Credit Cards Credit Card v19, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

iori57
post Jul 3 2016, 10:45 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Not sure where to post this as there is no Android app section in lowyat forum... so trying my luck here sad.gif I have written an Android app especially for Malaysian usage so thought people here might be interested.

With all the great rebate cards available in Malaysia, I think most forumer in lowyat.net would have at least a few cards in hand to enjoy all the points and cash rebates in different categories smile.gif

I am one of them but I find that it is very hard to keep track of due dates and transactions.

I needed an app to:
- Keep track of due dates to settle debts before due date, so not to kena any interest
- Keep track of transactions so that I know which card had already maxed out cash rebate (usually rm50 per statement/month cycle)
- One glance to see card benefits and terms/conditions, whether it is 5% on dining on weekend or 2% on weekday or selected days..

Searched on app store and couldn't find one that does what I need, especially for Malaysian usage (I think other countries don't have as much cash rebates cards as us, but not sure)

Only paid version available for now. I'm giving out promo codes for early adopters so do PM me to request for one, in exchange I just ask for your feedback and any feature requests XD

Here is the Google Play link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...itcardinstantly

Thanks for listening smile.gif
iori57
post Jul 4 2016, 06:58 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 4 2016, 12:01 PM)
Looks good but I'm already tracking using manual Excel. I will prefer if it doesn't require me to put in my CC no. and expiry date. hmm.gif
Though I don't see CVV column but I'm still paranoid to store this data in 3rd party's server since I have a lot of CC. laugh.gif
Yes like fuzzy said, CC no. and CVV is not required, also the app works offline and doesn't store any of your information on servers. It doesn't have internet permission so don't need to worry smile.gif

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jul 4 2016, 03:24 PM)
So far it is not asking for CC num, just card name and expiry date, statement date and due date.. this is presumably for the reminder ...
Yes, those are needed for reminder and auto statement/due/cut off date calculations. Do note that banks might change the the dates when they fall on non working day so better settle the debts at least few days before the actual due date smile.gif

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 4 2016, 03:54 PM)
Oh is it? Then it is my mistake, I just the video uploaded in Google Play Store. laugh.gif
Good to know that. I will probably PM him for the promo code. RM 9.99. Gulps. sweat.gif
RM9.99 is can't even buy one starbucks coffee sad.gif but people go every day

iori57
post Jul 4 2016, 08:18 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 4 2016, 07:00 PM)
laugh.gif Don't la like this I did spend RM 20 for Titanium Backup app. laugh.gif
Now I get how it works already, will try to check it out. biggrin.gif
No worries, I understand it is tough for our country people when our exchange rate is so bad XD.
iori57
post Jul 29 2016, 08:41 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

If you are user of multiple cards with cashbacks on diff categories, my app (Android only) has recently been updated and currently able to help you with the below:

1) Record transactions by categories - petrol, dining, movies, groceries, online, etc.
2) If you are using cashback cards with condition such as need to swipe 10 times or RM500 to be entitled, this app can help you to easily keep track of how much you have swiped so far and how much is the amount.
3) Keep track of your outstanding balance and how much credit limit left for your cards. Cross check your statement balance with the official statement to check if everything is ok.
4) Due date reminders - to remind you to pay off your card before the due date to enjoy interest fee period
5) Annual fee waive reminder - to remind you to call your bank to waive that nasty annual fee, preferably a month before it is being charged to get easy waiver. If you only try to waive it after they have charged your card, it is much harder because now they have the upper hand.
6) Card summary page that shows which card has the longest grace period (interest free period before you need to settle the bill) so that you can plan your spending and pay off.
7) Constantly improving the app with your feedbacks!

Me myself has 12 cards to manage and not before long I notice that I need an app to help me.. that's why I wrote this app. I think it is very suitable for Malaysians as we have so many cards with different conditions for cashbacks.

