Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

Tikietic
post Oct 11 2018, 08:37 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Morty @ Oct 11 2018, 05:33 PM)
Hmm so coffee is like a real deal for ppl who are passionate about it. So some cafes or barista are just overhyped by social media and most ppl just want to be part of it.

But are those award winning barista rly good compared to maybe some random barista? I was watching videos about coffee in japan and the ppl there are very focused on filter rather than espresso. And they rly take their coffee brewing very seriously. Is this true only in japan?
Not just coffee.. tea, wine, hard liquor.. all these have their niches and avid following/followers.

How about sharing where are you, as far as coffee making is about? Your experience/encounter/exposure thus far?
Tikietic
post Oct 11 2018, 09:56 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(Morty @ Oct 11 2018, 09:43 PM)
Hmm so far im just a home brewer and im still quite new. Just watching videos and learning from what i read and watch. Trying different type of beans with different process and regions. Am i an expert? of cuz not. Tht y join this forum and see what i can learn
you're very skimpy with info dude... sharing is not your strength i suppose?

what type of brewer are you? describe your tools/method(s) experiment so far..
you mentioned "beans".. what type and what are you observation towards them thus far?
Tikietic
post Oct 12 2018, 01:04 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 12 2018, 11:48 AM)
Shared by NitroDoc Coffee and its true!  biggrin.gif :grin:
[attachmentid=10066631]
Those crossed-out words were originated from the second-wave coffee movement..
Tikietic
post Oct 16 2018, 05:40 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 12 2018, 03:54 PM)
did second wave coffee movement also happened/ applied to Italy?
Those crossed-out words happens to be italian in origin.. the influence is world wide..
I don't claim knowledge about coffee wave movement, I just read it out of curiosity.. quite true if you observe the progressive happening in coffee culture for the past 5-10 years, even in Malaysia alone.
Tikietic
post Oct 16 2018, 09:33 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 16 2018, 06:27 PM)
i don't know what is "wave movement" too.
Someone mentioned about it several posts back.. that piqued my interest.
Tikietic
post Oct 18 2018, 04:29 PM

339 posts

Thus it's easier to comprehend how the gradual move from "fair trade" to "direct trade" in reference to these coffee-waves.
Tikietic
post Oct 18 2018, 05:45 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(mdyyliew @ Oct 18 2018, 05:25 PM)
You're most welcome.  :thumbsup:
Hi, do you happen to roast-to-sell to end consumers? If do, care to share your channel? Thanks.
Tikietic
post Oct 18 2018, 05:48 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(built @ Oct 18 2018, 05:30 PM)
i think fair trade created by direct buyers claiming to protect small coffee farmers from being exploited by big buying house. however, IMO it is also these direct buyers ballooned up the green beans prices. Green coffee beans remained same, wave or not.
There are still too many layers within the fair trade initiatives, until the claimed benefits are lost to the farmers. There're some good documentaries about "fair trade" on YouTube, if I recall correctly.
Tikietic
post Nov 2 2018, 09:15 PM

339 posts

Got this today.. had to brace through heavy rain for this.. sweat.gif
Roasted 9 Sept 2018 (24 days)..
Tikietic
post Jan 17 2019, 02:00 AM

339 posts

hi,
if you're buying it local(M'sia), then it's the best bang for the buck electric cornical burr grinder you can get at this price point (if price is strictly the most important parameter here). else, you can look for it's bigger siblings; e.g zd15 which has a bigger belt-driven motor and hence a bigger footprint than the zd10.

zd10 is a good product.. i think you can check it out in it's true form at cafe-malaysia(mitec, kl) this weekend.. most likely dankoff will carry it.
shouldn't be a problem with filter coffee but i can't ascertain if this model can be shim-modded for espresso grinds.

QUOTE(moon'prong @ Jan 15 2019, 06:12 PM)

hai sifu sifu sekalian,
been addicted to filter coffee for years,
all these while using rhino hand grinder for daily 1-2 cups,
recently feels tired of grind like robot and wish to upgrade to machine...
any cheap good worthy machine to recommend? icon_question.gif
daily usage, 1-2 times, each time 1 cup only, mainly filter, once in a blue moon moka pot
please dont recommend those chop bean machine.... notworthy.gif
personally 've had a look on wellhome pro zd10, cost bout rm370+-
any review bout it? or other machine at similar price range?
Tikietic
post Jan 17 2019, 02:02 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Ryou @ Jan 16 2019, 09:59 AM)
Anyone attending the Cafe Malaysia tomorrow?
pretty much same 'ol same 'ol.. unless you're there to support the competition..
Tikietic
post Feb 19 2019, 01:23 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 15 2019, 10:15 AM)
What grinder you're using and your current setting is finest grain?

