Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!
pierreye
May 22 2020, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(junsuke @ May 21 2020, 11:34 PM) Hi. Anyone here using the Gemilai CRM3601 / 3605? Has anyone tried to replace the portafilter to a naked? I’m not sure if an e61 would fit nicely. I’m using naked portafilter with Gemilai CRM 3605. U can’t lock it to 90 degree straight but still work. I got it for rm 100 and use IMS basket.  This post has been edited by pierreye: May 22 2020, 08:01 PM
pierreye
May 22 2020, 08:09 PM
Regarding warm water thru Ulka pump, I check the spec it’s rated 35 degree Celsius 2 mins on/1 mins off. But I run warm water around 50 degrees thru it daily. If it can last for 2 years, than it’s more than good enough. Replacement is cheap and easy.
This post has been edited by pierreye: May 22 2020, 08:10 PM
pierreye
May 22 2020, 08:41 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 08:18 PM) Have read a PDF file some once-upon-a-time ago.. forgotten when.. vaguely recall exactly but the rating is not high.. if pumps fail frequently, perhaps is this reason? ... 25C? [attachmentid=10498956] Got few models. Gemilai 3605 use EP5 rated @ 35 degrees Celsius. This post has been edited by pierreye: May 22 2020, 08:53 PM
pierreye
May 22 2020, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 08:39 PM) [/spoiler] Curious here.. what is the weight of your nice looking naked portafilter? RM100 is really a good price.. My replacement of a similar portafilter cost about RM300.. sans shipping This the one. I remember can get cheaper from other seller. I just weighted around 411g. This post has been edited by pierreye: May 22 2020, 08:45 PM
pierreye
May 22 2020, 09:10 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 09:03 PM) That's a decent weight portafilter there.. a full dual spout filter should go half kilo easily? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « [attachmentid=10498968] How about the original portafilter that comes with the machine? How much does it weight? Original portafilter pretty light around 212g. Plastic handle and the metal oxidized easily.
pierreye
May 22 2020, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(Tikietic @ May 22 2020, 08:58 PM) Top is steam knob?... U sure bo? Where do you pour water in then? There is a side knob also.. that's the steam activation knob.. eh, Pierreye mentioned a 35C rated ULKA.. I supposed +40C is already on the high side.. 25C, 35C... This is not even hot bath level right? I think the rating means it can operate 2 mins ON/1 mins OFF @ 35 C. So if u run your pump at 40 sec maybe can run at higher temp. Anyway, doesn’t mean the pump will die immediately if run at higher temp. I do see it does have a thermal diode at the pump that suppose to shutdown the pump if overheat. This post has been edited by pierreye: May 22 2020, 09:45 PM
pierreye
May 24 2020, 10:19 AM
I just use filter water with 2 core, one is carbon filter and second is ceramic. As for backflush, I do it every time when done brewing coffee. That’s to flush out all coffee residue from the brew head and screen.
If you want to go nuts on water, look for rpavlis water recipe. It’s mixing distilled water with potassium bicarbonate. Some formula add in epsom salt. I didn’t try it as I don’t want every morning coffee brewing become science experiment. Already done a lot of measurement and control on weight and pressure. Imagine now u need to control the water recipe too.
This post has been edited by pierreye: May 24 2020, 10:34 AM
pierreye
May 24 2020, 07:11 PM
I only use Urnex Cafiza once a month as I'm using IMS Nanotech screen. Not much coffee oil stuck at the back of the screen. Before that using stock screen, I can see a layer of coffee oil after a week. That's daily water back flushing after 2-3 cups per day.
This post has been edited by pierreye: May 24 2020, 07:12 PM
pierreye
May 26 2020, 07:15 AM
QUOTE(sunami @ May 25 2020, 07:25 PM) hi...may I know you buy machine from? local ecommerce website or you self import it? Hi, got it from Shopee seller around RM 999. Taobao is cheaper but I don't want to deal with custom just in case. Taobao free grinder also seems to be a proper coffee grinder compare to local seller. If you don't want to do the warm water reservoir hack, you can look for CRM 3007D model. It's using 500ml stainless steel boiler so technically had more stable brew temp and more powerful steam. https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...s=1&abbucket=12This post has been edited by pierreye: May 26 2020, 01:28 PM
pierreye
May 27 2020, 01:34 PM
I would just get Gemilai CRM3605 compare to Delonghi. With 58mm brew head, proper pressure gauge, standard one hole steam wand compare to Pannarello steam wand on Delonghi. Pannarello steam wand can't create microfoam for latte art. For less than RM 800 with more proper grinder for entry level espresso: https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...a3d245d68a2ab5aThis post has been edited by pierreye: May 27 2020, 01:41 PM
pierreye
Jun 1 2020, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(sunami @ May 31 2020, 10:47 PM) Not sure wat grinder is that..it comes with the machine for free... Something like this...  Did you got your machine from Taobao? Any tax?
