Which are the best for Small and Medium Business, License Antivirus

TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 18 2006, 12:23 PM, updated 19y ago

22 posts

Hi All,

Good Day smile.gif

May I know which of the below Licenses Anti-virus are the best for Small and Medium Business? hmm.gif

1) AVG Internet Security Network Edition
2) AVG Anti-Virus Network Edition
3) avast! 4 Enterprise Suite

I hope some of sifu here could give me some opinion. I need to help my company to search for the best antivirus solution.
I appreciate for any opinion given to me.

Thanks in advanced.
super macgyver
post Dec 18 2006, 12:24 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

symantec Norton antivirus corporate edition
TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 18 2006, 12:29 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Dec 18 2006, 12:24 PM)
symantec Norton antivirus corporate edition
Hi super macgyver, thanks for your fast reply. biggrin.gif
I heard about this before, but my bosses only looking for the 3 products.
Anyway thanks again. smile.gif

This post has been edited by johnnyc2pi: Dec 18 2006, 12:31 PM
Nightfalls
post Dec 18 2006, 12:31 PM

~Hi Baby~
521 posts

er... AVAST - u'll have some headache configuring stuffs

AVG - so so lah... not bad .. won't slow down ur PC... but u might need a backup antivirus cos not all virus can be detected...
TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 18 2006, 12:48 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Nightfalls @ Dec 18 2006, 12:31 PM)
er... AVAST - u'll have some headache configuring stuffs

AVG - so so lah... not bad .. won't slow down ur PC... but u might need a backup antivirus cos not all virus can be detected...
Hi Nightfalls,

Thanks for your reply. May I know what headache configuration stuff avast have? hmm.gif

super macgyver
post Dec 18 2006, 12:53 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc2pi @ Dec 18 2006, 12:48 PM)
Hi Nightfalls,

Thanks for your reply. May I know what headache configuration stuff avast have?  hmm.gif
Not tat complicated actually, sure they will provide u a mual once u bought the original avast. icon_idea.gif
bean_man
post Dec 18 2006, 01:37 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(johnnyc2pi @ Dec 18 2006, 12:23 PM)
Hi All,

Good Day  smile.gif

May I know which of the below Licenses Anti-virus are the best for Small and Medium Business?  hmm.gif

1) AVG Internet Security Network Edition
2) AVG Anti-Virus Network Edition
3) avast! 4 Enterprise Suite

I hope some of sifu here could give me some opinion. I need to help my company to search for the best antivirus solution.
I appreciate for any opinion given to me.

Thanks in advanced.
I'm just curious,the choices you have are very limited. Is there a reason for it? Is it affordability/performance/functionality of the Enterprise suite?

TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 18 2006, 01:54 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(bean_man @ Dec 18 2006, 01:37 PM)
I'm just curious,the choices you have are very limited. Is there a reason for it? Is it affordability/performance/functionality of the Enterprise suite?
Hi bean_man,

As I reply to super macgyer in previous post, my bosses only looking for the 3 products. So that's why the choices are very limited.
For the Enterprise suite, performance and affordability. This is because we have more then 50 workstation and 20 servers (linux and windows). You may refer to statement below. That's what I have read.
So what's ur opinion?

Pricing example
Imagine your company is using 30 workstations with Windows XP, 4 Windows 2003 Servers with Exchange, ISA, SharePoint Servers installed, and 10 PDA's. Traditionally, you'd need to purchase 30 licenses of avast! Professional Edition, 4 licenses of avast! Server Edition and all the plugins, 30 mailbox licenses of avast! Linux Servers and 10 licenses of avast! for PDA.

That is, for a 1-year contract, you'd pay for

30 avast! Professional Edition (30 x $20.95 = $628,50)
4 avast! Server Editions (4 x $209 = $836.00)
30 avast! Exchange Server Editions (30 x $22.95 = $688.50)
30 avast! ISA Server Editions (30 x $12.95 = $388.50)
30 avast! SharePoint Server Editions (30 x $12.95 = $388.50)
10 avast! for PDA (10 x $11.95 = $119.50)
i.e., your total would be $3049.50.

If you take the Suite approach, however, you'll simply pay for 34 licenses of the Enterprise Suite, that is 34 x $57.95 = $1970.30. This is a $1079 (35%) saving!
This post has been edited by johnnyc2pi: Dec 18 2006, 02:03 PM
natakaasd
post Dec 18 2006, 07:07 PM

2,188 posts

@johnnyc2pi

My 2 cents worth: Please do not take cost as a benchmark for Security Software. Tell your boss that saving $200 now might be like wasting 1-2 whole days just recovering data after a serious virus attack.

