Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> How do I buy from suppliers/resellers/dealers, If i may ask

pcdoctor_my
post Dec 13 2006, 10:26 AM, updated 19y ago

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

Newbie here,interested to start selling in bulk or sell online.

What is the criteria to buy bulk from reseller/dealers/suppliers in other to start selling?

Must I have a registered company name to begin with?

Please PM me your answer as this is trade secret (and I do respect trade secrets)
vikingw2k
post Dec 13 2006, 11:30 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 13 2006, 10:26 AM)
Newbie here,interested to start selling in bulk or sell online.

What is the criteria to buy bulk from reseller/dealers/suppliers in other to start selling?

Please PM me your answer as this is trade secret (and I do respect trade secrets)
To be frank, the best way would be, get off your pc, start walking around and shake hands with new suppliers.

It's better if you have a registered company in order to be their dealer smile.gif

pcdoctor_my
post Dec 13 2006, 02:11 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 13 2006, 11:30 AM)
To be frank, the best way would be, get off your pc, start walking around and shake hands with new suppliers.

It's better if you have a registered company in order to be their dealer smile.gif
vikingw2k,thanks for your reply, but is it compulsory to be a registered co, then I can order items?

I've worked in a computer shop before, just that my bosses never taught me trading.
Doomsday
post Dec 13 2006, 02:35 PM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 13 2006, 02:11 PM)
vikingw2k,thanks for your reply, but is it compulsory to be a registered co, then I can order items?

I've worked in a computer shop before, just that my bosses never taught me trading.
Just ask him, whether got discounted price from the market price, if take in large quantities...

pcdoctor_my
post Dec 13 2006, 04:24 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Dec 13 2006, 02:35 PM)
Just ask him, whether got discounted price from the market price, if take in large quantities...
Well last week I went to see him,and shall I say that he was more than discouraging than to even advice/assist me; He was telling me "Don't waste your time, you can anytime buy from any shops here at Lowyat and sell it out there. Profit margin is low"
Doomsday
post Dec 14 2006, 12:32 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 13 2006, 04:24 PM)
Well last week I went to see him,and shall I say that he was more than discouraging than to even advice/assist me; He was telling me "Don't waste your time, you can anytime buy from any shops here at Lowyat and sell it out there. Profit margin is low"
LOL... you tell him back, if got BULK business you also don't wanna accept then there must be something wrong on your mind. Yes, the profit margin might be low + causes difficulties. It's all depends on the market situation after all.. wink.gif
vikingw2k
post Dec 14 2006, 02:19 AM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 13 2006, 04:24 PM)
Obviously they wont tell you, do you tell everybody where u get stock and help them to be your future rival? smile.gif

Sandwich2U
post Dec 14 2006, 04:58 PM

Melamine Sandwich
1,112 posts

There is something i would like to share with you guys.
I used my uncle company name to create a dealer account at Ban Leong
and tried to get something cheaper compared to market price.

The thing is , after i reviced the "dealer price list" via email from them,
The "dealer price" is not much difference from lowyat plaza.

Ex. A gaming mice, RM97 from lowyat plaza shop , RM92 from distro.

Somemore they do require minimum purchase amount (more than) RM500.
The good thing is, they provide free delivery upon every single purchase (minimum RM500).

Just my 2 cents.

PowerDunk
post Dec 14 2006, 05:13 PM

252 posts

PC stuff usually have low margin , high volume so don't expect to get much from it.

tkwfriend
post Dec 14 2006, 06:05 PM

I always doubt and always something goes wrong
1,904 posts

well just my advise if you really want to do just my thinking. how much cash do you have? maybe you caN try on getting from china?
well if dun wish to sell computer stuff i might give you a chance to try to sell other thing as me myself not free to sell thing over here and i rather earn less and dun take much time here

This post has been edited by tkwfriend: Dec 14 2006, 06:07 PM
pcdoctor_my
post Dec 15 2006, 01:58 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(PowerDunk @ Dec 14 2006, 05:13 PM)
PC stuff usually have low margin , high volume so don't expect to get much from it.
If thats the case what about those bulk sellers out here? Do they make a profit even selling below market price?

