Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

azbro
post Jan 24 2008, 09:06 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(fiqz4ce @ Jan 24 2008, 06:21 PM)
hello..
between lcd and plasma tv..which is better??
i go to care4 and see the plasma tv..oh damn the quality is sucks..i dont know y..i think crt tv is better laa..
Friend...for LCD or plasma ...the source is very important...if you input in crap...you get crap also...but since its a big screen...means bigger crap...
You know what?, I understand you cos', I also go to see big screen at care4 once...and they really dun care what they display...thats why most ppl. will get frighten after going there...
To view a Plasma and LCD as it should be, please go to mega electronic store like SenQ, Harvy etc...but sometimes Courts also play crap.
azbro
post Jan 28 2008, 02:55 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(radiohead @ Jan 28 2008, 02:02 PM)
seems , the tosh is the fav for me atm. but jaya jusco got plenty choice & discount with other brands

mmm
As I said previously, Jusco has cut the discounts on Panny products as they are offering Combo sets with so-call discounts....

So if my 42' panny previously cost RM4999 at Jusco now oledi back to RM5499. But if purchased together with Panny home theater can save RM500 (?) of the total cost. But the pioneer plasma and philips LCD looks attactive buy.

azbro
post Jan 30 2008, 07:11 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Sony Trinitron @ Jan 30 2008, 01:53 PM)
philips can play divx movies using usb?
Do your homework first....best thing is goggle around, download its .pdf manual....or better, bring along your USB with divx files in it and try on the demo set.

Doesnt mean it from the same brand means its got the same features...you have been warned..
azbro
post Feb 11 2008, 10:04 AM

4,403 posts

I've experimented with a few DVD brands and must say..Philips 'King of Playability' holds some what true...especially for those of you who like to download movies from internet or P2P and burn into DVD. Philips will not dissapoint you...

Of course other brands will also play DivX etc...but with Philips you'll rarely get those 'cannot read' thinggy.

This post has been edited by azbro: Feb 11 2008, 10:07 AM
azbro
post Feb 11 2008, 12:44 PM

4,403 posts

So far most branded DVDs are durable....thats if its middle class above...those cheapo stuff dun get...even if it is branded.
azbro
post Feb 12 2008, 10:37 AM

4,403 posts

I compared some DVD players together...Philips, Sony, Pioneer, JVC, Sharp and some cap ayam brands...I have all of them at my home and my dads house. OK...I dun have the latest models to compare

Playability...can't beat Philips...you can even drag and drop avi files using window and it will still play....Pioneer, Sony requires you to use burning software like Roxio, Sonic, Nero etc...or else it will come out can't read disc. JVC on the other hand is inbetween. Sharp?..sorry, my model dun have DivX features.

For the 'ahem' DVDs...the cap ayam one (depending on which you got) plays the well without skips if the DVD is damage abit....BUT...cap ayam ones dun last long...and later will skip more than the branded ones. JVC comes out next to a new cap ayam brand...rarely skips. Philips, Sony, Pioneer and Sharp are average performer when it comes to 'ahem' DVD. When it skips...pray hard that opening and closing the DVD solves it.

Karaoke...none work well, but the scoring feature on the Philips and Sharp gives it one star more...my Sony, JVC and Chap ayam models dun have Karaoke features.

PQ...well..depending how you connect your unit to your CRT, LCD or Plasma...all are acceptable...you'll live with it.

Easy to use...winner goes to Pioneer...it even has control and Dpad buttons on the units facia just in case you lost your remote...and thats what normally happens when you have kids in the house. my Philips model has limited control on the unit wherelse Sony, Sharp and JVC have minimal controls.

Anyway, I'll pick the philips anyday due to its DIVX playability.
azbro
post Feb 21 2008, 09:25 AM

4,403 posts

Forgot to add Philips USB direct rocks dude...can simply play AVI files easily...
azbro
post Feb 22 2008, 08:22 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Feb 21 2008, 04:43 PM)
i always wonder whats that HD upscale button do?
not auto upscale thru hdmi? i am kinda tempted to buy this player to replace those china brand dvd player that always give me those shocks
Most of the time, it will auto upscale to the LCD/Plasma prefered display resolutions. If you TV is capable of full HD...the player will auto upscale to 1080P or something like that. And if you LCD/Plasma is the normal HD ready set, then the DVD will only upscale to 720P.

