Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v27, Need New Notebook? Post follow format.

Lazy2study
post Jun 4 2016, 12:31 PM

55 posts

Hello all! I have a budget of 3.5k, preferably around 3k, and I'm looking for laptop recommendations. Currently looking at Lenovo Ideapad 700-15ISK and Asus K501UB.
Specs:
Lenovo Ideapad 700-15ISK
ntel® Core™ i7-6700HQ Processor - 2.6GHz, 6MB cache - Max Turbo Frequency 3.5 GHz
Windows 10
4GB DDR4 SDRAM
500GB hdd + 128 PCIE SSD
NVIDIA GeForce GTX950M DDR3 4GB
15.6 FHD IPS AG(SLIM)

Asus K501UB
Intel® Core™ i7-6500U Processor
- 2.5GHz, 4M cache
- Max Turbo Frequency 3.1GHz
4GB DDR3L RAM
1TB SATA Hard Drive
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT940M 2GB
15.6" 16:9 Full HD (1920x1080)

I'm a student and my primary uses are fo video and photo editing, CAD software. I'm not a gamer, but sometimes I do play games, so a laptop for gaming would be nice, but not the most important thing. I'm curently using an Asus S550C, and it has lasted me almost 4 years. So I do want my next laptop to last about this long also. do intend to add more RAM, to about 12/16gig, because my current laptop with 8gigs quite frequently runs out of RAM when I'm using it. I tend to multi-task and open lots of different things at once, haha. Between these two, the lenovo seems to have better specs, but my last lenovo laptop had lots of problems, so I'm hesitant to buy. What do you guys think? Or are there any more better options out there? thanks smile.gif
Lazy2study
post Jun 4 2016, 03:29 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 4 2016, 01:36 PM)
U need it urgently?
GPU replacement for both nvidia/amd coming very soon
940/950 will be absolete
I dont need it right now la. Hahaha But maybe soon, because my laptop seems to be giving signs of dying. But still usable. So I'm scouting for a new laptop now just in case.
Lazy2study
post Jun 4 2016, 05:16 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 4 2016, 05:04 PM)
If you can wait 2-3 more months..better wait
New GPU have better performance/energy efficient
1070 is as powerful as titanx rclxm9.gif
Maybe 1060 could be as powerful as 970/960 & cheaper
Plus..more updates on driver too

Hahahha, alright smile.gif Thanks. But if my laptop were to fail before the next transitioning of graphic cards, then what would you recommend for the range of RM3k-3.5k?(preferably lower the better)
Lazy2study
post Jun 4 2016, 06:53 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 4 2016, 06:45 PM)
If really cant wait..i think lenovo y series with 960 is possible..if asus..likely 950 for that price range
I was looking at lenovo y700 and the price range is like more than 4k. Hahah If I won't really use my laptop for gaming, would I still need the 960 graphics over the 950?
Lazy2study
post Jun 4 2016, 07:45 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 4 2016, 06:58 PM)
Not really though..depending on your usage
If you did not play heavy games..950 is fine
Yeah, I don't even.play Dota anymore actually. Hahah Now the most I use out of my laptop is photo/video editing and CAD work. But if I do get a new laptop, maybe I would like to try playing Overwatch, or some new RTS. Haha That's about as intensive as my gaming gets.
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 12:02 PM

55 posts

Hi, I've been seeing a lot of recommendations of Dell laptops, particularly Dell15-7559, and it seems that there is a general consensus that dell laptops can last longer. Are there any more dell laptop decommendations for RM3.5k and below? Product life span is a concern for me. Then secondly the specs. Mostly multimedia usage, and maybe light gaming. Other brand recommendations are also welcome smile.gif Thanks!
And what,s the difference between buying dell laptop at retail store and from the online store?

This post has been edited by Lazy2study: Jun 5 2016, 12:05 PM
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 01:12 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 4 2016, 08:46 PM)
Better read thread on lenovo products..mine so far so good

But post above sums it all..all nice choices smile.gif
What do you mean? Are there known faults with lenovo products?
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 03:34 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 5 2016, 03:11 PM)
at lenovo thread..seems a minor glitch on the cooling..but i think that should be fine
i am using external cooler..so..not much problem
I've seen the thread. hahah Seems like lenovo products a lot of glitches. How's yous so far? I'm actually looking at lenovo Ideapad 700, which seems to have the best specs for the price. Just that unsure of the product quality. hahah
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 05:35 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 5 2016, 04:45 PM)
my y580 is going strong..4 years  brows.gif
i think maybe due to software issue, but external coolers will help
but if possible get ssd too

The one I'm looking at:

Intel® Core™ i7-6700HQ-2.6GHz
8GB DDR4 2133 RAM
1TB SATA HDD+128G SSD
4GB NVIDIA® GeForce GTX 960M
Windows 10 Home
2 YEARS INTERNATIONAL WARRANTY BY LENOVO

Priced at RM 3400. Seems to have to best specs for the price. Most of the others that I'm looking for at the same price dont even have SSD.
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 06:36 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(and85rew @ Jun 5 2016, 05:45 PM)
nice choice...this model got dvd rom? in case u need dvd/blu ray..if not..nice choice rclxms.gif
Hahahh nope......no dvd. The specs really nice la...but dunno the life span how only. hahahah Die lorh if start lagging or got probs after a year. hahahh My current laptop tahan me 3 years++ already, so I hope the next one will be the same also. haha
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 06:50 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jun 5 2016, 06:38 PM)
you need to add ssd then because the 1tb is quite slow
The lenovo ideapad 700 already has 128gig SSD. hahah
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 07:18 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(Velocity @ Jun 5 2016, 06:52 PM)
so is up to you. How often do you hear people praise lenovo of their reliability?
Haha, that's the thing. I used to have a lenovo laptop many years ago, but that one also a lot of problems. Then I switched to Asus, this one so far really good product life, but now also start problems ad. But some of my friends recommended lenovo, so that's why I'm looking at lenovo now. But really no comparison for the price range la. Now the other one I'm looking at is Dell 15-7559, but it's more expensive and yet the specs not quite as good. hhahh
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 08:48 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Jun 5 2016, 08:01 PM)
But ppl complaint the ssd slow le
Owh, okay. Thanks for the feedback! smile.gif
Lazy2study
post Jun 5 2016, 10:55 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(ytlay @ Jun 5 2016, 10:51 PM)
Its bundle with Samsung PM951 NVMe PCIe 128GB PCIe SSD with excellent performance vs normal Samsung 850 evo M.2 SSD. No worry.  cool2.gif
Dont mislead forumer with wrong info.  shakehead.gif
Wow, thanks for the info man! So would you recommend the lenovo ideapad 700? tongue.gif

0.0440sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:22 AM