Buying refurbished iphone 6, Need advice

TSbattu
post Jan 11 2016, 02:41 PM, updated 10y ago

237 posts

Hi. I am seriously considering buying this:
http://www.lazada.com.my/apple-iphone-6-16...71909.html?mp=1
just want to know if this is legit, and if there is any risk buying from lazada. Dun see any customer feedback yet, but my thinking is that all seller from lazada should be legit, right?
quovadis123
post Jan 11 2016, 02:54 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(battu @ Jan 11 2016, 02:41 PM)
just want to know if this is legit, and if there is any risk buying from lazada. Dun see any customer feedback yet, but my thinking is that all seller from lazada should be legit, right?
I have seen lots of bad reviews for refurbished Apple stuff in lazada.
Ok, for you link, the product is marked as non-warranty, cash not refundable.
It's not legit at all, because the refurbished Apple products sold by Apple/reseller do give you a limited 1 year warranty directly from Apple.
If the warranty from non-Apple, please avoid such purchase.

If the refurbished from third-party, highly avoid.
TSbattu
post Jan 11 2016, 03:05 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 11 2016, 02:54 PM)
It's not legit at all, because the refurbished Apple products sold by Apple/reseller do give you a limited 1 year warranty directly from Apple.

em too good to be true then. thanks bro. btw how they can claim no cash refund since it should be cover under lazada return policy?
houlierr
post Jan 11 2016, 05:18 PM

139 posts

I am in the process of getting a refund back from Lazada for receiving fake items so I doubt all seller's in Lazada are legitimate.
YoungMan
post Jan 11 2016, 08:00 PM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Jan 11 2016, 03:54 PM)

Apple said in Malaysia there is no refurbished product. They do not endorse refurb products here hence no warranty if you buy. Warranty usually depends on seller for those products.

QUOTE(battu @ Jan 11 2016, 04:05 PM)
em too good to be true then. thanks bro. btw how they can claim no cash refund since it should be cover under lazada return policy?
Lazada is just the platform, their seller come from everywhere including international. If you wish to buy refurbished, try looking around the forum, there are someone selling. If you still insist buying from lazada, look for one that has supplier warranty.
attw
post Jan 11 2016, 09:07 PM

32,468 posts

I'd agree with all the previous comments earlier. If your budget only allows you to buy a refurbished/used iPhone, maybe consider the used ones in our Garage Sale or the following instead: -

http://machines.com.my/promotions.php

When you're buying something that costs this much, spend a little more for the peace of mind that comes with a warranty...

TSbattu
post Jan 11 2016, 09:57 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jan 11 2016, 09:07 PM)
I'd agree with all the previous comments earlier. If your budget only allows you to buy a refurbished/used iPhone, maybe consider the used ones in our Garage Sale or the following instead: -

http://machines.com.my/promotions.php

When you're buying something that costs this much, spend a little more for the peace of mind that comes with a warranty...
Yeah. In the end they still charge 2k for an item which not even covered by warranty. Well back to garage sales for shopping again i guess. Thanks for the feedback sir
lan76
post Jan 11 2016, 10:47 PM

316 posts

I think the refurbished unit is not by Apple but some 3rd party builder. Just don't know how good those refurbished set.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 12 2016, 12:20 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

I can confirmed that Lazada doesn't always scrutinize their sellers and what items these suppliers actually put on for sale.

My wife bought a supposedly branded makeup product but when arrived, it turns out to be a counterfeit however Lazada entertained the complaint and they are in the midst of getting a refund for us but there is still no news from them though.

I think Lazada works like paypal. They hold the money for a certain period of time and if they have not heard from the customers after that period of time, they will release the money after deducting their "fees".

That's why Lazada can advertised "money back guarantee" on most items.

BUT whatever it is, it's definitely not worth buying 2nd hand/used Apple products unless the seller is someone you know.

Not to sound snobbish but my principal is that if you're looking for a cheap Apple product it means you cannot afford it.

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Jan 12 2016, 12:22 PM
TSbattu
post Jan 12 2016, 01:27 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 12 2016, 12:20 PM)
I can confirmed that Lazada doesn't always scrutinize their sellers and what items these suppliers actually put on for sale.

