Hi all, just bought a espresso coffee machine from taobao.
Just wondering if starbucks bean is a good try, before going for expensive beans.
Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!
Feb 23 2018, 03:04 PM
637 posts Joined: Sep 2017 |
Hi all, just bought a espresso coffee machine from taobao.
Just wondering if starbucks bean is a good try, before going for expensive beans. |
Feb 23 2018, 03:14 PM
Feb 23 2018, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(Castreal @ Feb 23 2018, 03:33 PM) Starbucks beans are pricy and not as fresh IMHO. Their coffee is indeed sucks and not fresh (sourish) but I haven't try their beans yet.You can try to buy online from the popularly recommended BeanShipper The web is local or overseas? Looks good.. QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Feb 23 2018, 03:36 PM) So many selections, will try it out.. Thanks |
Feb 23 2018, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ Feb 23 2018, 04:19 PM) I bought this machine for 899CNY, mainly using press method. So far, it's still working fine except for the sieve handle loosen. The free bean is finishing soon, so imma get other bean now. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y8M3MAR2Rxw This post has been edited by SheepGeeks: Feb 23 2018, 04:37 PM |
Feb 26 2018, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ Feb 23 2018, 07:03 PM) 20-bar?!?... That's pretty hardcore liao.. lol I think it's just 2bar.. The machine comes with a free grinder, I'm using it.For RMB 899, it's a bit expensive, but since it's a dual use machine, it looks good on the table ba.. By the way, what coffee grinder are you using then? RM555 + shipping for dual use should be ok right? |
Feb 26 2018, 01:25 PM
QUOTE(lowkl @ Feb 26 2018, 11:54 AM) Actually, I wouldn't be surprised if it generates 20 bar. It's more difficult to build a machine that controls the pressure to the correct level (only about 9 bar) and balance with the correct flow rate as well. To compensate, lower end machines tend to crank up the pressure. I see, that explanation makes sense because if my machine idle for sometimes, it will "over pressed" it and causing water to flow out from the sieve at the side which give me some trouble. |
Feb 26 2018, 05:18 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ Feb 26 2018, 05:06 PM) from your replies, i gathered that you're very new to this espresso machine/roasted beans.. the machine you purchased via taobao isn't cheap, there're of course, better alternatives for the RM555(+s/h), but since you've bought it, my as well make good use of it then.. Yeah, I'm quite new to these. Btw, what kind of grinder is suitable for expensive beans?the reason i asked you about your grinder is.. it will make logical sense to decide on the type of roasted beans you're planning to buy. thus, if you're using a "blade" grinder.. forget about those expensive beans(e.g starbucks, or gourmet grade beans) Any recommendation? I'm planning to get a new one because mine is not washable and it's typical "blade grinder". |
Feb 26 2018, 07:16 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(lowkl @ Feb 26 2018, 06:28 PM) SheepGeeks; we are all still continuing to learn. The coffee journey is long .... and fun! I see, thanks for the informative reply.The general consensus is that burr grinders are the way to go. That being said, there are a lot of choices. If your volume is not high (maybe no more than 3 cups a session?), the best value for money is probably a hand/manual grinder. A Hario Skerton which you can easily get from many department stores here is just over RM 150. Excellent "professional" models are in the RM1K range, while virtually similar quality China brands cost half as much. Motorised models start from close to RM 1k (for a Breville for example) then rapidly escalate to RM 2k and above for espresso-targetted models. Or you can set aside RM 12k for an EK43. You can also look out for secondhand deals which can go for 20% to 50% off. Btw, what would be the effect of grinding beans with ‘blade’ grinder? |
Feb 26 2018, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(lowkl @ Feb 26 2018, 07:34 PM) Main issue is lack of consistency. Some particles will be large, while others will be very fine. This means the extraction will be over-extracting for the fines, and under-extracting for the boulders. For espresso an additional issue would be the inability to reliably control the back-pressure; some shots will be way too fast; others may choke. Lastly, I understand blades heat up the grounds, reducing the quality of the coffee. Ohh.. good to know that.. You guys have a community meetup for experience sharing etc?Gurus; please add/correct. |
Feb 27 2018, 08:56 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Feb 27 2018, 08:28 AM) Uneven size of grinds which lead to poor or uneven extraction. How much is the one you're showing? Looks rigid and high quality. Probably, not more than RM200 is fine.What’s your budget? There are such hand grinder but not cheap http://www.oehandgrinders.com/OE-Manual-Co...inders_c_1.html |
