Home Defect Rectification Checklist, After vacant posession! Update With Pics

ericlaiys
post Sep 14 2013, 09:43 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 14 2013, 09:15 PM)
Today just get vacant possession. Developer just give 1 time submit defect form & need submit within 21 days. Are this normal? How about warranty?
Do you have your S & P with you? It is stated in the agreement. You can refer to there.
Warranty claim based on your properties either landed or condo. At long it is not modify during renovation, then you have the right to claim.
It is up to developer on how long to fix the defect. You need to always rush them. If they dont fix within a month, you can ask bank to hold the last payment and send an official letter to force them and tell them if dont fix, then you will ask other contractor to fix it and bill them. It is stated in S & P. Please check it out
ericlaiys
post Sep 16 2013, 12:53 AM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 15 2013, 09:20 PM)
I heard bank already release balance to developer. My house landed. The defect form has mention about submit 1 timeo only. I wonder like this how about warranty time.
my landed property warranty is 24 month. as long you did not renovation and modify, then you can claim. if you do plaster ceiling, hack wall, plumbing, etc to that part of area then it is consider void from warranty claim.

like my case, my contractor offered to help check the defect as part of their service (consider as good service)

As i mentioned on S & P agreement, please refer to Defect Liability period. (mine is under section 25)

If bank released full amount, then it mean that your loan almost 2 year and has the right to release full payment. Especially Purchaser has taken the VP. Your loan will start to kick in for full instalment according to the date. Under construction, only can charge interest.

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 16 2013, 01:00 AM
ericlaiys
post Sep 17 2013, 12:50 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(AMINT @ Sep 17 2013, 12:40 PM)
i ketuk2 gentle la bro. hehe. yeah if 50% only i claim to be replaced.
if got hollow better claim as later you will see that your wall got crack after few years
ericlaiys
post Sep 17 2013, 04:59 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 17 2013, 01:09 PM)
If sound really hollow i have note down there. ow about little hollow sound? Need request too? I worry later developer say need take a lot time.
Up to you. Normally little no need
ericlaiys
post Sep 21 2013, 11:53 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 21 2013, 11:24 PM)
Here my inspection photo would like to share.
wow. got a lot of crack. You better properly check hollow tiles. May be the floor structure is empty which causing wall to crack. The picture show that they patched a lot. that's mean, it will still appear back. Poor workmanship.
ericlaiys
post Sep 22 2013, 10:31 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 22 2013, 03:09 PM)
Yup. Really bad workmanship. Here another photo to share too. Today suppose check under roof piping but plumber didn't come. So will check next week.
wah liao!!....the whole house are cracked!!!. Even door & mailbox also not properly fix!!!...your developer like Talam case. Which developer that built your house? This is going to take very long to fix the defect and your renovation plan should put on hold at least 2 month.

I'm going to get key next week friday. Hopefully wont encounter like your case. If not, i will be fainted.

I will share my inspection as well. Stay tuned

This post has been edited by ericlaiys: Sep 22 2013, 10:35 PM
ericlaiys
post Sep 23 2013, 02:28 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 23 2013, 10:50 AM)
I just check both agreement SPA & Deed of Covenants don't have Defect Liability Period. Is it normal for Build Then Sell concept?
cannot be. by right, all document should follow standard S & P agreement. My lawyer told me when i sign that i'm protected under gov as the document is standard but my friend house under commercial (condo/service apartment) is different agreement. So his document and mine is different
Is your land commercial?
ericlaiys
post Sep 30 2013, 08:36 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Sep 30 2013, 04:00 PM)
Can't do anythings already since already submit defect form. Just now have inform wanna add another defect list they already bla bla bla.
your developer very actions. At least mine say " Please feel free to submit. You got 2 years warranty period"
ericlaiys
post Oct 5 2013, 11:49 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(sensei84 @ Oct 5 2013, 11:11 PM)
Hi guys, I just got the key for my new house and was asked to list all the defects. I want to ask is this consider a defect?

thanks for your help!
Yes. It is not properly do. they need to clean up on it or remove the plaster. I think they patch out . Probably got holes . Look very adward with white plaster and tiles (dark color). Just file as defect and see how they solve it
ericlaiys
post Oct 13 2013, 03:40 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(arabella @ Oct 13 2013, 03:30 AM)
I have just rented a house which was handed over a few months ago. The towkay bought the house as investment and turned out did not bother much about the condition. So my question, does the tenant have a right to ask the developer to fix the broken gate, broken lock etc? The owner is taking too long to respond and paying the movers alone was already 4k. So I really don't want to antagonise the owner over small niggling things.  sad.gif
only owner can report defect
ericlaiys
post Nov 4 2013, 02:43 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(talkpropertytalk @ Nov 1 2013, 07:56 PM)
additional photos
really poor workmanship. Which developer?
ericlaiys
post Nov 7 2013, 12:40 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(Zina @ Nov 5 2013, 12:58 PM)
My house more worst

