[BULK]NOCTUA CPU / Chipset Cooler Products Ver 6.0, CLOSING on 16 July. FINAL Bulk!

Polaris
post Apr 3 2007, 08:51 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

I used the MSI core thinger to check temperature and stuff, but using the 'Cool n Quiet' option, the RPM could sometimes fall below 700 a number of times and I then had to set the fan speed to manual which keeps it around 1150 RPM.

Is the Noctua fan not compatible with MSI's auto option?
Polaris
post Apr 15 2007, 07:25 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

How many watts does the noctua fan use?

Also, I read somewhere that just a rice grain of thermal paste is enough but the guy at the pc shop who helped me install the thing used half a shringe of the supplied thermal paste that comes with the U12F, spreading them like icing on a birthday cake.

Is that okay?
Polaris
post Apr 16 2007, 03:10 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Apr 15 2007, 09:37 PM)
According to Noctua website, then 1200rpm Noctua fan is 1.44W whic is using 0.12A... icon_rolleyes.gif

If you use AS5 or Arctic Silver Ceramique, use the rice grain method is better, but you can apply it the whole IHS too...as for normal ceramique thermal paste, apply it to the whole IHS will be better...as for the thermal paste given by Noctua, I am not sure... icon_rolleyes.gif
That's great, I'll be looking out for this fan when my lame front and back cooler master fan dies out. Hopefully irangan will still be around.

So far, the cpu temp never goes above 44 C.. so I'll assume the paste is spread okay and leave it at that.
Polaris
post Apr 16 2007, 08:46 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Apr 16 2007, 08:19 AM)
Sure irangan will still be around...  laugh.gif what proc you using? I am using Pentium D 820, the Idle temp is around 44C to 48C depend on weather... so your below 44C should be ok de... icon_rolleyes.gif
I'm using the athlon 3000+, due to space issues some compromises had to be made with the position of the noctua unit.

Ideally it should blow air through the noctua towards the rear, but now it's PULLING air from the noctua towards the power supply. Any other position was not possible or else the whole unit would be either bumping into the 3d card or hitting the ram.

But now the temp is okay so everything seems to work out fine in the end lol. whistling.gif
Polaris
post Apr 21 2007, 02:23 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Finally learned how to use the dell card reader to transfer pics..

Look at the noctua positioning below.

Contrary to what the support guys said in an email exchange about this mobo and how the unit is made to fit almost any mobo, this unit just could not be positioned facing the rear, as this would clash with both ram and 3d card.

The fan had to be on this side rather than behind, or it would suck the back of the radeon.

And right now, the two slots of ram closest to the noctua is essentially unusable because of the fan.

Still, the temp is alright, 44 C (no oc) if the room has no air-con.. just that the position is not ideal to maximize airflow and cooling.

Polaris
post Apr 22 2007, 04:27 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Apr 21 2007, 10:34 PM)
Actually you measure yourself already can know it will crash with the GC and Ram for sure if wanna put as push to rear...  hmm.gif  your mobo...even with HR-01, TT BTVX also will have problem with your GC... sweat.gif  as for the Ram slot, the total ram high + Ram slot should be more than 30mm isn't it...the height from the HSF base to the bottom of fan is about 27.5mm according to Noctua box description...so adding in the socket height also is just around 30mm+ only, so it is true that the ram slot will unuseable...

from the photo you show, it is impossible to put the fan as push, but pull also will do about the same lor I think...not much different as your is put as 90 degree... may I know what fan is that at the rear? how much is the CFM? If high CFM, then don't need to worry as the rear fan will be have enough power to suck out all the hot air, if low CFM, then maybe will have a little bit problem, where there might have some hot air trap between HSF and PSU... the PSU fan normally is low rpm isn't it (correct me if I am wrong...), so it can't help much in suck out the hot air... doh.gif

Besides, try arrange a bit your cable there, abit messy, which might disturb a bit your air flow... icon_rolleyes.gif

Yup, there was no other position possible.

The back fan is spinning at 42 CFM, it's just a generic cooler master type. I don't think the psu fan is anything special either, very likely it's low rpm. I don't know if the cables can be arranged more neatly, as two ends are pulled a long way below for the gc and hdd but I'll try. sweat.gif

Here's another closer look of the ram slots being overwhelmed lol,

Polaris
post Apr 23 2007, 04:12 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Apr 22 2007, 09:11 PM)

The rear fan do not have enough power to suck out the hot air... get something higher, maybe a 60+CFM or 80+CFM or if can get something more than 100CFM will be better, but the noise level will be higher for high CFM... just choose something your can bear with... if you want some suggestion, I would say buy the Silverstone FM-121...have 110CFM+ at full speed, have fan controller which you can adjust the fan speed to meet your noise level... icon_rolleyes.gif

Looks like the FM122 and FM121 is both selling for rm 60 just like this noctua fan, so which do you recommend?
Polaris
post Apr 25 2007, 10:16 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(Kataro @ Apr 25 2007, 08:00 PM)
even thought it is not cheaper than TT and SS fans, but for sure it is quite than TT and SS fans while maintaining the CFM and performance... icon_rolleyes.gif  for me, RM65 is worth it... flex.gif
Do you have experience with SS fans Kataro?

Is the higher CFM worth the trade off for louder noise? Can the noise be reduced thru lowering the fan settings? Id so, how much lower to make the noise acceptable?
Polaris
post Apr 28 2007, 09:26 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

I'm reading the noctua review at anandtech right now, http://www.anandtech.com/casecooling/showd...spx?i=2976&p=5..

Is 30 C even possible? I usually get 38-39 C and currently cpu temp is 42-43 C, not gaming, no music/video just surfing.

I'm using the athlon 64 3000+ no oc.

