Technical [WTA] XBOX360 placing location., non-overheat/non-damage/safe location

TSTim
post Dec 11 2006, 02:49 AM, updated 19y ago

318 posts

Hi everyone, just got my XBOX360 last 2 week, and lately I heard alot of overheating and 3ROD issues, really scares me. So was hoping to discuss where is the best location to place the Xbox360 in order to minimize the risk.

Since I am sharing my PC's LCD monitor and speaker with my Xbox360 so I had to place it on the same table and because that this table of mine isn't that big, thus my Xbox360 is currently located exactly in the middle of my speaker and PC in a vertical position.

So far no sign of too hot yet as I a using a fan blowing it.

But is it wise to place my Xbox360 directly next to a speaker on side and a PC on the other side?

I am afraid that the magnetic from the speaker or static from the PC might damage the Xbox360.

Been going through the entire manual, and there isn't anything mention about not placing it next to a speaker or any other electronic device.

Please advice me. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
munky
post Dec 11 2006, 03:04 AM

1,971 posts

Im placing mine next to the speaker and tv. No problem whatsoever

And im placing it vertically
6GDominator
post Dec 11 2006, 04:50 AM

ThE NeW SpAm KiNg~.~
3,407 posts

QUOTE(Tim @ Dec 11 2006, 02:49 AM)
Hi everyone, just got my XBOX360 last 2 week, and lately I heard alot of overheating and 3ROD issues, really scares me. So was hoping to discuss where is the best location to place the Xbox360 in order to minimize the risk.

Since I am sharing my PC's LCD monitor and speaker with my Xbox360 so I had to place it on the same table and because that this table of mine isn't that big, thus my Xbox360 is currently located exactly in the middle of my speaker and PC in a vertical position.

So far no sign of too hot yet as I a using a fan blowing it.
But is it wise to place my Xbox360 directly next to a speaker on side and a PC on the other side?

I am afraid that the magnetic from the speaker or static from the PC might damage the Xbox360.

Been going through the entire manual, and there isn't anything mention about not placing it next to a speaker or any other electronic device.

Please advice me. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i don think there is anything scare to put beside your computer or speaker lah. nothing will damage it one.
DjiNn
post Dec 11 2006, 04:59 AM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(6GDominator @ Dec 11 2006, 04:50 AM)
i don think there is anything scare to put beside your computer or speaker lah. nothing will damage it one.
just don't put to near which contains magnet~ like for example Sub-Woofer.

allthough there is no major damage.. but I heard that any magnets which stays to near with any hdd will case the hdd to died..

silencer
post Dec 11 2006, 05:28 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Dec 11 2006, 04:59 AM)

allthough there is no major damage.. but I heard that any magnets which stays to near with any hdd will case the hdd to died..
To be safe....depending on the type of your speaker....make sure the 360 is not too closed with your speaker too..normally material for a good speaker have high quantity of magnet too..just my 2cent..as 1 am no expert...
acougan
post Dec 11 2006, 11:27 AM

590 posts

there was a case, where some dude place his 360 on top of a subwoofer. *OUCH* then some neogaf posters accused him as an anti-xbox fanatix who purposely spoil his machine to bash MS. LOL

lesson 2blearned. vibration & rumble on the controller - good
vibration & rumble on the console - early grave

stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 11:31 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Dec 11 2006, 04:59 AM)

Hmmm, my PS3 really next to my subs.....should i move it?

QUOTE(acougan @ Dec 11 2006, 11:27 AM)
there was a case, where some dude place his 360 on top of a subwoofer. *OUCH* then some neogaf posters accused him as an anti-xbox fanatix who purposely spoil his machine to bash MS. LOL

lesson 2blearned. vibration & rumble on the controller - good
vibration & rumble on the console - early grave
The "winecooler" incident, had everybody laughing at his sorry ass for months to come. This dude had the gall to blame MS for shoddy QC when he had the brain, or lackthereof, of putting his ON TOP of his winecooler/sub. Classic case of stupid Redneck.

