Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

Castreal
post Jan 17 2018, 12:39 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(alvint89 @ Jan 17 2018, 12:36 PM)
Curious, you do your 28-32 seconds from pump initiation or from first drip?
From pump initiation, including pre-infusion.
My objective will be to achieve a 1:2 ratio, so as long as it reaches the range of 32-35mg espresso, the taste is still consistent.

This post has been edited by Castreal: Jan 17 2018, 12:40 PM
Castreal
post Feb 5 2018, 12:34 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Feb 5 2018, 11:05 AM)
I quick question:

For home use, how many of you actually use a knockbox?
I own a very beautiful JOEFREX Concept art Metal Base Knock Box with drawer... I thought it would be so convenient and space saving since I can put my Grinder on it.
While it saves space, and looks beautiful, I've only truly used it less than 10 times over the past 3 years tongue.gif

All the hassle to emptying the drawer, washing up the drawer, wipe and air dry so the metal part got no water stain, then re-assemble the drawer... I find it easier to just knock the puck of at the inner side of my bin. So far the inside of the Brabantia bin still undented thumbup.gif

TLDR: Knock into Bin instead of Knockbox/drawer

This post has been edited by Castreal: Feb 5 2018, 12:35 PM
Castreal
post Feb 8 2018, 11:54 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Feb 4 2018, 01:48 PM)
guys i just bought the nescafe barista machine. Its awesome but can anyone recommend me what is the right fresh milk to make cappuccino or latte?

Cold Milk? or what brand? UHT Milk? I am confuse

I bought Dutch Lady Purefarm low fat high calsium milk but it taste weird.

What is the right fresh milk to make the above?
I used Fresh Milk. UHT just has that weird taste...
Use to get Magnolia Fresh Milk (yellow one), but the price now super expensive! Lucky for me, I FINALLY found a supplier for the Magnolia Barista Milk! and its much cheaper than the Magnolia Yellow carton, well its the same price as the Yellow Magnolia before the price hike. Taste wise, its a bit similar, but I find it just a tad better than the yellow carton.

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Feb 7 2018, 10:56 PM)
knockbox.. here is my 2-cents:

if you're using those sub-100gram, pressurized portafilter.. most likely your machine is not equipped with a 3-way solenoid valve and the coffee puck will mostly been wet/soupy.
thus it's much more easier to get rid of the wet/soupy puck.

it will be much harder to plonk out the dry coffee puck from a half-a-kilo portafilter. more so when the coffee puck is so stubbornly stuck on the heavy portafilter. it might dent most plastic bin or worst still, it may dent those expensive ims basket.

the rubber thingy on the knockbox is very helpful at absorbing the knock force..

it's a nice thing to have, especially if you're doing high volume work..
It really depends on the type of beans you use, based on my experience. For those that get stuck, I would usually just use the back of a teaspoon and just swoop a bit off the inner sides of the portafilter, like how you would do a Loh Mai Kai in a tin bowl thumbup.gif works all the time... then just dump the puck in the bin
Castreal
post Feb 8 2018, 12:28 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Theoutspokenguy @ Feb 8 2018, 12:18 PM)
Can u recommend the seller? I search internet Malaysia not selling
haha, I've been searching for more than a year already, some more called up F&N to see if I can get from them, but unfortunately they only supply to businesses (you have to fill up all sorts of form regarding your business and registration number stuff).

So I found a small Café near my workplace that uses Barista Milk. Had some interesting coffee chat with the owner the few times I patronize his place, we both source some of our stuff from the same vendors, so had a bit to chat there.. Then I asked if I can get the milk from him, and he said anytime! rclxm9.gif Its somewhere in Bandar Sunway.
Castreal
post Feb 23 2018, 03:33 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 23 2018, 03:04 PM)
Hi all, just bought a espresso coffee machine from taobao.

Just wondering if starbucks bean is a good try, before going for expensive beans.
Starbucks beans are pricy and not as fresh IMHO.
You can try to buy online from the popularly recommended BeanShipper

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 23 2018, 03:14 PM)
Ikea? They sell beans?

Btw, any brands or bean from supermarket to recommend?
As a rule of thumb, for "fresher" coffee beans, buy beans that has the "Roasted on" dates rather than "Expire by" dates (usually in supermarkets).

This post has been edited by Castreal: Feb 23 2018, 03:41 PM
Castreal
post Feb 23 2018, 04:18 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Feb 23 2018, 04:00 PM)
Their coffee is indeed sucks and not fresh (sourish) but I haven't try their beans yet.