Here's the anandtech chart.

Polaris
post Apr 30 2007, 11:43 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 29 2007, 10:18 AM)
Errrr.... My idle is at 27'C. I am in air cond room. without aircond, at least 31'C
Yes... very true... depends how hot is your room
That's weird, how come mine so hot.. what could be causing it? *panic*
Polaris
post May 1 2007, 05:16 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Apr 30 2007, 06:55 PM)
do you mind to post your rig picture? there is alot of factor that will affect your cpu temp. e.g. airflow, mobo bend and so on
UPDATE

Regards,
Jeffery
What is mobo bend?

I just attached the FM-121 as outtake yesterday and now the sys temp is 33C but cpu temp is still at 41-42C. The FM-121 is set at 2000 rpm.

Was hoping to lower the big difference between sys temp and cpu temp.

QUOTE(kmarc @ Apr 30 2007, 07:35 PM)
But oopsss.... I'm running cool & quiet also.....
Initially I also use msi cool and quiet, but at the first week of using the noctua fan there was a weird glitch, the fan speed would fall under the minimum temperature and the core center would beep, so now I changed it to manual mode with the noctua fan at top speed of 1278 rpm.

Here's the pic, I've since pulled the cables back into the empty drive bay in the top left but yeah, the cable-fu here is very bad. Also the intake air passes through hot hard disks, but then the sys temp now is okay at 33C, hoping to lower the cpu temp..

Polaris
post May 2 2007, 09:59 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 1 2007, 07:00 PM)
Oh, I don't use core center. Like you describe, I had similar problems.

I use speedfan to control my HSF. Try speedfan. It allows you to set your own customized speed for the fan depending on the CPU temperature.

The other app to control the HSF is MBM (motherboard monitor). I haven't use that before so dunno whether it is better.....
I just installed Speedfan and it shows the 'core' temp at 50C. What does 'core' mean? It couldn't be the cpu since using msi core center it shows 42C.

QUOTE(irangan @ May 2 2007, 04:54 PM)
From what I see, i think there is some air flow problem with your chasis. Probably re adjust your wires and change your intake fan to more powerful one. Probably ur current intake fan not strong to push enough cool air into your chasis.
The sys temp seems to be okay around 33C, it's the cpu temp at 42C which I'm worried about, what could be the cause? The thermal paste? I used the one provided in the noctua box. Just a theory though, I don't really know.
Polaris
post May 4 2007, 12:19 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 3 2007, 11:34 PM)
UPDATE

I just recieved an email from my supplier saying that they will ship out the goods in 2 days time and in order to compensate back the time, they will use a faster method to send it. If they really do that for me, I am quite sure that the goods will reach Malaysia by next week for sure.

That is the good news.

Here come the bad news, I been told that NC-U6 is out of stock for now and they only can supply me on my next order. So to ppl that purchase U6, please pm your banking details and I will arrange a refund.

The second bad news is my supplier for AS5 is out of stock too. So I cant sell you guys the cheap AS5 as promised. But I will honour my words when my supplier restock its AS5 in near future.

The third bad news is I just recieved a memo from my company (I have a day job sad.gif) that they will need me to go to Sabah next week to settle something over there. I will be leaving around 11 May 2007, morning and only will be back around 15 May 2007, evening.

Dont worry. If my supplier is doing the stuff he promised, I can COD and send out the goods before I leave for my business trip.

Really sorry for the trouble but probably I am kind of in those bad luck zone. Everything dont works as planned and a lot of suprises lurking at the corner.

Sorry sorry again.

Really sorry for the trouble.
Remember to use protection.
Polaris
post May 5 2007, 05:50 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 4 2007, 05:59 PM)
I dont get it. Sry.
Sry, I think that's american slang.. see

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=protection

Hmm, now speedfan says my core is 49 C, could it be a thermal paste issue making it so hot?

This post has been edited by Polaris: May 5 2007, 05:52 AM
Polaris
post May 7 2007, 05:15 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

I'm still worried about this temperature, please advise.

Polaris
post May 8 2007, 01:06 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 7 2007, 05:19 PM)
UPDATE

Guys, you guys can start bank in the full payment already.

The goods already in Malaysia. Just got detained in custom. Will try to solve it tomorrow and start delivery by Wednesday.

Added on May 7, 2007, 6:01 pm
Bro, sorry.. I kind of busy to handle your case. Can you post in Cooling and Modding thread? I will ask some of my friend to assist you.

Really sry.. Recently veyr busy with my day job stuff.
No worries there, know you're busy, hoping someone else may bump into here and solve. Anyway already post in cooling forum, didn't know that forum exist.. if it's as simple as 'replace thermal paste' then don't need long discussion, just buy a new tube of artic silver.. i'm not here to cause trouble..
Polaris
post May 9 2007, 08:05 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Irangan, I posted the prob at the cooling forums and it seems like I need to re-apply the thermal paste as the technician did a shoddy job, can I get the artic paste for rm 20?

I should've bought it with the unit last month, is it too late to reconsider and buy it now?

Pls reply, as it very hot at 50C, emergency lol.
Polaris
post May 10 2007, 01:26 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ May 9 2007, 09:42 PM)
Of course u still entitled to buy the as5 from me at discounted price. But the problem is I dont have any as5 on hand. My supplier dont have the stock to supply now and I not sure when is his stock coming. sad.gif

How about the artic silver in your other bulk? Is that good to go? Is that from a differrent batch so the price is higher by rm5?
Polaris
post Mar 19 2008, 12:01 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Does anyone know where to get the NH-U12F fan?

I haven't checked my noctua setup since last year for any mobo bend issues but the temp right now is the best I've ever seen it.. looks like the artic silver has 'settled' for good..

0.0183sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:58 PM