FreeSync or GSync or NoSync (doesn't matter)?, Dilemma!!!

TSAhMoon
post Jan 5 2016, 04:15 PM, updated 10y ago

435 posts

Got a question, or rather more in an odd situation actually. Currently own a 980Ti (Gigabyte G1), using a 1440p 60Hz (Dell U2515H). Going to sell off this monitor eventually because I will be receiving a 4K monitor (Samsung U28E590DS, AMD FreeSync Supported) soon, a "relatively" free item. Wanna try 4K mah.

Now the dilemma comes, should I............

A) Sell off or trade off my 980Ti and get a equivalent class AMD GC for the sake of FreeSync, if it does really matter and makes a huge difference.

B) Sell off the 4K monitor, use the money, top-up with some cash and go for something that has GSync, maybe not 4K, but 2K only, considering a 4K GSync monitor costs a bomb and I don't think I wanna spend that kind of top-up money.

C) Screw all these "Sync-Sync" crap, they don't matter! Just stick with my current monitor & GC, sell off the 4K monitor and keep the money. Or sell off my current monitor and use this 4k monitor as substitute, don't care about the "Sync" incompatibility with my GC.

What would you fellow sifu-sifu choose if you were in my position? Or is there a better idea besides the above 3?

Thanks man!!!

goldfries
post Jan 5 2016, 04:26 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Your GTX 980 Ti can handle 4K resolution just nice.

The closest AMD card would be the R9 Fury X and that also it doesn't perform as fast as GTX 980 Ti.

Definitely not going for Path A.

Either B or C. U2515H is nice IPS monitor, different experience from a gaming monitor that comes with sync + TN + other gaming features.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 5 2016, 04:39 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2016, 04:26 PM)
Your GTX 980 Ti can handle 4K resolution just nice.

The closest AMD card would be the R9 Fury X and that also it doesn't perform as fast as GTX 980 Ti.

Definitely not going for Path A.

Either B or C. U2515H is nice IPS monitor, different experience from a gaming monitor that comes with sync + TN + other gaming features.
If B, just worry the money that I get back from selling off both the Dell and Samsung monitors also still won't be enough to get me a 4K monitor that has GSync. Sure kena topup like 1k or so somemore I think. A 1440p type probably can, but it's still a 1440p, same as my current one, so not much of a reason to change or upgrade anyway.

If go for C, just feel it's kinda like not right using a GSync GC on a FreeSync monitor....ha ha. Still I don't know how much of a difference it would make if the "Sync-Sync" thing is enabled or supported. Never seen or experienced one myself before.

Anyway, thanks man for the input and suggestion. Appreciate it!
goldfries
post Jan 5 2016, 04:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Actually very simple, just enjoy that 4K monitor first la. biggrin.gif Not happy then only decide how to go about.

Nowadays the best gaming monitors are not 4K. I don't remember any 4K G-sync monitor but there are many good 1440p G/F sync monitors.
cstkl1
post Jan 6 2016, 09:39 AM

6,799 posts

simple dude..

if u never tried gsync etc.. u would have no issue gaming at 60fps and lead a merry life.

if you have you will never go back

also i think you never noticed tearing/judder/stutter etc on ure monitor till now so that shows how perceptive you are
and hence running that 4k with a 980ti without freesync.. you wont notice a thing other than that insufficient vram in a lot of games and lack of power on that ti for 4k.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Jan 6 2016, 09:39 AM
TSAhMoon
post Jan 6 2016, 12:04 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 5 2016, 04:48 PM)
Actually very simple, just enjoy that 4K monitor first la. biggrin.gif Not happy then only decide how to go about.

Nowadays the best gaming monitors are not 4K. I don't remember any 4K G-sync monitor but there are many good 1440p G/F sync monitors.
Ya....4K is not really the ideal resolution for gaming today, since there is no single GC able to run it consistently at 60fps.....I think. I also don't think my single 980ti can run it smoothly at 60fps with everything maxed out (except AA) like on my current 1440p monitor. Anyway, like you suggest, will try how is the experience of 4k first and I am willing to scale down the graphics setting to like MEDIUM or so, so can maintain the FPS. If it sucks or looks like crap, I will sell it off and use back my 1440p worst case scenario.

