9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Coffee Lover v.2 Thread, Let's Share!

Dan430
post Jun 3 2017, 03:57 PM

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 3 2017, 11:53 AM)
Coincidentally updated my distribution tool with a paddle attachment yesterday... now easier to "brush" coffee out from my grinder biggrin.gif

hey i use the same thing! Cheap but works! rclxms.gif
Dan430
post Jun 5 2017, 03:58 PM

QUOTE(spiderjedi @ Jun 5 2017, 02:22 PM)
Hi sifus,

Need your advice. Im in a dilemma on which 1 to get for my home.

1. Profitec Pro 500 vs Rocket Appartamento

2. Eureka Mignon vs Sette 270
Pro500 and sette will be a good combo!! rclxm9.gif

Actually either one will also be a really good buy! icon_idea.gif

the difference should be only a bag of beans or two? haha

pro500 got 2 gauge and better overall build over the appartamento but it cost little more too. both makes great espresso tho drool.gif
Dan430
post Jun 6 2017, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(spiderjedi @ Jun 5 2017, 10:59 PM)
I've read really good reviews on d 500. I was inclined towards buying it till I realised the appartamento is approx 1.5k cheaper (if I'm not mistaken). If there's not much a difference between the quality of espresso, then i best save that 1.5k rite?
Well if its 1.5k cheaper then better get that appartamento. Both are reputable manufacturers and both make good espresso and steaming power is on par too. both have mirror finish on its machine but ofcoz appartamento has some plastics railings which i dislike!

Dan430
post Jun 6 2017, 12:15 PM

QUOTE(spiderjedi @ Jun 6 2017, 11:06 AM)
Thanks for your advice. Now that you reaffirm that both are pretty much same, then looks like I'll go for Appartamento  icon_idea.gif
Actually I like the looks on the Giotto but thats out of my budget  sweat.gif

Would Sette 270 be a good grinder to start with ? I recall someone commenting in the earlier threads that the performance is questionable (hope i didnt get it wrong  unsure.gif ). What would be a better grinder that I can consider ? 

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jun 6 2017, 11:58 AM)
Get Eureka Mignon as a starter, Dont bother with other brands, If you can get those 2nd hand commercial grinder like super jolly even better. Then start dail in the grinder to prefer the grinding skills  rclxms.gif
I think i would prefer the sette 270 considering it as a home barista (Combining espresso and pour over grinds) POV and also retention and clumping POV! Yes perhaps the sette won't last you till the next generation (Not possible to change the burrs) but its a promising grinder. but both grinder are equally good its a matter of preference and outlook. and sette 270 grinds fast! icon_idea.gif brows.gif
Dan430
post Jun 8 2017, 05:19 PM

QUOTE(spiderjedi @ Jun 8 2017, 03:12 PM)
Where can I find 2nd hand grinders?
Oh yes.. seen some videos and it grinds really fast ! but also rather loud as well.. hehe

there's a sette 270 and 270w.. time vs weight. Which is better actually ?
I wouldn't pay extra for the "w" as it still grinds the same. have a separate scale will be more ideal. sound for 4~5s is nothing, as mignon is more than 10s for double.

BTW i have a commercial grade grinder for sale if you interested: rclxm9.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4244193

and @dwrk damn those art is impressive! Welldone!! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Dan430: Jun 8 2017, 08:30 PM
Dan430
post Jun 9 2017, 06:31 AM

QUOTE(JC_jun @ Jun 9 2017, 12:44 AM)
hi, i am newbie here, what are the difference between commercial and home grinder? is it the commercial type can get very consistent grind size?
Hi Welcome to Coffeefanatics. commercial grinder last generations, and gives you consistency, fine adjustment, faster, less heat, less clumps and looks good. rclxm9.gif laugh.gif

Dan430
post Jun 9 2017, 09:08 AM

QUOTE(lowkl @ Jun 9 2017, 06:59 AM)
....unless the home grinders are the Settle or Mignon (well, the Mignon still clumps, but IMHO makes no difference in quality).
erm actually burr size does make a difference in taste. i've tried 50mm and 64mm side by side it does produce different taste with the same/approx close recipe. laugh.gif Well i agree that it still makes a good cuppa no doubt better than starbucks or CBTL many many miles! rclxm9.gif
Dan430
post Jun 9 2017, 01:48 PM

QUOTE(d33pbluez @ Jun 9 2017, 11:37 AM)
Nice, That the reason why i never like oily beans.... Last time i try liberica beans super dark super oily... and my grinder was in total mess  sad.gif
That day onwards, i never try oily beans again...
Haha! Same reason!! rclxm9.gif I'm not alone! no more oily beans!
Dan430
post Jun 19 2017, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jun 19 2017, 12:39 PM)
Starbucks Latte... i hadn't had starbucks for a while, until one of those days I had no time to brew a cuppa at home, drove through a Starbucks on the way to work...
Man, I wished I had stayed a few more minutes home to brew that Latte!! hahaha  tongue.gif  My standards of coffee are not as high as some, but Starbucks latte, its just ....
It kind of reminded me why I stopped patronising Starbucks in the first place, its good for Flavoured Coffee, thats about it.

I would still seasonally drop by for a caramel macchiato, but never a latte  rolleyes.gif
i dont wanna sound silly but i agree with you!! thumbup.gif so i too stop going to starbucks, even when biz meeting i would suggest different place. they told me CBTL is better quality than Starbucks so last week scheduled meeting in CBTL and had Cafe latte damn its the same puke.gif

Damn We home brewers are spoilt with good appreciation for coffee! drool.gif laugh.gif

Never again to either of them, but better to independent cafe. also depends some still sucks but still better than both of them mentioned!

Flavoured coffee? nah i go back to 3in1, 4in1, 5in1 cheap and "equally good" too! rclxs0.gif
Dan430
post Jun 19 2017, 08:49 PM

QUOTE(Castreal @ Jun 19 2017, 05:52 PM)
whoa... have you tried the Nescafe Caramel latte? I bought a whole 20 sachet pack, made a drink with 1 sachet, couldn't even finish that one cup.... left the remaining 19 sachets in the pack in the office pantry. Done my share of contributing to the Office Pantry laugh.gif
Nope! didn't try that before. i stoped stocking instant coffee anymore. haha. when I'm out kopitiam coffee would fix my day anytime, Cheap and good better than overprices SB/CBTL

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jun 19 2017, 08:27 PM)
Not only that, I was appalled at how dirty the portafilter was at CBTL (the one in KLIA at least), huge turn off for me.

I no longer go for coffee based drinks if I'm forced to go to CBTL/Starbucks, only chai latte at CBTL (which is as good as I can make it at home).
Hahaha wow thats puke.gif lucky i didn't see it else i reverse the order. but seriously foaming milk also wrong, i wonder do they go for any training? they have beautiful 3 group machine but seriously they think they gonna serve a beeline of customers? doh.gif
Dan430
post Jul 31 2017, 09:35 AM

QUOTE(sl3ge @ Jul 31 2017, 08:57 AM)
No need so good, around 1k.
Delonghi EC680 good?

Coz last time i brought one cheap at taobao,the hot water go through plastic inside and taste weird.
Does delonghi got plastic internally?
or alternative you can buy from me; my ex-lover Full stainless steel and you can forth microfoam milk for latte thumbup.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3958529

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6GPjIh3wy4

icon_rolleyes.gif

Dan430
post Aug 9 2017, 09:44 PM

QUOTE(DrLimYG @ Aug 9 2017, 09:39 PM)
agree! actually whenever we ask the same thing over and over again, there might be someone in the universe possess new information willing to answer the same question again, and then everybody benefited from it! it's a good practice! but in malaysia forum before ask again i suggest to prove innocent by showing search result! cheers!  biggrin.gif
hahaha! thats what forum is all about mah! in hope of new Q&A and expertise emerge! but i guess its good to do a sticky on this forum about available sources of specialty coffee beans. but the rest discuss and talk talk sing song la! whistling.gif
Dan430
post Aug 15 2017, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 14 2017, 11:26 PM)
guy, if u guy can please stay away from lebistro penang coffee, their delivery time is horrible.
it take them 10 working day and 3 complaint + final requested refund from paypal only they start delivery ....
Thanks for the caution! thats an unfortunate event. perhaps some penang lang can verify? last i heard they are home roasters (small batch roaster) so i suppose your case maybe shortage of bean types? hmm.gif
Dan430
post Aug 15 2017, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 15 2017, 05:01 PM)
they have one of the worst system and after sales, bought 3 time since early 2016, end last year n now, never once a good experience.
1. Always delay (i never received my item before 1 week).
2. They blame Paypal never inform them abt payment received, that why cause delay.
3. Always blame customer, on my second order they blame buyer not providing contact number, but they make huge mistake cause i use company PC to order, every 5 minute print screen, so that is very clear  do key in my contact + receipt show my contact number two. (that why i stop so long not buying from them.).
giving them last chances but they fail again with zero support, until Buyer escalate matter to paypal.
There are many other options of coffee roasters around. i would be pissed too if that happens to me. but coffee needs to degas so i think your dates of roasting and receiving is acceptable. but they took a week to roast your order after the payment! rclxub.gif they must be accumulating enough orders before roasting. hahaha

if they don't treat a customer right move on and try other local coffee roasters. laugh.gif
Dan430
post Aug 17 2017, 06:55 AM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 16 2017, 10:38 PM)
Right on buddy....
Give me sometime...hoping to work out a homeroasting community support thing as well
Like repacking/sale of smaller amounts of greens suitable for home roasting consumption

Also, if there's anything you guys would like to see roasters do better to support you guys, let me know. Hoping to continuous grow and improve
Afterall, LYN pretty much how I started haha
I was talking to some roasters in KL about the idea of "Car pooling" but in coffee world i call it "Beans pooling". the idea is to do something like "kickstarter" getting people to do group buys with any amount of roasted coffee beans with a deadline, then the roaster roast and send out the beans fresh to us coffee lovers. its like accumulating orders and then roast but with a cutoff time and deadline to meet, to avoid @sonny experience sweat.gif

Maybe can do this with special blend roast or something like that.

advantages for roasters is they already know the "demand" now the need to "supply" and gets to maximise the potential of their "expensive roasters" to reduce cost.

advantage for coffee fanatics, we get "special beans" on demand hopefully reduce cost.

Disadvantage do we have a huge enough community to do it? laugh.gif

Well I'm just a caffeinated dreamer.
Dan430
post Aug 17 2017, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 17 2017, 10:25 AM)
This is call subscription, already exist. Unlikey cheap coz need to count in postage fees & they also wana make profit. Unless u found a non profit making home roaster
Not exactly subscription model but a more unique modified model. and i think @ymeng understand what i'm saying.

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 17 2017, 10:54 AM)
That's true in a way

From a roaster's viewpoint, if you're ordering 1kg of the same bean, I am definitely OK to provide discount vs when you're ordering in 200g bags
So if you can pool up a group of people and do it as a single order to us, easily achievable

Subcriptions can give you the same benefit but lock you down constantly each month for a fixed time. If anybody bails out in the middle, the organizer has to suck up the extra grams

I anybody's up to organizing and just sending me a single order + single address, I can quote a lower price and even savings from postage  biggrin.gif
yes ymeng. but you need a website to do it, to promote what ever blend you are planning to make for the month. here is the idea where i got from thailand which i think its good have a view of their website http://www.philscoffeecompany.com/COFFEE-POOL.php

you can do what you are capable and ofcoz at the same time maximising your roaster and also your ROI. have a thought of it! rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

You see my post got a few customers want already! hahaha we want fresh beans and hopefully at a reasonable price if we can coffee pool together. drool.gif brows.gif
Dan430
post Aug 17 2017, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 17 2017, 03:39 PM)
I had that thought too.
By the way, I do have 1kg options for some of the beans on my website throughout the year. Doesn't really have a time limit to it
I can actually create 1kg options for all origins which will come with a overall lower price to you guys

Would that already work?
maybe think of it like groupon for coffee beans? brows.gif

QUOTE(luvox @ Aug 17 2017, 03:56 PM)
Becareful if u wana repacking branded roaster, coz u need their authorization if u wana resell it to public. U might end up receive legal letter. Haha. Just a friendly reminder.
nah not interested in repacking. but if local roasters provide an option to consolidate "confirm orders" and sell fresh to each orders confirmed it would be awesome.

Well I'm just caffeinated dreamer anyway. laugh.gif
Dan430
post Aug 17 2017, 08:01 PM

QUOTE(lowkl @ Aug 17 2017, 06:21 PM)
*sigh!* The eternal struggle between Freshness vs Cost.... freshly roasted beans at high cost due to small quantities and frequent shipping/delivery. Go for larger quantities then can't utilise in time, not fresh.

One of the big reasons I started home roasting. Green beans last months (longer if stored well) and can roast as needed.

Only the neighbours think I'm insane, because sometimes roast on front porch, in the middle of the night!
#Thestuggleisreal i know this very well too! so when i was in thailand chatting with me coffeenatic friend he told me about "coffee pool" in thailand, and it lights a light bulb for me! hahaha but too bad no such thing here! maybe "demand" is not as huge yet. only a small group of us. laugh.gif
Dan430
post Aug 21 2017, 06:29 AM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Aug 20 2017, 11:32 PM)
So like I was saying, if you can find people to share with you then you could select my 1kg option and then split it with your friends after you've received it.
Would that work for you?
yeah ymeng, but unfortunately my circle of friends don't brew fresh coffee, so i can't coffee pool with them. its just an idea to gather community to share coffee beans at affordable price. rclxm9.gif
Dan430
post Sep 9 2017, 09:57 PM

QUOTE(ymeng85 @ Sep 7 2017, 01:55 PM)
It's suitable for me as I find the taste to be less creamy and just the right sweetness. Farmhouse is not too bad in this aspect as well. Important because I serve single origin espressos.

Importantly, I find it consistent from batch to batch and so far - not even had 1 spoilt carton before.
Also, the service is good. Whenever our stock is low, we can call and get stock in pretty quickly delivered from their warehouse

What I had meant about not to worry about it was for home brewers. The difference is not really so huge that you are missing out alot.
Rather, think about the coffee you're mixing your milk into. A sweet and creamy milk would go well for your Indo, Brazil beans but not so much when mixed with a delicate floral Ethiopian SOE

Pricing in bulk is relatively similar across the types/brands
That Bold words are experience! thumbup.gif notworthy.gif drool.gif thats what i found out too with single origins espresso beans with floral notes but damn good with nutty/choc notes beans! drool.gif

Thanks @ymeng for your valuable tips and tricks! brows.gif

This post has been edited by Dan430: Sep 9 2017, 09:58 PM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.2352sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:24 PM