pierreye
Jun 14 2020, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(Lon3LyJay @ Jun 14 2020, 06:51 PM) By the way, did anyone preorder the niche zero grinder? It just keep on popping out on all the espresso video on YouTube! And I noticed that they recently have the pre-order ready for September shipment. Amy sifus owned this product before ? Bought one during MCO. No regret getting it. If you single dose, it's good for almost zero retention and the grind quality is superb for the price. So far I don't see the needs to deep clean the grinder. Maybe I'll do it once per year.
pierreye
Jun 22 2020, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 22 2020, 03:10 PM) I also getting Gemilai but is CRM3601 now i plan to mod my Saeco Poemia PID can you guide me  I thought Gemilai CRM3601 also use PID. I didn't mod the temperature control as it's already using PID which I confirm by looking at the circuit board. The only thing I mod is flow control which will help to control the pressure. Anyway, recently I experiment with different extraction ratio and currently prefer 23 grams in 40 grams compare to 1:2 ratio. This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 22 2020, 05:29 PM
pierreye
Jun 22 2020, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 22 2020, 03:16 PM) how do we do backflushing in gemilai?  There's a black rubber circular disc. Just put that in your portafilter, lock to brew head and press brew button. Wait until the pressure reach 15 bars then press again. You will hear the pressure release and water flowing to the tray. Do it twice and done.
pierreye
Jun 22 2020, 05:45 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 22 2020, 05:29 PM) CRM3601 no PID  I want to mod PID for my Saeco Poemia  For Poemia there are few steps. First you need to convert the portafilter to non-pressurized ver by removing the spring and plastic in the portafilter. Remove the 3 screws at the bottom of the plastic portafilter and remove the internals. Then use this guide to install PID. You can also use the PID to control the steam temperature but it's more complicated as that needed extra 12v power supply and use the build in PID alarm to control the temp. You need to remove the thermostat for brew only (leave the steam thermostat) and connect that wire to the Solid State Relay. Then put the temp probe where previously the thermostat is installed and connect to the PID. Check below example to understand how to wire the PID replacing the thermostat. https://www.instructables.com/id/Install-PI...o-Saeco-SIN006/https://www.seattlecoffeegear.com/assets/fi...ation-guide.pdfUse the below guide although different machine but same concept. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4TM3DkDVtwFrankly speaking I would just get the Gemilai CRM 3605 as even the moded Poemia espresso quality is not up to Gemilai level. The list of electronics needed to do the mod would easily cost you around RM 200 plus labor. As for Gemilai, the only mod needed is the flow control that I posted few pages back and pre-heat water tank hack. This post has been edited by pierreye: Jun 22 2020, 05:57 PM
pierreye
Jun 22 2020, 06:15 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 22 2020, 05:58 PM) thanks for ur guide ...  i only need the PID for brewing i see some PID built in SSR any PID u can recommend Auber is abit expensive  I'm using something similar to this. Quite cheap nowadays. https://www.ebay.com/itm/100-240VAC-PID-REX...HQAAOSwRvhdU270
pierreye
Jun 22 2020, 06:20 PM
QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 22 2020, 05:43 PM) ok...thanks bro...how often should i do it? I do it once everyday after final brew.
pierreye
Jun 23 2020, 06:59 AM
QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 22 2020, 08:56 PM) sorry bro..noob here... was looking at the post you mentioned that you modded the 3605.. just one question..you are using the switch to control the pump to that it hits the desirable pressure while brewing? where do you put the dimmer switch? I'm not using dimmer switch. The photo show is actually solid state variable resistor. You can checkout the link for the part list few pages back. Just disconnect the live wire to the pump, extend that wire to the solid state variable resistor then back to the pump. Then connect the 100 kohm potentiometer to the control of solid state variable resistor.
pierreye
Jun 23 2020, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 23 2020, 07:13 AM) For a moment i keep my poemia at my parent house when weekend i back to parent house i can have a cup coffee  Thanks for ur info 👍 i need to study the wiring before i proceed I think 3601 and 3605 different is pid , did 3605 have opv ? I know 3601 dont have when the machine reach i try to figure out It does have an OPV but wouldn't open even if the pressure is at 15 bar. I do try to mod it with different spring but didn't manage to find the right one. The last one I try open the OPV valve at 6 bar. 3605 does have a pressure gauge which is really useful if you are doing variable flow rate mod.
pierreye
Jun 23 2020, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(sunami @ Jun 23 2020, 04:56 PM) This is different diagram. It's for Solid State Relay. Only ON/OFF to control the heater. The one I link is the 240v wiring is routed from the pump to Variable SSR then back to the pump. The front part of the connection will connect to variable resistor 100 kohm.