LED downlights - 12W vs 16W, Appreciate advices on choosing downlight

TSWahBiang
post Jan 12 2016, 04:25 PM, updated 7y ago

3,718 posts

Just bought some downlights but worry if I've made the wrong choices.

What sizes (12 watt / 18 watt / others) LED downlights do you guys normally use, and how many downlights being used for each area (living hall, rooms, kitchen, bathroom, etc)?

How about choices of colour? Daylight for living hall, kitchen area, then cool white for the rest?

Also, if we turn on 4 LED downlights at a time, say 12 watt each, thats make it 48 watt which is bigger than the tube light of 36 watt. I tot LED downlight should energy saving as according to many forumer here?

Thanks for your comments.
Zot
post Jan 12 2016, 04:32 PM

7,940 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Jan 12 2016, 04:25 PM)
Just bought some downlights but worry if I've made the wrong choices.

What sizes (12 watt / 18 watt / others)  LED downlights do you guys normally use, and how many downlights being used for each area (living hall, rooms, kitchen, bathroom, etc)?

How about choices of colour? Daylight for living hall, kitchen area, then cool white for the rest?

Also, if we turn on 4 LED downlights at a time, say 12 watt each, thats make it 48 watt which is bigger than the tube light of 36 watt. I tot LED downlight should energy saving as according to many forumer here?

Thanks for your comments.
No matter what type of light, the power consumption for similar wattage would be the same. The difference is in the brightness. wink.gif

If you use normal fluorescent tube 36W vs 36w LED, the fluorescent is brighter because the down-light is designed to focus on small area beneath (assuming the fluorescent has same light intensity as the LED)
Izwan898
post Jan 12 2016, 04:33 PM

MrNastey
937 posts

I use 4 12W led for my living room...1 switch for 2 lights...that should be enough and energy saving...
FireIceCombo
post Jan 12 2016, 04:46 PM

206 posts

check spread spectrum. most house/condo now got 8-10ft ceiling level. some got 14'.
install 1 and check spread before purchasing the rest.
TSWahBiang
post Jan 12 2016, 11:01 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(Izwan898 @ Jan 12 2016, 04:33 PM)
I use 4 12W led for my living room...1 switch for 2 lights...that should be enough and energy saving...
living hall for size 15ft * 20ft enuf??
TSWahBiang
post Jan 12 2016, 11:02 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(FireIceCombo @ Jan 12 2016, 04:46 PM)
check spread spectrum. most house/condo now got 8-10ft ceiling level. some got 14'.
install 1 and check spread before purchasing the rest.
Good method!! But me noob, so bought some
Izwan898
post Jan 13 2016, 10:43 AM

MrNastey
937 posts

For me its enough la bro...12W already hurting my eyes...too bright...better get the ones that u can change the colors lah...
iAlien
post Jan 13 2016, 11:40 AM

Interior Designer
1,043 posts

12 W bright enough for 1800+/- Distance between two downlight...
It Provide General Light just to brighten the space...

TSWahBiang
post Jan 13 2016, 12:34 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(iAlien @ Jan 13 2016, 11:40 AM)
12 W bright enough for 1800+/- Distance between two downlight...
It Provide General Light just to brighten the space...
My whole will use only downlights. 1800+/- refers to disntance cm or ??
iAlien
post Jan 13 2016, 12:54 PM

Interior Designer
1,043 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Jan 13 2016, 12:34 PM)
My whole will use only downlights. 1800+/- refers to disntance cm or ??
distance between two light in mm
1800mm

but it also applied on different area..

living , Bedroom can get more far since it just for resting
kitchen, study area to be more brighter

if you wan to get a feel like hotel in some corridor, i would suggest 3000k of led light
TSWahBiang
post Jan 13 2016, 01:01 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(iAlien @ Jan 13 2016, 12:54 PM)
distance between two light in mm
1800mm

but it also applied on different area..

living , Bedroom can get more far since it just for resting
kitchen, study area to be more brighter

if you wan to get a feel like hotel in some corridor, i would suggest 3000k of led light
I see, i picked 6k and 4.5k only.. 3k could be too dim, especially for my aged parent
iAlien
post Jan 13 2016, 01:11 PM

Interior Designer
1,043 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Jan 13 2016, 01:01 PM)
I see, i picked 6k and 4.5k only.. 3k could be too dim, especially for my aged parent
ha...it will be nice too

6k not suit in bedroom, cant sleep while someone awake and switch on the light laugh.gif
TSWahBiang
post Jan 13 2016, 01:34 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(iAlien @ Jan 13 2016, 01:11 PM)
ha...it will be nice too

6k not suit in bedroom, cant sleep while someone awake and switch on the light laugh.gif
Agree, so i used cold white in bedroom except the one for parent.
Jo_da48
post Jan 16 2016, 10:44 AM

1,529 posts

I use below combination
Warm white – for my living room (LED) , and dinner zone, Parking area (LED)
Cool white – study, work area, bed room
Daylight - kitchen

If possible split to more switch. Example: If you just need to use the bed room for while, should you just turn a Pair light or 4 lights at one time???

