Battle of the +/- rm7k TVs, + Discussion on Sharp UE630X

m a v [3] r i c k
post May 30 2016, 09:22 PM

90 posts

Hi guys,
Kinda need urgent help. I'm using 630x. Previously was using Unifi with HyppTV but just switched to Maxis Home BB.
How can I watch 8TV, NTV7 and TV3?
Tried downloading Tonton from Play Store in 630x but couldn't find it. Can't even find Google Chrome in that Play Store.
Hope sifu here can help me solve this as my parents love to watch the hokkien dramas on 8TV.

Many thanks in advance.
m a v [3] r i c k
post May 31 2016, 09:21 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 31 2016, 12:44 AM)
not a good move if parents want those channels and u gave up the hyppbox.
the tv has a good android inside but is not going to give what hypptv or astro can give.

options:

.. learn what androids do, learn kodi... can get tv3, 7, 9 (not 8 to my knowledge but some experts probably can get) but no guarantee they remain.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3943906
.. get help from some one, use hypp everywhere on the tv (again, need to know how androids work)
.. get astro iptv

the tv will show only apps it selects and approved by sharp. but u can open up the android to install yr own apps in there, incl chrome browser.
read the manual, check out all the functions incl settings.

the android inside is a good one.
Somehow I found a tutorial on Youtube but I only managed to get TV1, TV2, TV3, TVi(?) and others but not 8TV and NTV7.
Reason why I switched to Maxis is because Unifi at my home is getting slower (prolly TM is messing with it since I didn't want their 30mbps upgrade).
A little regret now...haha. Is there any ways we can install a phone version of Google Play into the 630x? I installed the Play Store apk but it says this version is not compatible with the TV. Gahhh...!!

QUOTE(OPT @ May 31 2016, 07:56 AM)
Oops..bad decision....

HyppTV for local channels, most people are not seeing them but if you need it, they're good...

Just finding an alternative faster internet connection sad.gif

m a v [3] r i c k
post May 31 2016, 11:36 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 31 2016, 11:05 AM)
The youtube there is very good.
Just search "uhd", u find dozens of nice videos in 4K - u need to set to 2160p at youtube; assuming u have good speed.
Search for skynews - this UK news station comes on live in HD.
Not many live TV stations on Youtube, I find.

The playstore there is customized to allow only certain apps and versions.

Any apk will work on the TV android after u allowed access for "user installed apps" in settings.

Chrome browser... just google on pc, get the apk and install it with es file explorer (this one, u can get at TV playstore).

Some knowledge about androids is required to do the above and more.
Thanks. Will try again cos I managed to use Chrome thru Kodi but cannot see Chrome itself on the list of installed Apps in the oem interface.

m a v [3] r i c k
post May 31 2016, 11:36 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(benangmerah @ May 31 2016, 11:21 AM)
hmm...mine also same situation with you...then i try this https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=80123284

walaweyyyy!..settled thumbup.gif
Any idea if it will work with Sharp 630x? tongue.gif

0.0524sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:17 PM