Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

widget
post Aug 28 2017, 08:17 AM

1,156 posts

I just bought the 65UE630X yesterday afternoon at quite a good price.
Delivery with wall bracket installation this coming Wednesday before the long weekend.

Will have the long holiday weekend to play around with all the setting and Android functions of this telly
widget
post Aug 28 2017, 11:32 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 28 2017, 10:50 AM)
nice!

what price u paid for it?
Rm5499 inclusive of additional 3 years extended warranty from Sharp and free delivery.
I top-up another Rm200 for wall bracket and installation
widget
post Aug 28 2017, 12:11 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 28 2017, 11:39 AM)
Great price.

That price was for 58 in 2 years ago!
I was deciding between this or the newer 60" 440 which can be had for Rm3899 also with 2+3 years warranty too, but finally decided to go for broke because size does matter tongue.gif
widget
post Aug 28 2017, 03:56 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 28 2017, 03:35 PM)

if u do a lot of playback, get a good box player, the tv will deliver wonderful clarity and colors.
Thanks for the tips.
At first I was a bit apprehensive to splurge this kind of money for not the latest model, considering this model doesn't even come with HDR, but the picture quality is more than enough to justify my selection over the Samsung/LG 6 series or the Sony 7 series which can be had for around 5-6k region
widget
post Aug 28 2017, 04:39 PM

1,156 posts

Thanks guys...
Considering my medias are the normal BluRays that I bought to play on my defunct PS3 and those BR rip movies, I doubt I will be playing HDR until few years from now.
By that time, hopefully OLED is more affordable just like the current 55" UHD TV.

OLED picture definitely looks nicer, but the price for the 65" model can get me a 75 to 80" UHD TV
widget
post Aug 29 2017, 03:48 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(yk82 @ Aug 29 2017, 02:32 PM)
Where to buy?
I bought it over the weekend at Smart Kids Asia 2017 exhibition at Mid-Valley.
The seller is Desa Home so you can give them a call if they can still offer this price
widget
post Aug 30 2017, 01:36 PM

1,156 posts

Is the USB port on the 630X can only read HDD formatted in FAT and FAT32 as stated in the manual?
Can it read exFat and NTS too?

The installer just delivered and installed the TV but only my wife and her aunt is at home.
It can read the USB file from the installer's thumb drive but can't detect my HDD
widget
post Aug 30 2017, 02:27 PM

1,156 posts

Thanks for the explanation @AVFAN

I'm still researching on a good media box for this TV, so until then, have to make do with the built-in USB playback.
Just downloaded some 40-60Gb 4K movies to play on this TV, but if the TV can't read the HDD, will have to stick to 720/1080p movies for the time being
widget
post Aug 30 2017, 03:37 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 30 2017, 03:05 PM)
what box... there r many threads, can start reading.
i can surely comment on this. biggrin.gif
Thank bro....
And that I will biggrin.gif

Anyway, will start playing around with the TV settings, Kodi and Android features during this long holiday weekend
Wish me luck thumbup.gif
widget
post Sep 6 2017, 04:39 PM

1,156 posts

I was told by the Sharp SA when I bought my 65" 2 weekends ago that the 58" have been phased out and replaced by the 60".

It's very hard to find the 58" model anymore
widget
post Sep 7 2017, 10:29 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(veron208 @ Sep 6 2017, 04:00 PM)

worth it to take 65" ? What is the international model for the UE630X ... could not find much information elsewhere.
There will be a Home Expo in Mid Valley end of this month.
Maybe you can wait and go to the show if there will be any promo for the TV.

I bought mine 2 weeks ago for Rm5.5k at an expo in MV and it came with FOC 3 years extended warranty

widget
post Oct 23 2017, 08:31 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(masterchief81 @ Oct 22 2017, 11:49 PM)
Hi I have the Sharp lc50ue630x, and I want to ask sifus that since I updated my YouTube app to the latest version, I notice I am unable to view any 60fps YouTube videos on my TV, it only shows the loading ring. Other videos can play fine. Any other users having this issue? Is that an app or TV issue? Please help.

