Do you use Kodi TV?

GuyM
post Oct 7 2017, 12:11 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Oct 7 2017, 10:38 AM)
HI

I am still on Kodi jarvis. tried to instal ver 17.4 but the app cannot installed. Reading "app not installed"

Do you guy any clue how to installed. Uninstall the previous version is last option
Cos your box might be Android 4.4.2 only hence your alternative is FTMC, SPMC, go Google

This post has been edited by GuyM: Oct 7 2017, 12:12 PM
SUSsdin3269
post Oct 7 2017, 12:17 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 7 2017, 12:11 PM)
Cos your box might be Android 4.4.2 only hence your alternative is FTMC, SPMC, go Google
Mine is android 6.0 rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Tried to do it manually using file browser also kenot
AVFAN
post Oct 7 2017, 12:23 PM

24,453 posts

HI

I am still on Kodi jarvis. tried to instal ver 17.4 but the app cannot installed. Reading "app not installed"

Do you guy any clue how to installed. Uninstall the previous version is last option
kodi 17 will not overwrite 16.

erase old complete, redo all.

no other way.

even if u save and reuse old folder org.xbmc.kodi, u will get errors, incompatibility, etc.
GuyM
post Oct 7 2017, 02:04 PM

1,787 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Oct 7 2017, 12:17 PM)
Mine is android 6.0 rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Tried to do it manually using file browser also kenot
I'm the lazy type, i would just reset the whole box to factory default then install Krypton and other apk... A fresh install. Usually solves the problem
TSElvis85
post Oct 13 2017, 01:53 PM

62 posts

puchongite
post Oct 13 2017, 02:17 PM

33,608 posts

HI

My box comes with 17.3. When I tried to sideload 17.4, it says "app not installed". I deleted the 17.3 version and then it will install.

If you want to retain your configuration, you can consider doing a backup using Kodi addon. There are many different addon programs which do backup, I think nobody guarantees everything will be restored correctly, everything is just best effort.
TSElvis85
post Oct 29 2017, 03:18 PM

62 posts

IPTV list pdate daily, no more worries... smile.gif

nattan415
post Nov 1 2017, 03:40 PM

43 posts

Hi I downloaded the addons alr. But then when I tried to click on the files, the files won't load and it just remain back at the same page. Any ideas why?

This post has been edited by nattan415: Nov 1 2017, 03:40 PM
boarulez
post Nov 2 2017, 12:58 PM

359 posts

Hi I'm planning to buy a box .
At the moment I saw many miBox buyer, but from what I see there are quite many with almost the same spec but cheaper price , why ppl choose xiaomi? Because of the brand ?
I'm more into tvb and Korean dramas, guess I just buy any box with kodi will do right ?
NewbieBetta
post Nov 16 2017, 01:59 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

Can I watch TVB HK drama using Kodi? Like what AOD have?
AVFAN
post Nov 16 2017, 02:47 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 16 2017, 01:59 PM)

QUOTE(boarulez @ Nov 2 2017, 12:58 PM)
At the moment I saw many miBox buyer, but from what I see there are quite many with almost the same spec but cheaper price , why ppl choose xiaomi? Because of the brand ?
I'm more into tvb and Korean dramas, guess I just buy any box with kodi will do right ?
Go to kodi thread, read first couple pages, understand how it works.
Kodi is an app, a platform. The kodi app owners provide it but do not put things there.
Other users make their own addons, let public use it for free.
Hk, korean dramas are found in some addons, but rather limited.
These addons depend on the owners who dun always maintain well.
Keep in mind kodi is more of a western.eng app.
Fans of tvb worldwide is tiny compared to eng or even mandarin.
Asian app makers tend to do their own standalone apps, not put in kodi.
So, u get some... but dun get upset when u dun get enuf or they dun work!

Boxes come in all shapes n sizes.
Cheap no good, good no cheap.
But it really depends on what u want.

