LG OLED TV Discussion Thread, OLED TV
bem69
May 28 2020, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(vietc @ May 28 2020, 10:09 AM) I am looking to join the OLED club. I was quoted the following: - B9 (65): RM7999 - C9 (65): RM9999 Is it a good price for the above? That's a good price for both, I've seen RM10999 for c9 65. Which shop is selling this?
bem69
May 28 2020, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(vietc @ May 28 2020, 10:31 AM) Over at Desa Home Theater. Wasn't that interested in 55, but they quoted RM6300 for C9 which was selling at RM5999 pre Covid. Not sure it is true, the salesmen told me LG increase their pricing. I see. I think its a good deal. Thanks for sharing.
bem69
Nov 26 2020, 10:34 AM
Just wondering, anyone ever had to replace an LG OLED TV out of warranty? What's the cost like? Asking since my C7 has burn-in.
This post has been edited by bem69: Nov 26 2020, 10:35 AM
bem69
Apr 2 2021, 01:12 AM
The BX is now available in 55 inch. I guess its the cheapest LG OLED available now.
bem69
Apr 3 2021, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(Currylaksa @ Apr 2 2021, 02:54 PM) Hmm true. Cheapest BX on Lazada is 5888. Quite manageable entry price into OLED Really? That’s a good price. I’m only seeing 5999 so far
bem69
Apr 5 2021, 01:25 AM
QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 4 2021, 05:13 PM) Desahome is selling 65 " C9 for 8999 , E9 for 9999 . 6999 for 55 " CX , 1500 voucher rebate + 300 touch and go . I still can't , in my conscience recommend the BX to anyone especially if you don't calibrate your screen . The basic toolkit you will need probably end up costing you a lot more than buying a CX . If you are eyeing for the OLED you must care , even just a wee bit about Picture Quality and the BX is counterproductive to that intent. But LG want to sell their C series , they will continue to land nerf hammers on the B series . If you really can't spare that $1000 difference , just buy the C9 from 2019 instead . They seem to be in similar price range with BX right now . Thanks for the heads up, in the end the price went down to 5799 for the BX. Didn't go for it. 6999 + RM300 TNG Ewallet is a good deal for the CX.
bem69
Apr 18 2021, 02:23 AM
QUOTE(881118 @ Apr 12 2021, 12:33 PM) I think after rebate voucher -1500 then only can get 6999 harvey norman selling 7197 some shopee seller 6998 with free shipping Harvey Norman is selling 6997 til end 19 April at Citta Mall warehouse sale. Went there earlier yesterday.
bem69
Apr 18 2021, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(blurkia @ Apr 18 2021, 03:35 PM) just a quick sharing on fire tv stick 4k, at first i wasn't getting dolby vision, but once i set the display reso to auto output, and set match frame output, it worked for me, cheers folks. An honest newbie question. What's the benefit of going fire stick 4k, compared to using the WebOS apps?
bem69
Apr 19 2021, 07:08 AM
QUOTE(touristking @ Apr 19 2021, 06:22 AM) You can't install VPN apps of your choice to WebOS. Without the VPN, you can't watch geo restricted programs. Ahh got it. Fire Stick allows this ya? Guess I should consider this as well.
bem69
Apr 19 2021, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(blurkia @ Apr 19 2021, 12:43 PM) Yes, correct. It pretty much supports a lot of apps natively. I’m using nord vpn, able to stream Hulu, Disney plus, hbo max and also sling tv. It’s cheap and good basically. Also, it helps to transcode the dts audio in its plex app, but LG native plex app keeps buffering if need to do that (cx doesn’t support dts... zzz) Noted. You can set up Nord VPN in Firestick? I see, I always thought SmartDNS was the only way, or having a VPN compatible router.
bem69
Apr 19 2021, 08:33 PM
QUOTE(blurkia @ Apr 19 2021, 06:37 PM) Thought I continue to share, I’ve been fiddling around since cx doesn’t support dts. Best setup so far is to use the LG webos native player , setup plex server and stream from it. Use ffmpeg to add ac3 to your mkv files, you’re set  Nice! I’ve been doing that on my older tv... just got my CX and will continue to play via Plex.
bem69
Apr 20 2021, 10:29 AM
Anyone tried Airplay on the CX? I’m getting a lot of stutter, wish it could work. Would be pretty useful.
bem69
Apr 22 2021, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 22 2021, 06:44 PM) Doesn't look like we will be getting G1 in MY anytime soon , if at all . C1 - 48 " , 55 " , 65 " , 77 " A1 - 55 " , 65 " B1 - 55 " , 65 " NANO75 - 43 " , 50 " , 55 " , 65 " , 75 " , 86" NANO80 - 55" , 65" NANO86 - 55 " , 65 " , 75 " Catalogs should be up after Raya . Any idea what sort of price range the 48 will be in?
bem69
Apr 24 2021, 02:47 PM
Initial impressions going from C7 to CX, it is dimmer. I guess its new tech to reduce burn-in.
bem69
Apr 26 2021, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 24 2021, 03:52 PM) Sort of but not really. C7 had higher peak brightness overall, but CX has less aggressive ABL and if the background is static (like pure white or mostly white, like snow) then the CX is actually brighter as it can sustain full field brightness longer than the C7. Ah I see. Gotta put that to the test then.
bem69
Apr 27 2021, 10:49 AM
48" C1 is coming. Roadshow at KLCC.
This post has been edited by bem69: Apr 27 2021, 11:28 AM
bem69
Apr 27 2021, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Apr 27 2021, 11:49 AM) Wah 9 years old. Tahan la your Sharp TV. Yeah, if you wanna get CX, probably should make the decision soon. I remember C9 went out of stock fast when CX came out.
bem69
Apr 29 2021, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(cyrobytes @ Apr 29 2021, 11:17 AM) Getting offer of 6850 for 55 inch CX model at nearby electric shop. Is it a good price? Cheapest I’ve seen so far..
bem69
May 1 2021, 01:36 AM
QUOTE(futobuta @ May 1 2021, 01:18 AM) I bought mine 1 week back at 6680. Wow, that’s a good price, what’s their price for the 65?
bem69
May 2 2021, 01:08 PM
QUOTE(oguraX @ May 2 2021, 01:07 PM) Guys, should I get LG CX 55" or 65" LED tv? Max budget. Really wanted to try an OLED tho  OLED is in a different league for me.