To the threadstarter, i place mine closely bunches together, next to a satellite speaker, infront of the TV, and between another satelite centre speaker. It has yet to fail me yet this sturdy baby of mine. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Dec 11 2006, 11:32 AM
silencer
post Dec 11 2006, 11:37 AM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Dec 11 2006, 11:31 AM)
Hmmm, my PS3 really next to my subs.....should i move it?
The "winecooler" incident, had everybody laughing at his sorry ass for months to come. This dude had the gall to blame MS for shoddy QC when he had the brain, or lackthereof, of putting his ON TOP of his winecooler/sub. Classic case of stupid Redneck.

To the threadstarter, i place mine closely bunches together, next to a satellite speaker, infront of the TV, and between another satelite centre speaker. It has yet to fail me yet this sturdy baby of mine. biggrin.gif
I guess satellite speaker should be ok...but if it is a mid size or tower size speaker, it contains high quantity of magnet....
Evirober
post Dec 11 2006, 12:17 PM

636 posts

hmmmm I placed mine in a big shelf horizontal position. Wonder is that okay as I fear putting it up vertical position if a bumb here and there might make it tumble.
Reix
post Dec 11 2006, 07:45 PM

468 posts

I too, place my xbox360 between satelite and center speaker next to the TV

I have attached the photo

Mr. Alby
post Dec 11 2006, 07:55 PM

128 posts

i put mine on a piece of glass....well...the glass is ontop the entertainment table cabinet.....i put mine horizontally...
stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 07:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Dec 11 2006, 12:17 PM)
hmmmm I placed mine in a big shelf horizontal position. Wonder is that okay as I fear putting it up vertical position if a bumb here and there might make it tumble.
Wont tumble wun lah, dun worry. The shape of it keeps it sturdy.

QUOTE(Reix @ Dec 11 2006, 07:45 PM)
I too, place my xbox360 between satelite and center speaker next to the TV

I have attached the photo
Yup, just like mine, except mine is horizontal.

QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Dec 11 2006, 07:55 PM)
i put mine on a piece of glass....well...the glass is ontop the entertainment table cabinet.....i put mine horizontally...
Same here.
prazole
post Dec 11 2006, 09:26 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

i always bring my xbox to the hall.. then bring back into my room then sometimes to my friends room.. and sometimes i bring back kampung...
i put in almost all position and in all sorts of area..
touch wood but up to now still no problem..

juz make sure at the back got room for ventilation also the power brick..
other than that should be alright
stringfellow
post Dec 11 2006, 10:05 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Aku tak berani nak bawak sana sini bro......takut...something might trigger the 3ROD
ah_chak
post Dec 12 2006, 12:07 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

my xbox360 is on top of my Z-5300's subwoofer for a few months already.. so.. no worries mate! smile.gif and the brick is on top of my table.. so far so good..
scpt
post Dec 12 2006, 12:45 AM

Androidian
1,239 posts

why teh heck u guys put ur xbox360 on ur subwoofer?!!
woofers don't have magnetic shielding but satelite speakers have
ah_chak
post Dec 12 2006, 10:03 AM

Vroom..
2,341 posts

mine has been like that since day 1 wor.. now that you've mentioned it.. i think i better shift it to my table sweat.gif
Hamster X
post Dec 22 2006, 12:14 PM

315 posts

Isn't it safer to move your Xbox 360 to a horizontal position to allow more air flow?(take out CD inside while doing this)
stringfellow
post Dec 22 2006, 12:17 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Even if you didnt know about the magnetic interference on your subs, wouldnt the rumbling of the subs against your 360 bothers you? Shake rattle and roll everything inside the 360, and get 3ROD for free! shakehead.gif
marauderz
post Dec 22 2006, 12:20 PM

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

Speakers have strong magnetic draw, BUT.. their magnetic fields dont extend out too far. Example, it's not like you can hold a pair of scissors a cm away from your sub and you can feel the speaker's magnet pulling it. You should keep it a bit away from speakers because if someone knocks the speaker and it comes into close enough contact with the hard disk. THEN.. it's bye bye data!

Of course.. if your speaker falls on your 360 you have other thigns to worry about lar tongue.gif

0.0196sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:44 AM