No point getting some slightly cheap option, and yet risking being attack by malware. I rather spent an additional $500, and really be safe.

Hope this can help you clear the dust. Cheers!
jackal1950
post Dec 18 2006, 07:11 PM

572 posts

well the boss has already invested on a very good anti-virus. Human anti virus called johnnyc2pi. Any virus attack the PC, definitely johnnyc2pi will be the first to protect the computer.
natakaasd
post Dec 18 2006, 07:20 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE("jackal1950")
well the boss has already invested on a very good anti-virus. Human anti virus called johnnyc2pi. Any virus attack the PC, definitely johnnyc2pi will be the first to protect the computer.

I would like to ask, does this statement serve any purpose? No spamming in this forum. Thank you.
TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 19 2006, 09:37 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 18 2006, 07:07 PM)
@johnnyc2pi

My 2 cents worth: Please do not take cost as a benchmark for Security Software. Tell your boss that saving $200 now might be like wasting 1-2 whole days just recovering data after a serious virus attack.

No point getting some slightly cheap option, and yet risking being attack by malware. I rather spent an additional $500, and really be safe.

Hope this can help you clear the dust. Cheers!
Hi natakaasd,

Thanks for your reply. What is your suggestion for SMB antivirus solution? smile.gif
natakaasd
post Dec 19 2006, 09:58 AM

2,188 posts

I am not very sure about SMB Suite AV pricing. But, I can say these few options would be ok.

1. Kaspersky
2. NOD32
3. AntiVir

Avast is fine. But purely looking at AVG might not be a very good idea.

Cheers!
jackal1950
post Dec 19 2006, 10:39 AM

572 posts

Get free antivirus from bit defender

http://www.bitdefender.com/site/view/Downl...e-Products.html
TSjohnnyc2pi
post Dec 19 2006, 10:39 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Dec 19 2006, 09:58 AM)
I am not very sure about SMB Suite AV pricing. But, I can say these few options would be ok.

1. Kaspersky
2. NOD32
3. AntiVir

Avast is fine. But purely looking at AVG might not be a very good idea.

Cheers!
Thanks for your info. I will report to my bosses about the AV. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Dec 19 2006, 10:39 AM)
Is this free for commercial? hmm.gif

ex660
post Dec 20 2006, 12:19 AM

983 posts

I wonder why there's no one mentioning BitDefender?

BitDefender price is lowest and affordable amongst all of the mentioned AV Suites..

And it works better, priced better & recognized..

It's an all rounder package...

If you are talking about budget... BitDefender fits in

If you are talking about performance etc. BitDefender does not lose out to Kaspersky..

In fact I think its underrated..

While other FREE AV's are highly recommended by users here because its for Home use..

jackal1950
post Dec 20 2006, 10:50 AM

572 posts

well the free version of bit defender didnt state not for commercial use like AVG.
therefore i treat it as free just like AOL Active Virus Shield (actually by Kaspersky)
ex660
post Dec 20 2006, 11:26 AM

983 posts

But the BitDefender 8 FREE edition is not exactly the BitDefender v10 now..
and they are different...

So its incomparable to AOL Active Virus Shield etc. etc.
natakaasd
post Dec 20 2006, 11:43 AM

2,188 posts

FREE Anti-Virus for COMMERCIAL USE has been discussed. This Chatter ought to be cut out.

Why BitDefender is underrated? I'll attempt to explain.

It's definition might be superior. I will not deny that. BUT, it takes up too much Memory and Processing Power. Kaspersky on the other hand, takes less. I wish not to argue this, but I have tested BitDefender v10 and Kaspersky v5.xx.xx before.

I hope this clears the dust. Cheers!
ex660
post Dec 20 2006, 12:13 PM

983 posts

I beg to differ...
I have test run BitDefender and AVAST on a low spec Celeron 600mhz with only 256mb of RAM... It show any lag or speed boost in significant to even notice it..

Likewise.. BD & AVAST on Athlon XP with 256mb RAM... It gave me the same result...

I am talking about BD v10 PLUS with AV,Antispam,Antispyware & Firewall

Not being bias... but..

Now If you could justify the price for double for a little speed boost for using Kaspersky..

Take a look at the BD thread.. I do not have users complaining that it took "too much Memory and Processing Power"..

0.0192sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:42 PM