ASUS X42J (a.k.a ASUS K24JR)
Intel Core i7 740QM @ 1.73GHz
4GB DDR3 RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 1GB
HDD 500GB

Running Ubuntu 10.04 LTS

The rest are pretty standard stuff

Notes for owners of this laptop!

1. What works - Everything except for touchpad disabling/enabling, maybe I forgot to manually activate something

2. What doesn't
*Display - ATI drivers will have to use ATI's driver, not from repo, and do NOT use newer kernel other than the one Ubuntu came with else the driver won't work.
*Sound - speaker works but for redirecting audio to headphones, upgrade ALSA to 1.0.23 manually via a script that can be acquired HERE. Follow instructions and reboot, voila you're done thumbup.gif

-- UPDATE: I don't know but somehow 2.6.37 kernels solved my problem. Same with sound, so everything's good as done o_o;;

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Feb 28 2011, 02:17 PM
FlameReaper
post Mar 26 2011, 12:06 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

QUOTE(CopyX @ Mar 26 2011, 04:39 AM)
is ubuntu gonna work with macbook pro?

i mean with all its function esp. the multi-touchpad.
Depending on what the specs are, but first you'll have to make sure you can boot the LiveCD or the LiveUSB. Else it's going to be a tough time trying to install.

But if you can get a live session running from either two then I suggest you do a test drive and test what works and what doesn't.
FlameReaper
post Feb 26 2013, 08:11 PM

I lari portable on my dude
560 posts

QUOTE(Sword Breaker @ Feb 25 2013, 04:50 PM)
for laptops, i prefer using xfce coz very lightweight  brows.gif
depends on hardware la bro. Kalau dah laptop i7, RAM over 4gb takkan nak XFCE gak. membazir. whistling.gif

kalau netbook pakai xfce I leh terima lagi whistling.gif

This post has been edited by FlameReaper: Feb 26 2013, 08:12 PM

0.0209sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:38 AM