Games OVERWATCH, Heroes never die!

MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 4 2016, 04:48 PM

354 posts

Wheeeee, finally got my hands on Overwatch. D.Va is so cute <3.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 5 2016, 04:47 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jun 5 2016, 09:58 AM)
haha yea, she is my main tank character now.

nowadays i play these only:

1- widowmaker - if team got not much def or sniper
2- turretman (forgot his name) - if on defensive side
3- d.va - if team nobody wanna play tank
4- lucio - if team no healer
but nowadays except for turretman, i somehow sux most of the time. more n more ppl can find my widowmaker. sad.gif
and there are more n more good hanzos and genjis, making it very hard to snipe
Sadly, I kinda suck with her since my accuracy isn't good. I heard she's getting some buffs. Does the Overwatch LYN group has a whatsapp group to play?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 12:56 AM

354 posts

Is anyone willing to play in a group of 5 to win? I'm desperately trying to get my D.Va win rates up. Hit 68% win rate and dropped to 59% Q_Q.

MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 11:56 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(vNirvana @ Jun 15 2016, 11:28 AM)
hmm... i just realize we can check the stat for each hero.... blush.gif
There's a site that you can keep track of your personal scores.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 01:54 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Anonymous26 @ Jun 15 2016, 01:34 PM)
Haha, bro no offense here, just my very own opinion, i think W/L is not that important in this game, even you managed to get 100% win rate, it still doesn't mean you are very good with the character or the game, keep in mind, this game is heavily teamwork based game, use different character and role depend to the situation and bring as much impact as u can to the field is the main criteria of being a good player and also even u manage to find a group of 5 from here, there are still no guarantee your winning rate of d.va will go up, so bro, enjoy the game and the experience, not the number of W/L rate 😁
No offense too, I understand win rates are not a good measurement of how good a player one is. It's just that I personally like seeing that 68% win rate that I had D.Va, that aside, I hope you don't think that I'm not having fun with the game. There are lots of fun times but I always play to win at some matches, it's all in the package of a good fun. Each to his own, mate.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 03:58 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 15 2016, 02:07 PM)
Sorry for not being online lately. Having few big project lately and been on site traveling.  thumbsup.gif

Agree on the win/lose ratio. It was once important for me at certain stage to see how many win/lose or hours I clocked with a character. But ultimately I believe I was losing many fun when I try to go full force on one character. The opportunity cost was I did not experience other character like Roadhog and I loved him when I tried it.

I know its hard to let go of the ratio number, but my advice is, there will be about 1-2 ppl that might check your profile in a year. Often, zero viewers. I once spend hours creating stats for online scores like some trophies. Till I realize those are just playing for bragging rights. You can wait till they buff D.va then game for higher winning ratio. But that means no d.va gameplay will they un-nerf/buff it? For me, I just want to jump in, get enough ulti, slam my mecha into the heart of enemies killing at least 3-5 ppl. I am game for the character design and playstyle. Ultimately, its your game, your decision laugh.gif
Definitely man. I'd still play the rest, but D.Va is literally my bae heh. Just seeing how I managed to reach at 68% is a pretty awesome feeling since I put a lot of effort in improving my playstyle. My win rates dropped because I was constantly paired with teammates who lacked the basics. I was looking around my teammates and I noticed some players just sit back at the base and do nothing. Just my dumb luck I suppose. I've seen Genjis and Pharahs who have never use their ultimates at all throughout the match.

It's hard to have fun when it's not a good match, ie: teammates sitting at the base to sabotage you intentionally. Or when a teammate makes the same mistake thrice to ruin the fun in everyone. I always think if one is having fun and the rest of the 5 members aren't, it's not fun. That guy behind the mic can laugh till he wheezes and if he's ruining the fun for everyone else, its pretty inconsiderate. Learn to play with the majority's definition of fun is what I'm saying, some players just like making mistakes and laughing their ass off, and others enjoy a genuine display of skills and playing to win.