I bought a house 5 years ago. Now found roof major structural defects. Before this wall crack, ceiling crack , repair and crack , again repair and crack. So we found contractor to look over the roof top.. We get this big news: maybe and suspect of roof collapse . Can I claim this to developer? Can anyone give me guide.
Pleaseeeeeeee.
You can try but they may not bother as it has over warranty. Unless collapse and injured people. may be they will cover it up by fixing it
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2013, 09:34 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(adwan @ Dec 11 2013, 07:42 PM)
I just got key from the develop after it was VP about 2 weeks ago.

Want to ask:

1) Is it appropriate for developer to hand over the house without water connection? Already make payment to syabus related to water but still not connected yet;

2) The developer also failed to clean up the rubbish and cut the long grass in the garden area....Why they need to wait for the buyer to complaint? Isn't it obvious they should cut all the long grass away before handover?

3) Spot quite a number of defects - gate is rusty and difficult to close, walls and door were tainted by the paints, stains on the platform, cracks etc...The developer don't have QA team to check their product before handover one meh???!

4) The developer project staff give me honour feedback that they will normally take more than a month to rectify all these defects (if I am lucky).... vmad.gif

Sifu here, please help.....Is that something normal for the Malaysian developer? notworthy.gif
it is normal. Just fill up the issue on defect form and ask them to fix it. Expect more than a month. I gave my developer 1 month. they still cannot finish. they only manage to fix some. So i start renovation where the part not on the defect list. during renovation, developer still take it own sweet time to fix it. My renovation completed after a month but till now my defect still some unresolved. But they did solve some major one and some defect just submitted along the way. Dont expect to move in fast. Give at least 3- 4 month period. Like mine, almost 3 month. Expect to move in by christmas while wait for them to fix some minor defect.
ericlaiys
post Dec 11 2013, 11:24 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(adwan @ Dec 11 2013, 11:18 PM)
1) So it is normal that no water supply upon vp? I have made some payment to Syabus before vp?

2) My house defects are at all corner of the house. Cannot say renovated one part and don't renovate the other.....Luckily I did not notice any major structural cracks, may be they already plaster it out to cover it.

3) 3 to 4 months waiting period for them to fix up the defects is  doh.gif  and blink.gif to me.
my reply:-

1. Yes. Some of my neighbour dont have water supply when get key.
2. Give them a month to totally fix. In S & P doc got mentioned after 30 days. You can send reminder and notice for 14 days with other contractor quote if they fail to fix. Check your S & P if got. If landed, should have.
3. Trust me. Last time, i only buffer 1 month- developer fix, 1 month -renovation. I end up need to give 1 month. So after 3 month only can see light to move in. For them, your warranty is 24 month (depend on s & p). So they dont get penalty when give key . Consider early deliver. No clause say must fix your defect within 1 days. It is mentioned 30 days.

ericlaiys
post Dec 17 2013, 01:00 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(mpheng @ Dec 17 2013, 12:44 PM)
may i ask sumthing? what if we want to add extra switch points or power points? do we need to include in the snp? how if i already sign the snp and decided to add more points? sorry..noob here..1st time buy a house.
add new point from existing is done by your renovation contractor. Just pay $$$
ericlaiys
post Dec 17 2013, 01:06 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(firr @ Dec 17 2013, 01:04 PM)
u can add, relocate, remove any switch point, power point..
no need to include in snp..just btwn u, the contractor, and $$..
but dev will take no responsiblity if there any electrical faulty since you have modified the original wiring..
Correct. According to developer, once you modify (either remove/add new point)- then warranty is void for the whole house electrical point. This is the info shared by my developer when i get my key for inspection
ericlaiys
post Dec 19 2013, 01:53 PM

7,565 posts

QUOTE(mpheng @ Dec 18 2013, 05:37 PM)
Yupe..my house will start construct next year. Can i just go to the developer and tell them i want to add more points and top up money to them?
No you cannot. Besides, developer wont entertain your request as 1 customer do that, the entire resident will request. Then warranty also another problem. CF , bla...bla will come to an issue as well

0.0408sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:40 PM