NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed
pltan
Jan 22 2016, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 22 2016, 06:30 AM) I'm using a Sharp 630x with native Netflix App built into its Android TV and optical out to Anthem Mrx 500 AV Receiver with 5.1 speakers. Just hooked it up yesterday, able to watch 4k Netflix with Maxis 10Mbps, but how do you know which show is able to allow 5.1 ? I think you want to remove the optical cable and replace it with HDMI. Especially if you want to enjoy Netflix's dolby digital plus. And unfortunately optical won't support this format.
pltan
Jan 22 2016, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 22 2016, 01:02 PM) Yes the Avr says 5.1. Also the rear speakers are working in tandem with the rest, but I'm surprised am I suppose to get 4k with Maxis 10Mbps? Are you sure you're getting the 4K stream? I think you need 20-30Mbps for 4k streaming... This post has been edited by pltan: Jan 22 2016, 01:31 PM
pltan
Jan 22 2016, 02:02 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 22 2016, 01:56 PM) Looks very sharp so it could be but need something to test the actual resolution. If I'm understanding you right, you've noticed the 4K icon from Netflix's library itself correct? Netflix then streams to the quality your bandwith can handle which it auto-detects. Vonframe is pretty much right, you'll need to test independently with Netflix's demo loop or if your TV can give you some info on the current source. I personally don't think you're getting 4K on a 10Mbps connection, time to upgrade!
pltan
Jan 23 2016, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Jan 23 2016, 11:11 AM) The video doesn't exist on the Netflix App .. Not sure why. There’s even a way to test your Netflix performance in real time, thanks to a little-known 11-minute short on Netflix titled Example Short 23.976. Once launched, it will play back a series of unconnected clips—a gurgling fountain, a guy dressed in black moonwalking with a laptop, a time lapse of an evening sky, and a shot of the Netflix office in Los Gatos, among others.
pltan
Feb 16 2016, 12:04 PM
There was a small hiccup with Unotelly when Netflix started their block, but everything is working smooth as butter now. They managed a workaround.
Ipad, PS3/PS4 no problem. Granted I haven't tried netflix as a native TV app.
pltan
Feb 16 2016, 12:05 PM
QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 15 2016, 07:56 PM) Sifu, differs local Netflix has HK drama and movies? Have not tried it yet.... Hulu has quite a few Korean/Chinese dramas/movies. Not sure if they're HK or TW or wherever ....
pltan
Mar 6 2016, 04:34 PM
Unotelly still working for me
pltan
Mar 7 2016, 12:27 PM
I got through half of House of Card's season 4 this past weekend.
Unotelly's DNS services are still working for me, shame to hear the majority of you guys are having issues.
pltan
Mar 9 2016, 11:15 AM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 9 2016, 10:21 AM) no, u r right. perhaps he meant s04. well, not so difficult - i got all epis of s04 1080p easily elsewhere. and i just cancelled netflix, will wait until local content improves. I see HOCS4 advertised on Hypptv(although I am not a subscriber) so perhaps they own the exclusive rights for Malaysia, quite an error on Netflix's part if this is true. They must have planned their rollout for quite some time, so it would have been a strange decision. Perhaps there's a censorship approval required for new releases? I seem to recall reading that Malaysian Netflix content is subjected to Malaysia's censorship board. This post has been edited by pltan: Mar 9 2016, 11:15 AM
pltan
Mar 9 2016, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(voncrane @ Mar 9 2016, 11:48 AM) Yup.. Massive error there.. One I don't think Netflix would have done unknowingly or had no alternatives. So something is definitely up, quite strong too.. Well, we can only speculate.. Perhaps someone could have a chat with Netflix CS for an official response? Share their response.. Our suspicions are correct, Hypptv has exclusive rights for Malaysia for House of Cards S4. http://www.colourlessopinions.com/2016/03/...sia-hypptv.htmlThey also had the exclusive rights for season 3 , so it's some kind of legacy deal. This post has been edited by pltan: Mar 9 2016, 12:10 PM
pltan
Mar 9 2016, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Mar 9 2016, 04:08 PM) Looks like have to download from other sources if we don't have Hypptv. Unotelly is still working for me to get US content