TSWahBiang
post Jan 16 2016, 10:50 AM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Jan 16 2016, 10:44 AM)
I use below combination
Warm white – for my living room (LED) , and dinner zone, Parking area (LED)
Cool white – study, work area, bed room
Daylight - kitchen

If possible split to more switch. Example: If you just need to use the bed room for while, should you just turn a Pair light or 4 lights at one time???
Thanks!! Would 4 piece 18watt LED dowblight be too bright for living area? Another 2 for dining area.
Jo_da48
post Jan 16 2016, 10:58 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Jan 16 2016, 10:50 AM)
Thanks!! Would 4 piece 18watt LED dowblight be too bright for living area? Another 2 for dining area.
I'm using 6 pc's with dimmer control. 2 side with T3 x 3 as backup (inside the box). when reading the LED not bright enough hence I will use the T3 light.

luvox
post Jan 17 2016, 10:51 PM

626 posts

Philips 9w essential 4 inches 610 lumen. rm 30 4000k color. It looks brighter than wat i expect. Living room i temporary light up two units, already bright enuf.
zzzhhhzzz
post Jan 17 2016, 11:37 PM

1,671 posts

hi guys... what shape do you guys think is nicer ? round or square for full flat board plaster ceiling
luvox
post Jan 18 2016, 12:27 AM

626 posts

Reply to ppl who PM me regarding philips LED downlight: One year warranty. Retail price is rm 29.9 before GST. But u can get it rm 29.9 include GST at some shop. If not u can buy from official website if u need more than 12 units. http://www.blipmy.com/Lighting/Philips-LED...ED-9W-440834066
I COD 12 units via blipmy. The rest i buy from ideal lighting house near penang time square, rm 28.90 include GST. I also bought philips 3.5w, rm 19.90 very nice.Some of the shop dint sell this 9w model, mayb not much profit. They sell older model 10w or 12w, if u look at lumens, some of this higher watt philips lower than this 9w. Some call this 9w is 3rd generation philips essential
sonerin
post Jan 18 2016, 08:52 AM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 18 2016, 12:27 AM)
Reply to ppl who PM me regarding philips LED downlight: One year warranty. Retail price is rm 29.9 before GST. But u can get it rm 29.9 include GST at some shop. If not u can buy from official website if u need more than 12 units. http://www.blipmy.com/Lighting/Philips-LED...ED-9W-440834066
I COD 12 units via blipmy. The rest i buy from ideal lighting house near penang time square, rm 28.90 include GST. I also bought philips 3.5w, rm 19.90 very nice.Some of the shop dint sell this 9w model, mayb not much profit. They sell older model 10w or 12w, if u look at lumens, some of this higher watt philips lower than this 9w. Some call this 9w is 3rd generation philips essential
Thanks for sharing. Going to buy from the website
coolkwc
post Jan 18 2016, 03:18 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

My advise, bought 1 or 2 pcs the one u prefer ad test it before u mass purchase. Others ppl brightness and colour temp description might different from you. some said 2X 12W is bright enuf, but for me is slightly better than darkness only.

My living room is 9.5ft height (after plaster ceiling), 26ft x 18ft, i installed total 10 pcs 18W 6" 6500k downlight, brand is Yetplus, 1710lumens/pc, come with Philips 20W LED driver. Even i switch it ON ALL, i don't feel my eye is blind. At night normally i will switch on 4 to 6 pcs. The lamp is 6500k, well, this is debatable, a well made LED at 6500k will exceed your expectation. 3 weeks ago I just moved from a house that using E27 energy saving bulb that claim CRI is superior than LED to my new house with ALL this 6500k LED. 2nd night when my wife lay those mat and toys on the floor, what we discovered immediately was my kid's toys and mat never show that kind of colour vividness since we bought. The colour is very tempting under the LED light although it is 6500K. And my 2 years old sofa (purple colour) that brought to new house look like a newly bought sofa with lively purple. My brother-in-law and his gf who use those 12W no brand LED at his house also said the same when they 1st arrive my house, what they noticed is the white is totally different from theirs, mine one is much more natural and comfortable to look for even switch ON all. Yes, i did purchased 3 brands of 6500k LED before i finalise my purchase, another 2 which is China brand is blue-ish and causing the item look too 'cold' (slightly blue or grey). Mind you this outcome is after 3 months of research and testing myself before decide on it.

I also installed warm white 4000k eyeball and LED stripe, in case i need more warmer feel, i just switch on the eye ball, the outcome of mixed warm white and cool white is much more nicer than the pure 3000-4000k warm white. Stay away from those 3 colours switchable LED if possible, the driver is complicated, more prone to fail if u always switch over, and expensive to replace when failed. Furthermore from what i observe from my brother-in-law house, when the driver become aging, sometimes when you switch ON the lamp some of them are reset and start in cool white, some still stay at warm white or yellow, need to switch OFF for long time before can reset it, troublesome huh.

My rule for quantity, i will install more rather than enuf or less, and split 2 pcs/switch. If you need more brightness, it will become handy.

No one can tell the exact brightness and colour mode by words alone, except your own eye to judge. So better test it out rather than solely rely on the comment here.

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Jan 18 2016, 03:29 PM
TSWahBiang
post Jan 18 2016, 07:06 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 18 2016, 03:18 PM)
My advise, bought 1 or 2 pcs the one u prefer ad test it before u mass purchase. Others ppl brightness and colour temp description might different from you. some said 2X 12W is bright enuf, but for me is slightly better than darkness only.