Feb 27 2018, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(nottyKitty @ Feb 27 2018, 09:49 AM) I was in your shoe 2 months ago, with Lebenstill blade grinder. I only makes 2 cups of coffee a day, no need to buy electric burr grinder (unless got the $). Where did you buy it? I search through the net, it's 300++ for it.Bought a Hario Skerton Plus.... BEST DECISION EVER MADE! My coffee turns from some-times-good/some-times-ok/some-times-great into OUTSTANDING, and the more important keyword is "CONSISTENLY". Even enjoyed the process of manually grinding coffee beans, feeling the level of strength required to crush the beans and the feedback, aroma of the grinded coffee filing my nostrils, and thinking about the absolutely best coffee i'm getting soon. It is very therapeutic... almost a sort of meditation, knowing each morning i'm delivering the best of my ability with what i have, the "Appreciation". So if someone ask me what is the best purchase I made in the last one year that is less than RM200? Hario Skerton Plus. I don't bother to spend more time just to make a coffee, as long as it's a perfect coffee. Hence, manual grinder is good for me. |
Feb 27 2018, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(squallx840 @ Feb 27 2018, 04:11 PM) I would highly recommend the Anonymous MK2 grinder. But RM350 + shipping kinda costly for a product in taobao.. How much different of the grind quality of this from Skerton?Normal version https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....id=525828224421 Italmill burr(more suited for Espresso) version https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....&id=45236342301 It does not take much effort and time to grind at all. I had Breville Smart Grinder and Porlex grinder at home. and also 1zpresso Zpro. Don't see much use for the Breville smart grinder. Porlex hand grinder is now my salt/pepper grinder... Skerton/Porlex does not even come close in terms of built quality/grind quality. |
Feb 27 2018, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(built @ Feb 27 2018, 04:37 PM) which net have you been searching? Ok, just whatsapped him. His stock will arrive within this few days.here's the link gobarequip its out of stock at the moment. call him to ask if you are really interested. at sub 170, you can hardly get a better grinder. remember, it has to be "plus". |
Feb 27 2018, 06:34 PM
Mar 21 2018, 08:50 AM
Ok, just an update. I went aeon to hands on the hario skerton, feel loosy and not sturdy. So I bought the "wonderful grinder" from taobao. Hope it works better than skerton
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ucket=16#detail Apart of that, I started to feel my blade grinder is wasting my beans. I could only get half shot of flavorful espresso each round and the taste of my coffee is not strong as my bean supplier's cafe made. |
Mar 21 2018, 01:57 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ Mar 21 2018, 01:49 PM) It's Brew & Bread @ Kota Kemuning, they roast and sell their own beans there. Currently, I've bought "MORMORA" with cheries aftertaste.The latte they serve vs the one I made is too far apart https://www.facebook.com/Brew.n.Bread/ |
Mar 22 2018, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Mar 22 2018, 12:39 AM) The focus on latte art in certain cases overshadows the importance of properly steamed milk. Milk is such an important part of a good latte and obviously BnB has done it right Thanks for the advice..So if you're just starting, I do advice you to not be too worried about how your art looks like but rather how your latte is tasting It's true that a well steamed milk is crucial for a good and smooth pour, but more importantly: 1. Milk steamed to the right temps will get you it's peak sweetness, while further steaming/heating will separate the fat and causes a watery latte 2. Well incorporated microfoam to elevate the texture and mouthfeel of the coffee 3. Well mixed (initial pour before the art) will ensure good marriage between crema (bitter) + milk foam (sweet). If your first sip is bitter, you know this was not done well A latte art is merely a simple indication that the milk has probably been steamed well but your tongue is the final judge Practice your steaming and also learn to calibrate your coffee differently for milk (maybe a higher dose or higher extraction to make sure flavors are not drowned by the milk) Good luck! Yeap, currently focusing more on tasting instead of arts. I'm still waiting for my grinder to produce flavourful shot. Meanwhile, I'm doing research in frothing milk as well. Btw, what is the perfect temperature for the milk? 60°C? |
Mar 31 2018, 11:55 AM
Anyone knows where can I get milk jug (for milk froth) smaller than 350ml?
I checked few shops and taobao, the smallest one is 350ml only. |
Mar 31 2018, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(serigala @ Mar 31 2018, 12:01 PM) Thanks, I have bought straightaway. |
Apr 2 2018, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(rytopa @ Apr 2 2018, 10:06 AM) You may want to get a 350ML to for comparison. 200Ml may be too small and constricted when swirling the milk. I have the 350ml jug, it's not suitable for my small cup (only 30% of the jug) and also my machine have only like 2" blower.350ML for me is the sweet spot for milk frothing for around 100ML each time. Bearing in mind that you will have to tilt the jug slightly, the milk volume will approximately double, you will need space to swirl the milk and "bang" the milk. Apart of that, I can only froth about 50% of the milk volume before the milk overcook with the limitation of my machine. |
| Change to: | 0.0414sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:43 PM |