Some hv no ethernet port, only wifi; some relatively small storage.
Some unable to do hd audio, some cant even do dd/dts.
If u want better features n capabilities, u need to pay more for better boxes.
And dun be fooled... another box with same specs may not be the same at all.
A lot has to do with the box firmware, done by the box manufacturer and continuous support.
Consider things like start up, shut down time, responsiveness, video n audio quality output, networking, utilities, wifi strength.

StevenL
post Nov 16 2017, 03:17 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(boarulez @ Nov 2 2017, 12:58 PM)
QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 16 2017, 01:59 PM)
Both of you can buy a simple 2gb/16gb boxes with min S905X Android 6 for under RM250 to meet your simple expectations such as installing Kodi 17.5 and another RSS Player (this is backup for your oppa, taiwanese, chinese and hongkie dramas....) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

http://www.lazada.com.my/tx3-mini-2gb-16gb...75aenzrWGi&ff=1

http://www.lazada.com.my/tx2-android-60-tv...75aenzrWGi&ff=1

http://www.lazada.com.my/t95n-mini-m8s-pro...75aenzrWGi&ff=1

http://www.lazada.com.my/tanix-tx3-mini-tv...6317kllpJp&ff=1

http://www.lazada.com.my/x96-android-60-ko...6317kllpJp&ff=1

This post has been edited by StevenL: Nov 16 2017, 03:19 PM
NewbieBetta
post Nov 16 2017, 03:46 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

Thanks for the reply both sifu. Currenlty I'm looking at Milix box or Himedia.

Basically Kodi can get me all sort of channel like what its in Astro?

This post has been edited by NewbieBetta: Nov 16 2017, 03:49 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 16 2017, 04:16 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Nov 16 2017, 03:46 PM)

No and yes.

Axtro is axtro, u pay, decoder gives u those channels of yr package.

There is illegal axtro which i will not talk about in public and i suggest u dont to avoid trouble.

But if u mean certain live channels, yes.

They can be obtained with the right apps.

But dun expect all of them, in hd, and free!

There are also video on demand besides live.

Quality, reliability, stability varies a lot, depends on yr speed, device, the app n links themselves.

Kodi is just one app, there are dozens of others.

In general, eng videos is easiest to get.

Free live sports in hd is hardest to get.

U can read and ask more about boxes and apps in other dedicated threads.

As this is a kodi thread for newbies.
GuyM
post Nov 16 2017, 08:42 PM

1,787 posts

What Astro, kindly list em down cos I never use xtro b4....
RioMeni
post Nov 29 2017, 06:54 PM

217 posts

Me wanna know too
TSElvis85
post Dec 1 2017, 11:18 AM

62 posts

lonelywolf90
post Jan 13 2018, 02:00 PM

363 posts

I'm also deciding to buy a tv box to use Kodi.

I've been reading this thread and the other Kodi V2 thread and I hope I'm informative enough to be able to setup my own Kodi but I wanted to clarify again.

To be able to use Kodi and its live TV features, I just need a TV Box, Kodi app and its add ons correct?

I don't need TV tuner etc right?

I'm also having some challenges picking the right TV box as I wanted it to be lag free in a sense that it doesn't feel sluggish using Kodi.

Internet I will be using Time so I believe it would be smooth.

For my kind of requirements, would a MiBox suffice? Or is there a better one I should go for? I know the minimum would be 2GB RAM and Android 4.0.

Kindly advice ya. smile.gif

EDIT : I actually have a UBOX 3 but it does give issues and I'm sort of looking for other solutions. UBox has many chinese apps too and I'm english educated, so Kodi would really be great for me to use.

This post has been edited by lonelywolf90: Jan 13 2018, 02:02 PM
Cynox
post Feb 2 2018, 09:38 AM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

I just got a Samsung SmartTV series 6. Is that a way to install Kodi in it? Did a brief google for this and seems like Kodi cannot be install in Samsung TV as they are using TizenOS. blink.gif

Thank you for any advice. smile.gif
komandermaut
post Feb 2 2018, 03:25 PM

357 posts

kodi is android app, you need at least an android tv for it. or better an android box.

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0285sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:43 AM