With your current configuration, how thick is your crema? up to 30% of the espresso?

Sorry I had lots of doubt on Breville capability. My current china machine barely do 15% crema on coarse setting and nearly 2% on fine grain only, which is quite disappointing.
30% crema.. you mean something like this?

it's not a very good/reliable indicator for a good coffee, but it's just added fun like a glass of guinness stout.. besides, it won't stay and the crema will collapse eventually over time.. by the way, i'm using a china machine here.. it's very easy to over-generalize "china machines" into 1 single stereotype.. if you know what you're looking for, you can get seriously good stuff for a reasonable price..

Tikietic
post Feb 19 2019, 03:06 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 19 2019, 08:39 AM)
Yeap. something like that.. China machine could do it but with coarser grain. I wish to build heavy crema like that with fine grain.
Seriously, what China machine (and grinder) are you using here?! Name and model to be specific..
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 03:05 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 19 2019, 09:33 PM)
Donlim DL-KF7001 with "wonderful grinder" (highest spec, titanium coated or something)
Bro, have you done any mods to your machine?

Else, what you have is an entry-level(to some, it's toy grade) China machine.. 20-bar(by some non ULKA pump; Defond), pressurized portafilter(gives wholesome fake crema).. we have used such China machine before; don't stress yourself out too much about extraction results, it's difficult to even have a stable temp on such entry-level machine to begin with..
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 03:13 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 20 2019, 11:04 AM)
Flair Pro VS Breville's Dual boiler, What you think?

I'm thinking to upgrade a whole machine, since my current Donlim has small boiler and I have to wait a little while before frothing my milk.
If you don't wish to stake a probability of regretting later on.. avoid Breville at all cost(the current price is not worth it's value). Seriously, have you seen the size of the boilers in the Breville Dual boiler unit? For heat to be stable, it has to be big or well insulated; this BDB has non of such attributes. So be aware.
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 09:24 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Feb 20 2019, 03:15 PM)
I was suspecting pressurized portafilter but can't read chinese. Thanks for confirming
60sec extractions... that tells alot already right? biggrin.gif
i don't read chinese too, but schematic wise, these pressurized machines are easy to spot once you've seen enough of them.

QUOTE(lowkl @ Feb 20 2019, 03:29 PM)
Umm...the BES920 uses a PID temperature controller and a heated grouphead, which should give similar temperature stability as an E61 thermosyphon.
PID is just a fancy word for a thermostat.. am sure there many grades of PID around so it's not wise to generalize all in a same quality basket vis-a-vis to your comparison.. some e61 also integrate a PID onto it's system as well (e.g Lelit PL62T PID HX, Bezzera Magica PID); does that mean e61 is not thermally stable?

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 20 2019, 04:51 PM)
No mods, totally clear that it's a basic/toy level with the fragile filter holder. That's why I'm looking into upgrading it. If breville is not worth then which should I go?
if you want to move up and don't wish to spend too much but yet able to have a lots of room to learn... the good 'ol rancilio silvia (if you can find one) is very good, price wise too.. but if you intend to go China again, i have a few serious brands for consideration; milesto, expobar, wpm (each have it's own individual series; from the lesser to the greater within each brand).. e.g meaning not all wpm machines are the same.

(Update - it seems La Marsa Coffee might still be selling the Silvia, do check with them)

This post has been edited by Tikietic: Feb 20 2019, 10:33 PM
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 09:25 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Feb 20 2019, 03:36 PM)
Which machine would you recommend in place of the Breville, then?
depends on whether you want to go local(locally available) or you don't mind imports..
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 09:58 PM

339 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Feb 20 2019, 09:32 PM)
Share both... hehe then i ll chk if its more feasible financially to get the local or oversea 😬

Thx in adv
Locally, there aren't many choices if budget is below RM3k-4k, apart from the rare Gaggia(the Classic, Baby), Rancilio Silvia.. WPM is the next best choice. (Almost forgot.. Simonelli, if the price still affordable for)

China made: (sort by accending price/budget)
Gemilai, Milesto, WPM, Expobar.. (look for those 58mm ones).
Expobar is available here in M'sia too under some bespoke arrangements, if I'm not mistaken.. just unsure.

This post has been edited by Tikietic: Feb 20 2019, 10:28 PM
Tikietic
post Feb 20 2019, 10:03 PM

339 posts

By the way, Gaggia still have a presence in M'sia.. it's at Jalan 223, PJ same building as Pensonic.

Tikietic
post Feb 21 2019, 10:45 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(4lt4ir @ Feb 21 2019, 12:04 AM)
Thanks for this.

Any thoughts on the WPM KD210?
Wpm kd 210 -No
Wpm kd 210s2 -yes
What do you think of the kd210 then?

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top