Fun can also be learning to accept your defeat graciously and still working towards being a competent player for the next match, while also being making goofy mistakes in a match, like accidentally falling to your death while darting around.

Going to game balance, it seems like a majority of the console complaints now is that Torbjorns are an absolute frustration to play. I agree, capping at 70% win rate, that's pretty high for a character. There's no fun in playing against 6 Torbjorns in a Defense map unfortunately. Am fine without a D.Va buff actually, but planning on moving to Mei once I get the 68% win rate back. Mei is adorable, haha.

MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 04:07 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 15 2016, 04:02 PM)
I can do mercy focus support you while you tank for the team, while nailing some kills. Roadhog and Reinhardt works great with a mercy or any support class also. As long you got party working with you, got better chance la:D
Yeah man. Playing with a team is always fun. I pity Mercy at higher level plays, Tracers and Reapers are everywhere to rape her lol.gif I play my D.Va as a flanker and backline disruptor actually, so long as there's a team focusing on the objective and distracting the team, I don't mind working solo Sadly, I don't think I'll be playing tonight. Maybe tomorrow? Since I've got to be in PJ for some errands.

Are you laying your hands off D.Va temporarily until the buffs roll in?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 15 2016, 05:10 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 15 2016, 04:15 PM)
I'm used to underdog character. I always choose those character that is hard to win. If you are gunning for constant 20+ kills streak per match or POTM, Macree or hanzo is a good choice. I'm a mechanical fan sucker. You give me a mechanical robot and I'm already a happy man. Lol.. But you seem to.know the key strategy for dva already. Backline distrupt plus point blank range. Fun to do the ikuyo-kamikaze-self destruct-banzai! In a king of the hill match. Tomorrow perhaps then. blush.gif
D.Va doesn't feel like an underdog to me actually, just gotta know your stuffs with her and she's always intensive yet ever so fun to play. Boosters + Self-Destruct always feels nice biggrin.gif. If any, D.Va is out of favor among FoTM players because she got pushed out of meta. If you like underdog, you could try Mei. Whilst widely touted as Overwatch's most annoying character after Tracer, Bastion and Junkrat, many people have complained she is in dire need of buff to do good. But know your stuffs well with her and you could easily play the underdog who gets PotG most of the time too... Mei is a case of feast or famine, some people have called for Mei nerfs.

You could alternatively try the Support groups, I know Zenyatta and Symmetra are two super underdogs because Symmetra is only effective for early/mid phases of the siege/defense. But I've seen some seriously good Symmetra. You can tell if that Symmetra is good by the way they set up their sentries and teleporter machine.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 16 2016, 11:01 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Jun 16 2016, 10:00 AM)
nice playing with u yesterday bro. thanks for the invite. was quite lonely playing alone. ahhaha. but i could see huge difference in coordination without the mic. so my widow ended up kena whack by reapers =_=
im a widow player and i seriously think it's tough to hv play of the match using her. tongue.gif
d.va, to me, is not underdog. if play well in flanking, she is damn good. but pure tank, she is not suitable. her hp n armor too low to be pure tank.
Yeah D.Va works best as a flanker/backline disruption. She was designed to be an offensive tank whose primary way of tanking damage is to zip past enemy defenses and take down threatening heroes like Defense or Support. I don't think her hp and armor is low, but rather her Defense Matrix is a situationally defensive tool which is what makes her less of a traditional tank. But that's how Blizzard has to balance a hero that is designed around being offensive and tanky, to keep her in check, they have to tone down on her defensive tools so that her offensive aspect stands out.

Ironically, D.Va has the highest armor value of all tanks.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 18 2016, 08:09 PM

354 posts

In case y'all don't know, Overwatch has taken over the throne as Korea's most played online game, followed by League. First major shift in 4 years, not surprising since League has not been living up to its reputation lately.

