Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!
Dan430
Sep 15 2017, 04:23 PM
QUOTE(yuka @ Sep 15 2017, 02:54 AM) Recently I bought pre grounded coffee but it tasted kind of bad and made me headache. First time bought pre grounded actually, before this always use roasted bean. Is generally pre grounded coffee taste bad or I just chose the wrong brand and quality? haha! well when your taste buds are fine tuned to fresh beans u can't go back as it confuses your mind.
Dan430
Sep 17 2017, 12:52 PM
QUOTE(luvox @ Sep 17 2017, 12:15 PM) [attachmentid=9138903] My iced brew DIY method. 😂 Wow this is something I've not seen? how long did it take the ice to fully saturate the coffee grounds?
Dan430
Sep 19 2017, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 19 2017, 03:13 PM) I dose by serving, never filled the hopper before (in fact I just use the tamper to cover the bean entry and keep hopper in storage cabinet haha Then brush and air blow the hell out of the machine to get everything out. Very very tedious and slow but that's the nature of the home barista   best way to do it if your volume is not huge. just like a home barista.  maybe invest in ceado E37S?  retention 0.5g
Dan430
Sep 20 2017, 06:31 AM
QUOTE(patryn33 @ Sep 20 2017, 12:42 AM) haha yeah the E37S is expensive but i saw one on gumtree australia selling at aud 1k which i think its cheap only thing is its damn heavy to bring it back with me. hmmm interesting niche, but almost same price as sette and available in june 2018. and i found this dude with both! seems promising. Thanks for sharing patryn https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oYdSyYjILnkThis post has been edited by Dan430: Sep 20 2017, 06:38 AM
Dan430
Sep 27 2017, 05:47 PM
QUOTE(alvinfks78 @ Sep 27 2017, 11:06 AM) Anyone know what happen to Beanshipper. my subscription delivery is today and it is missing from my account and can't seem to contact them via fb or website I dunno they cancelled or ..............should I order from elsewhere? If you have paid for the subs u better visit them or call them to find out! maybe its a website glitch. https://www.facebook.com/blaq.coffeestore/?..._eid=561e604846
Dan430
Oct 3 2017, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Oct 3 2017, 10:38 AM) When too fresh, you'll get a huge layer of crema but you'll notice it dissipates very quickly. This indicates it's not yet stable because the CO2 content is still too high in the bean (not rested long enough) This crema doesn't play well with milk and may give you an extra bitter layer on top. Most apparent on the first sip But do take note that this is different from bean to bean as well as the roast level of the coffee Try and let me know!  Another top notch coffeewisdom from ymeng!  coz i experience "too fresh" beans before! LOL thought i was in for a stout coffee! hahaha
Dan430
Nov 12 2017, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(Ooi @ Nov 12 2017, 01:29 AM) Hi, I am coffee noob.. Thinking of buying an average for home coffee espresso machine from Lazada. I am based in Subang jaya. Does anyone here knows any shop/house/place/coffee roaster that sells reasonable price coffee beans/Biji kopi/grind coffee/serbuk kopi? And also I am still noob, at the moment trying to research and read and understand more. WHy cant we use those serbuk coffee like those in chinese kopitiam use for espresso machine yea? cause I think those chinese kopitiam/hainanese coffee flvr strong n nice.. SOrry i ask such stupid questions..Trying to google and understand more..  no such thing as stupid question as everything has a learning curve! is not cannot but its just not your preferred choice in making espresso with kopitiam serbuk coffee, as the taste may change due to the difference in brewing, kopitiam don't use pressure to brew but espresso uses pressure to brew, so it may change the characteristic of the coffee. Just do your own hypothesis and experiment. just try out aeropress (in-between espresso and filter IMHO) as u can start with lil budget before spending too much on cheap espresso machine and end up giving up on espresso and money wasted!
Dan430
Nov 21 2017, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(lowkl @ Nov 21 2017, 10:03 AM) Just tried Yarra milk by Farm fresh....really like it. Hope the price remains reasonable and easily available. For those looking for "raw" milk, perhaps you can try getting unpasteurised milk from the suppliers of milk to Indian cuisine restaurants. I know quite a few people like it with local kopitiam coffee, but personally too strong milk taste for me.  indian cuisine restaurant don't use cows milk i think its highly likely goats milk. anyone tried with goats milk?
Dan430
Dec 1 2017, 06:33 AM
New hario grinder! seems promising! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_OgvvjxUkoThis post has been edited by Dan430: Dec 1 2017, 06:34 AM
Dan430
Mar 25 2018, 11:30 PM
QUOTE(SticH @ Mar 22 2018, 06:21 PM) Can I practice latte art with bellman stovetop steamer and 3 in 1 coffee? im selling mine away if you interested.