There is a 4K GSync monitor by Acer, but not sure here got anybody sell it or not. Sure gonna cost a bomb!!!
TSAhMoon
post Jan 6 2016, 12:13 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 6 2016, 09:39 AM)
simple dude..

if u never tried gsync etc.. u would have no issue gaming at 60fps and lead a merry life.

if you have you will never go back

also i think you never noticed tearing/judder/stutter etc on ure monitor till now so that shows how perceptive you are
and hence running that 4k with a 980ti without freesync.. you wont notice a thing other than that insufficient vram in a lot of games and lack of power on that ti for 4k.
I never tried GSync or FreeSync before, never even seen one in action as well. Really have no idea how better can it be compare to VSync or NoSync. And you are right about my current situation, using 980ti on 1440p 60Hz monitor got no problem at all. No lag, no judder, no tearing or stutter, set everything maxed out still be able to achieve 60fps consistently. But when it comes to 4K, dunno already. When I receive the monitor I will test it out, and for sure I kena set some graphic settings to MEDIUM or LOW in order to maintain that 60fps. And if FreeSync can really help on that, I will probably sell off the 980Ti and get a similar class AMD GC instead, maybe can even get back some cash too considering AMD GC is cheaper........heh heh.
goldfries
post Jan 6 2016, 06:38 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(AhMoon @ Jan 6 2016, 12:04 PM)
Ya....4K is not really the ideal resolution for gaming today, since there is no single GC able to run it consistently at 60fps.....I think. I also don't think my single 980ti can run it smoothly at 60fps with everything maxed out (except AA) like on my current 1440p monitor. Anyway, like you suggest, will try how is the experience of 4k first and I am willing to scale down the graphics setting to like MEDIUM or so, so can maintain the FPS. If it sucks or looks like crap, I will sell it off and use back my 1440p worst case scenario. 
From my experience, I can't get 980 Ti to push beyond 60fps average when all details are on.

You'll have to reduce AA and some stuff to get there.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 7 2016, 10:55 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 6 2016, 06:38 PM)
From my experience, I can't get 980 Ti to push beyond 60fps average when all details are on.

You'll have to reduce AA and some stuff to get there.
Yeah...I suspect same also. I'll just completely off AA, since at 4K resolution I think AA not useful anymore. The rest of other settings not sure oledi, kena try and tinker around only can know. Btw, if the monitor got GSync supported, does it help in this situation? Or let's say if I switch to AMD GC and use this FreeSync monitor, can it solve this 4k at 60fps issue? Truthfully I don't really quite get it yet what or how this GSync and FreeSync can benefit when it comes to situation like this.
goldfries
post Jan 7 2016, 01:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(AhMoon @ Jan 7 2016, 10:55 AM)
Yeah...I suspect same also. I'll just completely off AA, since at 4K resolution I think AA not useful anymore. The rest of other settings not sure oledi, kena try and tinker around only can know. Btw, if the monitor got GSync supported, does it help in this situation? Or let's say if I switch to AMD GC and use this FreeSync monitor, can it solve this 4k at 60fps issue? Truthfully I don't really quite get it yet what or how this GSync and FreeSync can benefit when it comes to situation like this.
Go nvidia thread and say that, you'll get hentam. biggrin.gif

To me, it's entirely up to preference. I also find that at 4K I wouldn't be noticing jaggies.

I was using an AMD R9 Nano on 4K UHD resolution.

Nope, I don't see 60fps. biggrin.gif There is tearing though which I believe free-sync will help.

figure8
post Jan 7 2016, 02:27 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

i pick either A or

D) use your current setup + 4k monitor. set resolution to 4k and reduce aa until the minimum fps reach 60fps. limit your fps = 60 and apply vsync.

if u can stand tearing, u can disable vsync.

clawhammer
post Jan 7 2016, 02:33 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(AhMoon @ Jan 7 2016, 10:55 AM)
From my experience, you can disable AA on 4K resolutions and everything still remains sharp and beautiful to your eyes. In fact when I tried enabling 2X and 4X AA on Battlefield 4 previously, I can't spot much differences. Good luck.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 7 2016, 05:19 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 7 2016, 01:58 PM)
Go nvidia thread and say that, you'll get hentam. biggrin.gif

To me, it's entirely up to preference. I also find that at 4K I wouldn't be noticing jaggies.

