TSstudentsurvey
Jan 6 2016, 06:21 PM, updated 10y ago

Hi Guys,
I'm driving Honda City Vtec 2005/06. Recently, when i started to accelerate (the rpm rev about 2-3k), the the car will not move (it will vibrate/jerk and feel like it has been pulled back) but all of sudden, it will release and move forward. Went to check on my 8 sparkplugs, the mechanic is fine, and they even tested my cars with new sparkplugs, but the problem still persists. Anyone has any idea?
jakal sombong
Jan 6 2016, 06:24 PM
any check engine lights warning ? btw whats your milleage . & did you change CVT oil as per schedule ? sounds like gearbox to me . hope that im wrong though.
MISMan
Jan 6 2016, 06:24 PM
sei lor, GB condemned edi?
TSstudentsurvey
Jan 6 2016, 06:46 PM

Argghh.. Gearbox.. that's bad.. bout 200k mileage... hmmp, mechanic said might be some sensor, so waiting to go and double check.. Aiks.. what a great way to start the yr =.="
akira982443
Jan 6 2016, 06:53 PM

I think Spark plug cable or whatever it is called is faulty. Did the mechanic try using another cable?
This post has been edited by akira982443: Jan 6 2016, 06:54 PM
mavan21
Jan 6 2016, 07:02 PM
QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Jan 6 2016, 06:21 PM) Hi Guys, I'm driving Honda City Vtec 2005/06. Recently, when i started to accelerate (the rpm rev about 2-3k), the the car will not move (it will vibrate/jerk and feel like it has been pulled back) but all of sudden, it will release and move forward. Went to check on my 8 sparkplugs, the mechanic is fine, and they even tested my cars with new sparkplugs, but the problem still persists. Anyone has any idea? Thanks. Check/replace change CVT transmission oil...do u have this problem when climbing hill?
TSstudentsurvey
Jan 6 2016, 08:21 PM

Hi, cable no idea.. @mavan21, never notice it cause I just changed the sparkplug about 2mths back, so I tot it was sparkplug problem. What is the significance if have the same problem climbing hill -> gearbox?
SleeplessEyes
Jan 6 2016, 10:22 PM
Wait a minute. 8 spark plugs? Is yours VTEC or IDSI? VTEC has no 8-spark plugs la.
Anyway is a sign your clutch or CVT gear oil about to go. Its not the gearbox.
Try change the CVT gearbox oil first. Cause that one usually affects the clutch operation if never change for a very, long, long, long , forgotten time.
Anyway someone else has already discuss about jerking problem in their City.
unitron
Jan 7 2016, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Jan 6 2016, 10:22 PM) Wait a minute. 8 spark plugs? Is yours VTEC or IDSI? VTEC has no 8-spark plugs la. Anyway is a sign your clutch or CVT gear oil about to go. Its not the gearbox. Try change the CVT gearbox oil first. Cause that one usually affects the clutch operation if never change for a very, long, long, long , forgotten time. Anyway someone else has already discuss about jerking problem in their City. If 8 spark plugs confirm it's iDSI... VTEC only has 4 spark plugs. I believe the problem is the start up clutch. Quite infamous problem for this City generation. Changing the CVT oil may minimize symptoms, but the clutch already worn, and would need replacement. Also please use CVT-F and not ATF for the gearbox oil change. If you sent to mechanics who are not familiar they will think it's a regular auto gearbox and use ATF instead of the correct CVT-F from Honda, and this significantly reduce life of the clutch.
TSstudentsurvey
Jan 7 2016, 10:20 AM

QUOTE(unitron @ Jan 7 2016, 09:46 AM) If 8 spark plugs confirm it's iDSI... VTEC only has 4 spark plugs. I believe the problem is the start up clutch. Quite infamous problem for this City generation. Changing the CVT oil may minimize symptoms, but the clutch already worn, and would need replacement. Also please use CVT-F and not ATF for the gearbox oil change. If you sent to mechanics who are not familiar they will think it's a regular auto gearbox and use ATF instead of the correct CVT-F from Honda, and this significantly reduce life of the clutch. Ah, noted. Will be sending for another check up, coz sometimes, the engine will die own and is though it does not have enough power but the rpm is at 1 when the car is at idle.
xMika
Jan 7 2016, 10:53 AM
fuel pump la
sampalau
Jan 7 2016, 10:57 AM
did you modify exhaust? check your O2 sensor
TSstudentsurvey
Jan 7 2016, 10:57 AM

