NETFLIX OFFICIALLY AVAILABLE IN MALAYSIA, Finally. No DNS needed

AVFAN
post Feb 17 2016, 10:27 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Feb 17 2016, 09:28 AM)
If you have to watch only one Korean action movie, I recommend "The Man from Nowhere". Available on US version. Very good! It is like TAKEN on steroids.
ya, i saw that. just can't remember if i had watched it before. will check! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 17 2016, 10:27 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 17 2016, 10:07 AM)
Ah, Marco Polo.. IMO.. Is a well researched series and even @1080p on a full HD TV, I was blown away by the gorgeous sets and costumes. At 4K res??  drool.gif

Yeah, Hundred eyes is best enjoyed after watching the complete season 1.
This^^. Also, "I Saw The Devil".
just hd for now.

may go 4k (again) at a later time.
AVFAN
post Feb 18 2016, 10:05 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Feb 18 2016, 09:44 PM)
What's the maximum quality for iflix videos now?
1080p? Got subtitles now for the tv show/movies?
Haven't used it since the early days of beta trial iflix
iflix is all sd.

subs - malay, chinese, eng mainly, but some have nothing.
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2016, 12:42 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Feb 18 2016, 11:38 PM)
I got to say, on my PC using my LED/LCD TV as monitor, comparing Iflix in SD and Netflix in SD , I actually prefer Iflix quality.

It looks closer to 720P although it's supposed to be SD, compared to Netflix SD which look inferior on my 3Mbps wireless connection.

I guess Netflix compromises the Video quality in a more prudent manner on slower connection compared to Iflix. Both are of the same smoothness though.
To my eyes, both Iflix sd and netflix sd on PC come out about the same.

I have also tried both in sd on my 4K tv. Netflix comes out better.

Of course, in HD or uhd, Netflix is excellent, as good as any full 1080p video with dd5.1, better than the 1080i of hypptv.

No HD for iflix for now... maybe it will come after a year, when all free trials are over!
AVFAN
post Feb 19 2016, 02:05 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cchean @ Feb 17 2016, 09:28 AM)
If you have to watch only one Korean action movie, I recommend "The Man from Nowhere". Available on US version. Very good! It is like TAKEN on steroids.
watched this one. not bad.

i browsed thru the list... noticed 2 korean movies that i watched before, quite good - war of the arrows, old boy.

will also recommend you if u have not watched - zaitoichi (japanese) and warrior (indonesian).

now watching sword of the assassin (vietnamese), which looks ok but comes across as another typical chinese wuxia film! biggrin.gif the hd video quality is superb.
AVFAN
post Feb 20 2016, 08:01 PM

24,452 posts

26 feb:

a netflix original: Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword of Destiny

hope there is mandarin audio as english audio will be strange!

besides michelle yeo and donnie yen, there is jason scott lee as the badass - haven't seen him for a long time, not since soldier with kurt russell.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 20 2016, 08:28 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 21 2016, 11:32 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(DannyOP @ Feb 21 2016, 11:21 AM)
Encountered this problem today - 'error - sorry, we could not reach the Netflix Service on my Android Tv,

Any one knows what's the problem?  I can still use YouTube.
i had that yesterday.

cut off power, restart, reset. that will do.
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 10:37 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 07:57 AM)
Yup, Netflix works best in fibre connection. Especially if you expect Full HD or UHD quality.

A bit trick about UHD though, I find if I use my android box (UHD capable), the Netflix apps seems to skip the UHD contents. But if I play diretcly from the tv apps, the UHD contents will be there.

I'm not sure is it because of the android apps or the fact that I use AV receiver for my android box.

For this, I play Netflix directly from my tv.

Anyone have similar issues?
because yr device is not netflix certifed but yr tv is.

netflix hd/uhd works very well even with WIFI!

something interesting i found - PC can get HD but not UHD; there are some unique videos labeled "super hd" not seen on the smart tv. perhaps the pecking order is uhd4k-superhd-hd-sd. and the PC is between 4k and hd?!

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 08:22 AM)
Is your Android box a certified Netflix device? Also, what do you mean by UHD contents are skipped?
not skipped, all there, just the label changes from UHD 4K to blank for uncertified device, i.e. sd.

Netflix has become my fav app. at least for now until i exhuast he contents i wanna watch! laugh.gif

On the other hand, IFLIX is much less reliable. it gave streaming problems yesterday - slow, laggy, not smooth.
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:21 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(Cap Jones @ Feb 22 2016, 01:09 PM)
So, what's the netflix certified device apart from apple tv - apple products / android based device  / pc / mac , like android box ?
netflix certified hd/uhd:

Nvidia Shield
Roku 4
TiVo Bolt
Amazon Fire TV (New Version)
British Telecom - BT DTRT-4000
More devices coming soon!

