Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

Ryou
post Aug 8 2017, 01:34 AM

866 posts

Hi guys,

I am a Malaysian currently studying in Taipei and a part-timer in cafe, and also a home-brewer. In Taipei, it is very easy to source quality single origin coffee beans for a relatively cheap price. I can also easily source a huge selection of green coffees directly from importers, due to the fact that home-roasting has been very popular in recent years.

However, since I am about to graduate and going back to Malaysia, I would like to ask the coffee community of Malaysia, about where do you guys normally source coffee beans in KL/N.Sembilan regions? I am from S'ban and it's been a real pain to buy quality roasted coffee in my hometown years ago.

Thanks in advance. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Aug 8 2017, 11:16 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 8 2017, 09:45 AM)
KL has a huge list of high quality roasters that are doing single origin and shipping nationwide. You should be able to see the list just a few post back
I can hook you up as well. I'm running Reframe Coffee Roasters in Penang and we ship nationwide
Thank you for your informative reply!
Ryou
post Aug 30 2018, 11:29 PM

866 posts

anyone what is the cheapest price of Oscar II in malaysia? I have been living in Taipei for years and just got back. in Taipei, Oscar II was around 28900NTD which is about RM3800. In Malaysia, most websites will just ask you to email for quoting.
Ryou
post Aug 31 2018, 12:36 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Aug 31 2018, 12:21 AM)
Thank you for providing the link! I am currently thinking about whether to get a Rocket or Breville or Oscar II.

The last machine I work with is a La Cimbali m100 for about half year in the cafe I work, and have previously used a La Spaziale S1 Dream T for 4 years. Hopefully the Oscar II will serve me well in home brewing.
Ryou
post Sep 1 2018, 02:34 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Aug 31 2018, 05:12 PM)
Interesting. Mind sharing what those better alternatives are? I'm in the market for a good grinder as well.
I would like to share some of my experience.

Even though I used to work in a cafe with commercial espresso grinder, but we only serve blend for espresso. So whenever I crave for single origin espresso, I will use my hand grinder.
Hand grinder used to have bad reputation for producing inconsistent grind size and lots of fines.

However, high quality hand grinder (like Commandante used by many professional) now offer titanium coated large burr, with dual bearing to ensure straight & stabilized axis.
Besides, when grinding by hand, the rotating speed is much slower than motorized grinder, which will also result in lesser fines and combined with the 2 above-mentioned features, will give you very consistent grind size and very less fines. Nowadays, most advanced hand grinder offer stepless adjustment and the range are enough for both light & dark roast espresso.

Now you might think such hand grinder costs a lot of money. But there are some produced by Taiwan & China company which are relatively cheap. You can google Helor grinder from China & 1zpresso X1 or Somad from Taiwan.
Ryou
post Sep 5 2018, 09:41 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 5 2018, 06:07 PM)
When im buying beans, how do i choose? The packages always show varietals, heirloom and masl. What do they mean actually?
When we talk about varietals, it's just similar to how wine Sommelier talks about grape varietals. different varietals tend to have different growing characteristics under different micro-climate and environment. They tastes differently even under same growing environment too. Additionally, different varietals tend to have different resistance to disease so they affect farmers' preference too.

As for altitude, the higher the coffee estate, the cooler the temperature hence the slower the coffee grows. This means the coffee cherries are allowed to accumulate higher sugar content and will be sweeter and much complex flavor profile. So generally, the higher the altitude, the better the coffee gonna taste. However, the higher the coffee was grown, the higher the beans density so they will be much harder. This means it's more challenging to roast them properly.
Ryou
post Sep 5 2018, 09:57 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 4 2018, 03:44 PM)
Are you using a V60? If so, whats the difference in the materials, plastic and cerramic? Any difference in brewing with 01 and 02?
my colleagues and I (I worked as part time barista in Taipei for quite some time) did an experiment, to compare different version of V60, plastic\ceramic\glass.
We found that there are mainly two difference.

