Samsung Galaxy Note 5 & S6 Edge Plus Thread V5, Elegant thus Superior Samsung Technology

kmrdeva
post Feb 2 2016, 05:36 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Feb 1 2016, 11:11 PM)
How to set iso manually in the camera?
Pro mode in stock camera app.
kmrdeva
post Feb 7 2016, 10:19 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Feb 7 2016, 10:07 AM)
Thanks for your pro advise. Iphone too expensive for me. My note 5 camera not bad but thought can be better.
If you don't mind sharing, can u say what camera improvements you were expecting from your note 5?

I mean, in what ways were you hoping the note 5 camera to be better?
kmrdeva
post Feb 11 2016, 12:05 AM

4,783 posts

I can't remember if my previous note 4 had better network reception than my current note 5, but I do notice that my note 5 has way stronger and more stable wifi and 4g connection than my iPhone 6.

Perhaps maxis 4g is super strong where I go in Penang island so I'm not experiencing issues. My home wifi is powered by an Asus n66u so signal strength and speed are also great on my note 5.
kmrdeva
post Feb 11 2016, 12:08 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Feb 11 2016, 12:03 PM)
how do I disable the annoying Try PowerPoint (or other Office products) notification?
I disabled all the built-in Office apps via Settings / Applications / Application Manager. I prefer to use Google Docs, Sheets and Slides instead.
kmrdeva
post Feb 15 2016, 10:31 PM

4,783 posts

Noticed that my wife's Note 5 LED Flash and HR Sensor plastic cover was scratched.

Anyone know if the Samsung service center can replace the cover for a fee?
kmrdeva
post Feb 16 2016, 12:28 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Feb 15 2016, 11:49 PM)
U mean the plastic paper?
Not the protective sticker, my wife had removed it since day 1. I mean the plastic surface itself. The transparent piece that protects the led flash and the heart rate sensor.

It seems to me that with gorilla glass front and back, Samsung decided to use easy-to-scratch monkey plastic to protect the sensors tongue.gif
kmrdeva
post Feb 16 2016, 07:14 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy007 @ Feb 16 2016, 02:06 AM)
gorilla glass only used on the back panel,not the glass for the sensor
not sure what kind of glass did samsung use for that
I don't even think the sensor/flash panel is made of glass ha ha.

QUOTE(cocooh @ Feb 16 2016, 02:38 AM)
Mine has a scratch too, didnt bother much since it's not that important anyway  laugh.gif
I think the same, but you know la, it's my home minister's phone so I have to ask around and do some research if the protective panel can be replaced easily.
kmrdeva
post Feb 19 2016, 10:29 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Feb 19 2016, 10:25 AM)
Is it normal that the drive is can't fully be inserted in the microusb port?
Normal. Don't use force to push or jam it in. Just plug in gently and play.
kmrdeva
post Feb 19 2016, 08:50 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2016, 08:25 PM)
sandisk is famous for its incompatibility.
Really? My 2 Sandisk OTG drives work just fine on both my wife's and my Note 5 phones. 64GB each formatted to EXFAT file format.
kmrdeva
post Feb 19 2016, 09:03 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Feb 19 2016, 09:00 PM)
Over the years I've heard many complaints n mostly are sandisk. Their sdcard also got this issue with certain device. For example my papago DVR.
I see.. so far no problems with Sandisk OTG, microSD cards and thumb drives for me.
kmrdeva
post Feb 21 2016, 07:02 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Feb 21 2016, 06:44 PM)
I was talking about the beta if any did flash it. Hmmm
Was any beta released for SM-N9208?
kmrdeva
post Feb 21 2016, 08:03 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(remix2040 @ Feb 21 2016, 07:17 PM)
Probably not. Was hoping those with AP sets could show the way. sad.gif but still. I'm still on the fence about trading my Nexus 6P for the Note 5. The only thing I'm worried about is the freaking RAM management issue. 4GB of crap can't keep more than 5 apps in memory lol. Bugged the hell out of me when I got the S6 edge.
This guy's quick review of 6.0.1 on the SM-N920C seemed to indicate improved RAM management on his phone.

https://youtu.be/V2C4EC3vK0g
kmrdeva
post Feb 26 2016, 12:02 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(lordofvirtue @ Feb 25 2016, 11:38 PM)
Hello guys, I've been thinking to get the Note5, but Malaysia officially only has 32GB storage dual SIM option. Do you guys find it to be really small or quite spacious? What's really holding me back is the storage space that's available to the user. Hope to get some insights on this. Thanks!
Too small for me, I came from a Note 4 which had 32GB internal storage and rocked a 64GB microSD card.

