11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Property for own use, Any recommendation?

yewkhuay
post Oct 2 2007, 06:36 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Oct 2 2007, 03:01 PM)
cash-on-cash basis.. it's like 11.8% (nett off bank loan, maintainance charges, taxes & insurance).. denominator is the capital that i put in.
i've been approached a few times, on offered to buy up the unit.. i'm working out a viable model so that eventually, any buyers will still be able to make a decent rental income after sale closure..

on the side, i do have a dilemma.. to sell or to keep it going? my equity buildup is pretty slow.. average about $150/month.. (but i considered it as bonus.. it's like the tenant is contributing additional to the unit for me on monthly basis)

if i let go at the last successful transacted price of a similiar unit.. i shall pocket about $90K(nett) after closing my loan and factoring in 1% about closing cost.. and holding period is 3-years.

if the unit approaches back to its initial developer price.. the nett profit will exceed $100K.. so you can see, it's just a few percent more appreciation to go.. (so the saying "profits are made when you buy, not when you sell" really rings relevant here.. my advantage is not at selling, but at entry to this unit)

the problem with selling is.. i will loose a very good rental income.. but should i hold.. i will have to consider other dynamic factors hovering currently. interest risk and market risk.

anyhow, i will have till the end of this year to decide..
btw, should i sell.. will only then i might consider revealing the unit.. but it's a business transaction.. not some kopi-tiam chatting here.
i m using similiar calculation tht u r doing oso , rental after deduct all expenses/total capital put in x 100%, but mine only about 7% return , tongue.gif with the option of increasing rental 10% after end of 1yr contract. icon_rolleyes.gif

haha, tempted to get ur unit if it is within my budget n if u r letting go...hehehe laugh.gif

thanks for sharing... notworthy.gif
dr_luv
post Oct 2 2007, 06:42 PM

28 posts

lwb/vreis

Thanks for sharing the fact about Kepong. I am going for own stay.

What do you think of Laman Rimbunan gated/guarded community with 3 storey (22x75) cost at 500k being develop in Kepong Central.

It comes with plaster ceilling for all floors, fully built using clay brick, wall finishes upto ceilling for kitchen and for all bathrooms. It has 6 rooms and 5 bathrooms. No fencing as all built with bricks front and back. View is Kepong KL Metropolitan Park Lake.

Kepong has all below facilities

govt offices (jpn, epf, pos, tnb, jpj,)
banks (ocbc, hsbc, stanchart, rhb, maybank, alliance)
hypermarket (careffour, jusco)
shops
restaurants (number of food court)
school (3 chinese schools and govt schools)

vreis
post Oct 2 2007, 07:58 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Oct 2 2007, 06:42 PM)
lwb/vreis

What do you think of Laman Rimbunan gated/guarded community with 3 storey (22x75) cost at 500k being develop in Kepong Central.

It comes with plaster ceilling for all floors, fully built using clay brick, wall finishes upto ceilling for kitchen and for all bathrooms. It has 6 rooms and 5 bathrooms. No fencing as all built with bricks front and back. View is Kepong KL Metropolitan Park Lake.

shops
My place to laman Rimbunan only 5 mins but too bad I can't afford it. As far as I know, A friend bought a unit there, cos he found that a similar unit in DPC cost almost 200-300K more. The 1st phase should be cost around RM400K. Anyway I really love this area as I grew up here & kinda attached to it.
The only downside is the traffic congestion. As you can see further up LR, there are blocks of shophouses still under construction, the traffic is going to be like those shophouses around Carrefour or worse. sweat.gif
Pai
post Oct 2 2007, 11:11 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 2 2007, 07:58 PM)
My place to laman Rimbunan only 5 mins but too bad I can't afford it. As far as I know, A friend bought a unit there, cos he found that a similar unit in DPC cost almost 200-300K more. The 1st phase should be cost around RM400K. Anyway I really love this area as I grew up here & kinda attached to it.
The only downside is the traffic congestion. As you can see further up LR, there are blocks of shophouses still under construction, the traffic is going to be like those shophouses around Carrefour or worse. sweat.gif
i think conjestion is a major problem anywhere in KL. You cant escape this problem even if you are paying 200k more for DPC or SPK properties.