First thing is of course heat retention:
- Ceramic: when preheated properly, has the best heat retention.
- Glass comes second and plastic worst.
However, you will see some master prefer the plastic version (like Scott Rao) because when brewing without preheating, plastic version doesn't suck up all the heat so the water temperature doesn't drop too much during the entire brewing process.

Second thing is the water flow. Inside the dripper itself you will see the spiral ribs. It's mainly designed to allow better airflow and well-circulated air means faster water flow rate.
Different version of V60 has slightly different spiral ribs depth and "solidness".
- Ceramic: Slowest among all version hence slowest flowrate.
- Plastic: Since plastic dipper is made out of mould, it has clearer spiral ribs hence faster than ceramic.
- Hario: Fastest among all. Hence it is one of the most popular version.

How flow rate affects flavor? Imagine that, the faster the coffee flow, the shorter the time where coffee and water contact, vice versa.
When your brewing time becomes shorter, you generally get more acidity, more floral and fruity aroma but less bitterness and body, and vice versa.
Ryou
post Sep 6 2018, 08:16 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Harddisk @ Sep 5 2018, 10:21 PM)
This is quite contradictory. Firstly, you preheated the dripper. If the dripper has best heat retention, then it won't suck up all the heat.
This is just based on my own experience. If your water flow is determined by the design of the spiral, you might be doing it wrong. Cause obviously you have flooded the dripper beyond the brim of coffee. Just soak the ground, don't flood it. Hence the coffee could drip out at the bottom.

Flow rate really depends heavily on the coffee ground. Grind size, meh. Some ground expands quite a bit and jammed up the dripper.

Just my 2 cents.
Regarding the heat retention thing, I was skeptical too. However I have seen some barista supporting that too. For example, 2018 Taiwan brewers cup champion Liu Bang Yu opted for plastic version of v60 during his final and IIRC his reason was similar to Scott Rao's too.

When I was saying about different flow rate among 3 versions of v60. What I meant was the flowrate under the condition that other variables being similar & consistent. Based on my experience, in the actual brewing process however, flow rate depends much heavily on grind size & the amount of fines, and more often light roast coffee tends to flow slower. The design of the dripper itself does impact the brewing process, but it is a less significant factor as compared to other variables like recipe, agitation etc.

Just my 2 cents smile.gif
Ryou
post Sep 7 2018, 02:55 PM

866 posts

Have been using Kono & v60 (all versions) for years and I found that Kono tends to stain more than plastic v60. However, Kono is only made in plastic.

That's why in our cafe we have all versions, ready for different occasions. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Sep 12 2018, 11:09 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 11 2018, 12:00 AM)
Hey guys,

I have been brewing with my Hario kettle. But i want to measure my water temperature. Any thermometer that is reliable to recommend?
Alternatively, you can buy with via taobao. Brands like kanoon or tiamo are particularly cheaper on taobao. If you happen to be shopping on taobao and are going to buy quite a few items then the shipping cost can be shared and it will be very cheap.
Ryou
post Sep 26 2018, 11:00 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(built @ Sep 17 2018, 06:51 PM)
i have not had a lot of Colombian, but those
that I have are medium too and they are not
acidic. in fact, i still have some.

i find Colombian not so "exciting". they are
smooth and full body. and i usually drink it
with some milk. maybe, i have not tried the
higher grade ones.
I have tasted some Colombian geisha and they tastes as good as Panamanian Geisha but much cheaper.

There are also a few estates where they ferment the green beans in old whiskey oak cask and the coffee tasted really winey & whiskey. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Sep 26 2018, 02:46 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(built @ Sep 26 2018, 12:27 PM)
do let us know the areas and farm.
Quite a few estates are producing Geisha, namely La Esperanza (their geisha's labeled as Hanami), La Palma y el Tucan is another longtime CR awarded farm who happened to produce geisha as well. Or you can also try out the Finca El Trapiche which is the farm that Jason Loo opted to use in last year WBC (Jason ranked 7th with this coffee). And these Colombian geisha don't break your wallet (as much as Panamanian Geisha do).
Ryou
post Sep 26 2018, 03:32 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 26 2018, 02:53 PM)
Im still new in coffee. Any particular coffee i should try? Or i can just randomly pick one and just keep trying different types
I used to work in a cafe in Taipei where we at least have coffees from 17 countries and a total of 22 regions. Most of them are roasted relatively light.

