Modding project, need some help and ideas....

SUSAllnGap
post Dec 18 2006, 01:33 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(Striker07 @ Dec 18 2006, 01:21 AM)
Hi, i'm planning on modding this case. It's just a normal atx casing that i got for rm85 at PC fair. I actually bought this case because of the front air vents which i thought would provide enough ventilation, but to my horror, when i returned home and opened up the case, the vents turned out to be fake. vmad.gif

My current plan is to enlarge the blowhole on top to fit a 120mm fan, and to cut a side panel window.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

I'm very new to case modding. The only experiences i have is painting my old casing (which turned out horrible) and stealthing the cd drives. I hope the sifus here can teach me some tricks.  icon_rolleyes.gif The only tools i have are a jigsaw, drill, and the normal hammer and screwdriver stuff... i don't have a dremel or rotary tool, and currently don't have the budget to buy one. sweat.gif

I have a few questions to ask:
1. Will the airflow be sufficient with an additional 120mm fan at the side, blowing the graphic card, a 120mm fan on top, and two 80mm fans at the back? Or should i chop up the front panel to make space for a 120mm fan? (Note: i'll be changing the cooler to a scythe ninja or something similiar)

2. If i paint the internal casing black, would the paint affect the components or would there be more heat inside? And my mobo tray is made from aluminium, would i be able to paint it?

3. Is it necessary to mask the casing when cutting it? Any tips on cutting it with a jigsaw? i've actually never used it to cut steel before.

4. I plan to cut some holes and stick some leds in the front "vents". How do i connect the leds to the psu wires?

Please post any other suggestions on how to mod this casing. Thanks. biggrin.gif
congrats....now you know ordinary casing will cause HDD to heat up laugh.gif

0.0167sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:56 PM