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Dec 14 2006, 06:05 PM)
well just my advise if you really want to do just my thinking. how much cash do you have? maybe you caN try on getting from china?
well if dun wish to sell computer stuff i might give you a chance to try to sell other thing as me myself not free to sell thing over here and i rather earn less and dun take much time here
Just what are you doing if you are not into computer business?

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: Dec 15 2006, 01:59 PM
irangan
post Dec 15 2006, 05:49 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 15 2006, 01:58 PM)
If thats the case what about those bulk sellers out here? Do they make a profit even selling below market price?
Just what are you doing if you are not into computer business?
most of the bulk in the garage sales is like semi charity, they just doing it for the lowyat forum community and just part time job to earn some extra cash. there is very very few bulk seller selling computer part for living.
name
post Dec 15 2006, 07:29 PM

1,014 posts

haiyo
just found this thread.

im goint to sell oso at bulk sales subforum..

exspecially for OEm hdd and Oem RAM (for sure must nice chip for OC)

i can see from here...

online customer... are not very interested in warranty

yes i admit .. we must give them warranty..

but OEM .. at least we are giving 1month warranty.. (Overclock not cover huh)

as long as your HDD is come from good manufacturer like hitachi & seagate ..

and it is cheap ..

there is no way .. your wannabe buyer want to let you free (warghh they must buy - really? dont know - )

p/s that's my opinion ... ~

p/s if you want to buy bulk with legal warranty from manufacturer.. try to get a bulk buy from distro .. 100units? 1k units? so you will feel the profit there .. summore they are sending you the goods for FREE ...

This post has been edited by name: Dec 15 2006, 07:31 PM
DAViS
post Dec 16 2006, 11:36 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

Doing bulk is not easy.
Most of the online seller usually selling items without warranty and they are betting their name to cover off everything and earn their living. If you really get it from distributor the price might not nice to many member in here and for sure even you have good deal, you don't even can sell single unit provided you earn RM1x?
goldfries
post Dec 16 2006, 11:48 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 13 2006, 10:26 AM)

it's better to have one. when you register with some distributor to be a reseller, they'll usually ask for your company details and some even ask for your $$$ information and stuff.

i know this cos i've approached quite a few. smile.gif

my company is reseller status under some distributor, however we don't do bulk or anything cos if you consider all the factors together - quite often it's hardly even worth the effort. sad.gif

sometimes, you try to bring in some goods to sell in the local market - but after some negotiations, end up seeing that the MoQ is ridiculous, the transportation fees are ridiculous, and worse is that you can't mark-up much to make a decent profit.
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 01:07 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

dont forget one important factor if you bringing things from oversea. malaysia government will tax you like hell.. they will tell you that 20% import tax and 10% sales tax. if you calculate all that, probably can earn RM10 for each item in order to make it sellable in forum.

that's why i am saying doing bulk in lowyat forum. most of it is semi charity stuff. haha..

note: unless you got huge capital to invest and purchase whole container as quantity. probably you can get a better profit margin provided you have your way to distribute it.
goldfries
post Dec 17 2006, 01:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 17 2006, 01:07 AM)
note: unless you got huge capital to invest and purchase whole container as quantity. probably you can get a better profit margin provided you have your way to distribute it.
with huge capital + container = you need to keep stock. so you might need to rent a space IF your stock is beyond your storage capacity.

and another problem with keeping stock is that price tend to go downwards, this is true especially for computer parts.

so you better make sure you can sell off as soon as possible, or else the dropping price would hurt your profit margin. once the market price = your cost + delivery, gone case already - you're basically doing business and using your time for little profit. and from this point onwards, it's a losing business.
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 02:07 AM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 17 2006, 01:37 AM)
with huge capital + container = you need to keep stock. so you might need to rent a space IF your stock is beyond your storage capacity.

and another problem with keeping stock is that price tend to go downwards, this is true especially for computer parts.

so you better make sure you can sell off as soon as possible, or else the dropping price would hurt your profit margin. once the market price = your cost + delivery, gone case already - you're basically doing business and using your time for little profit. and from this point onwards, it's a losing business.
ya i understand your reasoning.. that's why i am saying provided he can find a way to distribute it.
budak_macho
post Dec 17 2006, 10:55 AM

46 posts

i GOT A QUESTION,CAN I USE MY MOM restaurant company name to create a dealer account at Ban Leong,Vertex,ScanArt or something?