My living room is 9.5ft height (after plaster ceiling), 26ft x 18ft, i installed total 10 pcs 18W 6" 6500k downlight, brand is Yetplus, 1710lumens/pc, come with Philips 20W LED driver. Even i switch it ON ALL, i don't feel my eye is blind. At night normally i will switch on 4 to 6 pcs. The lamp is 6500k, well, this is debatable, a well made LED at 6500k will exceed your expectation. 3 weeks ago I just moved from a house that using E27 energy saving bulb that claim CRI is superior than LED to my new house with ALL this 6500k LED. 2nd night when my wife lay those mat and toys on the floor, what we discovered immediately was my kid's toys and mat never show that kind of colour vividness since we bought. The colour is very tempting under the LED light although it is 6500K. And my 2 years old sofa (purple colour) that brought to new house look like a newly bought sofa with lively purple. My brother-in-law and his gf who use those 12W no brand LED at his house also said the same when they 1st arrive my house, what they noticed is the white is totally different from theirs, mine one is much more natural and comfortable to look for even switch ON all. Yes, i did purchased 3 brands of 6500k LED before i finalise my purchase, another 2 which is China brand is blue-ish and causing the item look too 'cold' (slightly blue or grey). Mind you this outcome is after 3 months of research and testing myself before decide on it.

I also installed warm white 4000k eyeball and LED stripe, in case i need more warmer feel, i just switch on the eye ball, the outcome of mixed warm white and cool white is much more nicer than the pure 3000-4000k warm white. Stay away from those 3 colours switchable LED if possible, the driver is complicated, more prone to fail if u always switch over, and expensive to replace when failed. Furthermore from what i observe from my brother-in-law house, when the driver become aging, sometimes when you switch ON the lamp some of them are reset and start in cool white, some still stay at warm white or yellow, need to switch OFF for long time before can reset it, troublesome huh.

My rule for quantity, i will install more rather than enuf or less, and split 2 pcs/switch. If you need more brightness, it will become handy.

No one can tell the exact brightness and colour mode by words alone, except your own eye to judge. So better test it out rather than solely rely on the comment here.
thanks!
You got the points there and it seems like you've done pretty good research before purchase. As Im in the rush and parent wish to have bright lighting, so I simply take cold white and daylights only..
ccheng0085
post Jan 19 2016, 01:11 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 17 2016, 10:51 PM)
Philips 9w essential 4 inches 610 lumen. rm 30 4000k color. It looks brighter than wat i expect. Living room i temporary light up two units, already bright enuf.
nice downlight u got there.... Will grab some. thanks.

I've checkup the link that u shared, blipmy, it stated in the technical specification it's warm white. For 650, 400k same. but in your picture it's white.... please advice.

This post has been edited by ccheng0085: Jan 19 2016, 02:18 PM
bahihs
post Jan 20 2016, 11:49 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 18 2016, 03:18 PM)

I think I bought the same 6" Yetplus last month for rm48 at Puchong. Going to install soon. Hopefully it is as what u described. smile.gif
luvox
post Jan 20 2016, 01:42 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 19 2016, 01:11 PM)

I've checkup the link that u shared, blipmy, it stated in the technical specification it's warm white. For 650, 400k same. but in your picture it's white.... please advice.

From that picture u can peek inside one of the room, that is 6500k, a little bit bluish. 4000k is little yellow. Good for kitchen & living room. If u wan very warm near orange, then 2700k

I use living and kitchen 4000k, wash the wall with 3.5w with 2700k at living room. I bought led strip from taobao is near 4000k color, dinning area i put 6500k standby, but i x think i will use it often for 6500k
Room i put two set two switches, 2700k one set, 6500k one set.
luvox
post Jan 20 2016, 01:49 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 19 2016, 01:11 PM)

All it led downlight picture light color is same, they x put accurate photo. The one in blipmy picture looks like 4000k. If u not sure, go to shop and ask them to test the color for u & then walk away if they sell above retail price
ccheng0085
post Jan 20 2016, 04:44 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 20 2016, 01:42 PM)
From that picture u can peek inside one of the room, that is 6500k, a little bit bluish. 4000k is little yellow. Good for kitchen & living room. If u wan very warm near orange, then 2700k

I use living and kitchen 4000k, wash the wall with 3.5w with 2700k at living room. I bought led strip from taobao is near 4000k color, dinning area i put 6500k standby, but i x think i will use it often for 6500k
Room i put two set two switches, 2700k one set, 6500k one set.
So what u mean is judge the color by 6500 cool white, 4000 daylight, and 2700 warm white right?

I've bought China brand 18W LED 6500k, not yet install. Now saw your picture like tempting.... 9W, bright enough, and it's philips! Stress.....
Dunno china one tahan or not, if always fail might damage my plaster ceiling.

I've bought LED stripes from taobao also. Hope can tahan la.... sweat.gif
frequency
post Jan 20 2016, 05:01 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

using 11w 4500k color x 8 for 15" x 13.5"

most of the time just switch on 2 pair (4)

sonerin
post Jan 21 2016, 07:00 AM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 20 2016, 04:44 PM)
So what u mean is judge the color by 6500 cool white, 4000 daylight, and 2700 warm white right?