This post has been edited by MerryGoRound^2: Jun 18 2016, 08:15 PM
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 20 2016, 11:03 AM

354 posts

Thanks poodlepaddly and the rest for last night biggrin.gif. FYI, that Mercy who joined us earlier on teamed up with me while the group was full, I'll invite him next time.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 20 2016, 11:27 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 20 2016, 11:22 AM)
Thanks too. Fun casual gameplay. We had a lot of close moments defending the truck but we pushed through. (0.59 seconds left @.@!)

Allright. Always good to have a good mercy around.
Definitely, that's what I call good game, two teams showing a true display of skills with really intense moments. Looking forward to more sessions with you and co.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 21 2016, 04:41 PM

354 posts

Poodlepaddly are y'all playing tonight?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 22 2016, 10:25 PM

354 posts

Poodlepaddly any parties going on tonight? Don't see y'all on.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 22 2016, 11:45 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 22 2016, 11:01 PM)
Hi bro. I just exited the game at 10pm just now. Need to prepare some work related stuff for tomorrow. But the gang should still be playing. Have you added some of the players to your list? Lots of funny gameplay happening lately. Hope to coop with you again soon.
Haha, no probs. Seems like I'm always late for parties, apologies for that. Half of my spare time is spent with my boyfriend, and its usually on days where working classes like you get to sit down and enjoy a solid 3-4 hours of gameplay. Outside of that is where I spend time on Overwatch, gymming and attending job interviews. Going back to your reply, feel free to add my PSN ID, since you have my number, perhaps you could drop me a message if you're comfortable, especially whenever you're going on to play. Although I suppose my skills with OW is limited to D.Va only, but if you need someone to help you take down pesky turrets or flank a tank, perhaps give them a taste of disruption, I'm all up for that.

As far group member goes, I believe I've only been formally introduced to you. I haven't added the rest, let's wait till we all play together, perhaps then we can all get acquainted instead of adding each other randomly.
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 23 2016, 11:22 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 23 2016, 07:48 AM)
I see. Okay no problem mate. And you are good with D.va.  thumbsup.gif  Hook us up whenever you see us online. I usually don't prefix which party to join. Janji after work see any party just go in cheong and have a good battle devil.gif
MerryGoRound^2laugh.gif
Will definitely be going on tonight, what time will you guys be playing?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 23 2016, 12:22 PM

354 posts

Yo just wondering, anyone here played Battleborn on PS4? Is it worth getting?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 23 2016, 02:09 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 23 2016, 01:42 PM)
I played it during Beta time for 3 days. Its quite cool considering there are creeps that you rush together with, and for every level you can select your preferred skills direction. But not really my cup of tea. I tried but I didn't make me wanna play more than few hours.

But one man's poison might be another's person's meat. Give it a try if you are keen.
Ah alright. Btw, what time are you going on tonight? Friday's a definite for me, I'll be playing till 12 so I'm looking forward to that. Not sure about tonight though, I might join in till 10. What's your usual online timing?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 24 2016, 01:55 PM

354 posts

Speaking of which, has the Widowmaker/McCree nerf patch come to console already? Or was that nerf specifically meant to target PC users only? Then again, I doubt so, McCree is terrorizing both platforms, so his nerfs must be across the platforms.

Widowmaker on console is less so of a headache.

Anyway Poodlepaddly, can I get your ET for gaming tonight? I missed out last night again cause my boy called me up to fetch him back home after work, missed out the session. Tonight is a definite happening though. Think you can drop me a message when you're about to go on?
MerryGoRound^2
post Jun 24 2016, 02:04 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Poodlepaddly @ Jun 24 2016, 02:00 PM)
Should be around standard time 8pm. Though most of the players here buka puasa that time so not much ppl on. 

Not sure if I have your contacts. I think its in my psn message. Will see if I can.
No problem, I'll pm it over to you.

0.0282sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:02 PM