127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player, Have you Found it Yet?

sunauto
post Dec 14 2006, 01:52 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, last time, most Sony dvd players are sensitive especially playing those low quality ahem dvds but ever since Sony developed their patented dynamic tilt mechanism for their pickup lens, it's a thing of the past and this technology is not only available for this high end HDMI player but also other models too, even the ones costing RM270 plus. I have played those poor quality ahem dvds from China and it plays them well, even my Pioneer 989 and Panasonic S49 had problems reading them. doh.gif

Anyway, it's worth getting the HDMI player as it's using Mediatek's deinterlacer, used in some better models from Pioneer, Onkyo, Samsung and Denon dvd players. Only this model has Mediatek, the rest of the Sony models are using Sony's own deinterlacer, they're not bad but not comparable to the award winning Mediatek deinterlacer.

Don't just take my word for it, try to test one and see for yourself. For a budget player, it's definitely value for money, it might not beat Denon's 2930 flagship model but for a player this price, you shouldn't find any faults with it.

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 13 2006, 12:23 PM)
wowowo...

Thanks so much. I've been thinking of this player since many good reviews on international webpages. But all local shops say it is sensitive...

So, I hold back...
TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 12:01 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

Hey sunauto, you are referring to the Sony NS76 right?

Everywhere is not keeping the unit. And everywhere when I asked... they say they don't test DVD players. Heck...!
TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 12:33 PM

4,504 posts

Just called up SLT Technologies Ltd, reseller for Oppo Digital DVD player, according to them, their stock is coming end of the month or early next month. Wowo...

And the price is "just over 400..." meaning just over S$400.00

Wow... its cheaper than Sony NS92. Kekekeke...
Worth considering.

sunauto
post Dec 14 2006, 06:21 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Yes, I'm referring to NS76, I'm using it right now even though I have a Pioneer 989 because the Pioneer sucks when it comes to playing ahem dvds, it usually gets stucked if the dvd is warped or poorly authored but for original dvds, it works flawlessly.

You can get it from Sony gallery or electrical shops, I ordered mine from an electrical shop, they only gave me a slight discount, RM580 because I bought two units, one for the living hall, one for my gf. tongue.gif Don't expect to get good discounts because they never give much discounts when it comes to Sony products. Sad but true.

They don't have ready stocks but Sony gallery, in Prangin Mall, Penang has a few units in stock, I'm sure you can get to see them in action especially in KL. At this price, it's a steal and if you're talking about Sony's flagship model, 9100ES (should be correct I guess), you gotta wait at least four months since it has to be specail ordered from Japan. doh.gif It's around RM3100. Hahaha. I rather get a Denon at this price. rclxub.gif

Yeah, some of them won't let you test the dvd player but after seeing good reviews from here and there and I was using a Sony dvd player before this one, so I took a gamble to order it and I didn't regret buying it. It's a darn good player. Very solid performance and ahem dvds (D9) looked great on my LCD in 1080i. Hehehe. laugh.gif If original dvds, no need to say lah, even better of course. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 14 2006, 12:01 PM)
Hey sunauto, you are referring to the Sony NS76 right?

Everywhere is not keeping the unit. And everywhere when I asked... they say they don't test DVD players. Heck...!
TStimothyy
post Dec 14 2006, 06:54 PM

4,504 posts

I am going to wait for Oppo 981. Gonna order from them or ask them to reserve... kekeke... If fail, then I go for this Sony.
sunauto
post Dec 15 2006, 12:56 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Well, I don't think Oppo is that great and it might not play warped dvds if your collection consists mostly ahem dvds. It's up to you lah Bro. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(timothyy @ Dec 14 2006, 06:54 PM)
I am going to wait for Oppo 981. Gonna order from them or ask them to reserve... kekeke... If fail, then I go for this Sony.
TStimothyy
post Dec 15 2006, 11:44 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 15 2006, 12:56 AM)
Well, I don't think Oppo is that great and it might not play warped dvds if your collection consists mostly ahem dvds. It's up to you lah Bro.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Well, that's what I worry too. But I donno... seems like every American says its good.

Ha! HA! So...

Anyway, may be I'll buy it and at the same time have my JVC standby using component video.

I'll try and let u guys know.
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 15 2006, 01:11 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 15 2006, 12:56 AM)
Well, I don't think Oppo is that great and it might not play warped dvds if your collection consists mostly ahem dvds. It's up to you lah Bro.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Seeing as the motherboard of the Oppo is made by their parent company BBK in China, I would not worry so much about playing "friendly" D9s (the 970HD is BBK988 in HK - product page)

btw, sunauto which Oppo do you have and did it fail on you?

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Dec 15 2006, 01:24 PM
TStimothyy
post Dec 15 2006, 01:17 PM

4,504 posts

I am targetting the 981. Nope. I don't have one yet.
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 15 2006, 01:24 PM

1,976 posts

was asking sunauto

btw timothyy - you know the 981 does not have component outputs right? just in case

its got composite, s-video and hdmi

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Dec 15 2006, 04:48 PM
TStimothyy
post Dec 16 2006, 08:59 AM

4,504 posts

How about you? What DVD player are u using then? Issit good?

