Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

wshazi
post Jul 14 2016, 06:01 PM

23 posts

for RM3k of budget i would prefer Breville BES810 (duo temp) with third party grinder. however, the local agent did not bring it in during the time of my purchase.

i'm currently using BES870 for more than 2 years. the only issue i have with BES870 is its does not give warning when the water is empty.

wshazi
post Aug 29 2016, 04:51 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cscw1212 @ Aug 29 2016, 04:37 PM)
Hi Everyone,

coffee lover reporting in. I am using Breville BES 870.
prefer italian roast or french roast. 100% arabica.
welcome to the forum, i'm using bes 870 too.
wshazi
post Aug 29 2016, 05:55 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cscw1212 @ Aug 29 2016, 05:04 PM)
wow!! nice!! same gang... i have been using the machine for more than 2 years.... what beans do you use?
I use mainly the espresso blends from highlander coffee called quattro. Purchased it from KF Chan of Myespresso cafe in USJ. For RM33/- 250 gram, quite a bargain. Sometime got free a cup of coffee upon purchase. rclxms.gif

Now I seldom do handbrew so I seldom buy the single origin. Where do you purchase your bean?

This post has been edited by wshazi: Aug 29 2016, 05:55 PM
wshazi
post Sep 2 2016, 11:29 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Sep 2 2016, 08:11 AM)
Penang lighthouse still have ? I thought they close shop long time ago....  hmm.gif .... you can always tried coffee lane, that where i usually get me coffee bean from or you can try order online from this fellow Beanstalk whose in penang also as he can do door to door delivery (Service also not bad)...
that is quiet cheap, most in penang already selling it like rm35 to rm 37 for only 200 gram.
that is COD price. Delivery need to add another RM15/-

Myespresso

This post has been edited by wshazi: Sep 2 2016, 11:31 AM
wshazi
post Sep 5 2016, 12:22 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(legonggelong @ Sep 4 2016, 10:20 PM)
Thanks bro. Will do future purchase from there. They on leave until 12/9 though.

Other physical shop suggestion are welcome also. =D
ive created a database many moon ago. have a look. it might helps.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1GTP...dit?usp=sharing

wshazi
post Sep 16 2016, 12:02 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Sep 15 2016, 10:58 PM)
Any place doing coffee appreciation/tasting sessions? been wanting to go to one, to better understand on how different beans/roast works
the session is called cupping session

i've attended once at Pulp Bangsar. They have it every Friday last time. Need to pay some fees, but u get a voucher with equivalent value to purchase bean from them. Not sure now. U can check with them. Just google for their contact details.
wshazi
post Sep 21 2016, 10:50 PM

23 posts

This is my el-cheapo home made knock box. All the parts are purchased from Daiso. I've been using it for more than 2 years. The used puck I put in toilets as air freshener and some I gave to friends. They used it as a scrub.

[attachmentid=7582476]

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 21 2016, 03:45 PM)
I tend to use aeropress, french press and drip coffee.

I use to purchase starbucks beans but I am trying to find something similar at a cheapper in terms of price.
Hand brew is best done with fresh bean.

Where are u located. I got my fresh bean supply from my espresso (KF chan) RM33/250 gram. His cafe very near to my home.

I've too subscribed to auresso/blaq/beanshipper before. Beans arrived on time. I'm spoilt for choices. 😂

This post has been edited by wshazi: Sep 21 2016, 10:59 PM
wshazi
post Sep 21 2016, 11:05 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Sep 21 2016, 11:00 PM)
It is pretty cheap price wise. I will give this a try as well. I have never roasted my own coffee beans before. Is it easy? I have never even grinded my coffee beans by myself before. I always ask starbucks to do the grinding for me.
Leave the roasting parts to the pros. I don't find home roasting easy. Too many variables thus difficult to get consistent result.

Buy your own grinder. Good hand grinder is not expensive. Hario and porlex price below Rm300. Coffee definitely taste better with freshly grind beans.
wshazi
post Sep 26 2016, 05:12 PM

23 posts

what your cold brew recipe?

as for me, I'm using 100 gram of espresso blend bean, grind to the size for french press with 800 gram of water. Steeping time of 24 hours.

Result, deep dark full bodied taste minus the bitterness and chocolatey aftertaste. Good either with ice or with milk and ice.

wshazi
post Nov 13 2016, 12:26 PM

23 posts

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/flaire...-espresso-maker

Anyone interest in portable espresso machine?
wshazi
post Dec 16 2016, 05:08 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(flowerhorn @ Dec 15 2016, 10:09 PM)
My new grinder with a new batch of beans...It's quite a messy grinder but allows better control of the grind size compared to the built in grinder on my bes870.

Btw if anyone want to share the Ona raspberry candy beans with me let me know. Roast date 5th December. The aroma is wonderful!
how was the espresso?
wshazi
post Dec 21 2016, 04:26 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Dec 21 2016, 04:14 PM)
Nice Store you have there  rclxms.gif
+1000000
wshazi
post Jan 25 2017, 04:28 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Jan 24 2017, 11:30 AM)
Hi guys. Anyone here knows where i can get Breville cleaning tablets? The nearest is Kota Kemuning which is very far for me. I also can't find it online at the moment.
can i have the address?

Kota kemuning is not far from me. Maybe i Can get extra and mail it to you.
wshazi
post Feb 21 2017, 07:57 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(e_X @ Feb 18 2017, 01:20 AM)
Hi noob question here.

How many teaspoon/tablespoon per cup to make pure black coffee.
its up to you really, enjoy the coffee the way you like.