But nowadays normal HD ready LCD/Plasma can recieve 1080P/i inputs,...so thats why there is a button or selection by U.I to upscale it to 1080P/i even though your TV is not capable of displaying Full HD.
azbro
post Feb 22 2008, 07:09 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Feb 22 2008, 12:55 PM)
It works with my SanDisk Micro Cruzer 4GB. External HDD will not work regardless of size as stated in the user guide and online faq.
I havent tried with any External HDD...but so far all USB sticks works for me...I dunno if got type that doen't work.

But for External HDD, are you using the notebook one or one that need to connect to a power supply?
azbro
post Mar 18 2008, 01:26 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Mar 17 2008, 04:16 PM)
Sorry noob question.
I've recently "obtained" .avi files in DIVX format of some HD movies in 720p. These files are bout 4gb in size. Was wandering, if there is any DVD player that can play these files and output them as 720p. Coz my current Phillips DVD (old model) which can play DIVX, wont play these files coz it gives me a resolution error.
Cheers
You're not alone...I also downloded a 4.4GB movie (I think the res is 1280X720) but it wouldn't play when I burned the .avi files to a DVDR. What I did was to use Windows Movie Maker to make it into DVD...but in that process, loose the Dolby sound...i'm also using Philips...but mine is a new model.
I tried using Roxio 10 to make it into DVD but the image become a bit squarish instead.
azbro
post Mar 20 2008, 12:01 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Mar 18 2008, 07:25 PM)
Looks like if I wanna buy a new DVD player for this purpose, I've gotta take my 720 divx DVDR to the shop n test on the players itself to see if it works.
I did a check on Divx website on supported players, the Phlips 5986 is labeled as Ultra Divx and capable of playing 720x568 (not too sure bout the last nbrs). And a check on Philips webby, says that the 5986 is capable of playing 720p n 1080i and also Divx6 which is supposed to be Divx in HD.
Anyone that has this player care to comment..??
OK, I've downloaded some HD type for .avi files that was titled DivX6. Actually I downloaded 3 movies...god it took me a while cos my line was slow.
All are in 1280X720 res. This is to try out my Philips that is suppose to be compatible with DivX6 and DivxUltra

After burning to DVDs (sorry, i dun have a USB that is big enough to fit the movie), all 3 movies dun play....the displayed showed 'unsupported Res'.
Two of the movie took forever to load, and one loaded but with no pictures....i think the audio also become like slow motion.

To give the philips a chance....I load the same DVDs to a pioneer set thats equipped with DivX6....also same result as the philips one...

So conclusion is need to convert it to DVD format or use the computer to play it on your TV.

azbro
post Mar 24 2008, 04:55 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ Mar 21 2008, 01:52 AM)
Ok went to HN at Ikano today, did some testing with Dvix HD on some of the HDMI players there.
As per my prev post, the online review that say the Sammy HD870 n 1080P7 is able to play these files are not founded.
Tested with my DVD-R, Planet Earth 720p, only able to produce sound n no pics at all. Gets error unsupported resolution.
The other 2 Sony player that was listed in the list, I couldnt find it there as HN Ikano dont have those players there.
Tested the DVD with a few other HDMI players, the ever popular Philips 5986, JVC (duno model) and Pioneer (dunno model also). All of them fail to play the HD files. Either only sound is produced or just stuck n gives resolution error.

Well guess were stuck.
Back to more online reviews n research. I must get hold of the DVD player.
Shumaky, when you convert it to DVD, did the dolby sound remain? I downloaded a few movies with over the top dolby but after coverting it (using Nero and also Windows Movie Maker), the dolby sound disappear...become like normal only. What software are you using and whats the configuration? Even when I use Dolby AC3 5.1 for the audio convertion it still plays normal.

QUOTE(GuN @ Mar 24 2008, 03:39 PM)
what movie did u use? and what size?
All were 1280 X 720 for Irobot and some Imax nature stuff.

azbro
post Apr 6 2008, 10:17 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 1 2008, 12:21 PM)
kuro is the king of plasma lah. the black level is soooooooo damn cun..

just keep this in your mind... what u pay is what u get...

haha..
At Jusco JB they put the best plasmas and LCDs in front of an escalator, looking directly infront of the sets, Pioneer is best, but one difference i notice when I go up the escalator other plasmas and LCDs look like Sh*t when view at extreme angle but the Pioneer still delivers with aplomb the quality goods.
azbro
post Jun 6 2008, 09:51 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Jun 4 2008, 04:58 PM)
What will be the difference comparing those HDMI DVD Player with those high end DVD player without HDMI input . brands like Denon, Harman Kardon etc.. the product claimed the Pixelation is sharper.