I've bought China brand 18W LED 6500k, not yet install. Now saw your picture like tempting.... 9W, bright enough, and it's philips! Stress.....

led strips can last very long. I had one strip that is 6 years old and still not even 1 LED spoilt
zzzhhhzzz
post Jan 21 2016, 08:20 AM

1,671 posts

guys which downlight are you all using now ? so many different style.... pening to choose... mind give some comments ?

Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
TSWahBiang
post Jan 21 2016, 08:28 AM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jan 21 2016, 08:20 AM)
guys which downlight are you all using now ? so many different style.... pening to choose... mind give some comments ?
Not too familiar with them but as I know those with glass surrounding it (3rd type) is bit more expensive and it give prettier looks especially with light on..
zzzhhhzzz
post Jan 21 2016, 08:32 AM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Jan 21 2016, 08:28 AM)
Not too familiar with them but as I know those with glass surrounding it (3rd type) is bit more expensive and it give prettier looks especially with light on..
yeah the first two one are frosted i think.. and the third one is not... anyone can snap picture of their plaster ceiling with one of this light ? just wanted to see the effect on the ceiling.. i cant really judge how it looks from those light shop who puts in vertically sad.gif
ozak
post Jan 21 2016, 08:32 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 20 2016, 04:44 PM)

Crazy with 6500k bright. When you old......

Good brand can achieve a higher brightness with lower watt. It is all about Lumen/watt. So you get those no brand china led won't save your bill. Even cause you more.

You will get a lot of this LED light spoil in short time. Depend your luck. Many people here kena already.
uturn
post Jan 21 2016, 08:44 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jan 21 2016, 08:32 AM)
yeah the first two one are frosted i think.. and the third one is not... anyone can snap picture of their plaster ceiling with one of this light ? just wanted to see the effect on the ceiling.. i cant really judge how it looks from those light shop who puts in vertically sad.gif
Those with glass surrounding it is a confirmed insect trap..when installed there is a slight gap between the glass and the ceiling thus insects gets trapped inbetween.
zzzhhhzzz
post Jan 21 2016, 08:49 AM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(uturn @ Jan 21 2016, 08:44 AM)
Those with glass surrounding it is a confirmed insect trap..when installed there is a slight gap between the glass and the ceiling thus insects gets trapped inbetween.
But the new led downlight one nowadays is a whole piece one.. the glass cannot remove one.. rosak either change the driver or change the entire lamp.....
ccheng0085
post Jan 21 2016, 09:48 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 21 2016, 08:32 AM)
Crazy with 6500k bright. When you old......

Good brand can achieve a higher brightness with lower watt. It is all about Lumen/watt. So you get those no brand china led won't save your bill. Even cause you more.

You will get a lot of this LED light spoil in short time. Depend your luck. Many people here kena already.
ok.. So I guess I'll get that philips 9W 4000K to replace those NEW china brand LED which already cost me 1k.... cry.gif

I'll use those china one at car porch only la....
ccheng0085
post Jan 21 2016, 09:55 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ Jan 21 2016, 07:00 AM)
led strips can last very long. I had one strip that is 6 years old and still not even 1 LED spoilt
bcoz seldom on? power consumption kuat or not? tongue.gif
sonerin
post Jan 21 2016, 10:03 AM

8,740 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:55 AM)
bcoz seldom on? power consumption kuat or not?  tongue.gif
led power consumption is always low. I do on it very often. So far only the power supply knock out once.
ozak
post Jan 21 2016, 01:20 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:48 AM)
ok.. So I guess I'll get that philips 9W 4000K to replace those NEW china brand LED which already cost me 1k.... cry.gif

I'll use those china one at car porch only la....
Just use it la. Till it blow and replace with a good 1.

Don't waste the money.

one of the example --> https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3839530
ccheng0085
post Jan 21 2016, 03:41 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 21 2016, 01:20 PM)
Just use it la. Till it blow and replace with a good 1.

Don't waste the money.

one of the example --> https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3839530
Those china 18W i bought is square. This Philips now is round. sweat.gif

after buka hole at the plaster ceiling then no turning back... sweat.gif
67zai
post Jan 21 2016, 05:40 PM

581 posts

For 12w, if ceiling is around 2400 - 2700mm height, the downlight should be 1.5 - 1.8m away. If u put those downlights too far apart, u will have shadow. It also depends on what kinda place and what kinda mood you wan to create. Some ppl prefer high lux like 400-600 lux but some ppl prefer the place to be really dimmed
coolkwc
post Jan 21 2016, 11:07 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 21 2016, 03:41 PM)
Those china 18W i bought is square. This Philips now is round. sweat.gif

after buka hole at the plaster ceiling then no turning back... sweat.gif
buy 5 to 10 more pcs for backup la. If got driver separately just buy few spare driver. LED itself seldom spoil one, mostly driver can't survive. Nowadays many China LED are actually share the same kind of driver (same voltage/current), only the packaging is different.
ozak
post Jan 22 2016, 09:38 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 21 2016, 11:07 PM)
buy 5 to 10 more pcs for backup la. If got driver separately just buy few spare driver. LED itself seldom spoil one, mostly driver can't survive. Nowadays many China LED are actually share the same kind of driver (same voltage/current), only the packaging is different.
It cost you more than just using CFL bulb. CFL bulb already bad short life. And using LED worst than CFL ?

