Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

SUSMatrix
post Jan 9 2008, 04:36 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Jan 9 2008, 04:33 PM)
Who is using the following model, or saw it on display at shop :

Toshiba 42X3500E - 6.5k
Sharp 42A83M - ???

Currently looking at this two full hd 42", only have the price for toshiba but not the sharp, and i am still looking for shops that has this 2 model on this display.
Anyone can help?

Another thing, is the 100mhz thing important for watching fast action movie or football match?
If you're buying FULLHD, i think it's already incorporated in all the latest model.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 10 2008, 12:45 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(zito9 @ Jan 10 2008, 12:32 AM)
I WANA BUY LIAO!!!!
rclxm9.gif
Go! Go! Go! before stock runs out!!! I'm not watching the movie yet...wait until i got the LCD then only watch... thumbup.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 11 2008, 08:55 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 10 2008, 10:00 AM)
dvd + lcd = nice?
Much better than the letterbox in my current 29" 4:3 CRT by long shot. smile.gif

SUSMatrix
post Jan 14 2008, 11:14 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 11:09 AM)
im viewing my 42 panny from 7 feet, and i think its still small, a 46 would be more appropriate

to those who ahve sepcific AV rooms, i think go for projector better
Dude...you should buy a real theater...never need to upgrade again. smile.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 14 2008, 02:05 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 11:14 AM)
how much would a theater cost me?
A lot probably...but you get unlimited bragging rights...and u can invite all of us to watch at your theater...hee-hee. rclxms.gif

Added on January 14, 2008, 2:06 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:26 PM)
movies lar.. especially movies now in 2.35:1 , even smaller... like watching 16:9 on a 4:3 display sad.gif

adrian, how much can u get the A63 fullHD 42" sharp?
Yeah..i really dun understand..why some made movies in 2:35:1? So next time need even wider LCD TV?? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 14 2008, 02:06 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 14 2008, 02:16 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 02:13 PM)
can see more mar... tat one for theaters ngam ngam
Then is all the movies in theater 2:35:1 rather than 16:9???
SUSMatrix
post Jan 15 2008, 04:35 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 15 2008, 10:39 AM)
When the bulb dies, it just about time to give yourself (and your wife)  a good excuse to get yourself something better  rclxm9.gif
I think you mean DO SOMETHING MORE INTERESTING WHEN THE LIGHTS OUT??? LOL. laugh.gif

Added on January 15, 2008, 4:36 pm
QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 15 2008, 02:17 PM)
Toshiba Regza engine promotes 'Natural Color'.
So for ppl. like us means uninteresting, but depends on opinion, some will like it.
Toshiba promotes "natural" colour...SONY promotes "vivid"@fake colours....so it's ur preferences.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 15 2008, 04:36 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 17 2008, 01:46 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Censorship too lazy...or they've being bribed...as long as no smart ass minister tries to play the "we're are more islamic than you, therefore you must censor!!!", things will be fine.
SUSMatrix
post Jan 18 2008, 09:29 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 18 2008, 08:37 AM)
Dolby Digital is the only mandatory format in DVD and DTS is optional. doh.gif
Yes, that is true. This has something to do with business and licensing decision rather than tech decision.

That's why very few titles has DTS soundtrack.

I think buying ori DVDs is pratical nowdays...ranging from dirt titles at RM9.90, to some great offers at RM19.90, RM29.90, to good older titles at RM39.90. Newer titles will be around RM69, while special boxes tends to cost more.

Of course, if can get ahem REAL D9 latest title than good ler...but it's like searching for needle in a haystack. (unless you wanna bring ur notebook and test at the shop...ha-ha...you will be beat up by the shop owners!!) I think 99% ahem disc has sucky video bitrate around 2mbit...and looks like probably downsampled D9 disc... Most ori D9 has around 4mbit to 8mbit. But some ori also on D5 only...like RE 2 I bought the other day...but okay lah..only RM19.90. For ori disc, I think you have to look at the box to ensure it says "Dual Layer disc". If not mentioned, most probably it's a D5 version.

anyway, i believe if you can get real ahem D9, it's a 1:1 copy of the original, there's no reason it shouldn't be. It's digital data only. I've a few ahem real D9..bit rates of video, DD5.1, DTS is all up to par (4-8Mbit for video),(38xkbit for DD5.1), (750kbit for DTS)...and it looks and sounds great.

SUSMatrix
post Jan 19 2008, 07:42 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Ngto @ Jan 18 2008, 11:24 AM)
Are you sure those RM9.90 ones are acceptable quality?

Last time I tried one from Speedy (RM13.90) the quality was worse than some Pasar Malam cinema copy disc. That was the first and last that I bought any below RM20/- titles from Speedy. Maybe it's just hapened that one or two titles were like that.
Didn't buy those, so dunno...sweat.gif Haven't watch RE yet, but i've tested it and it's D5 disc with 2mbit rate video...like pasar malam disc.

Now i'm looking for War of the Worlds (Tom Cruise version)...Play Asia also around RM43...Maybe i should buy from them??
SUSMatrix
post Jan 21 2008, 12:02 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(runemastertan @ Jan 21 2008, 12:34 AM)
I saw a 32A53 on astro, and damn it's nice, at least it;s better than toshiba and other brands. I don;t get to see the 42" model, but I asked the salesman and he says the quality should be about the same, although I kinda doubt it a little bit. My opinion - go audition the tv and see which one you like.
Yes, astro on 32A53 is suprisingly good. Almost makes me feel i'm watching on my SONY 29" CRT with DRC100. And i'm only using a split RF going over a long distance, maybe 20 foot cable or more. I think if i can use S-VIDEO it'll look nicer.

0.0384sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:28 PM