Conversion Audio/Video format CONVERSIONS, How to Convert/encode/rip etc

SUSMatrix
post Jul 7 2005, 12:33 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Tumpang tanya:

I've got a problem with 640x480 AVI movie files recorded withg my digicam. When i tried to use it with Pinaccle Studio, the movie only shows portion of it. But it works with files at 320x200 resolution.

So i need a conversion software to convert this to lower res AVI or MPEG files. What is the best software to do this? Any freeware? I downloaded some shareware all got watermark limit one!!!

Thanks!

SUSMatrix
post Jul 8 2005, 09:46 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(keyz @ Jul 7 2005, 10:34 PM)
Is that possible to adjust the setting/preference in Pinnacle Studio so you can see the movie all of it ?

You can resize using the filter in VirtualDubMod and save as AVI file but I think it will take times to do that if the AVI is huge.VirtualDubMod is free anyway.

Edited :

The quality of the video maybe will degrading.Possible huge file will be created if no audio/video compression being used (not using codecs like DivX or XviD or MP3 compression).
I've tried looking for options in Pinnacle studio, but can't find any. also, whenever I pull these files into the project, it'll give me a warning immediately about some format problem and non-compliance.

My files aren't that bid. Most of them are short 30-sec clips.(digicam limitation!). Guess i'll give the virtualdub a try.

SUSMatrix
post Feb 8 2006, 01:54 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Anyone has experienced with converting DVD -> DIVX with Dobly Digital 5.1 or DTS??

I've tried nero 7 (the Nero Digital thingy), which is useless as it just hangs when reading the DVD!

Then i tried some packaged GUI front-end (Knotguardian? can't remember the name), with things like VirtualDub and a lot of other software in conjunction.

It's a very UN-straightfoward way of doing and frankly I'm not sure i know what i'm doing even if i did managed to make the AVI file.

1st attempt - something wrong, the AVI got frame missing and jumps here and there.

2nd attempt - better, but now the screen seems to be slightly horizontally compressed like 16:9 kena squash a little. The thing is, i managed to get Dobly Digital...but only 2.0, not 5.1!!!

This is becoz i'm thinking of converting all my fav DVD movie, throw it into a PC as file server and stream it over to my XBOX for viewing.
So far, playing this on the XBOX works and my amp regconized the Dobly Digital signal (the DD logo lights up on my amp smile.gif ), but only 2.0.

Any really EASY way to convert DVD->DIVx with DD5.1 or DTS??

0.0326sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:05 AM