5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Xiaomi Router Mini with full Unifi support, turn into a beast with custom asus rom!

muncheno
post Nov 17 2016, 11:26 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Nov 17 2016, 09:53 PM)
i find out using Fixed TX Rate Link Mode to capped the internet speed
but the speed like max only less than 5 mbps

your means need to flash ddwrt into pavadan firmware and qos?
As usual I don't really understand what are you trying to do here.

Hope this help.
https://bitbucket.org/padavan/rt-n56u/issues/420/qos

This post has been edited by muncheno: Nov 17 2016, 11:27 PM
muncheno
post Nov 20 2016, 11:01 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(tolaktakjatuh @ Nov 19 2016, 11:33 PM)
I wonder if this cute router could replace my Archer c7 hmm.gif

Problem is my C7 cant use 5Ghz coz will drop the wifi line after sometime, need to reboot router to get it up again, then down again. Using 2.4Ghz mode only works perfectly fine.

Another issue is ipv6 wont work on c7.

Does this router support usb printer server?
If u ask me, C7 is more capable router than Xiaomi on default.
This is AC1750 and a gigabyte router.

However if u suggested C7 5ghz wifi is not stable, you could try update the firmware to latest to reconfirm.
Else you could try customs firmware, they are normally more stable.

As far as I know, C7 only support ddwrt or openwrt as options .
Both ddwrt is not good with support 5ghz, which you may having 5XX Mbps vs 11xx Mbps.
Then it will allow u to have ipv6.

Comparing to Xiaomi routers, I'm still getting 8XX Mbps on 5ghz, however limit by 100mbps ports, my network transfer speed is always limited to 12MB/s.

Xiaomi routers on default, I don't think it support printer.
Yes with Padavan firmware, however I didn't try it before.

Just my 2-cents, me not an expert.

This post has been edited by muncheno: Nov 20 2016, 11:03 AM
muncheno
post Dec 11 2016, 10:08 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(eugene88 @ Dec 11 2016, 09:31 PM)
Do you have the latest commits or the older one before updating to commit 9cdd85a?
Xiaomi mini
Download here
https://mega.nz/#!G1hUnCqS!uOZLLw8p...az-bY3j4Bsf4Mu4

Xiaomi Mi-3
https://mega.nz/#!Cho30LgQ!XJkPDkMO...QJORUYhsYhB0Kd4

Older version

This post has been edited by muncheno: Dec 11 2016, 10:10 PM
muncheno
post Dec 11 2016, 11:26 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(ChouTofu @ Dec 11 2016, 11:03 PM)

Ok, I'm giving up, my Mi mini doesn't work :/

I've followed the tutorial, am succesfully running the Paragon version  version MI-3_3.4.3.9-099_9cdd85a.trx. Set up login, password, VLAN 500, all check.

Admin panel shows it's connected, but there's still no internet. When I plug back the cable to original TM router, internet works. I've cloned MAC address from TM router, but still no internet. Tried with IPTV port on and off, to no avail.

My setup is Huawei HG-655a as modem, from which cable from LAN1 goes to wifi router. Default is TM's L7-N-R2000.

Weird thing is when router connects, they have different DNS - TM one has Unifi's DNSs, while Xiaomi has... something smile.gif

Any ideas what I might be missing? doh.gif
How u setup for unifi?
Care to tell us more if u need help.

How did u setup vlan?

Xiaomi mini is definite working with unifi and I have setup to use at my parent home.

Make sure ur internet pppoe id and password is correct.
Then enable vlan 500 for wan/internet.

muncheno
post Dec 12 2016, 10:42 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(ChouTofu @ Dec 12 2016, 08:26 PM)
Password - Hmm. Maybe because this is really old unifi setup? Like 4 of 5 yrs? That's why the pass is only 10 chars. If I change even one letter, router cannot connect so it must be correct smile.gif

When router is connected, and my comp is connected to mi router, I tried to ping 8.8.8.8  (google dns) (thus skipping weird dnses) but I instantly get packets dropped.

Damn doh.gif I can telnet to router but what should I be checking?

Thank you for reading!
Can you try not to use MAC address from TM router?
and can you try also disable option for "Get DNS address automatically" ?
Use google dns like 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
muncheno
post Dec 24 2016, 02:41 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(plikmuny @ Dec 22 2016, 07:18 PM)
Hi Muncheno: can you pls guide me in settinng up VPN on my Mini ? after so much of struggle i managed to install Padavan using this Guide. http://wifika.ru/proshivka-routera-xiaomi-...n-ili-asus.html

it is really helpful.