I was using an AMD R9 Nano on 4K UHD resolution.

Nope, I don't see 60fps. biggrin.gif There is tearing though which I believe free-sync will help.
Heh heh....dowanlah........dowan "gaduh" with anybody there, later they all shoot me say I am NOOB. Here LowYatForum is much better, everyone is helpful and friendly, no hentam-hentam activity. My objective is only wanna get the best out of the money that I have spent and also stuff that I currently own. If this Samsung monitor had GSync, sigh......this thread would not have existed. Too bad I own a Nvidia GC with a FreeSync monitor.........match "unmade" in heaven!

TSAhMoon
post Jan 7 2016, 05:24 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jan 7 2016, 02:27 PM)
i pick either A or

D) use your current setup + 4k monitor. set resolution to 4k and reduce aa until the minimum fps reach 60fps. limit your fps = 60 and apply vsync.

if u can stand tearing, u can disable vsync.
Thanks man. Option A is actually I been thinking to proceed with, especially lately I noticed got somebody offering to to trade/swap an equivalent class AMD GC, but not sure whether or not it's still available today. If swap/trade, maybe can even get back some cash too.

Option D kena wait until I receive the monitor first then only can know how well it performs. And no, I can't stand tearing....it hurts my eyes and mind too! Every time I see tearing, I could faint! So VSync definitely kena on, heh heh.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 7 2016, 05:25 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 7 2016, 02:33 PM)
From my experience, you can disable AA on 4K resolutions and everything still remains sharp and beautiful to your eyes. In fact when I tried enabling 2X and 4X AA on Battlefield 4 previously, I can't spot much differences. Good luck.
Thanks man for the input. Will try it out when I receive the monitor later. Will post and update it here the result, so maybe there are others who are in similar situation can get to know about it.
figure8
post Jan 7 2016, 05:27 PM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

QUOTE(AhMoon @ Jan 7 2016, 05:24 PM)
Thanks man. Option A is actually I been thinking to proceed with, especially lately I noticed got somebody offering to to trade/swap an equivalent class AMD GC, but not sure whether or not it's still available today. If swap/trade, maybe can even get back some cash too.

Option D kena wait until I receive the monitor first then only can know how well it performs. And no, I can't stand tearing....it hurts my eyes and mind too! Every time I see tearing, I could faint! So VSync definitely kena on, heh heh.
i think you should go with freesync.ease your mind. vsync introduced a lot of prob especially input lag.
goldfries
post Jan 7 2016, 05:31 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Hehe, I was referring to Nvidia thread on lowyat forum. tongue.gif

Anyway enjoy the new stuff first la. Upgrade will come eventually.
clawhammer
post Jan 7 2016, 05:49 PM

///M
8,788 posts

QUOTE(AhMoon @ Jan 7 2016, 05:25 PM)
Thanks man for the input. Will try it out when I receive the monitor later. Will post and update it here the result, so maybe there are others who are in similar situation can get to know about it.
Actually it depends on your preference. Some people don't mind gaming at low/medium graphics quality and some people always wants ultra. The point I want to make is, it really doesn't justify to turn on AA at 4K resolution weighing the amount of improvement vs performance (FPS) that you get smile.gif The other thing you want to consider is whether you prefer to game at 4K @ 60Hz which gives you beautiful detail and depth compared to 1440p @ 144Hz which gives you ultra smooth gaming.

Especially if you're an FPS gamer and tried 144Hz, you probably will feel lousy gaming at 60Hz. It feels like a huge jump backwards.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 8 2016, 10:35 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(figure8 @ Jan 7 2016, 05:27 PM)
i think you should go with freesync.ease your mind. vsync introduced a lot of prob especially input lag.
Ok...thanks man, once again.
TSAhMoon
post Jan 8 2016, 10:36 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 7 2016, 05:31 PM)
Hehe, I was referring to Nvidia thread on lowyat forum. tongue.gif

Anyway enjoy the new stuff first la. Upgrade will come eventually.
Ooohhh.....but don't worry, I never posted or asked anything there before. Not even once, I didn't even know it exists until you told me about it, heh heh.

0.0217sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:03 PM