The web is local or overseas? Looks good..
So many selections, will try it out.. Thanks
Their office is in KL, and they source their beans from local and overseas roasters. I get my beans mainly from them.
Castreal
post Feb 23 2018, 04:40 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Tikietic @ Feb 23 2018, 04:21 PM)
bro.. thanks for the "milk" offer, gonna take a rain check on it though.. by the way, have you successfully dispose off your gears(breville)?
No problem. Their milk supply for CNY has been bad though, still no Barista Milk since last Thursday. He said sales person told him only delivering later today... in the meantime, they bought milk off Jaya Grocer biggrin.gif
I'm having second thoughts on selling my gears, warranty already expired for all equipment, but if the offer is right, I can always opt for an upgrade thumbup.gif

Castreal
post Mar 2 2018, 11:35 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(FrankieX @ Mar 1 2018, 02:14 PM)
Hi guys,
I own a coffee shop in a small town in Perak. I have tried to get pasteurized fresh milk but the none of the brands could deliver it daily. My best bet now is to use UHT milk so the vendor can deliver a lot in 1 trip. Anyone has experience using UHT milk for latte/cappuccino? Any recommendation on which brand to use. So far I have tried Magnolia UHT but the foam is quite bad. Thinking about changing to Farmhouse UHT Fresh Milk

Thank you
Hi there, to start off I think everyone has their preferred taste.
Personally, I can't take any of my Lattes with UHT milk, it just doesn't work for me. Could be the coffee snob in me, but I can't find myself ever finishing a cup of Latte made with UHT milk. On business that brew with UHT milk, I know of one in Bandar Sunway that had closed down after starting up less than 6 months, they use UHT Milk. whistling.gif

Anyways, the few Cafes that I know of, non of them get their fresh milk delivered daily (at least for Barista Milk), mostly either twice or once a week. Perhaps you can try procuring more in volume? Worse case, perhaps get Tesco to deliver fresh milk to your doorstep?
Castreal
post Mar 14 2018, 11:06 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(apsidewatch @ Mar 14 2018, 10:39 AM)
Hello addicts, your fellow brother needs recommendation on a cheap reliable thermometer smile.gif

At the moment I'm brewing coffee using aeropress and a china scale(it fluctuates +-1g.. but not complaining for a cheap stuff) to weight and measure the amount of water. Now I need thermometer after more than year not having one..

So, suggestions?
I've been using a Weber 6492 Original Instant Read Thermometer for the past 3 years. Bought it from Amazon when I was in US. Cost less than $10 which is relatively cheap for a digital, compared to the ones that were available here 3 years ago. Still working great.

Perhaps if you have a friend coming back from US or look for forwarding services (I think there are some here in LYN), can consider this.
Castreal
post Mar 16 2018, 10:12 AM

112 posts

Latte Art ~ I tend to start drawing a Rosetta, but if/when the milk gets too foamy, it ends up being an Elephant tongue.gif

Castreal
post Mar 19 2018, 02:55 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(nottyKitty @ Mar 17 2018, 11:57 AM)
That's nice!

Mine almost always end up looking like a dick.....  doh.gif
Ha! the trick is to turn that dick into an elephant laugh.gif
Castreal
post Jun 4 2018, 12:21 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Jun 4 2018, 11:51 AM)
i just googled DE+1 ...man, thts another level of expresso...  laugh.gif

i was like "what??!! seriously?!!"  laugh.gif
Analytics for coffee lovers blink.gif
Castreal
post Jun 6 2018, 11:22 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Jun 6 2018, 09:00 AM)
I do enjoy black coffee (dripped) but I always make latte & cap for my breakfast to fill up my stomach. I can't drink pure black for my meal, I got gastric..

How about those "processed" milk that has longer shelf life? I noticed it's slightly cheaper.
This could be a personal preference, I only go for UHT milk when I absolutely cannot get hold of any fresh milk (no stock or no supermarts nearby)
In terms of taste, I don't really like it, for me its a turn off... but taste is personal, give it a try, you could like it.
My office espresso machine has been running on UHT milk in a chiller setting, and I still see people getting their coffee fix from the machine on a daily basis.
To each their own.
Castreal
post Jun 22 2018, 12:00 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Jun 22 2018, 10:51 AM)
guys,

cleaning tablets Vs cleaning powder... which do you guys prefer?
I finished up the free tablets, using cafiza now... powder seems more easy to dissolve
Castreal
post Jun 22 2018, 05:57 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Jun 22 2018, 12:29 PM)
sorry for being long winded, i m using the breville barista express machine. just that may i know why is tablet more preferred for the full auto machine?