My wife bought a supposedly branded makeup product but when arrived, it turns out to be a counterfeit however Lazada entertained the complaint and they are in the midst of getting a refund for us but there is still no news from them though.

I think Lazada works like paypal. They hold the money for a certain period of time and if they have not heard from the customers after that period of time, they will release the money after deducting their "fees".

That's why Lazada can advertised "money back guarantee" on most items.

BUT whatever it is, it's definitely not worth buying 2nd hand/used Apple products unless the seller is someone you know.

Not to sound snobbish but my principal is that if you're looking for a cheap Apple product it means you cannot afford it.
haha. yeah i dont have guts to put up 3k of my hard earn cash for a phone, but damn its a beauty. thats why the refurb sounds good, especially plus the bank card day discount. can get for just 1.7k.
i dunno, maybe that is just in malaysia. in us the refurb business doesnt get much of negative feedback, based on my google research cool2.gif .
so far my lazada experience is good, even for overseas stuff i buy. but on this i being extra carefull. thanks for feedback.
shaniandras2787
post Jan 12 2016, 03:37 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(battu @ Jan 12 2016, 01:27 PM)
i dunno, maybe that is just in malaysia. in us the refurb business doesnt get much of negative feedback, based on my google research  cool2.gif .
it's the business ethics we employed here and also the price factor. Apple products in US are as common as Proton. It's only when in Malaysia, it is deemed as a godly artifact capable of being owned by divine beings. It's this exclusiveness that makes demand for it sky high but with the majority of people earning less than average, demand for "cheap" phones are high.

Vendors exploit this void in the market to unscrupulously sells you sub-par phones. In fact, I think only in Malaysia that you can get a feedback like "what do you expect, it's a refurbished and not new set" from sellers when you lodged a valid complaint to them.

attw
post Jan 12 2016, 06:45 PM

32,468 posts

Exactly why I prefer to buy my gadgets from a brick and mortar store... Pay a little more but more peace of mind.
simpleguy
post Jan 12 2016, 08:52 PM

167 posts

LOL got a guy trade in refurb set. Proximity sensor not working. Line breaks up after 2 mins in call. Change proximity sensor, no success. Board problem.

So up to you whether u want to put your money on junk.
victor_chan997
post Jan 13 2016, 10:19 PM

61 posts

I got sell refurbished set under supplier's warranty so far, the most frequent complaint that I receive is phone become damn hot when charging and warm unpleasantly when normal, another critical issue is just dead, replace new set. I don't think the quality is worse than original. It just depends on luck, my supervisor use one, no problem till now, his sister one many heating problem. Good luck =)))
Jebsee
post Jan 14 2016, 09:27 AM

237 posts

Better "dont" unless it is Apple certified devices.
SUSedge85
post Jan 14 2016, 01:04 PM

hepi hepi goyang bersama
1,299 posts

take note that apple spare parts got many grades. I doubt the sellers would use original parts...
attw
post Jan 15 2016, 11:50 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Jan 14 2016, 01:04 PM)
take note that apple spare parts got many grades. I doubt the sellers would use original parts...
Exactly, which is why it's important to know if the seller is providing warranty for it.
jc120208
post Apr 18 2016, 10:09 PM

131 posts

Considering to get a refurbished set from this seller
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3745543&hl=

Think should get refurbished set like this or a used set?
Used set the battery might have worn out and also no warranty.

This post has been edited by jc120208: Apr 18 2016, 10:10 PM
acbc
post Apr 18 2016, 10:11 PM

9,048 posts

Don't. Parts may not be genuine. Apple can brick the phone with latest update.
jc120208
post Apr 18 2016, 10:13 PM

131 posts

The Touch ID thing right? I read it's no longer a issue as Apple issue a fix for it

He said there's traceable imei
But there's still no guarantee the parts all are genuine right?
binghb
post Apr 18 2016, 10:46 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Apr 18 2016, 10:09 PM)
Considering to get a refurbished set from this seller

Think should get refurbished set like this or a used set?
Used set the battery might have worn out and also no warranty.
get from this guy instead. i've dealt with him before.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2068636&hl=

super happy with the phone

This post has been edited by binghb: Apr 18 2016, 10:46 PM
jc120208
post Apr 18 2016, 11:05 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(binghb @ Apr 18 2016, 10:46 PM)

Again. How do we know if it's a genuine Apple refurbished set (all internal parts all original)?
KannaSai1
post Apr 19 2016, 12:04 AM

6,933 posts

Some good seller will advise u dont update phoneware for those refurbish set.