I would like to know how to set up VPN Server in Padavan...

Thanks in advance.
https://bitbucket.org/padavan/rt-n56u/wiki/...ated-vpn-server
muncheno
post Dec 24 2016, 02:44 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(OurEnemy @ Dec 23 2016, 08:31 PM)
Hello, can someone guide me how to install padavan on xiaomi mi wifi 3? I just bought 2 day ago untill now i dont know to figure out. Please help me.
I would suggest you read the last 10 pages and first few pages.
If too find it too hard to read, I suggest you to give up coz it is not an easy process like normal flashing.
muncheno
post Dec 24 2016, 11:27 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(plikmuny @ Dec 24 2016, 11:16 AM)
Follow this guide, http://wifika.ru/proshivka-routera-xiaomi-...n-ili-asus.html
But be careful, use appropriate file for WiFi 3 router.  Otherwise procedure is same.  Only this method worked best for me without fail.
It might help you also.
The steps for Mi-3 is different from Mini.
Not sure if there a Pandora firmware for Mi-3 yet.

Current procedure from Mi-3 is more or less the same as above but involve direct build the firmware with promotheus scripts and using the scripts to format internal router partitions.

This post has been edited by muncheno: Dec 28 2016, 11:55 AM
muncheno
post Dec 27 2016, 08:48 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(plikmuny @ Dec 25 2016, 08:27 AM)
Hi muncheno,  that link for VPN setup didn't help me much.  I was lost in the amount of information that is provided there.
Can u guide me in setting up VPN pls.
I am using 1&1 DSL Internet in Germany,  they have provided me a WiFi router and I have to use this router for Internet. 
Now my question is, from this router I used cat6 data cable to connect to xiaomi wifi mini.  Regarding the IP address for mini and also forwarding the Internet through the VPN in mini, I want to use that secure Internet for the rest of devices at home(TV,  laptop, Kodi, av receiver and mobile phones) .  So that I don't have to bother about running VPN in every single device and also to view geo unblocked content viewing without ads by protecting my identity and moderate protection from hackers...

With so much advantages, I would definitely do a vpn setup on xiaomi mini, but the procedure explained there is too technical for my expertise.

Pls either you or anyone here experts help me once setup vpn and make things simple and easier. 

Can you tell me how often I should do a check up of the config files or I mean renewal of certificates keys etc..... It's all new for me. Sorry for being so noob.

Thanks for your help
Sorry I'm not sure I'm understand your setup here completely.

Your setup, Is it like below?
1&1 DSL ISP ---> WIFI router ---(CAT6)---->Xiaomi Mini

If yes, I'm not sure the setup will work for you, I'm not sure which port is needed for port forwarding in the WIFI router to allow VPN services. Secondly, if Xiaomi router setup as AP, the options for VPN and firewall is not available anymore.

My setup is at below for the VPN:-
ISP ---->BTU------(CAT5e)--->Xiaomi Mini
but I have upgraded to Huawei WS880
ISP ---->BTU------(CAT5e)--->WS880

Another point here is, you need to make sure your ISP didn't block the port required for the VPN. (I not sure which port is used by Xiaomi or WS880).

I don't have Xiaomi as the main router any more, but idea stay the same.
On the Xiaomi router, you just need to enable VPN server - PPTP, MS-CHAP-V2, MPPE-128, YES - broadcast traffic. Then user setup to local ip to 192.168.1.245-192.168.1.254 and setup the users for VPN.

muncheno
post Dec 28 2016, 08:09 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(muncheno @ Dec 27 2016, 08:48 AM)

Your setup, Is it like below?
1&1 DSL ISP  ---> WIFI router (1&1 router) ---(CAT6)---->Xiaomi Mini

If yes, I'm not sure the setup will work for you, I'm not sure which port is needed for port forwarding in the WIFI router to allow VPN services. Secondly, if Xiaomi router setup as AP, the options for VPN and firewall is not available anymore.
QUOTE(plikmuny @ Dec 28 2016, 07:53 AM)
i have an Internet from 1&1, they have provided a router, from there i access Internet on many devices. i want to connect my Xiaomi wifi mini router to use it as a VPN source . From the Xiaomi through VPN i want to use internet both as wifi and wired. but with an vpn IP. that means i want to change my IP and block the Ads.

Can you guide me pls ?

1&1 router > Xiaomi(VPN- using Padavan) > WiFi > Laptop+Kodi+TV+AVR+Mobile.