Try one tsp, two tsp and compare. If need to add one tsp at a time. Keep experimenting till u find your preference.

The world champion brewer create their own recipe / ratio .
wshazi
post Feb 22 2017, 05:03 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Feb 22 2017, 10:16 AM)
anyone know where can get 54mm Naked portafilter that can fit on the barista express?
I'm looking for the same thing. Please let me know if you manage to get it.
wshazi
post Mar 2 2017, 11:27 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(legonggelong @ Mar 1 2017, 08:53 PM)
Hey guys,
Im looking for a budget electric grinder right now. Home use. Aeropress, v60 & Clever dripper.
After did some research, it came down to two choices below:

1. Nivona CafeGrano 130 from Beanshipper.
Price: RM600++.
Can't found the review for the exact same model online though. But from the design I believe it is a re-branded Capresso Infinity. Capresso's review was pretty good. Great value for filter.

2. Mini Ek43 knock off/600N Feima/Feiying/Akira etc (So much name)
Price: RM300 ~ RM400. Depends on where i buy it.
Advantage over the Nivona above is obviously the price. Almost half. & I see many recommendations from you guys on this. But the problem is there are so many different version of this. Especially in Lazada. When I search exactly the name Feima/Feiying, there's no more. Sometimes weird name & even no name/brand at all. So worry i bought a bad one.
Or is it all the one that pop up with the same design is basically the same quality as the one you guys mention in this thread?

So need help from you guys on deciding this. Which one?. Or any other suggestion?

Looking forward for the opinions! =D
I'm using the Nivona Cafe Grano. Purchased it back in 2014 and still in good condition. Use it mainly for cold brew. Grind consistently however there are some retention. For every 18 gram I grind, I got approx 17.5 gram.

Still acceptable for me.

wshazi
post Mar 5 2017, 09:11 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(Waliuuu @ Mar 5 2017, 12:33 AM)
I've seen mods on replacing Gaggia Classic's steam wand with Rancillio Silvia's steam wand but idk if it's good for the machine.. Plan to do that too  sweat.gif
For budget below RM3k, i would recommend duo temp pro with the Breville grinder. You can always upgrade machine/grinder separately. Consider the after sales support.

just another factor to consider, machine with boiler will take longer time to warm up compared to thermoblock. with the boiler, it takes at least 10 minutes before you can make coffee.

wshazi
post Mar 13 2017, 02:49 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Mar 10 2017, 10:31 PM)
Hi all, not sure if this is the right place to ask, but seems to me like the most appropriate place to ask as of now. haha.

So recently i've been exploring on coffees, read articles online. Usually i get mine at starbucks. Skipping fraps nowadays coz it's mostly just syrup, sugar. So far I like the Americano and Caramel Macchiato. Actually i used to drink lots of kopi o, so i like the shots.

So today i tried to order the Espresso Macchiato aka Macchiato. They serve me the small cup version. Just wanna noe is it possible to get a Long Espresso Macchiato in starbucks? The small cup version just not enough kick for me. lol.
If you need more kick just order coffee with extra shots.

wshazi
post Mar 13 2017, 08:53 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Mar 13 2017, 04:21 PM)
talk bout this, something embarrassing happen b4. lol.

Went to starbucks, ordered americano, ordered venti, said double shot. The person say usually venti we give 4 shots. I'm like..... ok. I wanted to add few more shots ma. so i diam je. lol
tongue.gif .. customer is always right.. we are paying for the extra shots.. no harm asking for extra shots..
wshazi
post Mar 17 2017, 08:50 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 17 2017, 06:51 AM)
You should try them all...no right or wrong here...all fresh milk below...

Farmhouse - Most creamy & sweet. Has a light vanilla type smell. Foams very well & most stable. Can foam much hotter before burning. Very consistent season to season. Most cafe uses it.

Goodday -  Same company as Farmhouse. Just used to be OK...but last 1-2 years improved A LOT! Must try!

Pura - For the price, you can get better. I don't feel any thing really stands out. It's not bad per se...just...ordinary feeling IMHO

F&N - Same company as Pura.  Used to be quite good...but  now just average. Has a nice smell. Very inconsistent...you can tell the difference between seasons. QC also not great...many times turn to yogurt...my Mrs likes this yogurt / cream for baking... lol... a lot of cafe uses this milk because it is cheap

Tesco, Farm fresh, some flower picture brand - these all taste, smell, froth about the same. I'd get Tesco because it's cheaper...

If you are learning to froth, Farmhouse is easier and you can really stretch it...yes it's expensive and it makes you really pay attention to what you are doing biggrin.gif. It also goes very well with coffee that has more chocolate, toffee, caramel flavors.

For fruity, flower, spicy coffees, I prefer milk like Goodday & Tesco. Farmhouse is too rich and over powering.

Goodday is well balanced between Farmhouse & Tesco. Foam quite well too. It's great value when offers at RM 6...

The UHT milks' can froth OK but it's not stable. For example, Farmhouse art can stay the same for 20-30 minute...UHT will start breaking down in 3-5 minute...
Based on my knowledge.

F & N (Magnolia Yellow Box) and Farmhouse are distributed by same company F & N. Goodday is by Etika Dairies, used to be Permanis i.e. Pepsi

I use the Farm Fresh, Summerfield and Tesco. Support local farmers. And of course they are fresh but cheap. icon_rolleyes.gif

I dont really picky on the milk selection. As long its does not have strong smell and taste that can change the coffee taste. Reason I never use Marigold H.

One of these day I must try Goodday..

0.3190sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:50 AM