And while the contruction of shophouses may be negative factor TODAY, Im quite sure LR will enjoy a good upside once the commercial area matures wink.gif
lwb
post Oct 2 2007, 11:20 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Oct 2 2007, 06:36 PM)
i m using similiar calculation tht u r doing oso , rental after deduct all expenses/total capital put in x 100%, but mine only about 7% return , tongue.gif with the option of increasing rental 10% after end of 1yr contract. icon_rolleyes.gif

haha, tempted to get ur unit if it is within my budget n if u r letting go...hehehe laugh.gif

thanks for sharing... notworthy.gif
don't give up(look down) on your current yield of 7%.. rental can be grown and over the pass 3 years.. my rental has grown 18.75% from RM 1.8k to RM 2.1k.. i had a lock-down deal of 2 year tenancy agreement for this RM2.1k. upon expiring.. i'm planning to float it to RM2.2k (that's the on going rate on a similar unit).. the keyword here is.. grow your rental (it's not static)

the budget for the unit is a STEAL if i tell you the RM/sqf... it's ridiculous and i nearly scolded my real-estate agent friend.. thus when i committed to the unit, i didn't see just the RM 1.8k alone..

if you really want to prosper with properties.. you need to learn the lingo.. don't just talk yield or retail discounts.. if you can visualize RM/sqf.. you can then find your hit price(entry) and exit..

so, pai/yewkhuay/dr luv/etc.. if you want to pay attention.. and benefit from this.. think of properties in RM/sqf and size up everything back to its term. for each investment class there's its own lingo.. master it and you can compete better.
lwb
post Oct 2 2007, 11:36 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Oct 2 2007, 06:42 PM)
lwb/vreis

shops
aahhh... i can sense your passion through your description of this said property.. i believe, even without our answers.. you already have an answer within you, right? smile.gif

i can't deny the the fact that the emotional needs can be strong when it comes to our own place to stay.. clay bricks, hhmmnn... how nice.

well, just one question for you dr luv.. that 500 grand is one expensive commitment.. i can sense that perhaps an additional of +/- 100 grand (total 600k) will be added to it.. the 100 is for furnishing.. are you ready for such extensive commitment?

if yes.. i don't see why not.. i'm not entitled to criticized what one's termed as 'home, sweet home'..
what's the build-up, if you don't' mind me asking.. exceeds 2500 sqf?

your conveniency-checklist looks pretty good too.. banks, shopping, eateries, etc.. do you feel safe at that area?
have you tried taking a slow drive at that place at night? or take a walking stroll.. you can see/feel more of the neighbourhood if you do so.. that's one of my due-diligence when assessing a property (don't just rely on printed medias)

lwb
post Oct 2 2007, 11:45 PM

1,504 posts

it's an irony to equate traffic congestion as utterly bad.. why?
well.. in any lively township, there ought to be people.. and people comes with cars (and lots of 'em).

where on earth do you find a lively township without congestions? (think of bangsar, bandar utama, ss2, subang jaya, etc.).. here's the ironic opposite.. would you then prefer to live in a ghost-town instead where you can tell who's passing-by by the sound of its engine?!

i've notably begin to notice a shift of population recently.. at where i currently live.. population are shifting out.. it's odd to have had to deal with a lively traffic noises and people way into the night.. that was 10-15 years ago..

there's this appearing "ghost town" like environment taking place.. don't get me wrong, it's a solid neighbourhood in pj.
so, the question remains.. how do you see traffic congestions? (simply as a nuisance? or..?)

btw, i hope to move to putra heights someday.. i'm raising serious capital for it. smile.gif
Pai
post Oct 2 2007, 11:51 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Oct 2 2007, 11:20 PM)
don't give up(look down) on your current yield of 7%.. rental can be grown and over the pass 3 years.. my rental has grown 18.75% from RM 1.8k to RM 2.1k.. i had a lock-down deal of 2 year tenancy agreement for this RM2.1k. upon expiring.. i'm planning to float it to RM2.2k (that's the on going rate on a similar unit).. the keyword here is.. grow your rental (it's not static)

mate,

let me get this straight, your current rental p/m now is 2.1k, and your monthly nett income from this property is RM150, right?
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 09:42 AM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 2 2007, 11:51 PM)
mate,

let me get this straight, your current rental p/m now is 2.1k, and your monthly nett income from this property is RM150, right?
incorrect.. if you're sharp with figures.. you can most likely tell how much is the property.
dr_luv
post Oct 3 2007, 10:37 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Oct 2 2007, 11:36 PM)
aahhh... i can sense your passion through your description of this said property.. i believe, even without our answers.. you already have an answer within you, right?  smile.gif

i can't deny the the fact that the emotional needs can be strong when it comes to our own place to stay.. clay bricks, hhmmnn... how nice.

