How to Determine A Case With Good Air Flow?, How many case fan needed?
kitman
Mar 9 2007, 10:45 AM
good airflow - silent 12cm fan in front - silent 12cm fan at the back above the io panel - air vent with adjustable funnel (if no funnel can make your own from mineral water bottle  ) on the side panel near cpu - air vent at pci/pcie area - air vent on top of the case is optional - make sure the hard disk drives are located near the front fan to cool them air filter for fans to minimize dust
kitman
Mar 10 2007, 12:12 AM
all you need is really silent 12cm fans. if it's a home theater setup, you'll hardly notice it. affordable ones so far coolermaster led silent fan. they cost about rm30 a piece. i'm having barton for my ht and using these fans plus the low speed gigabyte socket a hsf. you can check these up to see if acceptable but a oc barton is quite hot so a fanless solution might not be viable. if it's just for ht you can consider running it at default speed and bring down the power & heat - it's speedy enough for ht without oc
This post has been edited by kitman: Mar 10 2007, 12:13 AM
kitman
Mar 11 2007, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(davidhomestudio @ Mar 11 2007, 04:44 AM) Use 25cm Sidepanel fan... at the sidepanel as exhaust and the front n back as intake.. cut a 12" fan hole at the top of the case... then exhaust it... your rig will be cool enough...but if the intake is hot air eg: no air-cond room. then put your com near the window and the 25cm exhaust facing the window... it will be jus nice... air-cond room- use a paip like the one we use for our washing mechine or something like that...put at the air-cond out put. then put it inside the case. remember- hot air will always go upward; cold air below the hot air. hope tis help... [attachmentid=202997] 25cm casing fan wow duct in aircon - abit extreme
kitman
Mar 11 2007, 09:45 PM
make sure no sun in the morning or evening to cook your pc when you place it at the window
kitman
Mar 12 2007, 09:05 AM
actually it's best to strike a balance - not too many fans, not too many holes. too many fan - noisy (even with quiet ones), too many holes - dusty (even with filter).
the front and rear 12cm fan plus side panel cpu funnel & pci slot vent is more than enough. the top blow hole is optional. alot will depend on which cpu you are using and how extreme you oc.
kitman
Mar 12 2007, 02:05 PM
haha yes i meant the cm led silent type too. i am using 2 for my current case. they are quiet but still audible. it is still miles better than my stock standard fans that came with the case. the point is even if you're using low noise level fans the more you have of cos the more noticeable they are
This post has been edited by kitman: Mar 12 2007, 02:07 PM
kitman
Mar 12 2007, 03:04 PM
lol lohwenli ...... actually i'm not that crazy  but my pc for my ht setup need to be reasonably quiet or else how to enjoy the movie? also my room's pc need to be quiet too cos i'm bt over the night - need to sleep. what i'm saying is look at your needs - if you only oc mildly and in an aircon enviro - there is really no need to install lots of fans - dun go overboard  . if just need good airflow as more fan doesn't necessary means better airflow This post has been edited by kitman: Mar 12 2007, 03:06 PM
kitman
Mar 12 2007, 03:28 PM
umm maybe i need therapy  ........ joking lo, i won't faint when you switch on those turbo charged delta fans  . sometimes i find it hard to imagine my 1yr ago pc actually sound like a table fan on full speed  , i can hear it outside my room with door closed
kitman
Mar 12 2007, 04:14 PM
OMG i'm getting old! time to join olang tua club