Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

CoffeeDude
post Jan 1 2021, 10:36 AM

1,542 posts

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/goat-m...der/description

What are your thoughts on this 2 in 1 grinder?

About RM1.6k

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Jan 1 2021, 10:38 AM
CoffeeDude
post Jan 19 2021, 09:31 AM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(lowkl @ Nov 25 2020, 03:33 PM)
Ive been using a Flair (Classic) for a couple of years now; extremely happy with it. For the home environment, it's very hard to find any shortcoming in terms of the espresso it produces... shoots well above its class. True pressure-derived espresso, crema and all. However, just as with any true espresso, grind quality is critical, so you will need a proper espresso grinder to pair with it. A manual steel burr grinder like 1ZPresso, LingLong ACE48, Commandante (preferably with Red Clix), Kinu and the like.

The Pros are very capable devices and I've never heard anyone regretting their decision in getting this model compared to the others; however, if you are really tight on the budget, the Classic and Signature do not compromise on the quality of the espresso; only on quantity (20-30% smaller maximum shot size).

I also have a Cafflano Kompresso; interesting coffee but not in the same ballpark as the Flair.

As for the milk part, there's using a French Press. Quite a few YouTubes out there showing that the texture is good enough even for latte art (if that's what you are after). Alternatively, you can spring for a Nanofoamer when it comes out.
Your Flair Classic is without pressure gauge?
CoffeeDude
post Jan 21 2021, 01:58 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(austinjklim @ Jan 21 2021, 01:29 PM)
Afternoon everyone.

I've been getting into making espresso lately.

i have a donlim kf6001 from shopee, and a hario mini mill slim plus.

Gridning fine espresso on this is quite good and consistent, getting 30s on ~60ml with ~14ml of espresso, compared to a blade grinder of course.

I've been almost grinding daily, but would like to get an automatic burr grinder, preferably with grind fine enough for my machine, and doesn't cost too much.

been looking at the Delonghi KG521 but noticed it doesn't grind too find for non-pressurised. Looking into the forum i saw some recommend the Feiying 600N (shopee available).

So barista-barista, is the feiying good enough, or any other recommendations i can go with?
How about a good quality manual steel burr grinder like 1ZPresso, LingLong ACE48, Commandante (preferably with Red Clix), Kinu as mentioned above?
CoffeeDude
post Feb 2 2021, 11:59 AM

1,542 posts

I have been reading the posts on manual hand grinder and have recently bought 1ZPresso JX PRO at around RM700

A superb grinder thumbup.gif
Very solid.
Very little retention.
Easily cleaned with the supplied brush.

CoffeeDude
post Feb 2 2021, 02:04 PM

1,542 posts

I will be ordering the Cafelat Robot from HK soon .... biggrin.gif
CoffeeDude
post Feb 2 2021, 02:30 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(layzieboy @ Feb 2 2021, 02:24 PM)
I love mine too and it's been very consistent for the past two years. Very little retention, opened to clean it once so far and was surprised how clean it looked (then again I only grind 16g daily).
Mine has one design flaw though that is the socket handle and the shaft are made from dissimilar metals (aluminium vs stainless steel)I can see some traces of corrosion which I think adding oil will help. Maybe something you can look into if the design has not changed.
thanks I'll check it out smile.gif
CoffeeDude
post Feb 9 2021, 09:09 AM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(oliolio @ Feb 7 2021, 07:33 PM)
I think i saw a seller on shopee selling all the colours.
yah I saw that but felt more confident ordering from www.cafelatstore.com
CoffeeDude
post Feb 9 2021, 12:37 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Feb 9 2021, 12:07 PM)
How much is the shipping? Do you use a forwarder to ship from HK?
I am shipping it to a forwarder - buyandship.com.my
USD8.50 to ship to HK address
buyandship will then ship it to me
CoffeeDude
post Feb 10 2021, 02:51 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(raist86 @ Feb 10 2021, 02:29 PM)
anyone here have contact to buy green beans at large quantity at a reasonable price? say 10 - 15 kg per type..
looking for columbia supremo, mandheling, java. maybe also ethiopian yirgacheffe
I have seen sellers in shopee

https://shopee.com.my/Unroasted-Specialty-C...6953.6344037971

not sure reasonable price or not

You have own roaster?
CoffeeDude
post Feb 23 2021, 08:40 AM

1,542 posts

CoffeeDude
post Feb 27 2021, 02:38 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(oliolio @ Feb 27 2021, 01:57 PM)
Got tax?
Yah kena 550 in tax sad.gif

On hindsight it is better to get from the seller in shopee.
CoffeeDude
post Feb 27 2021, 06:15 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(oliolio @ Feb 27 2021, 04:05 PM)
WHAT? 550 for tax?! Wow
20% import duty plus 10% sales tax
CoffeeDude
post Feb 27 2021, 07:51 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(oliolio @ Feb 27 2021, 07:42 PM)
Ouch. How is the robot btw?What colour did you get and did you get any add ons?
https://www.cafelatstore.com/collections/fr...otpowdercoating

Mine is the regular version without pressure gauge, creamy white, with levelling tamper upgrade

After tax around 2.3k
CoffeeDude
post Mar 8 2021, 10:53 AM

1,542 posts

Espresso from the Cafalet Robot smile.gif
Okay or not?

https://streamable.com/yfdcjt

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Mar 8 2021, 11:02 AM
CoffeeDude
post Mar 8 2021, 11:23 AM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Mar 8 2021, 11:13 AM)
just curious on how it control the water temp?
I boil water in a kettle and pour it into the brew chamber / portafilter.
The robot don't have any part that generates heat.

CoffeeDude
post Mar 8 2021, 12:00 PM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Mar 8 2021, 11:32 AM)
how's the result? good? seem fun..
you only need to compress single time to extract?

Yes need to compress in one single go to extract.

I would say the result is decently good as I am not using fresh coffee beans blush.gif
Previously bought Lavazza beans. Now need to finish those first before getting freshly roasted beans.

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Mar 8 2021, 12:01 PM
CoffeeDude
post Mar 20 2021, 11:25 PM

1,542 posts

CoffeeDude
post Apr 1 2021, 11:23 AM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(cwk0713 @ Apr 1 2021, 11:01 AM)
Need suggestion for a hand grinder, budget from around RM 300-700...
I will mostly use it grind bean for french press, and for refillable nespresso pod (no idea if it need to be same as espresso "fine")...
https://1zpresso.coffee/product/jxpro/

https://shopee.com.my/1Zpresso-JX-Pro-Manua...2663.5855542707

1zpresso jxpro
CoffeeDude
post Apr 1 2021, 11:57 AM

1,542 posts

QUOTE(cwk0713 @ Apr 1 2021, 11:56 AM)
Buying from oversea will kena tax since it's above RM 500? Or just depends on your luck?
Buy from shopee.
No tax to worry about
CoffeeDude
post Apr 1 2021, 11:58 AM

1,542 posts

del

This post has been edited by CoffeeDude: Apr 1 2021, 11:58 AM

0.2436sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled