NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 10 2019, 01:04 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 25 2019, 12:04 PM)
I have never gotten any DD+ before
Depends on your setup. If you connect TV Box/HTPC--> AVR -->TV, you will get DD+ (provided your TV box and AVR support it). Previously i use HTPC to get DD plus.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 11 2019, 12:44 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2019, 12:33 PM)
I'm on TV > soundbar and TV > AVR
using tv Netflix app, no DD+
Confirm no DD+ in this setup. TV HDMI ARC or Toslink cable can only support DTS,/DD max. I have the same issue. Just gave up on it. Unless you spend on another Android box to hook up to your AVR/Soundbar directly.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 18 2019, 03:05 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 18 2019, 02:57 PM)
Netflix play everything in original aspect ratio and this is the suppose way to watch it.

Netflix won't let you zoom to full 16:9 if the film is 21:6 or 4:3 as it is fixed in original aspect ratio.
Also won't stretching as it is simply awful to watch everything in wrong ratio.

Second thing, some TV brand will you know it is in HDR or not, at least my Panasonic TV do that.

If you want straight go to UHD from Netflix, 1st you need to make sure your bandwidth is more than enough, 2nd I notice Apple TV 4K Box did better, from my experience in Panasonic TV Netflix, Mi Box Netflix and also Apple TV 4K Netflix and only Apple TV 4K looks like immediate sharp and clear when movie play from Netflix. I don't own Nvidia Shield and no idea how Nvidia Shield perform yet. Others TV Box mostly don't support Netflix in 4K.
If got HDR, it will show HDR in the movie title screen. Only thing it doesn't says is 4K and HDR. Some HDR are in 1080p, like Star Trek Discovery. Some HDR are in 4k, like Highway Men. But they will just say HDR, never tell you the resolution.
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 18 2019, 03:14 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 18 2019, 03:11 PM)
This most TV or box can't tell as it is auto upscale 1080p to 2160p.

For Panasonic TV Netflix do can tell by pressing the i button as it will show exact resolution but I didn't use that as my Netflix in Apple TV 4K did far better.
Yes, you can check from your TV remote, same like my Sharp. What i am saying is Netflix does not tells you in their title screen. I only know after i check from TV's "info" button.
SUSskyforcerld
post May 31 2019, 06:08 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 18 2019, 06:53 PM)
Wah! Betamax! I never seen before in my life!

VCD - the most failure format, it actually is a format that get throw.
LD - very short life time, I still remember that time in my home town happen a lot of LD home entertainment shop for you to watch movie inside.

8K possible happen but not so soon I believe, also old film in analog format seems scan size limited to 8K already, any above it wonder how will it looks like, 12bit possible happen 1st, maybe will start with new format of 4K media since they is already start in this project.
VCD not most failed lah. Most failed is LD. VCD was very popular here and in some Asian countries.

Last time Pasar Malam openly sell porn VCDs like sell vege...lol...right in front of police station somemore.

0.0472sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:59 AM