Get a good quality LED. Doesn't matter it is slightly expensive. It will return back your money with the long lifespan and changing, diagnostic the bulb.

China pasar LED is really a pasar LED. This is my experience.
ccheng0085
post Jan 22 2016, 10:18 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 21 2016, 11:07 PM)
i bought 30 pcs, so I guess if use in backyard and car porch only, will be around 10pcs only, got extra 20pcs. hope can tahan until 2020~~ thumbup.gif
coolkwc
post Jan 22 2016, 10:19 AM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 22 2016, 09:38 AM)
It cost you more than just using CFL bulb. CFL bulb already bad short life. And using LED worst than CFL ?

Get a good quality LED. Doesn't matter it is slightly expensive. It will return back your money with the long lifespan and changing, diagnostic the bulb.

China pasar LED is really a pasar LED. This is my experience.
Most ppl they won't understand, as i said, alot of sales person are misleading, which lead them to believe their LED will last forever. Since he adi bought a China brand LED, so i will advise either he continue to fix the lamp and buy some standby unit in case burn out and no replacement latter on or totally discard what he bought and opt for branded one. My concern is his plaster ceiling, not the cost of the LED. laugh.gif
ozak
post Jan 22 2016, 10:31 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Jan 22 2016, 10:19 AM)
Most ppl they won't understand, as i said, alot of sales person are misleading, which lead them to believe their LED will last forever. Since he adi bought a China brand LED, so i will advise either he continue to fix the lamp and buy some standby unit in case burn out and no replacement latter on or totally discard what he bought and opt for branded one. My concern is his plaster ceiling, not the cost of the LED. laugh.gif
Here are some very good guide about light from some expert. Read this and you know how to place the light --> https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2938110

Some leisure read China LED my experience --> https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=70463113
ccheng0085
post Jan 22 2016, 09:42 PM

123 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 20 2016, 01:49 PM)
All it led downlight picture light color is same, they x put accurate photo. The one in blipmy picture looks like 4000k. If u not sure, go to shop and ask them to test the color for u & then walk away if they sell above retail price
We do not know why you decided not to purchase this time, but we want to give you a special discount code - JANBLIP50F - which gives you 50RM OFF. The code applies after you spent 999RM. This promotion is just for you and expires on 23-01-2016.

Bought it. Got discount RM50 since I bought over 1k. ok la.... thumbup.gif
luvox
post Jan 22 2016, 11:55 PM

626 posts

QUOTE(ccheng0085 @ Jan 22 2016, 09:42 PM)
We do not know why you decided not to purchase this time, but we want to give you a special discount code - JANBLIP50F - which gives you 50RM OFF. The code applies after you spent 999RM. This promotion is just for you and expires on 23-01-2016.

Bought it. Got discount RM50 since I bought over 1k. ok la.... thumbup.gif
Ya, i bought with those discount code also. I think it is always available.
CP88
post Jul 23 2016, 09:51 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jan 18 2016, 12:27 AM)
Hi Bro,

Tried to access the link and found error. Would you advise the modeL?

Kelv
post Jul 24 2016, 08:27 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

What software to create this?
http://rs697.pbsrc.com/albums/vv338/zealle...&h=480&fit=clip

This post has been edited by Kelv: Jul 24 2016, 08:28 AM
luvox
post Jul 24 2016, 10:50 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Jul 23 2016, 09:51 PM)
Hi Bro,

Tried to access the link and found error. Would you advise the modeL?

http://www.blipmy.com/Lighting/Philips-LED...ED-9W-440834066
CP88
post Jul 24 2016, 11:53 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Jul 24 2016, 10:50 AM)
Thanks bro. biggrin.gif

But it's a bummer as MOQ a carton of 12. bangwall.gif
mrdamncool
post Aug 28 2016, 06:17 PM

302 posts

Guys..im in dilemma now.

My house is condo of 1200sft..
My living hall only i install 10 led downlights with 12W.
Problem now is, its way too bright and eyesore!
From the 10, i only on 2 now.

How can i reduce the brightness?
Is there any diy i can do? May be stick something at the panel to reduce the brightness?

Pls help huhu
ozak
post Aug 30 2016, 10:38 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(mrdamncool @ Aug 28 2016, 06:17 PM)
Guys..im in dilemma now.

Is there any diy i can do? May be stick something at the panel to reduce the brightness?

Pls help huhu
Use dimmer lor.

But you going to need a lot of dimmer with 10led downlight !
mrdamncool
post Aug 30 2016, 03:28 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 30 2016, 10:38 AM)
Use dimmer lor.

But you going to need a lot of dimmer with 10led downlight !
thanks but can dimmer use for LED?
Does it work for all types of LED?

This post has been edited by mrdamncool: Aug 30 2016, 03:35 PM
ozak
post Aug 30 2016, 04:04 PM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(mrdamncool @ Aug 30 2016, 03:28 PM)
thanks but can dimmer use for LED?
Does it work for all types of LED?
Yes. You need led dimmer.

Some dimmer can handle few led DL.
idoblu
post Aug 30 2016, 09:55 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Guys..im in dilemma now.