and smart tv's:
https://help.netflix.com/en/node/13444
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:25 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 22 2016, 11:45 AM)
So for now, it's much more better to use the Netflix app on your TV, especially since it natively supports 4K. Compared to navigating an Android box's UI, the lady of the house simply loves pressing just 2 buttons (startup & profile selection) on the TV remote & she's scrolling happily away..  tongue.gif
QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 12:17 PM)
Exactly! Using the native app on my 4K tv turns out ro be surprisingly easy, and I must say 4K quality from Netflix is outstanding!
definitely better direct on tv - easy start up, easy navigation, forget about other devices.

fast-fast get to watch in hd.

and dd5.1.

can't get better than that! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 22 2016, 01:26 PM
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 01:29 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Feb 22 2016, 01:26 PM)
Well I guess Netflix supports many 4K Smart TV but only limited numbers of android players.
i do not know if all smart tv's are but i think all 4k tvs are.

if not mistaken, netflix authorize/license people like amazon to make deals with tv makers to put netlfix on their models once certified.
AVFAN
post Feb 22 2016, 08:11 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Feb 22 2016, 07:51 PM)
Sifu

You have q16 too, is the 4k playable?
no.

it is not netflix certified.

so only sd whatever package u subscribe.
AVFAN
post Feb 25 2016, 04:49 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(cruiseantz @ Feb 25 2016, 04:44 PM)
Set up my Shield TV with Netflix flawlessly......maybe need some network tweaking again as Netflix viewing experience is still rather blurry "SD" type of resolution. or i just me as myself being spoiled with HyppTV 1080p resolution viewing.

Any workaround to force HD streaming fro Shield TV? i subscribed to Netflix HD plan with 30Mbps Unifi Advance.
do you see the videos labeled as hd 5.1?

if there are, then all is good.

unifi is having intermittent speed drops.

it is possible hd becomes sd sometimes for a few seconds, maybe half a minute.
AVFAN
post Feb 26 2016, 06:21 PM

24,452 posts

if one pay enough attention in this thread, u get max value on Netflix.

26 February, i.e. tonight..... a Netflix original....

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon - Sword of Destiny

AVFAN
post Feb 26 2016, 11:21 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 26 2016, 10:34 PM)
Plan on seeing it sometime this weekend.. Though, I've read that the dialogue is in English rather than Mandarin.. Will see how that goes... sweat.gif
i already checked. Eng/mandarin audio, eng/chinese subs. thumbup.gif

But... there are many Americans in the cast, can see from their lip movements that the original audio is English.
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 12:46 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 27 2016, 12:30 AM)
Yeah... I prefer watching a movie in its original audio with English subtitles (preferably HI subs).. It just seems weird..?.. that such a movie was made with English audio as its original, especially since it's a sequel. Guess they had their reasons. It's all good..  biggrin.gif
with the exception of donnie yen and michelle yeo, i bet the rest can't speak mandarin. tongue.gif

Donnie Yen, Michelle Yeoh, Harry Shum, Jr., Jason Scott Lee, Roger Yuan, Woon Young Park, Eugenia Yuan, JuJu Chan, Chris Pang, Veronica Ngo, Shuya Chang and Natasha Liu Bordizzo.

AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 12:02 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 27 2016, 11:56 AM)
In 4K?  biggrin.gif
it is availble in 4k, but i am now on hd only.

becos not that may shows yet. will wait a bit...

Top 10 Netflix 4K Movies/TV Series List
House of Cards Season 2 (TV Series)
Breaking Bad (TV Series)
Marco Polo (TV Series)
The Blacklist (TV Series)
Smurfs 2
Daredevil
Ghostbusters
Skyfall
World War Z
Star Trek: Into Darkness
Upcoming Netflix 4K Movies/TV Series List 2016
Chelsea Does — Available in Ultra HD 4K (Jan 23, 2016)
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon: Sword Of Destiny — Available in Ultra HD 4K (Feb 26, 2016)
House of Cards Season 4— Available in Ultra HD 4K (March 4th, 2016)
Pee Wee's Big Holiday— Available in Ultra HD 4K (March, 2016)
The Crown — Available in Ultra HD 4K
Marco Polo: Season 2 — Available in Ultra HD 4K
Marvel's Daredevil: Season 2— Available in Ultra HD 4K
Grace and Frankie: Season 2— Available in Ultra HD 4K
Fuller House — Available in Ultra HD 4K
The Get Down — Available in Ultra HD 4K

AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 12:17 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Feb 27 2016, 12:08 PM)
Cool. Thanks for the info. I had the impression you were on the UHD package.
i was, during the trial. resubscribed hd only.

well, maybe rm9 does not matter much, should upgrade soon. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 27 2016, 11:39 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Feb 27 2016, 08:38 PM)
Seen the movie and will avoid rating it.. No spoilers  tongue.gif . Had some really beautiful scenery, especially at the beginning... For the first few minutes, I had to read lips & sync it with the audio, to consciously tell my brain that it's all in English  biggrin.gif. After then, settled down to enjoy it.
i just watched it.

2.5/5. tongue.gif
AVFAN
post Feb 28 2016, 01:57 AM

24,452 posts

just noticed...

House of Cards S04 returning on Mar 4.

looking forward to it!

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top