Tanks! hands.gif
DAViS
post Dec 17 2006, 12:18 PM

就是你
2,503 posts

101% sure reject unless your company name do not have non-related words to IT.

This post has been edited by DAViS: Dec 17 2006, 12:18 PM
SUSAllnGap
post Dec 17 2006, 02:39 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

QUOTE(irangan @ Dec 17 2006, 01:07 AM)
dont forget one important factor if you bringing things from oversea. malaysia government will tax you like hell.. they will tell you that 20% import tax and 10% sales tax. if you calculate all that, probably can earn RM10 for each item in order to make it sellable in forum.

that's why i am saying doing bulk in lowyat forum. most of it is semi charity stuff. haha..

depending on which stuff you bring in, quantities, packaging and how you declare of course....

the lower you declare, the lesser they can tax.
irangan
post Dec 17 2006, 09:13 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

but if u under declare your goods and got caught, you need to pay more later.. in term of bribe or fine.
pcdoctor_my
post Dec 19 2006, 09:19 AM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

I am not gonna import anything outta Malaysia, but to purchase locally from distro, if all terms & condition goes well..

Any suggestions to a good distro?
irangan
post Dec 19 2006, 03:08 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 19 2006, 09:19 AM)
I am not gonna import anything outta Malaysia, but to purchase locally from distro, if all terms & condition goes well..

all the big distro for those branded product is good one. hehe.. if u getting from local distro, i dont think you cant earn much.
kaichiat82
post Dec 30 2006, 05:42 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Dec 13 2006, 11:30 AM)

I gave a good thought about becoming full time SOHO-based seller. So in this case, is there possible to register home address as company address? thanks in advance smile.gif
kaichiat82
post Dec 30 2006, 05:48 AM

254 posts

thread starter sorry i borrow your thread.

Can someone enlighten me where about the suitable forum/subforum to post thread about finding my dealer and distributor? should I post in garade sale or here?

Cheers
goldfries
post Dec 30 2006, 06:17 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kaichiat82 @ Dec 30 2006, 05:42 AM)
I gave a good thought about becoming full time SOHO-based seller. So in this case, is there possible to register home address as company address? thanks in advance smile.gif
shouldn't be a problem. i'm SOHO too, just not selling hardware atm. smile.gif

about looking for disti, reseller, dealer - you can put on your siggy, more effective coverage.
kaichiat82
post Dec 30 2006, 05:29 PM

254 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 30 2006, 06:17 AM)
shouldn't be a problem. i'm SOHO too, just not selling hardware atm. smile.gif

about looking for disti, reseller, dealer - you can put on your siggy, more effective coverage.
Thanks for your kind info bros biggrin.gif
will join the SOHO family soon. smile.gif
Jackygwh
post Dec 30 2006, 06:26 PM

1,131 posts

i think u better register a license.... those distributor wont jus giv u dealer price b4 they comfirm tat u are not end user.... u have to make a profile in thier company and slowly they will giv u cheaper and cheaper price... as i believe same distri wont giv same price to diff company ... they have to see ur lvl... if ur payment is good and u take alot of stock... mostly u will get a better price compare to other ppl ..they wont jsu giv u the lowest price they can once u walk in to thier distributor..

and one more thing.. no need to ask ur boss la ... IF u are boss... u willing to teach ur worker how to find dealer and how to do biz ?? no rite ? so u have to work hard and find it out urself...
Shintaro527
post Dec 31 2006, 11:29 PM

14 posts

Ya ,i agree that no use if u ask ur boss ,must learn ur haha..ur boss is a good guy.... ph34r.gif
zenix
post Jan 2 2007, 09:51 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Dec 19 2006, 09:19 AM)

from principle to national importer to distributors to shops there is a 20-30% cut from the margin. very hard to get good price when you're new.