Pls help huhu
living hall alone you install 10 downlights.... shocking.gif sweat.gif thumbup.gif
Maybe can remove some then tampar balik the plaster ceiling

This post has been edited by idoblu: Aug 31 2016, 01:01 PM
idoblu
post Aug 30 2016, 11:08 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Jul 24 2016, 08:27 AM)
somewhere in this thread you might find the answer or ask zealless
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2938110
frequency
post Aug 31 2016, 05:47 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

Guys..im in dilemma now.

Pls help huhu
ur downlights all are 6000k?
mrdamncool
post Aug 31 2016, 08:26 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(frequency @ Aug 31 2016, 05:47 PM)
ur downlights all are 6000k?
Sorry, why 6000k?
frequency
post Sep 1 2016, 04:01 PM

我要挑战十个!
2,567 posts

QUOTE(mrdamncool @ Aug 31 2016, 08:26 PM)
Sorry, why 6000k?
maybe can change some to warmer color like 4500k
and you have 1 switch for all loop?
failed.hashcheck
post Sep 1 2016, 04:32 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

Guys..im in dilemma now.

Pls help huhu
12w LED can yield like over 10k lumens lol. now add 10 of them of course its excessive.

Try use 7k lumens one, or use warmer color(4k) as extra brightness at this temp wont be too harsh on eyes.

This post has been edited by failed.hashcheck: Sep 1 2016, 05:29 PM
mrdamncool
post Sep 1 2016, 08:46 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Sep 1 2016, 04:32 PM)
12w LED can yield like over 10k lumens lol. now add 10 of them of course its excessive.

Try use 7k lumens one, or use warmer color(4k) as extra brightness at this temp wont be too harsh on eyes.
Thanks for the explanation.

That means i will need to change all my LED. huhu

idoblu
post Sep 2 2016, 08:59 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Jul 24 2016, 11:53 AM)
Thanks bro.  biggrin.gif

But it's a bummer as MOQ a carton of 12.  bangwall.gif
Rm29.90 is just suggested retail price. if you find Rm29.90 each, its not cheap
see philips website = http://www.philips.com.my/c-p/440834066/re...-light/overview

anyway you buying one two pieces dun kira lah
taqu
post Sep 9 2016, 07:55 AM

864 posts

QUOTE(mrdamncool @ Sep 1 2016, 08:46 PM)
Thanks for the explanation.

That means i will need to change all my LED. huhu
You can try sticking the following photographic filter to ur LED glass panel:

http://www.dgcoloronline.com/index.php?rou...=445&search=Gel

Reduces light by 25% and gives a cool white color.
mrdamncool
post Sep 9 2016, 11:12 AM

302 posts

QUOTE(taqu @ Sep 9 2016, 07:55 AM)
You can try sticking the following photographic filter to ur LED glass panel:

http://www.dgcoloronline.com/index.php?rou...=445&search=Gel

Reduces light by 25% and gives a cool white color.
Thanks. Will the lights follow the product color?
taqu
post Sep 9 2016, 04:00 PM

864 posts

QUOTE(mrdamncool @ Sep 9 2016, 11:12 AM)
Thanks. Will the lights follow the product color?
If your LED's colour temp is 6500K, it becomes 4500K.
g88
post Jan 22 2018, 11:10 AM

1,631 posts

Which vendor is KL carry Philips CertaDrive downlight driver ya ?
frostier
post Jan 22 2018, 11:14 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 22 2018, 11:10 AM)
Which vendor is KL carry Philips CertaDrive downlight driver ya ?
As per my understanding, CertaDrive used for OEM products

try the following contacts (reach out to OEM)
1. Yiva Electric
2. Brightlite (jalan ipoh)
3. JLL Electric (Kuchai Lama)

you can google for their address/contact
g88
post Jan 22 2018, 11:25 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(frostier @ Jan 22 2018, 11:14 AM)
As per my understanding, CertaDrive used for OEM products

try the following contacts (reach out to OEM)
1. Yiva Electric
2. Brightlite (jalan ipoh)
3. JLL Electric (Kuchai Lama)

you can google for their address/contact
good better recommendation for LED driver ? 12W
frostier
post Jan 22 2018, 01:30 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 22 2018, 11:25 AM)
good better recommendation for LED driver ? 12W
Can consider using Tridonic (Under the Zumtobel group - Tridonic, and Thorn)
They are quite large player in the lighting industry.
But let me find out if there's any dealer for trade market yet
frostier
post Jan 22 2018, 01:37 PM

447 posts

Tridonic Malaysia yet to appoint any dealer for trade market
Kenon70
post Mar 6 2018, 05:12 PM

20 posts

Has anyone used Lumileds downlights with 3 years warranty sold by LC Lighting?
selinix
post Mar 14 2018, 11:26 AM

7,343 posts

For 10ft ceiling with 24watt LED x 2 cool white for living room, will it be too bright?
8sg9ft
post Mar 14 2018, 01:40 PM

blablabla
1,765 posts

I think a light’s watt value is not the unit u should be looking at for brightness. Should rather look at the lumens or lux (not sure which one), if i’m not mistaken.
mls_gamer
post May 29 2018, 12:24 PM

1,589 posts

I have a living room of width : 8.69ft , Length : 26ft., Height : 9ft

I plan to use philips led downlight 10w/900lm with 4000k model 59203.