With current HDMI output player selling in commercial retail outlet, are they much better now since the price is also cheaper.
I dun have any experience with high end DVD players....but using HDMI is the most cheapest way to get superior video without having to spend a ton on tweaking, expensive cables or players..etc
I can say those a previous design...now the trend is all HDMI stuff....the old skool are slowly being fazed out.

Btw, Harman Kardon and Denon have high end DVD players with HDMI...
azbro
post Jul 12 2008, 11:28 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(putratr @ Jul 10 2008, 07:42 PM)
Is it true that Phillips DV5986 is the king of playability. How about its ability to read from USB ... is it good?
For the price Philips is SURE King of Playability.

Regarding USB performance, depends on the USB stick...I got over ambitious and bought a 8GB Sandisk MICRO Cruzer USB so that i dun have to burn .avi to DVD.
What I didn't know iS 4GB above, 90% of USB sticks in the market are slow! Tried it with my friends 8GB Kingston even worst..
My Kingston 1GB one works flawlessly. Rule of the thumb, the higher the USB stick capacity, the slower it gets.

THe effects of a slower USB stick is shuttering when high graphics scenes. Unless you wanna go High Capacity with a speed demon like Corsair GT, Sandisk Ducatti or Sandisk Contour, you should stick to 4GB below.

The good news abt the USB port is if you are a download junky, you can use a hardisk formatted in Fat32. Best is not to use a laptop hdd as it uses USB power. Get those higher speed desktop versions...better know as 3.5inch types with external power.

One more thing, some security USB sticks are equipped with hardcoded password that cannot erased ( I not talking abt the common and trendy U3 passwords that are an option to install)
These security sticks have hardware protection for passwords that simply will not erase even after formatting. These kinda USB cannot be played on the philips player. You have been warned.
azbro
post Aug 5 2008, 06:26 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(aiz1j @ Aug 5 2008, 05:23 PM)
  In conclusion the latest recommended DVDP are these 2, right?
    1. Philips-5996K  RM379
    2. Sony-NS708H  RM399

For those who own 5996, may I know any difference between the 5996 and 5986? And can the NS708 'Dynamic Tilt Compensation' give any advantage over 5996 in reading the street DVDs?

I think the 5996 is the facelifted one....one thing I like abt Philips is the USB slot...if you are a download junky, using a fast USB stick is much better than waiting an eternity to burn a DVD.

Sony model I'm not familiar with.
azbro
post Aug 6 2008, 01:31 PM

4,403 posts

Please take note of the Philips USB ports, if you plan to get yourself a high capacity stick make sure its a high speed one...rule of the thumb, 4GB or less. 8Gb pendrives are slower....unless its a corsair GT, Kingston X, Ducatti series etc.
Normal 8GB stick will make scenes jerky. I've tried with 8GB Sandisk Micro Cruzer and 8GB Kingston Data Traveller...both a bit jerky when come to high graphic intense scenes.
azbro
post Aug 8 2008, 03:33 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 8 2008, 01:25 PM)
Alrighty then. Will go and buy 4GB one. Thanks dude thumbup.gif
Yup, by 4GB also get a good one.

To know whats hot and whats not for pendrives:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=191462&hl=

thread goes back 2005...so read the few last pages to know the latest and the fastest.

Its good to invest on a 4gb Sandisk Ducati if you are using it for Vista ready boost and multimedia for the Philips USB...If I could turn back time...no second thoughts...Sandisk Extreme Contour also for above 4gb.
The rest of the Sandisk Cruzer just dun cut it.

This post has been edited by azbro: Aug 8 2008, 03:48 PM
azbro
post Aug 17 2008, 10:57 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Aug 17 2008, 10:04 AM)
anyone experienced their philips dvp5986k play sum vcd got no sound at all but got video playing only?
So far I've never played VCD before for the Philips...hehe...

Try the setting.

0.0558sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:56 PM