However, I am now a dual-phone user, so the limited storage on my Note 5 (currently 14GB free out of 24GB) is supported by the 64GB storage on my iPhone 6.

Note : I don't game or store movies on my phones.

kmrdeva
post Feb 26 2016, 12:44 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy007 @ Feb 26 2016, 12:23 AM)
since u don't game and store movies on your phones i'm wondering why u need such a huge storage on your note 4 then?
perhaps u need to store documents and photo in it?
or u did not clean your phone frequently?
I had 3-4 years of camera photos and videos in my Note 4. Not to mention almost 40GB of Spotify music at extreme quality.

Nowadays, I keep only 1 year's worth of pics and vids on the Note 5. The old stuff backed up to Google Photos.
kmrdeva
post Feb 26 2016, 12:49 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(lordofvirtue @ Feb 26 2016, 12:23 AM)
My worry is 32GB here is like 16GB iPhones. Personally I don't think I want to jump to the S7 since there's no S Pen and mutli-window makes perfect sense on large displays, not 5.1 inch. Note 6 on the other hand is not going to come anytime soon, a bit too far to wait since my phone starting to have serious issues. Thank you!
You'd get like 24.x GB of usable space on a new 32GB Note 5. It should be enough for most people, I guess. There's always the option of forking out more cash for an AP 64GB unit though.
kmrdeva
post Mar 2 2016, 04:26 PM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(jychow @ Mar 2 2016, 04:22 PM)
I think you are overly worried about an overly inflated problem. Most forums are full of people complaining about problems. It is natural that you see complaints when you are in any forum.

Most people, including myself, are happy with their note 5. smile.gif
Agree with you 100%. For every negative user feedback in the thread there are probably 1000 happy users. The silent majority, so to speak.
kmrdeva
post Mar 10 2016, 09:35 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Mar 10 2016, 09:13 AM)
same here.. 0 cost for changing and replacing SimCard... rclxms.gif
FOC ah? I was charged RM10 in my Maxis bill for changing from micro to nano SIM. Kena tipu de, sigh.. ranting.gif
kmrdeva
post Mar 10 2016, 10:57 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Mar 10 2016, 10:30 AM)
I remembered i changed 3 ~ 4 times in a same month.. 1st from standard to micro. after changed i complaint faulty then they change it for me.. again i complaint faulty and change again.. hehehe!
I remember too.. Reported faulty 2 times (for wife's sim) = FOC. Changed once for myself due to phone upgrade = RM10. Too happy with new phone, next time will try the 'faulty' excuse ha ha. Thanks.
kmrdeva
post Mar 10 2016, 11:03 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(Stitchie @ Mar 10 2016, 10:31 AM)
Android N developer preview is already out and we're still waiting for marshmallow cry.gif
As a long time Samsung phone and tablet user, I am used to how things go with Samsung in terms of OS updates. I would've gone Nexus years ago if this was a show-stopper for me.

My OS update experience with Xiaomi and Huawei phones was much worse, so I am back to Samsung now biggrin.gif

http://asia.pcmag.com/google-android-50-lo...ndroid-lollipop

Google on Tuesday updated its Android developer dashboard to indicate that Lollipop (versions 5.0 and 5.1) is now running on 36.1 percent of Android devices. That puts it ahead of former Android OS leader KitKat (version 4.4, released October 2013), which can now be found on 34.3 percent of Android handsets. In third place is the older Jelly Bean (released in June 2012), which is powering 22.3 percent of the Android market at the moment.

kmrdeva
post Mar 10 2016, 11:38 AM

4,783 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Mar 10 2016, 11:27 AM)
Poorfag using prepaid? Absolutely not correct bro. Why I said this? Because I am also using prepaid.
Same here, a bit poorfag, but more smartfag LOL. Moved 2 sub lines from Maxis Surfmore 30 (1GB data plan, no extras) to Hotlink Fast (RM30 per mth for 2GB data, free Spotify Premium subscription) rclxm9.gif

0.0353sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:06 PM