Loyalty Cards Frequent Flyer and Traveler Loyalty Card, Air Miles and Hotel Discussion

Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 04:11 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 1 2017, 04:04 PM)
Maybank treat point promotion. 7420 point to get 2000 air asia big point. Worth taking up?
Isn't that promotion period over? It says from 21-28 Feb 17.
Stupidest part is that they only emailed me that promo on the 27th...

Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 04:23 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 1 2017, 04:21 PM)
Ops....ya wor. Yesterday over already. I just read it yesterday, today gone pulak.  doh.gif

Anyhow, worth to redeem such promo if it happened again?
Worth if there is a destination you want to go within Air Asia I guess?
Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 04:30 PM

4,676 posts

@dctravels

I'm still new into claiming CC points to mileage points, and i'm not a big spender though I do travel a few times a year for leisure at my own expenses.

Currently have 650k treatpoints which probably equals to 76.4k KF or 87.6k AM points.

If I'm interested in using the points for upgrading from Y to J class to Europe, what would be the most efficient strategic cost saving way to do it?
I'm pretty sure I do not have enough points for that, so i'm not in a hurry yet but will continue accumulating points for now.

Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 05:07 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 1 2017, 04:37 PM)
Ok...then i keep monitor ba.  smile.gif
You can opt for points+cash purchase.
I don't think there'll be much savings with points + cash lol.
Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 06:42 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 1 2017, 05:59 PM)
Why more Asia Miles than Krisflyer? I'm assuming these aren't Maybank Premiere TP?

Upgrading from Y requires you to buy from Y, B, H, K or M fare classes, ie. the more expensive fare classes. Just pulling numbers out of thing air, your options for KL to London might be:

a. RM3k on MH, QR etc
b. RM6-10k for an upgradeable economy fare on CX + 60k for a return J upgrade
c. 120k AM + fees for a full J award redemption

When I poked around ITA matrix, the price for a B fare class KL to London on CX is closer to RM13k which is why I almost always recommend against upgrading using miles, unless someone else is paying the for the flight ticket.

Spend more money, get more points biggrin.gif

Now if you can position yourself in Europe one way for cheap, you definitely have the option of doing a one way return in J. AM or KF.
Yes, not Maybank Premier.
lol wouldn't upgrading be more cost saving than spending more and needing a bulk of points to redeem straight a J class?
Aside from CX with their insane pricing, how about SQ and MH? Return for both can be found for around RM4k and RM3k+.
Lego Warfare
post Mar 1 2017, 07:24 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 1 2017, 07:01 PM)
Most airlines would have the same rule ie. no upgrades on the cheapest economy tickets. I know MH would state up front when a fare is not upgradeable. I haven't looked at SQ but I'm guessing they'd be the same.

So in short you'd be stuck paying expensive fares to upgrade.

Don't forget that both CX and SQ now have Premium economy (PEY) so it'll be a two step upgrade. Availability is best on MH, CX and SQ in that order.

In the end you'll have to decide whether or not it's worth it. Or you could also wait for sales and get flights on QR or EY in J for around RM6k to far flung places in Europe that nobody wants to go to, like Munich biggrin.gif
QR - Qatar, EY - Emirates?
Return J class for RM6k really? That's quite cheap, but never had good experience with Qatar airlines though. Their toilets are so damn smelly the few times I've used them. Could even smell them few rows away =.=

The SQ at RM4K and MH at RM3.5k wasn't the cheapest though. It's a tier above the economy saver promo, I assume those are upgradeable?

QUOTE(gommm @ Mar 1 2017, 07:08 PM)
I'm actually kind of curious, where does awardnexus get their data? Do they just have crawlers looking at all the different backends? I know that Expertflyer get their data legitimately...

I'm almost tempted of spending time building my own crawler to get a list of available dates on CX smile.gif
Thanks dctravels, so far my idea of a route would be something like:

CDG/FRA(or any other city in Europe)-HKG/SIN-SYD-TYO-HNL and then an open jaw to leave from JFK back to the city I departed from.

By the way, what happens if I'm a no show for the last leg of my trip?  I might decide to visit south american countries instead of going back to Europe.
One thing you might look at is booking with BA, BA's premium economy is often relatively cheap and last time I did that all premium economy fare classes (W,T,E) were upgradable with Asia miles. It's 30,000 miles to upgrade to J.

One thing to watch out for is that you cannot upgrade a mix carrier trip. So if you book something like CDG-LHR-KUL-LHR-CDG you're fine but if you have a segment going to Penang for example, then you won't be able to upgrade any of the flight since that segment would be on MH.
Wow 30k AM to upgrade to J is cheap. Is that return or just 1 way?
And how much was the premium economy return for BA, KUL -> LHR?

Lego Warfare
post Mar 2 2017, 12:16 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(gommm @ Mar 1 2017, 07:31 PM)
I've had bad experiences in Economy with QR but in J they are not bad. Service is not as good as SQ or even BA (the QR crew almost always look like they don't really want to be there) but everything else is good.

They do have sometimes very good sales. I bought my parents tickets from Europe to Japan for RM5k/ticket this January
It's return. See https://www.asiamiles.com/am/en/redeem/charts

You do need to have upgrade award availability. At the time I did that, I had set up an alert of ExpertFlyer and booked when I saw that it was available.