QUOTE(DAViS @ Dec 17 2006, 12:18 PM)
101% sure reject unless your company name do not have non-related words to IT.
restoran IT! laugh.gif
hackwire
post Jan 4 2007, 04:24 PM

4,256 posts

Apple reseller seems to grow .. even IPOD is spreading everywhere..
kroegand
post Jan 6 2007, 04:40 AM

Ding Ding Gale!!!
1,022 posts

Just curious. Will there be a difference for enterprise and private limited company if i make the enquiry to these distributors? Or is there any rules on this? If any company will do, starting an enterprise is much less hassle than private limited (sdn bhd)
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:17 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kroegand @ Jan 6 2007, 04:40 AM)
Just curious. Will there be a difference for enterprise and private limited company if i make the enquiry to these distributors? Or is there any rules on this? If any company will do, starting an enterprise is much less hassle than private limited (sdn bhd)
i've dealt with some distis for quite a few years, seems like they treat my Enterprise and another Sdn Bhd (that i handled) the same way. biggrin.gif

but of course, Sdn Bhd generally seem more credible.
ycinator
post Jan 6 2007, 12:19 PM

137 posts

My advice:-

Unless you have big capital orelse dont start it. You wont make any profit.

Dont expect the price from distributor are cheap. There is MOQ to meet and you need to sell really fast. If you trying to make decent profit then distributor is not your choice smile.gif

For trading, it could be dangeous in some way. Today i earn RM 10k but tomorrow i might loss RM 15k due to several unforseen situation.
Just my 2 cents smile.gif

This post has been edited by ycinator: Jan 6 2007, 12:37 PM
kroegand
post Jan 8 2007, 10:07 PM

Ding Ding Gale!!!
1,022 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 6 2007, 10:17 AM)
i've dealt with some distis for quite a few years, seems like they treat my Enterprise and another Sdn Bhd (that i handled) the same way. biggrin.gif

but of course, Sdn Bhd generally seem more credible.
U've your own shop? I wanna set up one too but not sure how to get the supplier. Some said go to Low yat is enough, other said find a disti and so on (some even suggest China as it is where i'll get the best deal)
irangan
post Jan 8 2007, 10:42 PM

Lost Soul
1,201 posts

QUOTE(kroegand @ Jan 8 2007, 10:07 PM)
U've your own shop? I wanna set up one too but not sure how to get the supplier. Some said go to Low yat is enough, other said find a disti and so on (some even suggest China as it is where i'll get the best deal)
if you dont even understand on how to get a supplier, my advise to you is work first and gain more experience first before venturing into your own business. Else i am quite sure that you will lose money rather earning it. Always keep this in mind, computing business is very competitive and as said by other forummer, unless you got a huge capital else dont do it.
goldfries
post Jan 10 2007, 01:54 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(kroegand @ Jan 8 2007, 10:07 PM)
company. not shop. i don't run a shop. smile.gif
X-Free!
post Jan 14 2007, 07:10 PM

577 posts

just wanna know sum info here, how do i register my home address as SOHO company n how much do it cost annually???
kroegand
post Jan 14 2007, 08:40 PM

Ding Ding Gale!!!
1,022 posts

I did register my enterprise recently under my house address. No question asked by the SSM people. Enterprise is cheaper to start cos in my case I just spend RM 75 for registration and Pesuruhjaya Sumpah but it cost me time. If u have money there lots of 'ulat' out there to help u out - with some fee of course.

Just want to know if I get my supply from oversea, does the warranty will also be covered here? Will all the warranty terms be same compared to if I buy it from distributor here rclxub.gif . Can I send the faulty products to local service centre?

0.0212sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:36 PM