well, just one question for you dr luv.. that 500 grand is one expensive commitment.. i can sense that perhaps an additional of +/- 100 grand (total 600k) will be added to it.. the 100 is for furnishing.. are you ready for such extensive commitment?

if yes.. i don't see why not.. i'm not entitled to criticized what one's termed as 'home, sweet home'..
what's the build-up, if you don't' mind me asking.. exceeds 2500 sqf?

your conveniency-checklist looks pretty good too.. banks, shopping, eateries, etc.. do you feel safe at that area?
have you tried taking a slow drive at that place at night? or take a walking stroll.. you can see/feel more of the neighbourhood if you do so.. that's one of my due-diligence when assessing a property (don't just rely on printed medias)
Well, its 3,033 sqft.

500k is quite expensive, Me alone, there is no way. I am sharing with my wife. Well the house comes with ready to move in concept. No renovation expect grill and wiring. I mean front and back its all brick wall replacing the fence and everything this big. We decided not to spend more 30-50k for renovation, just a minor stuffs.

Why I like Kepong and houses in Kepong is expensive and looks like will be the last parcel of Kepong for new development after DPC/Sunway which is for high end units.

Feeling safe, not yet check.

With a proton (fully paid) on my hand, can pay the house loan. Forget the dream on Civic and Lancer.

Added on October 3, 2007, 10:39 am
QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 2 2007, 11:11 PM)
i think conjestion is a major problem anywhere in KL. You cant escape this problem even if you are paying 200k more for DPC or SPK properties.

And while the contruction of shophouses may be negative factor TODAY, Im quite sure LR will enjoy a good upside once the commercial area matures  wink.gif
There is a lot of shop houses being built. Any yet it sold out like hot cake. Not sure what they selling but Kepong businessman will buy.

Added on October 3, 2007, 10:43 am
QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 2 2007, 07:58 PM)
Bro, I agree with you. Born and grew in Kepong for 30 years and my wife from other state like Kepong like very much.

I do agree traffic congestion which started with Jusco development and now with Careffour. One thing for sure this not a ghost town cause every food court open for 24 hours and everything is lively esp chinese festivals.

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Oct 3 2007, 10:43 AM
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 11:51 AM

1,504 posts

well, i didn't exactly said.. renovation.. i specifically refered to furnishing.
+3000 sqf is huge (contributed by the additional level).

just becareful with your furnishing expenses.. alot of people get carried away with it (myself including)
Pai
post Oct 3 2007, 12:29 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 2 2007, 11:51 PM)
mate,

Read your post somewhere, and remembered you mentioned RM150, which doesnt make any sense to me if your yield is 11%.

RM250+- should be the ball park figure I suppose.
vreis
post Oct 3 2007, 12:50 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(lwb @ Oct 3 2007, 11:51 AM)
well, i didn't exactly said.. renovation.. i specifically refered to furnishing.
+3000 sqf is huge (contributed by the additional level).

just becareful with your furnishing expenses.. alot of people get carried away with it (myself including)
Such a huge place, if put in lesser furniture, it'll look empty. On the other hand if put in substandard furniture, it won't look nice. Yeah, it's a delicate decision.
lwb
post Oct 3 2007, 01:35 PM

1,504 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Oct 3 2007, 12:29 PM)
Read your post somewhere, and remembered you mentioned RM150, which doesnt make any sense to me if your yield is 11%.