I notice that on the old YouTube TV app, the 60fps videos does look choppy anyways. The updated app just doesn't play at all.

I'm having the same problem as yours on my 65ue630x.
Could be the YouTube app issue because the previous version YouTube can play 60pfs.

I noticed this issue maybe about 2 weeks ago, as almost all Paul Tan's and some of Bobby Ang's reviews just shows the loading ring.
Haven't done a fresh installation of youtube yet.

Pls share your findings once you managed to get it fix.
cheers,
widget
post Oct 23 2017, 11:01 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(bond @ Oct 23 2017, 12:28 PM)
I suggest you uninstall the YouTube update and everything should back to normal. I will also turned off the auto update. Hth.
I did what you suggested and Presto! It’s working fine now.
But I had to forego the Stat for Nerds option though as it’s not available in the older Youtube cry.gif
widget
post Oct 29 2017, 10:00 AM

1,156 posts

If anyone is looking to buy the 65ue630x, it’s available at Homedec expo at KL Convention Center for RM5640 inclusive of 5 years extended warranty, free wireless kb and mouse and free wall bracket. Installation of the wall bracket is quite expensive at RM250 though.
A mate of mine bought a set on Friday night.
The expo will end this evening

This post has been edited by widget: Oct 29 2017, 03:25 PM
widget
post Oct 29 2017, 03:23 PM

1,156 posts

You can use Sideload Launcher to launch those apps that you sideload the .apk into your 630x.
That way you don’t have to dive into the menu or ES explorer to launch the apps.

Th native player can detect and play my 1TB ext hdd formatted in NTFS but can’t play a 2TB formatted in exFat. The tv’s ES-explorer also can’t play this 2TB hdd but my 4K upscale Panasonic blu ray player can play this 2TB hdd.

I’ll try to get hold of HM Q5pro to play those 4K files as playing these 4K files using the tv natve player shows too much grain for my liking, unlike when playing Netflix 4K movies which look much smoother and pleasing to the eyes

widget
post Oct 30 2017, 12:29 AM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(alex_funky_dj @ Oct 29 2017, 06:01 PM)
@widget, it seems like you are the expert here. So, what is the best android version? should I keep the old (default one) or should I update to V6 (someone shared the link here.)
I’m still far from what you call expert here as I’m still learning how to fully utilise the tv which I’ve just got about 2-3 months ago.
I think @avfan has been using the tv for morr than 2 years and I always try the tips that he shares on how to get the best out of the tv.
Mine came with Android 6.01 and seems OK to me, but there are other users that can give better input considering I’m an Apple user.
widget
post Nov 3 2017, 08:40 AM

1,156 posts

My 3-month old 65ue630x came pre-installed with Android 6.01, and firmware dated 1 April 2017.
Can't comment on the diff between Android 5 and 6 as never used Android 5
widget
post Nov 15 2017, 12:39 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 4 2017, 01:00 AM)
ue630x will probably be phased out soon, new models coming.

New model with HDR.
UA6800X

4K Ultra HD - AQUOS 4K TVs come with the latest HDR standards. Coupled with SHARP’s high luminance technology, giving you a consistent life-like contrast between light and darkness.

This post has been edited by widget: Nov 15 2017, 12:41 PM
widget
post Dec 16 2017, 10:22 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(akfoo @ Dec 16 2017, 06:28 PM)
Nu Central H.Norman display set 65UE630X RM4997. Already play for 2 years..

Last one.. anyone interest?
Not really worth it IMO.
Normally on expo this model is selling for Rm5.5k inclusve of 5 years extended warranty
widget
post Dec 29 2017, 04:51 PM

1,156 posts

Logitech K400 wireless works well with this TV.
I'm using this kb when I used Kodi a lot in the beginning.
But nowadays I tend to watch 4K Netflix, youtube or downloaded medias over Kodi

0.0549sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:34 PM