Better dont risk
binghb
post Apr 19 2016, 12:09 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Apr 18 2016, 11:05 PM)
Again. How do we know if it's a genuine Apple refurbished set (all internal parts all original)?
No way to know unless the seller is honest with u if u asked.
YoungMan
post Apr 19 2016, 08:19 AM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Apr 19 2016, 12:05 AM)
There is no genuine refurbish set in malaysia. Genuine refurbish set are the one sold by Apple in certain countries. You just have to make sure to get from good seller so that any problem in the future you can refer back.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Apr 19 2016, 08:20 AM
jc120208
post Apr 19 2016, 09:03 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 19 2016, 08:19 AM)
There is no genuine refurbish set in malaysia. Genuine refurbish set are the one sold by Apple in certain countries. You just have to make sure to get from good seller so that any problem in the future you can refer back.
I think the genuine refurbished sets are those from Machines. But pricing are not so reasonable

The seller claims his sets are from US. But like some of you have pointed out there's no way to confirm on the internals right.
So advise to buy used set than refurnished one?
I'm looking to get a 6 plus for my old folk
chiahau
post Apr 19 2016, 09:07 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Apr 19 2016, 09:03 AM)
I think the genuine refurbished sets are those from Machines. But pricing are not so reasonable

The seller claims his sets are from US. But like some of you have pointed out there's no way to confirm on the internals right.
I'd get a SE for them rather some 2nd hand products that might cause problem in long run if budget's a concern.
YoungMan
post Apr 19 2016, 12:43 PM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(jc120208 @ Apr 19 2016, 10:03 AM)

Machine are not Apple. they are just authorise reseller or authorise deeler. so they do make their own refurbish sets. if second vs. refurbished, i tink i might go for refurbished. at least the problems or defects are corrected, except that you won't know the parts are genuine or not. If you still wish to go for second, you better get it from someone you know takes good care of the phone.
jesseblue
post Apr 19 2016, 01:35 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Apr 19 2016, 12:43 PM)
Machine are not Apple. they are just authorise reseller or authorise deeler. so they do make their own refurbish sets. if second vs. refurbished, i tink i might go for refurbished. at least the problems or defects are corrected, except that you won't know the parts are genuine or not. If you still wish to go for second, you better get it from someone you know takes good care of the phone.
I know for a fact that there's certain 'grades' of replacement parts. Think in the last page, it was also pointed out by the forummer.

So for a faulty-to-be-refurbised set they may replace the camera module for example with a OEM part rather than an original one. Yeah we can argue that even the second hand phone will have the same scenario. End of the day we will never know for sure
but the chances that the end user's set are having all original parts are more likelier than a refurbished set (from unknown suppliers)

zairejerry88
post Apr 19 2016, 01:49 PM

72 posts

buying a refurbished set is like put your money into gambling..each set is different from each other depends on the factory who make them, if you are lucky you will get a very good set. refurbished set usually has used parts internally.only lcd and battery are new but definitely nt genuine. the quality of the lcd and battery used are variable. thats why u may see the price for refurb iphone is different. too cheap means qulity also cheap. but expensive one doesnt mean that its high grade one. its depen on your luck if u buy it online. my experience i bought many refurb units before start from ip4s. i got the screen which is non retina at all. then ip5c, screen is bright and clear but colour is not accurate as the original. then i purchased ip5..2 of them. one is good but another screen is fade and wash out. lastly i bought ip5s and thats the best display i got. close to ori but still not. so far no other problem with other parts. so i think iphone 6 and later will hv better quality. its still worth for money if u are on tight budget. but remember one thing the one year warranty is not actually one year. its for motherboard and software only.
zairejerry88
post Apr 19 2016, 01:58 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Apr 19 2016, 01:35 PM)
I know for a fact that there's certain 'grades' of replacement parts. Think in the last page, it was also pointed out by the forummer.