RM250+- should be the ball park figure I suppose.
nope.. incorrect
philyong
post Oct 3 2007, 06:00 PM

179 posts

sorry a lil off track. Just wanna know how are the prices for kepong hses. Thanks.
dr_luv
post Oct 3 2007, 06:29 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 3 2007, 12:50 PM)
Such a huge place, if put in lesser furniture, it'll look empty. On the other hand if put in substandard furniture, it won't look nice. Yeah, it's a delicate decision.
Its quite huge. Now I am thinking why do I need such a big place and 5 + 1 room ? when its only and my newly wed wife going to move in.

master room = sleep
bedroom 1 = child 1
bedroom 2 = child 2
bedroom 3 = ?
bedroom 4 = ?
maid room = no maid yet ?

Its going to empty with echo sound each time we converse. Any idea what can I do with the rooms.

Added on October 3, 2007, 6:34 pm
QUOTE(philyong @ Oct 3 2007, 06:00 PM)
sorry a lil off track. Just wanna know how are the prices for kepong hses. Thanks.
New house or 2nd house ? landed property or condo ? A bit more info can filter our answers.

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Oct 3 2007, 06:34 PM
Quiet
post Oct 3 2007, 06:48 PM

QUOTE(billytong @ Dec 21 2006, 11:38 AM)
Hello, if you look around the area there, it is one of the freehold land available. All of them of the housing is in high end one. Bandar Sri Damansara next to LDP caltex petrol station have semi-Ds coming, an empty land behind the seafood area in Bandar Menjalara is to be develop to semi-Ds, by SPK. That part of area is next to Mutiara Damansara and Country height Damansara.
I don't know why do you say that money is life....But if you think somewhat for a while you will know that not only money is life..There is so much of things to be consider...Yes ofcourse,without money our life will be harder.but ....
yawn.gif

dreamer101
post Oct 3 2007, 07:12 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Oct 3 2007, 06:29 PM)
Its quite huge. Now I am thinking why do I need such a big place and 5 + 1 room ? when its only and my newly wed wife going to move in.

master room = sleep
bedroom 1 = child 1
bedroom 2 = child 2
bedroom 3 = ?
bedroom 4 = ?
maid room = no maid yet ?

Its going to empty with echo sound each time we converse. Any idea what can I do with the rooms.

Added on October 3, 2007, 6:34 pm

New house or 2nd house ? landed property or condo ?  A bit more info can filter our answers.
dr_luv,

1) You do not need it.

2) It is going to be hell maintaining such a large house. Who is going to clean the house?? Are you going to need 2 maids?? How much is the expenses for 2 maids??

Dreamer
Pai
post Oct 3 2007, 09:23 PM

3,318 posts

cash-on-cash basis.. it's like 11.8% (nett off bank loan, maintainance charges, taxes & insurance).. denominator is the capital that i put in.
i've been approached a few times, on offered to buy up the unit.. i'm working out a viable model so that eventually, any buyers will still be able to make a decent rental income after sale closure..

on the side, i do have a dilemma.. to sell or to keep it going? my equity buildup is pretty slow.. average about $150/month.. (but i considered it as bonus.. it's like the tenant is contributing additional to the unit for me on monthly basis)

There, u mentioned its RM150 hmm.gif
dreamer101
post Oct 3 2007, 10:13 PM

15,855 posts

if i let go at the last successful transacted price of a similiar unit.. i shall pocket about $90K(nett) after closing my loan and factoring in 1% about closing cost.. and holding period is 3-years.

if the unit approaches back to its initial developer price.. the nett profit will exceed $100K.. so you can see, it's just a few percent more appreciation to go.. (so the saying "profits are made when you buy, not when you sell" really rings relevant here.. my advantage is not at selling, but at entry to this unit)

the problem with selling is.. i will loose a very good rental income.. but should i hold.. i will have to consider other dynamic factors hovering currently. interest risk and market risk.

anyhow, i will have till the end of this year to decide..
btw, should i sell.. will only then i might consider revealing the unit.. but it's a business transaction.. not some kopi-tiam chatting here.
lwb,

You know this. So, this is probably nothing new for you.

Question: When should I sell the investment??

Answer: Whenever you can find a better return for the money that you tied up in an existing investment.

Now, rental =- RM150 per month. Sell and earn 90K. Assuming 1 year FD @ 3.7% = earn RM3330 per year > RM150 per month.

So, you are probably not selling because you think the rent and price will appreciate a lot faster to compensate for teh FD return.

Dreamer

11 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0239sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:53 AM