Whenever new customers ask which coffee to choose, I would recommend them to at least try coffees from two different continents.
For example, one Ethiopian and one Brazil.
In most cases, a fruity Ethiopian will taste very differently to a nutty Brazil. This is where people start to know which flavor profile they actually prefer.
If one prefers an Ethiopian, we will encourage him to try coffees from same region but with different processing methods,
for example a Washed Yirgacheffe will taste slightly different to a Natural-processed Yirg. The former being much delicate & bright while the latter tend to taste more like tropical fruit & berries.
By tasting such way, you will also get to know what kind of processing methods suit your taste.

Finally, keep drinking & keep trying different coffee whether you like it or not. Developing a palate takes time but it's worth trying. biggrin.gif
Ryou
post Sep 26 2018, 07:39 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(built @ Sep 26 2018, 05:24 PM)
thanks. would you also know and mind telling who is selling?
You can find Finca El Trapiche in Artisan Roast, and IIRC there beanshipper got the la palma e tucan
Ryou
post Oct 1 2018, 02:15 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 30 2018, 11:00 PM)

Im looking for baratza encore. Anybody knows where i can get one?

Are there any other entry level grinders out there which is good enough for home brewing? Looking for something around the price range of less than RM1,500.
Kalita Next G or Kalita Nice Cut G are both good for home brewing, not suitable for espresso though.
Ryou
post Oct 2 2018, 08:03 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jun 1 2018, 12:19 PM)
Can someone recommend me a decent barista machine for coffee brewing?

Combed through lots of it and is super confused right now with all those 15bar pressure etc terms.

Just need something to brew for personal consumption and most importantly, does not break the bank because i've seen some that are priced at over 2K!  blink.gif
Espresso machine always costs a lot. I have never tasted good coffee from machine priced below 2k.
Ryou
post Oct 3 2018, 08:19 AM

866 posts

Anyone joining the BrewersClub Early Access today?
Ryou
post Oct 4 2018, 10:17 AM

866 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Oct 4 2018, 09:06 AM)
I got in... biggrin.gif

First shipment is taking too long...
It's a new kind of coffee subscription. Subscribe to them and you'll receive a mystery box. You brew and guess what beans is it. New in Malaysia (as far as I'm aware of). It is quite pricey though. They just opened for business so they are doing "early-access", pay for shipping and you get a box of your choice.
I was quite tempted but also agree that the subscription price isn't very friendly. Orz
Ryou
post Oct 4 2018, 02:20 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Oct 4 2018, 02:12 PM)
We didn't check each vendors there, but did noticed that in general, roasted coffee beans are getting more and more pricy.. Maybe, RM300-400/kg range will start appearing soon?
RM40~50 for 200g pack is quite reasonable for specialty coffee.

I didn't go that day, what are the general price range you see? sweat.gif
Ryou
post Oct 4 2018, 11:43 PM

866 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Oct 4 2018, 10:21 PM)
When we bought our machine back then, it has a sticker price of below 2k. 13kg of steel and plastic, 2,400 watt, 3-liter tank capacity, built in 3-way solenoid valve, 4-bar steam..
I worked with La Cimbali m100 back then when I was working in a cafe. The machine I used during my time in uni's coffee club was a La Spaziale S1 Dream T. Based on my experience, machine priced less than RM2k is very hard to produce consistent shots and since most of them aren't capable of steaming & brewing simultaneously, it's very difficult to practice latte art with them.

But for beginner and home-brewers who add sugar, cheap machines can be a good entry. biggrin.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0240sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:52 AM