I paid 1020 euros  for  CDG -> KUL return in premium economy last year. Not sure about the prices ex-KUL.

It still ends up being cheap for a J seat, That said if you can grab a J seat for RM6k or 7k during a sale with QR or EY, it's a better deal. Especially since QR's J seat are better than the seats from BA (haven't tried EY but I imagine they are good).
Ooh thanks, so ExpertFlyer alerted you on seats which are available for upgrade? Is it usually easy to snag those seats once available?
And what was the total extra surcharge you had to pay for the upgrade?
I assume you will have to have AM points parked in your account first in order for a fast transaction.

SQ no longer feels worthwhile now that they removed their 15% discount for redemption...
Lego Warfare
post Mar 2 2017, 12:41 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(ksc_3688 @ Mar 2 2017, 10:53 AM)
I have the same question as well. If thats the case, i guess its worth forgoing the 15% and save on the surcharges and insurance.
Uhh if your credit card expenditure is very high then sure. But for Maybank card you'd need to spend an extra RM68K just to compensate that difference!
With Premier card probably RM30k+ extra.
Lego Warfare
post Mar 2 2017, 01:56 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Mar 2 2017, 01:53 PM)
Thanks for the head up.
It is so less convenient compare to air asia huh.

I am currently comparing to use credit card point convert to Air Asia or Malaysia Airline air miles. Need to see which is more worth.
Air Asia is more worthwhile in terms of value savings since they often have promo on points redemption and their fares are usually much cheaper than MAS. But you're comparing a budget airline to a proper one, so not a really fair comparison.

And you are limited to Air Asia network range, MAS has wider choices of destinations.

This post has been edited by Lego Warfare: Mar 2 2017, 01:57 PM
Lego Warfare
post Mar 31 2017, 11:03 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Stan81 @ Mar 31 2017, 01:50 PM)
I think this is a good problem.

For the first time, I converted Maybank TP to 1,000 AM to activate my AM account.

Instead of 4,770 TP (VI), I only got charge 1,508. No idea how to come out with 1,508.

Is it some kind of first time conversion bonus?
Wow can you find out the reason? If there's an ongoing promo I'd like to utilise all my points too.
Lego Warfare
post Oct 12 2017, 10:35 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Oct 8 2017, 11:31 AM)
now ambank got give extra 1% cash back and 30% more miles, really worth it  rclxms.gif
Is this new? didn't see anywhere mentioned 1% cash back and 30% more miles
Lego Warfare
post Oct 13 2017, 05:19 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Oct 13 2017, 04:43 PM)
I would say around a comfortable RM15 - 20k with normal spending.
You won't be able to get enough points to redeem business class return to Europe within your time frame.
I've been using my Amex M2C for the past 3 years and my points are finally starting to expire next month and I've only accumulated 810+K TP which is almost 100k miles points. And that is with average annual spending of over RM50K per year.
Lego Warfare
post Oct 17 2017, 02:08 PM

4,676 posts

Just realized I have enough TP to convert to Krisflyer for a upgrade return from Premium Eco to Business Saver to Europe/LA after 3 years of M2C expenses.
Now for another 2-3 years of TP saving to get 2 upgrade tickets lol
Lego Warfare
post Oct 17 2017, 03:40 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(BrandNewStart @ Oct 17 2017, 03:38 PM)
A nice milestone to achieve, nonetheless. Congrats
Thanks, a more worthwhile redemption than using the TP for vouchers etc.
Lego Warfare
post Oct 20 2017, 03:07 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Oct 20 2017, 02:53 PM)
anyone here uses airasia big points for flight ticket/hotel redemption? is it worth it?
I would like a comparison with enrich miles. Since the devaluation of enrich, it is not worth to redeem anymore as it seems....
Anything is better than Enrich.
Lego Warfare
post May 14 2019, 10:50 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(herc @ May 14 2019, 10:42 AM)
Lego Warfare polis tangkap there..

Yes it is, you have to fit ur legs into the hole unless you get bulkhead seat. Not only A380 but across their entire long haul J seat.
Oh wait, the seat when lay flat as bed becomes slanted slightly to make it straight to the hole. I only sat in SIA business once return to Italy 2 years ago, don't remember much anymore lol. The last business seats I took was Emirates last year which was a 2 hole setup.
Lego Warfare
post May 14 2019, 10:58 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(herc @ May 14 2019, 10:54 AM)
The hole is readily there as an ottoman, even when u rest ur leg there u need to sit in slant, no good for spine.

U need to sleep in slant if u wan ur legs go into the hole
lol you must be very tall or have long legs... i'm quite short so I didn't notice anything when just seating...
Lego Warfare
post Dec 28 2020, 11:35 PM

4,676 posts

Well my email states 15%

28 December 2020
Membership No.:
Dear Mr ,

As one of the specially selected members for this extra 15% Miles offer, your credit card points are worth so much more! Indulge throughout the holiday season and treat yourself in the new year by converting your credit card points into Asia Miles.

Starting from today until 31 January 2021, all you need to do is register and convert credit card points to Asia Miles to make the most of this extra 15% Miles offer.

Lego Warfare
post Dec 31 2020, 10:13 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(labtec @ Dec 31 2020, 10:10 AM)
wow, must be platinum membership
Nah, have literally 0 points lol. They probably offer to those who hardly use AM.

0.1010sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:52 PM