get married then most likely yes. if the branch manager cincai ezpz but if dapat yang very meticulous wan well gudlak
aboveall
post Feb 7 2016, 10:54 AM

dont put all eggs in a basket
SUSStationMonkey
post Feb 7 2016, 10:54 AM

15 posts

and yes you can get 2 debit cards. you can also set the instruction i. e. either one to sign, meaning either one of you can go branch withdraw or amend details without the other one present, or both to sign, meaning both of you need to be present at branch for withdrawal or details amendment
TSPacmangoku
post Feb 12 2016, 08:54 PM

lë Fantôme
828 posts

QUOTE(alextan99 @ Feb 7 2016, 03:37 AM)
you can open a joint account with anyone you like. The bank will not question anything
QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Feb 7 2016, 07:52 AM)
I tink possible to open jointly..

I did open joint fd accounts with my ex.. gotta sign imdemnity forms... and power of withdrawal will be vested on both parties..

also createx a joint saving accounts for money debit ing .. so I tink 2 cards is possible.
QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Feb 7 2016, 10:41 AM)
Used to have a joint current MBB account with my ex. Yes you can.
QUOTE(vassilius @ Feb 7 2016, 10:51 AM)
When me and my wife still bf/gf that time, we opened a joint account with Maybank.

So its like this, when u go bank open, the officer will ask ur relationship. If unmarried, they advised us to double confirm and think carefully first to avoid any future complications. Once confirm, then they will just proceed.

Now during the process, u may opt to link the account to u and ur gf existing maybank personal account. So when u open ur m2u, both of u will see that joint account and both will be able to perform transactions using that joint account from their own personal m2u site.

PS: u may get an ATM card for that account but we did not. Our objectives that time is to save money for house and marriage, so do not want ATM to restrict either one of us withdrawing the money...
QUOTE(StationMonkey @ Feb 7 2016, 10:54 AM)
and yes you can get 2 debit cards.  you can also set the instruction i. e. either one to sign,  meaning either one of you can go branch withdraw or amend details without the other one present,  or both to sign,  meaning both of you need to be present at branch for withdrawal or details amendment
Thanks alot peep. Just opened one today. Hassle free.

cybpsych
post Feb 18 2016, 07:57 AM

---------------------
65,324 posts

QUOTE(vassilius @ Feb 7 2016, 10:51 AM)

good info. thumbup.gif

hope this policy still applies across all MBB branches. worried some branches would be picky.

QUOTE(Pacmangoku @ Feb 12 2016, 08:54 PM)
Thanks alot peep. Just opened one today. Hassle free.
which bank you opened?

i'm thinking of doing at MBB as well and this joint account link to each other's own account as well; for easy access by both parties (as explained by vassilius above)
azbro
post Feb 18 2016, 08:00 AM

4,403 posts

Breakup is norm in life.....

But joint account even after married is rare...very rare

I've been in love with my girls, and broke up more than a dozen times, so dun think the person you so loving now will be your wife in the future.
A lot of things can change.

But if your relationship can last like forever....and good for both of you

But still...joint account is a nono

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 18 2016, 08:08 AM
TSPacmangoku
post Feb 20 2016, 02:49 AM

lë Fantôme
828 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Feb 18 2016, 07:57 AM)
good info.  thumbup.gif

hope this policy still applies across all MBB branches. worried some branches would be picky.
which bank you opened?

i'm thinking of doing at MBB as well and this joint account link to each other's own account as well; for easy access by both parties (as explained by vassilius above)
I went Maybank but the branch I went to refuse to take in new customer from 3pm onwards, so I walked to CIMB next door.

QUOTE(azbro @ Feb 18 2016, 08:00 AM)
Breakup is norm in life.....

But joint account even after married is rare...very rare

I've been in love with my girls, and broke up more than a dozen times, so dun think the person you so loving now will be your wife in the future.
A lot of things can change.

But if your relationship can last like forever....and good for both of you

But still...joint account is a nono
Bro sounds tough. Hope you meet someone worthy of keeping soon.

0.0188sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:20 AM