Fundsupermart.com v13, Merry X'mas and Happy 牛(bull!) Year

river.sand
post Dec 27 2015, 09:45 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Dec 27 2015, 03:28 PM)
why forego RHB Islamic BF ? it has been doing extremely well and consistently for past 5 years
Oh... I didn't really study this fund, but other fella point out its negative sides.
river.sand
post Dec 28 2015, 08:58 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Dec 28 2015, 12:21 AM)
I am now at Genting Highlands. I just came out from the casino but I didn't spend a single cent. The minimum bet for Pontoon or Blackjack is RM100. 20 years ago the minimum bet was RM25 or sometimes even RM10.

I did some mental calculation. The odds are better if I put RM10k into TA Global Technology Fund or AmPrecious Metals. In the worst case scenario, I may lose 20% of my investment in a few months. But in the best case scenario, I may earn 10% return in a few months. So better for me to buy unit trusts than to gamble at the casino. smile.gif
You go to casino for entertainment. You don't go there with expectation to win.

I used to play slot machine with expectation to lose, and I set a maximum amount of money I would spend, e.g. RM50. Call this entertainment fee. Once this amount was used up I would stop.

Sorry sign0006.gif

This post has been edited by river.sand: Dec 28 2015, 09:00 AM
river.sand
post Dec 28 2015, 08:28 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Dec 28 2015, 09:50 AM)
I was also there last night...with a  wub.gif

I also no enter casino innocent.gif
You didn't bring you vietmoi to the casino doh.gif
She would curse you laugh.gif
river.sand
post Dec 30 2015, 02:08 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 30 2015, 02:04 PM)
Valuecap may make last min appearance tmrw  brows.gif
Perhaps an astrologer have an answer
You forgot someone here got ball?
river.sand
post Dec 30 2015, 02:11 PM

3,806 posts

Just created a Morningstar account. Still learning to use it.
How to get the correlation table? I click the 'X-ray this Portfolio', but don't see it.
Do we need to enter purchase price, purchase date etc.?
river.sand
post Dec 31 2015, 08:16 PM

3,806 posts

Except Japan, the Year of Monkey doesn't start tomorrow wor blink.gif

BTW, in the new year...

STAR WARS EPISODE IV wink.gif

This post has been edited by river.sand: Dec 31 2015, 08:17 PM

river.sand
post Jan 2 2016, 02:54 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(lukenn @ Jan 2 2016, 04:05 AM)
[attachmentid=5676819]
Hi Luke,
Did you get this from Morningstar? How do you set the 10-year investment horizon and capital invested?
river.sand
post Jan 2 2016, 04:18 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 2 2016, 03:49 PM)
I got this from FSM CS....
"Yes, you will enjoy promotional sales charge of 0.5% by visiting to our event on 16 January 2015."

the word "by visiting".....??
FSM wants us to believe that if we don't attend the seminar, we won't get the promotional rate.
But in reality, their system is probably not smart enough to know whether we are there.

river.sand
post Jan 3 2016, 08:45 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 3 2016, 04:08 PM)
Need to be aggressive..  Still many people out there preger to feal with agents rather than diy..
QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Jan 3 2016, 04:51 PM)
Some do not have knowledge, not computer savy to buy online. So need to relying on agents. Public mutual doing well in rural area.
That's why Public Mutual is not on Gunfsupermart. It foesn't want to alienate the all powergul agents tongue.gif
river.sand
post Jan 4 2016, 09:46 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 3 2016, 09:34 PM)
yalo...  cry.gif

What to do now?!!
Consider switching to Eastspring Asia ex Japan Target Return Fund.