i have checked the price, it seems tht the tablets is more expensive compare the powder...
My answer could be irrelevant to the question, but breville barista express machine is a Semi-Auto, not Full Auto sweat.gif
So still can use powder over tablet rclxm9.gif
Castreal
post Jun 28 2018, 12:06 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(jaga @ Jun 26 2018, 09:17 AM)
Say 3.5K and I'll throw in a Macap M4, in excellent condition too

[attachmentid=9880048][attachmentid=9880056][attachmentid=9883826]
QUOTE(BacktoBasics @ Jun 28 2018, 11:32 AM)
I have a delonghi electric grinder. I buy fresh coffee beans and grinds them before making them.

I am not sure if a more expensive machine would make better coffee or not. But I think the quality beans play a more important role in the taste of the coffee.

Just like one can use a world class professional cooking wares but cooks with low quality unfresh ingredients will taste like crap.

In your honest opinion, for a beginner like me who doesn’t aspire to be a professional barista but still wants to make decent espresso and latte at my comfort of my small apartment without splurging on lousy and expensive coffee at Starbucks and cafes.

Which machine would you recommend? I don’t need a fancy big machine as my apartment is very small. And I am the only one drinking coffee at my place.
@BacktoBasics,

The unit jaga is selling above is one of the better brands IMHO, and 3.5K for both the Macap & Rocket would be a steal (if he is selling as a package), also IMHO.
Of course this is under the assumption if the machines are still working well biggrin.gif Prices for brand new units of these combo is easily more than RM 10k.
Personally, I'm using Breville DB, and it has been serving me well for the past 3 years.
Castreal
post Jul 9 2018, 12:05 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Jul 7 2018, 05:40 PM)
If I may ask.... the 20-30second rule for brew time, is it from the time one presses the machine button, or the start of the mouse trail?
Not all espresso machine does Pre-Infusion, I'll assume yours does. Rather than looking at the timing (20-30 seconds), i look at the weight of the brew. Most beans differ slightly, I find mine usually works best at 17g beans to 35g espresso. Also depending on the beans, it could be from 25 seconds (including pre-infusion) to around 35 seconds, as long as the espresso weights around 35±1g for me, it will be consistent.
Castreal
post Aug 8 2018, 03:44 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 8 2018, 02:59 PM)

wonder if the rocket can produce much better coffee than the oscar 1; i'm still using my oscar 1
Rocket Giotto and NS Oscar are not even on the same league sweat.gif The NS Musica, could possibly produce better espresso than Giotto.
Appearance wise (ahem), the Rocket (Giotto Rev R) wins has down compared to Oscar 1 laugh.gif
Castreal
post Aug 15 2018, 09:23 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(qqmeng @ Aug 14 2018, 09:55 PM)
Guys... wanna ask:

i hv got my grind size to the finest, tamp it as hard as i could and still could get 25seconds 44grams within the expresso range. What did i do wrong?

Using breville barista express here
Sometimes differnet beans just have to adjust bit by bit to see what fits, grammage, grind size, extraction duration.
I'm using the Breville Smart Grinder and Dual Boiler, If I were in your shoes, next cup I'd grind a bit more into the portafilter. Perhaps try 1-2 grams more.

Castreal
post Sep 3 2018, 03:05 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Bryan89 @ Sep 3 2018, 12:56 PM)
Thanks for suggesting the event. Where is the best place to get beans and what types of beans would you recommend? Although it really depends on personal taste but what should i start with and how do i know what i should be looking for? I see that bean shipper have a lot of variety. Are they any good?
Welcome to the club! I've been sourcing my beans mainly from BeahShipper, and yes lots of variety to try out. So far for me the beans I order taste great.
Few things to help you get started:
- Tasting notes: Most beans have their tasting notes mentioned, just see what kind of notes you think you would like to taste.
- Comments: This is important too, check on the buyer's comments if the beans are flavourful or if they taste good, with or without milk.
- Favourites: Starting to order from a new site, you can't quite go wrong with the favourites, check those with most good comments, see if the flavour suits you.

My personal favourite are blends that include Sumatra Mandheling, ocassionally I do try out other beans with similar taste notes.

This post has been edited by Castreal: Sep 3 2018, 03:06 PM

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0290sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:50 PM