Anyone know how to calculate and need to use how many pcs of led downlight above to brighten up the living room with dimension above..
TSWahBiang
post May 29 2018, 02:31 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ May 29 2018, 12:24 PM)

Anyone know how to calculate and need to use how many pcs of led downlight above to brighten up the living room with dimension above..
I dunnoe how to calculate it, but for my case, i used 8 pcs of 12W Daylight DL.. with glass edge type.. wall painted grey, consider quite bright
g88
post May 29 2018, 04:02 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ May 29 2018, 12:24 PM)

Min 6, but recommended 8. Its always good to have more then less coz you can switch off those unnecessary, when 'under' lighting it will become headache.

Also depend is the space living room, study room, bedroom etc...wall colour is dark or bright, you want the Illumination Intensity high, mid or low...

Best you can share out your actual floor plan.
mls_gamer
post May 29 2018, 06:10 PM

1,589 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 29 2018, 04:02 PM)
Min 6, but recommended 8. Its always good to have more then less coz you can switch off those unnecessary, when 'under' lighting it will become headache.

Also depend is the space living room, study room, bedroom etc...wall colour is dark or bright, you want the Illumination Intensity high, mid or low...

Best you can share out your actual floor plan.
here my kampung style drawing...

SUSslimey
post May 29 2018, 07:09 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ May 29 2018, 06:10 PM)
drawing to scale will be helpful for you to visualise.
go to some mall or some shop and get a feel of the light distribution angle and focus.

light is something very subjective and depends on a lot of factors like color, wall and floor color, distance of light to wall........

but around 6-10 depending on how you want to do the layout and where you want to focus the light on.
g88
post May 30 2018, 10:31 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(mls_gamer @ May 29 2018, 06:10 PM)
1. Wat is the total build up for this entire house ?
2. So many sofas set ?
3. where exactly is the ceiling fan location , as well aircond unit ?
4. any divider you wanted to do in the living room ?
5. Any other placement u wanna setup/do in the living room ?
6. Do you do any ceiling light box ?

BEST you can POST up your brochure displayed floor plan here instead drawing (might over/under the scale), don't worry we won't visit your place in real brows.gif
Camelia Chui
post Jun 9 2018, 04:05 PM

This shop have Philips BIG Offer, must go to See See

https://www.facebook.com/469799796549939/po...87982061398376/
btan
post Aug 26 2018, 07:24 PM

285 posts

LED downlight philips 59203, 10W

good enough for living room? will be very dim?

scared of too dim
kirakun
post Aug 26 2018, 07:31 PM

699 posts

QUOTE(btan @ Aug 26 2018, 07:24 PM)
LED downlight philips 59203, 10W

good enough for living room? will be very dim?

scared of too dim
I’m using meson series, 10w too, good enough for me but of course u need the supplier/experienced feedback on numbers needed for your living room.

Mine is rectangular shaped which include dining and kitchen. Total installed 8 nos.
btan
post Aug 26 2018, 10:58 PM

285 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Aug 26 2018, 07:31 PM)
I’m using meson series, 10w too, good enough for me but of course u need the supplier/experienced feedback on numbers needed for your living room.

Mine is rectangular shaped which include dining and kitchen. Total installed 8 nos.
thanks for your info.
headache on choose between 5 inch and 6 inch.
5 inch = 10 W
6 inch = 12 W

why philips 5inch dont had 12 W

haha
jence
post Aug 27 2018, 01:28 AM

83 posts

Hi sifu, wanna get your advice
Im planning to get 12W for all areas except bedrooms (cool white)
10W for bedrooms (cool white + warm white)

My ceiling is about 9 ft, is the number of light too much, too little or just nice?
I'm not sure how many K is philips downlight though. Is 4500K recommended for the whole unit?

Attached File  downlight.pdf ( 72.74k ) Number of downloads: 241

g88
post Aug 27 2018, 10:28 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jence @ Aug 27 2018, 01:28 AM)
Im planning to get 12W  for all areas except bedrooms (cool white)

My ceiling is about 9 ft, is the number of light too much, too little or just nice?
I'm not sure how many K is philips downlight though. Is 4500K recommended for the whole unit?

my advice is don't get yourself soak into all this tech spec too much.

Also to make life simple, just make whole house same size and spec else you will find - eh...why here is bigger, brighter etc.

U should consider how many units to install on each area (living room, bedroom etc)

Just take note that LED light cover tent to be 'narrower' compare to fluorescent....so best to install more unit = more switch. IMHO.

Its better be brighter than dimmer (which u will regret) trust me...

Next is if you wanna know how many units to install..post up your floor plan + dimension on each space biggrin.gif
jence
post Aug 27 2018, 11:53 PM

83 posts

The more i read the more confused I am.

Cool white and daylight, which one is 5000-6500k? I saw different categorisation for different brands.