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 15 2006, 01:24 PM)
was asking sunauto

btw timothyy - you know the 981 does not have component outputs right? just in case

its got composite, s-video and hdmi
Thanks for the info. I didn't know until you told me. He! He! But I guess my main concern is HDMI...

This post has been edited by timothyy: Dec 16 2006, 09:02 AM
sunauto
post Dec 16 2006, 12:08 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

My cousin staying in Sydney is using Oppo, forgot which model though, had some problems playing L Word Season 3 (ahem dvds of course) but it played fine on a Sony and Philips dvd player. He was scratching his head and no doubt, those ahem dvds were of course, poor quality, he bought it from Chinatown area but if it works well on Sony and Philips, it shows that Oppo might have problems with poor media and to be frank, our ahem dvds in Malaysia are getting from bad to worst especially those cheap D5 movies, most of them are warped, sometimes with bubbles on the surface and many fine scratches too. So far no problems with my Sony but with Pioneer 989, 70% will get stucked unless it's a good quality ahem dvd or you feed it with original softwares, it will play them happily. rclxub.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Dec 16 2006, 02:02 PM

1,976 posts

IME Philips has always been the most forgiving player - I haven't tried it but I bet you could throw a coaster in and it'll try to play it.

I haven't seen anyone on xtremeplace forum complaining about D9s on the Oppo though, so I think it should be friendly. I'd have bought one if it had a SCART output which I need
sunauto
post Dec 16 2006, 08:04 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Bro,

If you really wanna get an Oppo, choose a poor quality authored dvd to give it a real stress test. No, don't use a RM12 ahem D9 dvd to test it, preferable those from China one or those cheap D5 titles. Get what I mean? That's what I did before ended up buying the Sony, I really wanted to make sure that it reads poor quality discs. Just my advice to you but if you're mostly buying originals, then no need to test lah, just go ahead and buy. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Dec 16 2006, 02:02 PM)
IME Philips has always been the most forgiving player - I haven't tried it but I bet you could throw a coaster in and it'll try to play it.

I haven't seen anyone on xtremeplace forum complaining about D9s on the Oppo though, so I think it should be friendly. I'd have bought one if it had a SCART output which I need
tatayoung
post Dec 17 2006, 01:02 AM

I'm the boss of me...
950 posts

QUOTE(zas3 @ Dec 13 2006, 03:22 PM)
I've both Sony DVP-NS76H & Philips DVP5965K/98. Using HDMI on the same display, I found the DVP-NS76H produces more natural colours compared to the philips. Also on relatively fast motions, the sony player showed smoother pictures, compared to the philips which kinda judders a bit.

Sound wise, I prefer the sony player as well. Somehow its sound has more punch, especially on both the surround satellites.

Sensitivity wise, the philips player plays basically everything. Not fussy at all. I had a couple of DVDs which skips a little on the sony, but no problem playing the rest.
I agree with everything except the fact that the sony produces better sound....,i'd go for the philips....
TStimothyy
post Dec 17 2006, 10:26 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 16 2006, 08:04 PM)
Bro,

If you really wanna get an Oppo, choose a poor quality authored dvd to give it a real stress test. No, don't use a RM12 ahem D9 dvd to test it, preferable those from China one or those cheap D5 titles. Get what I mean? That's what I did before ended up buying the Sony, I really wanted to make sure that it reads poor quality discs. Just my advice to you but if you're mostly buying originals, then no need to test lah, just go ahead and buy.  rclxms.gif
Iguess the price of Oppo in Singapore is kinda reasonable for me to try it out. He!

If many have talk good about it.... there must be something good about the player.

SiriuslyCold
post Dec 17 2006, 11:54 AM

1,976 posts

SG$299, but you really got to reserve your set, it seems to sell like hotcakes
TStimothyy
post Dec 17 2006, 02:08 PM

4,504 posts

SG299? So cheap? Cannot be la... USD also selling 229...

I called ST up and they say its around S$400

SiriuslyCold
post Dec 17 2006, 03:52 PM

1,976 posts

sorry! i meant the 970HD is SG$299

dunno pricing for 981 - who is ST?
sunauto
post Dec 17 2006, 05:16 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

The sound is depending on your A/V amp, not the dvd player. When you output it via coaxial or optical output, the sound is processed with your A/V amp, very seldom people will use the sound decoded by their own dvd player unless if it is a high end player from Pioneer, Arcam, Marantz or even Denon using those Burr Brown sound processors, you might want use the internal sound decoder of the dvd player. So to be honest, whether it is a Philips or Sony, once it's fed through my Yamaha A/V amp, the decoding will be done by my amp. I never liked Philips dvd players, the picture quality is a bit off if you use the HQV disc to benchmark it, it doesn't have a very good motion when running in progressive scan or in upscaled resolution for fast action scenes. What I like best about Philips is their Pixel Plus HDTV panels, I have to give thumbs up for those. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(tatayoung @ Dec 17 2006, 01:02 AM)
I agree with everything except the fact that the sony produces better sound....,i'd go for the philips....

127 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:27 AM