What do i use as Username and password ? which IP Address do i use ?

pls be more specific and in detail. Thanks
Sorry, my knowledge is upto Xiaomi as the main router (with VPN).
U have to replace the 1&1 router with Xiaomi, else it won't work without correct port forwarding in the 1&1 router.

Username and password here refer to the clients that will be connecting to your VPN

muncheno
post Dec 29 2016, 10:11 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(plikmuny @ Dec 28 2016, 10:46 PM)
Hi, but why should I replace 1&1 router?  I think I may not get into Internet without it. Will try.

Also, why only pptp,  why not I can choose open vpn?  I heard openvpn is faster and better, right?

Regarding the IP address assigning,  can I use arbitrary in address like 192.168.1.50-70?  Or should I go with what the firmware has suggested like 10.0.8.0?  It's little confusing.

Can I also do like this that I get a fully functional openvpn configuration from Windows and just copy paste all the necessary info into padavan vpn?  Does it work actually? 

Can I choose UK ip address or Sweden which is nearby my place.. Also can you guide me in installing ad blocker in padavan pls.

Thanks so much.  I really appreciate that atleast you are responding to my queries. Thanks buddy.
Dear plikmuny,

I didn't try using OpenVPN as it involve generate the .opvn certificate and need additional software on the client to connect to server.
I just wanted to try VPN so that I connect easier from anywhere to access and get files from my home NAS storages. Secondary also try to link my home NAS with my parent's home so they can access to my movies.

As for the IP, it the choice of your preference to put in separate subnet. I not an expert in this, I'm only using the same range as the router 192.168.1.XX so it can easier talk to pc in the networks. I THINK here, different subnet will able to separate the connected client from the other PCs connect to other AP router (if available).

Again here, I'm not the expert, thus I don't not how to install ad blocker in padavan, I only know it contain url filter or block.

Good luck.
muncheno
post Dec 31 2016, 05:59 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(endless88 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:27 PM)
Seeking advice from fellow lowyat networking sifus on my scenario below.

-Subscribed to Unifi 30mbps
-Main router ASUS AC68U - AC 1900 with Gigabit Ethernet
-Second router XiaoMi Router 3 - AC 1200 with 10/100 Ethernet

Trying to decide whether I should set up the xiaomi as access point on second floor of my house (LAN cable ready) or should I just go cable free and set it up as a WiFi Repeater at the staircase as it can receive the full bar 2.4ghz signal from the AC68U.

The bandwidth will be halved from 300Mbps to 150Mbps due to Repeater mode, but if I set up as Access Point over LAN, its going to be capped at 100Mbps anyway due to XiaoMi's WAN port speed at 10/100, not even mentioning my internet speed is only 30Mbps at max.

When searching uncle google, it seems that most sites still recommend AP mode than repeater mode but I cant get the logic since halving the bandwidth via repeater mode is still having higher bandwith than the AP over LAN.

Or are there other benefits such as stability? Streaming
more smooth etc? My usage is typically client device connecting to internet directly as well as apple airplay to apple tv, i dont use file sharing over wifi/NAS/USB harddisk etc.

Seems to me that cutting the cable is more convenient but really hope sifus can enlighten me.
Default Xiaomi firmware or padavan firmware??

For default Xiaomi firmware and most ideal case I would recommend LAN cable whenever you can afford and possible.
It is easier for future upgrade.

For options of cable free, wi-fi repeated always subject to stability as congestion on 2.4ghz in your case when more devices at surrounding, the harder the signals to reach.
Pairing at 2.4ghz is not always stable .

For padavan firmware, then u can set as 5ghz ac repeater then you can link the routers at 867mbps and 2.4ghz for laptop/HP and more important more stable due to less congested networks.

Then again always test first for cable free options, location is very import here. I would suggest you to test the connection with a laptop or the Xiaomi mini on 2nd floor to see if wi-fi connection Is stable or not and best location for the 2nd router.

Lastly if wireless connection to the stable and since no NAS storage is required, and you don't the need for LAN cable as the repeater is cable to delivery more than 30mbps, for Xiaomi mini on default firmware should able to give u 35-45mbps (2-3m away) on 2.4ghz.
muncheno
post Jan 3 2017, 09:00 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(zzzhhhzzz @ Jan 3 2017, 08:49 AM)
guys just wondering... a few question:

1. if I want to use this xiaomi router as my access point, do I need to go flash a new firmware or I can use the stock firmware ?
2. currently having the TP-link Archer c5 from unifi... is the xiaomi router better than the TP-link ? should I make the xiaomi router as the main and turn the Archer C5 to access point or the other way ?

thanks for all the help
Ans for:-
Q1) Yes for customs firmware, if you want to use Xiaomi router as main router (access point). Default firmware doesn't support VLAN tagging.