Can 4000K be used for kitchen and study room?
jence
post Aug 28 2018, 01:13 AM

83 posts

Hello this is my floor plan with lighting plan. Feel free to comment

This post has been edited by jence: Aug 28 2018, 01:15 AM
SUSslimey
post Aug 28 2018, 06:43 AM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(jence @ Aug 28 2018, 01:13 AM)

Too many downlight aka too bright.
Make sure downlight not directly above bed. Downlight can be very glaring.
jence
post Aug 28 2018, 03:56 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Aug 28 2018, 06:43 AM)
Too many downlight aka too bright.
Make sure downlight not directly above bed. Downlight can be very glaring.
may i know which area has too many downlight? For living room and kitchen i chose 4000K 900lm 14W, rooms i chose 4000K 900lm 12W & 3000K 900L 12 W for bed area.

g88
post Aug 29 2018, 10:22 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jence @ Aug 27 2018, 11:53 PM)

The more i read the more confused I am.

Cool white and daylight, which one is 5000-6500k?  I saw different categorisation for different brands.

Can 4000K be used for kitchen and study room?
Only 3 colour in market. Warm White (Yellow), Natural White (In between both) and Cool White (White)

Forget about the K as different manufacture have different colour defination. Generally Below 4K is Warm White and Above 5K is Cool White

Can google for more la
g88
post Aug 29 2018, 10:24 AM

1,631 posts

Looks ok to me. Just need to ensure you have switches for them. e.g 4 lights in a room should have at least 2 switch...each control 2 lights either cross or front/back. Remember , be in more light rather then less light but you just have to play with the switches (which personally am very particular in this, also how you want the switch arrangement to be) tell your electrician
g88
post Aug 29 2018, 10:27 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jence @ Aug 28 2018, 03:56 PM)
may i know which area has too many downlight? For living room and kitchen i chose 4000K 900lm 14W, rooms i chose 4000K 900lm 12W & 3000K 900L 12 W for bed area.
everything standardise them to 12w wil do. More than enough ....again make sure 'sufficient' unit...btw your house is how many square feet ? Look a little like Maze biggrin.gif

g88
post Aug 29 2018, 10:39 AM

1,631 posts

If you are is very colour or dark, my view is 'centralise' the downlight in the center of the space (since you are not going to sit or lean toward wall area 90% of the time...

This is how i would do if i were you....

I did my own calculation room by room, wall by wall...lasttime biggrin.gif

g88
post Aug 29 2018, 10:40 AM

1,631 posts

If you still worry (too much) or have alot hesitation...this tool will help you relief bit http://www.charlstonlights.com/led-light-r...ment-calculator
shadow_fax
post Aug 29 2018, 04:52 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(jence @ Aug 27 2018, 01:28 AM)
Im planning to get 12W  for all areas except bedrooms (cool white)

May use eyeball/spotlight instead of warm white for your bedrooms.
Go for eyeball/spotlight all the way if you prefer cozy warm feeling, except for those areas where you really need brightness.

jence
post Aug 29 2018, 10:54 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 29 2018, 10:22 AM)
Only 3 colour in market. Warm White (Yellow), Natural White (In between both) and Cool White (White)

Forget about the K as different manufacture have different colour defination. Generally Below 4K is Warm White and Above 5K is Cool White

Can google for more la
I use K because Philips cool white is 4000 whereas Daylight is 6500 smile.gif Correct me if I'm wrong
jence
post Aug 29 2018, 10:58 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 29 2018, 10:39 AM)
If you are is very colour or dark, my view is 'centralise' the downlight in the center of the space (since you are not going to sit or lean toward wall area 90% of the time...

This is how i would do if i were you....

I did my own calculation room by room, wall by wall...lasttime biggrin.gif

My house is 1300 sqft. Are you referring to the living room? I will put T5 in the middle (Plaster ceiling L box)
jence
post Aug 29 2018, 11:02 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Aug 29 2018, 10:40 AM)
If you still worry (too much) or have alot hesitation...this tool will help you relief bit http://www.charlstonlights.com/led-light-r...ment-calculator
This is helpful, thanks!
barca96
post Sep 24 2019, 01:56 PM

980 posts

hi how much would it cost to add additional lighting points on the plaster ceiling?

the plaster ceiling came from the developer but the points that they have given is insufficient and not balanced.

Margaret91
post Sep 24 2019, 03:27 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Sep 24 2019, 01:56 PM)
hi how much would it cost to add additional lighting points on the plaster ceiling?

the plaster ceiling came from the developer but the points that they have given is insufficient and not balanced.

you may ask wireman to quote for additional point
TSWahBiang
post Sep 24 2019, 05:28 PM

3,718 posts

QUOTE(barca96 @ Sep 24 2019, 01:56 PM)

Depends, some charge 50 some charge 100
barca96
post Sep 27 2019, 12:25 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(WahBiang @ Sep 24 2019, 05:28 PM)
Depends, some charge 50 some charge 100
thank you

barca96
post Sep 27 2019, 12:25 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(Margaret91 @ Sep 24 2019, 03:27 PM)
you may ask wireman to quote for additional point
thank you
pvd3wseng
post Jun 26 2020, 09:55 AM

36 posts

Hi everyone,

I am really new to this renovation phase. Would be much appreciated if anyone could advise me on the number of downlights I have to install and also which colour temperature that best suits each area. Is installing spotlights advisable and in which specific areas that best suits spotlights.

Thank you in advance. Have a nice day
coolguy99
post Nov 7 2020, 08:55 AM

7,356 posts

Want to go Philips for my downlight - not sure between Meson and Marcasite series, what are the difference?

0.0594sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:58 PM