I talked to an EI agent. He told me that this fund was created after the current fund manager joined the fund house. The other fund is older and could have been sidelined by now.
river.sand
post Jan 4 2016, 09:43 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(ohcipala @ Jan 4 2016, 09:29 PM)
Sad thing is not many EM funds on fsm. cry.gif
Asia ex Japan is also emerging market mah... Just that lacking a few economies like Brazil.
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 01:59 AM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 4 2016, 11:36 PM)
You may want to dump some amount at some point to preserve your ammo. Of course you don't wait 10 years to come back. Some would suggest holding on to it and average down but you'll ran out of ammo half way through unless you are heavy on fixed income as reserve ammo. In 2008, my PM UTC advised me to switch all my profits to MM after my profit was down by 20%. Switched back to equity in 2009 for the ride up. It is really up to you on what course of action to take due to several schools of though on this subject.

As for me, I regularly take profits as you never know when a black swan event will come. Downside of doing this is I will not fully benefit from compounding effect.
The question is if we take profit, where to invest next?

Let's say we sell equity fund A and buy equity fund B. When bear market comes, both may down equally.

Of course if we anticipate bear market we can switch to money market fund. But did you, or your UTC, anticipate financial storm in 2008?
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 01:23 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 5 2016, 11:50 AM)
Take profit when more that 6%.
Switch to bond fund or CMF. Some time is good to keep cash.

Prior to 2008, I did not monitor my investment. My UTC alerted me to this during our monthly meet-up. I made about 50% profit over the next 2 years.
But why didn't your UTC alert you before you lost 20% profit? The face is even he/she failed to foresee market crash. That's what I mean.

If you can't foresee market crash, you would just sell one equity fund and buy another.

Look at penjaga van's post above regarding 3% signal.
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 02:48 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 5 2016, 02:38 PM)
Off topic,..but needed answer fast.
a friend of my wife receive a notice from the bank saying that the cheque that she banked in is "Post dated"
1) what will happens to the cheque?
2) will she need to get the issuer to issue another new cheque
3) how much does she has to pay for banking in a posted cheque?
4) how much does the issuer has to pay because of that?

sorry for off topic subject.
What is the date of the check?
No expert, but I guess the bank will cash the check when the date comes, at no additional charge.
river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 07:23 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Jan 5 2016, 03:25 PM)
That was because she is my newly minted UTC. My old UTC totally ignored me. When I approached her, she was surprised that I have not switch. They have alerted all their customers to switch already. Those were the days when I was totally noob about investment and depended on UTC.
Don't know what fund you took profit of, but I am using Affin Hwang Select Asia (ex Japan) Quantum Fund to explain my point. See charts below...

In July 2008, just before the collapse of Lehman Brothers, the reference value was 116;
In Jan 2011, the reference value was 207.

You see, if I had this fund before 2008, and didn't take profit, I still got pretty decent return.

Of course, if I had sold in April or May 2008, and bought back in early 2009, my return would be greater. But alas, I could not foresee the imminent market crash.

And, if I took profit in Jan 2011, I would have missed the growth until 2015.

river.sand
post Jan 5 2016, 10:06 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Jan 5 2016, 09:28 PM)
link
Can percaya?
ANALysts make tons of predictions, in the hope that a few will turn out right.

river.sand
post Jan 6 2016, 06:45 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Jan 6 2016, 04:09 PM)
Quote from CS for the talk
Parking got flat rate?
river.sand
post Jan 7 2016, 08:06 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 7 2016, 06:03 PM)
Starting Jan 9, major investors are permitted to sell no more than 1% of a company’s shares on the open market in three months, the China Securities Regulatory Commission said in a statement on Thursday.
After 3 months what will happen? Either China extends the ban, or another round of bloodbath.
river.sand
post Jan 9 2016, 01:54 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 9 2016, 01:32 PM)
any good info at the seminar to share tongue.gif
Share today, next week no fun lah biggrin.gif
river.sand
post Jan 9 2016, 08:57 PM

3,806 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 9 2016, 05:49 PM)
Those who want to go for China fund. H shares PE is at around 6. Can consider Manulife China Equity Fund.

H shares is at nearing its historical low PE.
A bit confused with A shares & H shares. Wanna ask...

According to Ponzi 2.0 fund fact sheet, 24.85% of the asset is invested in Hong Kong, and 5.22% in China.

So the China ones are all A shares? H shares are included in HK?

Attached image(s)

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:59 AM