> If you opt for 8%, income tax payable naik?

SUSNachiino Etamay
post Jan 29 2016, 12:45 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Jan 29 2016, 12:12 PM)
Kawan hantar kat Whatsapp
Macam logic jugak

Anyone working in income tax capacity/ HR can confirm if the deductions above are right?
EPF is taxed, unless you pay less than RM6,000 of EPF AND INSURANCE every year. which is unlikely for most people in Malaysia

that means, the 3% extra you get from EPF, will give you a tax saving on the EPF portion, however will be taxed back at your salary portion

total tax is the same.

example, me and my employer combined contribute 23% to EPF of basic salary. i get to keep 89% of my basic salary after excluding EPF

however, normally, this 23% of EPF will be fully taxed (except the first RM6k), and my 89% will be fully taxed (based on the schedule).

so when i get 3% saving, i will get 20%, which will be fully taxed (except the first RM6k), and i instead get 92% of basic salary, fully taxed.

total tax is on 89%+23% which is equal to tax on 92%+20% of salary. both subject to first RM6k being tax exempt on EPF/insurance

This post has been edited by Nachiino Etamay: Jan 29 2016, 12:47 PM
SUSNachiino Etamay
post Jan 29 2016, 12:50 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Jan 29 2016, 12:47 PM)
i still wonder. after gst. why still no reduce income tax???
thats cuz you bloody dont pay tax.

for CY2015, my salary grew by 9%, and my after tax salary grew by 10%

This is due to the 1%-2% lower tax rates for all brackets, and higher brackets.
the only reason you dont "feel" income tax reduction, as you are climbing the brackets

ie: you earn more money, hence moving from 13% to 16% to 20% to 24% bracket. then your after tax salary will grow slower compared to your salary.

SUSNachiino Etamay
post Jan 29 2016, 03:44 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(zacx @ Jan 29 2016, 03:14 PM)
u gaji /k standard doesn't make any difference la.

Pelepasan Cukai for KWSP is up to RM6K/year only. So any contribution more than 6K will be taxable, for example if your annual KWSP contribution is 10K than the difference of 4K will be taxable.

but for other who have average salary less than ~ 5K/mth (rough figure), they might ended up paying more tax as their "pelepasan cukai" will be even less than before due to lesser KWSP contribution which will be lower than 6K.
its not 5k.

the threshold is RM6k EPF contribution

EPF contribution is at least 11%+11%-12% which is 23% of base salary.

to achieve RM6k per annum of EPF contribution, your base salary will be RM6k/0.23%=RM26,000 per annum.

most people, with one or two month bonus, will get RM26,000 per annum. even graduates.

0.0215sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:19 PM