Q2) I don't see the need of changing the Archer C5 as I read reviews from most ppl in Lowyat are satisfy with it performance.

For Xiaomi mini router on default firmware is not as stable when come to 5ghz wifi and Xiaomi Mi-3 is more stable.
However with customs firmware like Pavadan here, it is extremely stable and my guess is >archer C5.
Of coz, it you looking for reasons to change, then Xiaomi Mini on Pavadan give you additional more function such as VPN, bandwidth monitoring, download manager and etc.

muncheno
post Jan 3 2017, 09:16 AM

736 posts

QUOTE(endless88 @ Jan 1 2017, 01:31 PM)
Wow didnt know padavan caters for 5ghz repeater mode. Very eager to try that out but need to take a leap of faith first for the not so straightforward flashing process haha.

Can sifu share any concerns if thats the intended set up (5ghz repeater) compared to LAN AP? Congestion? Stability etc? And when repeated over 5ghz, does xiaomi retransmit over 5ghz only or both 2.4/5 as well?
Greatz to know you don't need additional router for your home.

Just to answer you question here, on 5gz repeater mode - I find it is very stable for the my Xiaomi Mini.
If I were having a direct sight between router in a distance of 3M, they always stay linking at 867mbps.
The setup is linking or repeating over 5ghz and sharing to devices on 2.4ghz. Of coz sharing on 5ghz is also possible same time, but it is connected directly to main router.

Then getting a bit of fluctuation with link speed 4XX-867mbps on my another tested setup, the main router was in the living room and my Xiaomi Mini in the last room space apart around 7-8 meters with 1 wall and door in between.
With these setup 5ghz for linking routers and running on 2.4Ghz for devices, I manage to speed around 4X-5Xmbps on speedtest.
This is as good as connecting to main router at 2.4g wifi.

muncheno
post Jan 10 2017, 08:10 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 10 2017, 08:06 PM)
hi
i forget my pandavan root password
can any ppl know how to retrieve that password?
cause i plan to install transmission and play on it
Default padavan firmware password?
If yes, read 1st post again.
muncheno
post Jan 10 2017, 08:20 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 10 2017, 08:11 PM)
already change
but forget the password > <
No idea on how to resolve it.
Are you having Xiaomi Mini?
If yes, maybe can boot to Breeder recovery mode to reset or reflash firmware?
muncheno
post Jan 10 2017, 09:19 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Jan 10 2017, 08:38 PM)
i am using xiaomi router 3
i finish flash padavan already
but if i not wrong i never flash breeder this thing before
I suspect you need use the Developer ROM/firmware and flash it using the USB drive with hard reset method. Then flash again padavan with the existing procedure using Prometheus.

Good luck.
muncheno
post Feb 5 2017, 11:02 PM

736 posts

For those who interested to upgrade to latest commits.

Note: At your own-risk. I compile this for my Xiaomi routers use.

Xiaomi Mini
MI-MINI_3.4.3.9-099_5aa2a75.trx
https://mega.nz/#!to4TFbLY!k3XCeOEs...cr4V65P21Pi0Vzg

Xiaomi Mi-3
MI-3_3.4.3.9-099_5aa2a75.trx
https://mega.nz/#!d1QVEZhD!bJAjTO7o...BCEHd1IimY_dy9I
muncheno
post Feb 6 2017, 07:31 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Feb 6 2017, 06:56 PM)
Any tutorial for flash this I'm have a mi router also plan to flash
Above is for update.
To flash from original firmware pls refer post no.1 and use the search function. Lastly Google!

Cheers

muncheno
post Feb 6 2017, 09:33 PM

736 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Feb 6 2017, 08:50 PM)
bro can u do the job for me i pay u a mean smile.gif .... if using the maxis fibre also can ..????plus after the job we just plug it and this only device we need for maxis fibre o we use it as a router but still need a ap ..???
To be honest here, I not experience with Maxis broadband setup.

I have only tried on unifi which using vlan tagging at ViD500 for internet and ViD600 for IPTV.

As for Maxis it is using VID621 and you should able to plug indirect to BTU LAN port 2.

Lastly, I'm sorry, I not able to help as I'm in Penang.
Maybe other user here can help you. If you will to spend, I would recommend you go for other off the shelves router that support maxis, example Asus.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0179sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:21 PM