So for a faulty-to-be-refurbised set they may replace the camera module for example with a OEM part rather than an original one. Yeah we can argue that even the second hand phone will have the same scenario. End of the day we will never know for sure
but the chances that the end user's set are having all original parts are more likelier than a refurbished set (from unknown suppliers)
yes everything is not secure unless u buy new set from apple. one of my friend bought 3 month old iphone 6 with 9month warranty left. she was unlucky because warranty has been void because the iphone has been repaired by outsider before for screen replacement. unless u buy from honest seller who told u never repair the phone, then you are not safe at all
jesseblue
post Apr 19 2016, 02:01 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(zairejerry88 @ Apr 19 2016, 01:49 PM)
buying a refurbished set is like put your money into gambling..each set is different from each other depends on the factory who make them, if you are lucky you will get a very good set. refurbished set usually has used parts internally.only lcd and battery are new but definitely nt genuine. the quality of the lcd and battery used are variable. thats why u may see the price for refurb iphone is different. too cheap means qulity also cheap. but expensive one doesnt mean that its high grade one. its depen on your luck if u buy it online. my experience i bought many refurb units before start from ip4s. i got the screen which is non retina at all. then ip5c, screen is bright and clear but colour is not accurate as the original. then i purchased ip5..2 of them. one is good but another screen is fade and wash out. lastly i bought ip5s and thats the best display i got. close to ori but still not. so far no other problem with other parts. so i think iphone 6 and later will hv better quality. its still worth for money if u are on tight budget. but remember one thing the one year warranty is not actually one year. its for motherboard and software only.
Care to share if you bought from any of the sellers mentioned earlier in this thread? So others might get to know on the reliabilities as well.
GamersFamilia
post Apr 19 2016, 11:26 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,850 posts

QUOTE(binghb @ Apr 18 2016, 10:46 PM)

the price i must say so good
riku2replica
post Apr 20 2016, 08:47 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Apr 19 2016, 09:07 AM)
I'd get a SE for them rather some 2nd hand products that might cause problem in long run if budget's a concern.
I would support this. Unless the refurbished apple product is bought from Apple Singapore then that would be different case.
anNexDev
post Apr 20 2016, 08:50 AM

better go directd and buy 2nd hand..you dont know which parts already replace by OEM...quality not same as original
jc120208
post Apr 20 2016, 09:22 AM

131 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Apr 20 2016, 08:47 AM)
I would support this. Unless the refurbished apple product is bought from Apple Singapore then that would be different case.
Anybody here know how/where to get a genuine refurbished set in Singapre? I have relatives there which can help get it but there are not tech savvy.

zairejerry88
post Apr 20 2016, 11:19 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Apr 19 2016, 02:01 PM)
Care to share if you bought from any of the sellers mentioned earlier in this thread? So others might get to know on the reliabilities as well.
i bought ip5 from cm electronics and coolmax promotion..i gv 2 stars for the item but 5 stars for their service. i may not able to say please avoid them because it just like ruining their business. so up to u guys..the ip4s and ip5c i mentioned earlier is from idistribution
jesseblue
post Apr 20 2016, 03:49 PM

1,113 posts

QUOTE(zairejerry88 @ Apr 20 2016, 11:19 AM)
i bought ip5 from cm electronics and coolmax promotion..i gv 2 stars for the item but 5 stars for their service. i may not able to say please avoid them because it just like ruining their business. so up to u guys..the ip4s and ip5c i mentioned earlier is from idistribution
OK - at least the after sales services are good then. But sure a lot of hassle to have the phone replaced/checked etc.

jimcarrey
post Apr 23 2016, 11:10 AM

675 posts

Feels like suddenly so many new sellers selling refurbished set in GS
GamersFamilia
post Apr 25 2016, 09:59 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,850 posts