Haha... anyone knows any good honda mechanic or shud i send to a honda service center straight. i am afraid if i send to honda SC, they gonna charge me a bomb
amad108
Jan 7 2016, 12:08 PM
QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Jan 7 2016, 10:57 AM) Haha... anyone knows any good honda mechanic or shud i send to a honda service center straight. i am afraid if i send to honda SC, they gonna charge me a bomb can try ask them to check 1st, directly went to their mechanic.. just to make sure which part is the culprit.. I've done that with toyota SC..
DigitalMop
Jan 7 2016, 12:25 PM

mine 09 power drop abit at 4k rpm, once 5k vtec kick in n push til 7.5k rpm dam scary, reach top speed no problem
unitron
Jan 7 2016, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(DigitalMop @ Jan 7 2016, 12:25 PM) mine 09 power drop abit at 4k rpm, once 5k vtec kick in n push til 7.5k rpm dam scary, reach top speed no problem For Civic Type-R or Honda City ? Only the Type-R has VTEC engagement at >5k RPM which change from medium lift to high lift cam Honda regular engines has VTEC engagement at 2300-2500 RPM which change from low lift to medium lift cam
madys P
Dec 8 2019, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Jan 6 2016, 01:21 PM) Hi Guys, I'm driving Honda City Vtec 2005/06. Recently, when i started to accelerate (the rpm rev about 2-3k), the the car will not move (it will vibrate/jerk and feel like it has been pulled back) but all of sudden, it will release and move forward. Went to check on my 8 sparkplugs, the mechanic is fine, and they even tested my cars with new sparkplugs, but the problem still persists. Anyone has any idea? Thanks. Hello dear, I'd like to know how you resolved this issue. Please help me as I'm facing similar situation now. Thanks.
amedeus P
Aug 11 2020, 08:25 PM
mine, honda cith gm6, 1.5 ivtec CVT, encounter the same issue, jerking around RPM 1200 >>2000, happen when start accelation & deaccelating, symptom doesnt show often, send back back honda checking gerabox pressure, found one of the pressure suit not up to the designated pressure, ask them any fix, answer is NO, the only fix is pay RM20k to replace a new gearbox, oh my god, 5 years car, 120000km, car havent pay off, now 20k, is this how car make money today, i think i better look for AT secondhand car. at least problem can be fixed
90% of people driving style like what i did, go and back from work, out with family weekend, and each year a long distant drive about 200km twice, that it's, does this will spoil the gearbox, then is better dont produce that car.
abubin
Aug 12 2020, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(amedeus @ Aug 11 2020, 08:25 PM) mine, honda cith gm6, 1.5 ivtec CVT, encounter the same issue, jerking around RPM 1200 >>2000, happen when start accelation & deaccelating, symptom doesnt show often, send back back honda checking gerabox pressure, found one of the pressure suit not up to the designated pressure, ask them any fix, answer is NO, the only fix is pay RM20k to replace a new gearbox, oh my god, 5 years car, 120000km, car havent pay off, now 20k, is this how car make money today, i think i better look for AT secondhand car. at least problem can be fixed 90% of people driving style like what i did, go and back from work, out with family weekend, and each year a long distant drive about 200km twice, that it's, does this will spoil the gearbox, then is better dont produce that car. Well, gearbox is considered wear and tear part. It also have ATF oil that need to be serviced regularly. It will definitely have chances of going faulty especially if you don't change the ATF oil as recommended. Your driving style will also dictate the wear on the gearbox. If you have done your part on keeping those in check then sometimes it is just luck that the part fail. So I am not sure where you get the idea that gearbox will NEVER spoil if have low mileage.
eriklim
Aug 12 2020, 06:16 PM

QUOTE(studentsurvey @ Jan 6 2016, 06:21 PM) Hi Guys, I'm driving Honda City Vtec 2005/06. Recently, when i started to accelerate (the rpm rev about 2-3k), the the car will not move (it will vibrate/jerk and feel like it has been pulled back) but all of sudden, it will release and move forward. Went to check on my 8 sparkplugs, the mechanic is fine, and they even tested my cars with new sparkplugs, but the problem still persists. Anyone has any idea? Thanks. i just did mine, apparently it's the spark plug and plug coil.