It is a paid app. If you wish to support my work and buy me a coffee you can opt to purchase directly from Google Play (link below). Lots of time has been spent to make this the best credit card manager for Android and will continue to improve it smile.gif

Google Play Link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...itcardinstantly

Screenshots:
Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by iori57: Aug 17 2016, 11:29 AM
iori57
post Sep 7 2016, 04:27 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

Credit card manager for Android now has a free version if anyone's interested.

Google Play Link: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...editcardmanager
iori57
post Sep 9 2016, 07:28 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(dannychen @ Sep 8 2016, 10:47 PM)
as far as I know, high CL with low utilization is a plus point.
I think this should be the case too
iori57
post Sep 17 2016, 01:46 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(rem @ Sep 16 2016, 11:10 PM)
Hey, what credit cards you guys recommended for paying Google Adwords? To get cash back or travel points. Alliance okay or not?
I pay using CIMB cashback, but I didn't go to check whether it actually gives the 5% online cashback coz the amount too low haha.
iori57
post Oct 2 2016, 09:14 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(bennyt @ Oct 1 2016, 09:11 PM)
Does anyone already get PinNPay Card from OCBC? As I do not receive any update from them.
By the way, I can't find OCBC Thread to post (As all are Closed)
I have received it automatically via post without doing anything on my side. Haven't activate pin too.
iori57
post Oct 29 2016, 09:57 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Oct 28 2016, 10:56 PM)
suggest you to use your ATM card to withdraw instead of credit card
you may enable overseas withdrawal for ATM through online banking for some banks, eg. MBB
I tried redrawing overseas using ATM card once, and from that time onwards I swear I will never do that again. The exchange rate I got is much much higher compare with changing money in any money changer in malaysia, including airport money changers. That time I was in Japan and ran out of money because didn't plan properly, so I used my Maybank ATM card.

Now whenever I travel i make sure to plan properly and always bring some extra cash, so even if I didn't use it, coming back Malaysia and changing it back I only lose a bit in the exchange rate compare to the expensive rate using the ATM card.

Not sure if other banks or other countries are like this though, this is only my one time experience so do share your your story if you have good rate from using ATM card overseas.

iori57
post Oct 29 2016, 10:23 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 29 2016, 10:14 AM)
When you have no choice between ATM and credit card, go for ATM withdrawal. At least it has no daily interest.
True also. For future travels make sure you don't run into this situation smile.gif
iori57
post Oct 31 2016, 09:07 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Oct 31 2016, 06:59 PM)
Can only use EPF only when there are contributions. Retirees only have two options, that is pledge FD, or The bank pre- approved . Furthermore there is an age limit for credit card applicant. For Maybank it is 65 years old. Above this age, automatically reject, even for supp card.
First time hear this too, pity cannot enjoy all the benefits after 65 years old sad.gif
iori57
post Nov 1 2016, 07:11 AM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Oct 31 2016, 11:03 PM)
Wait a sec. The age limit is for applying credit card. If you are already a card member the bank won't cancel your card when you reach the age of 65.
When the card expired will you still be able to renew the card?
iori57
post Nov 4 2016, 02:40 PM

私は..思い出はならないさ
1,174 posts

QUOTE(okyjace @ Nov 4 2016, 11:49 AM)
I travel internationally often and always use Maybank current account debit ATM card to withdraw. To minimise the transaction costs, my advise is (1) withdraw the maximum the ATM will allow, (2) use ATM machines at a bank branch instead of small standalone ATM kiosks such as those found outside 7-11, and (3) avoid making withdrawal when it is 11PM to 6AM Malaysian - be mindful of timezones - withdrawal rejected due to system down at night I think, and (4) do not use credit card as it is considered cash advance thus will incur high fees.

Reason for not using money changer is to save the hassle, and also better safety from not having to carry lots of cash around, especially during longer trips.
Thanks for sharing this info. I did use the ATM kiosks in 7-11 smile.gif

0.0685sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:41 PM