QUOTE(anNexDev @ Apr 20 2016, 08:50 AM)
better go directd and buy 2nd hand..you dont know which parts already replace by OEM...quality not same as original
agreed with you
short_tounge
post Oct 3 2016, 11:55 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(jesseblue @ Apr 20 2016, 03:49 PM)
OK - at least the after sales services are good then. But sure a lot of hassle to have the phone replaced/checked etc.
just went thru their ads in lazada..after u words, not convince already sweat.gif might go for the real reseller maybe (machines, switch etc)
Aztec
post Oct 4 2016, 03:29 AM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

I bought an Iphone 6 from him before..so far so good..initially the screen had some responsiveness issue but he changed it for me on the spot at the office

1 year warranty so im happy with his service
short_tounge
post Oct 4 2016, 04:06 AM

103 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Oct 4 2016, 03:29 AM)

I bought an Iphone 6 from him before..so far so good..initially the screen had some responsiveness issue but he changed it for me on the spot at the office

Tq for the input Aztec btw since you're using ip6 now.

Is it relevant for me to buy iPhone 6 nowadays? What are your review of having iPhone 6 as daily driver - for social media Waze,light gaming & photography?

I want to jump to iPhone from my crazilyslow Nexus 4.
Aztec
post Oct 4 2016, 04:25 AM

Disregard females,Acquire aesthetics..u mirin'?
2,363 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Oct 4 2016, 04:06 AM)

Is it relevant for me to buy iPhone 6 nowadays? What are your review of having iPhone 6 as daily driver - for social media Waze,light gaming & photography?

im using an iphone 5 actually..bought the iphone 6 for my gf.. laugh.gif

Well buy what is within ur budget and ur comfortable with. ive been using iphones since 3gs and I enjoy using it. for what u mentioned an iphone 6 is fine. Im using the same stuff for my iphone 5 anyways.

But I will change to a refurbish 6 plus soon as I want a bigger screen
acbc
post Oct 4 2016, 04:42 AM

9,048 posts

iPhone 6 is already 2 years old. Most likely many components won't be originals.
YoungMan
post Oct 4 2016, 08:28 AM

6,818 posts

QUOTE(short_tounge @ Oct 4 2016, 05:06 AM)

If you are comfortable with smaller screen, you can get the original SE which is cheaper. Otherwise, iPhone 6 or 6S is good depend on your budget. Do check out the pricing on Apple Store Malaysia and also Machine. they have revise the pricing because iPhone 7 is coming.
attw
post Oct 4 2016, 08:39 AM

32,468 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=81927430
khairtech
post Apr 13 2017, 02:37 PM

95 posts

Hei guys, dont buy from CoolMax Promotions, now they changed name to CM Electronics la CM Mobile la kepalawota la. I bought an IP5.. replaced like 4 times.. now no more 1 to 1 exchange. Since bought it November 2016, I used it only 2 hours (Total time, mostly bloody charge it.. then open for few minutes bye bye phone died).

I bought IP5s later at Plaza Sungai Buloh with 1 year warranty, yes refurbished but parts replaced with new not replaced with old/repaired parts.

WTF lah CM CoolMax

Nah share with you since Lazada does not take action to this company.
https://www.pissedconsumer.com/company/laza...0206784849.html

This post has been edited by khairtech: Apr 13 2017, 02:39 PM
thechickadee
post Apr 15 2017, 09:29 PM

179 posts

https://youtu.be/leFuF-zoVzA

Why i really discourage non official refurbished set

This post has been edited by thechickadee: Apr 15 2017, 09:29 PM
GamersFamilia
post Apr 15 2017, 11:04 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,850 posts

QUOTE(lan76 @ Jan 11 2016, 10:47 PM)
I think the refurbished unit is not by Apple but some 3rd party builder.  Just don't know how good those refurbished set.
i do noticed there is grade A B C , they claimed grade A like brand new set
subaiku
post Aug 6 2017, 10:35 AM

445 posts

QUOTE(Aztec @ Oct 4 2016, 03:29 AM)

Hey Aztec, since you bought one from this seller, did he also confirm all internal parts is also original? What was the cycle count of the battery when you got it?

0.0312sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:49 AM