Modding project, need some help and ideas....

TSStriker07
post Dec 18 2006, 01:21 AM, updated 20y ago

70 posts

Hi, i'm planning on modding this case. It's just a normal atx casing that i got for rm85 at PC fair. I actually bought this case because of the front air vents which i thought would provide enough ventilation, but to my horror, when i returned home and opened up the case, the vents turned out to be fake. vmad.gif

My current plan is to enlarge the blowhole on top to fit a 120mm fan, and to cut a side panel window.

I'm very new to case modding. The only experiences i have is painting my old casing (which turned out horrible) and stealthing the cd drives. I hope the sifus here can teach me some tricks. icon_rolleyes.gif The only tools i have are a jigsaw, drill, and the normal hammer and screwdriver stuff... i don't have a dremel or rotary tool, and currently don't have the budget to buy one. sweat.gif

I have a few questions to ask:
1. Will the airflow be sufficient with an additional 120mm fan at the side, blowing the graphic card, a 120mm fan on top, and two 80mm fans at the back? Or should i chop up the front panel to make space for a 120mm fan? (Note: i'll be changing the cooler to a scythe ninja or something similiar)

2. If i paint the internal casing black, would the paint affect the components or would there be more heat inside? And my mobo tray is made from aluminium, would i be able to paint it?

3. Is it necessary to mask the casing when cutting it? Any tips on cutting it with a jigsaw? i've actually never used it to cut steel before.

4. I plan to cut some holes and stick some leds in the front "vents". How do i connect the leds to the psu wires?

Please post any other suggestions on how to mod this casing. Thanks. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Striker07: Dec 19 2006, 03:46 PM
LWRNCH6550
post Dec 18 2006, 01:29 AM

614 posts

the case exterior design not bad ! abit of alienware sweetness outside and with some ciplak bitterness inside .
*actually , the side fan is enough , unless ur OCing or running it 24/7 . Use some good fans for the sidepanel .

This post has been edited by LWRNCH6550: Dec 18 2006, 01:31 AM
SUSAllnGap
post Dec 18 2006, 01:33 AM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(Striker07 @ Dec 18 2006, 01:21 AM)
Hi, i'm planning on modding this case. It's just a normal atx casing that i got for rm85 at PC fair. I actually bought this case because of the front air vents which i thought would provide enough ventilation, but to my horror, when i returned home and opened up the case, the vents turned out to be fake. vmad.gif

My current plan is to enlarge the blowhole on top to fit a 120mm fan, and to cut a side panel window.
user posted imageuser posted imageuser posted imageuser posted image

I'm very new to case modding. The only experiences i have is painting my old casing (which turned out horrible) and stealthing the cd drives. I hope the sifus here can teach me some tricks.  icon_rolleyes.gif The only tools i have are a jigsaw, drill, and the normal hammer and screwdriver stuff... i don't have a dremel or rotary tool, and currently don't have the budget to buy one. sweat.gif

I have a few questions to ask:
1. Will the airflow be sufficient with an additional 120mm fan at the side, blowing the graphic card, a 120mm fan on top, and two 80mm fans at the back? Or should i chop up the front panel to make space for a 120mm fan? (Note: i'll be changing the cooler to a scythe ninja or something similiar)

2. If i paint the internal casing black, would the paint affect the components or would there be more heat inside? And my mobo tray is made from aluminium, would i be able to paint it?

3. Is it necessary to mask the casing when cutting it? Any tips on cutting it with a jigsaw? i've actually never used it to cut steel before.

4. I plan to cut some holes and stick some leds in the front "vents". How do i connect the leds to the psu wires?

Please post any other suggestions on how to mod this casing. Thanks. biggrin.gif
congrats....now you know ordinary casing will cause HDD to heat up laugh.gif
LWRNCH6550
post Dec 18 2006, 01:37 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Dec 18 2006, 01:33 AM)
congrats....now you know ordinary casing will cause HDD to heat up  laugh.gif
i think he was careless and excited when buying the casing . shoulda check the whole casing in and out before buying .
sherren
post Dec 18 2006, 01:44 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

the front air vents u said seems to be faked , u can cut so there are some air vents to the front fans
TSStriker07
post Dec 18 2006, 01:46 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(LWRNCH6550 @ Dec 18 2006, 01:37 AM)
i think he was careless and excited when buying the casing . shoulda check the whole casing in and out before buying .
Bought it during PC fair...somemore was rushing to go off. I actually checked the interior and thought i could just cut the front to fit a 120mm fan. But i made a mistake by not checking the exterior thoroughly. sad.gif
E-J@1
post Dec 18 2006, 02:04 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

have u started the mod yet?

the design on the case is not bad... also notice the interior design... easy for cable management rclxms.gif
TSStriker07
post Dec 19 2006, 01:47 AM

70 posts

Did some cutting today... cool2.gif

The side panel window is still empty...i haven't bought the acrylic yet.
Left some space so i can install a single 80mm fan in the middle if i want.
Noticed anything different? laugh.gif

Some shots with the hardware installed:
Didn't really have time to tidy up the cables yet..had to assemble the rig quickly coz i was rushing to play dota with some friends. tongue.gif
I plan to buy two red 80mm led fans for the front...currently those at the front are orange uv fans.

Hmm...i need a name for this project...any suggestions? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Striker07: Dec 19 2006, 01:49 AM
z3r0717
post Dec 19 2006, 01:51 AM

Gundam needs to pee too
2,239 posts

erm... project ALIEN? hahaha... nice cutting man..
ianho
post Dec 19 2006, 02:27 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Pls edit ure 1st posting. Put the pix vertically instead of horizontally. It's breaking the frames big time. Even my widescreen oso need to side scroll.
E-J@1
post Dec 19 2006, 08:47 AM

Capital E™
2,603 posts

damn, i really like the design for the mobo tray, easy for cable management cry.gif

0.0168sec    1.01    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:13 PM