Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.11, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

coolstore
post Jan 13 2016, 12:24 PM

1,524 posts

after 6 mths, how's the fd market become?

better go for 4.3 for 12mths or 4.5 for 6 mths then with uncertainty of 2nd half of 2016?
coolstore
post Jan 17 2016, 10:44 PM

1,524 posts

now only know bsn got 4.5% for 12 mths, already put into hlb 6 mths last week...
coolstore
post Jan 25 2016, 09:33 PM

1,524 posts

fd rate may drop in 2nd half, better lock in the 4.5% 12 mth
coolstore
post Jan 26 2016, 11:39 AM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 26 2016, 09:10 AM)
When economy goods, as inflation will spike, and loan demand is high ---> Interest rate higher, just like what is happening in US, interest rate raised.
When economy no good, inflation died down, loan demand is low --> central bank often resort to lower interest rate to boost consumption to revive the economy.

If Malaysia GDP growth drops below 4%, the likelyhood of interest rate cut is there.

The recent of higher FD promo has a lot to do deposit growth slower than loan pace, as recently financial market situation has led to plenty of funds outflowing since second half of 2015, but the outflow seems slowing down a lot lately.

While if loan demand slow down, there is no urgency for banks to chase after deposit already.
That's why we see banks starting offering higher rate for shorter tenure one.
thanks for the details.

coupled with recent drop of SRR, means bankers now got more fund liquidity for lending out loan, right?

and shady economy growth prospect is really dampen ppl desires to spend more, seen every where now. even some long time operating phone kiosk in crowded shopping mall close down out of sudden recently ...

better lock in a high interest rate fd for 12 mths. i wouldn't have put fd in hlb for 6 mth if knew bsn got 12mth 4.5%...
coolstore
post Feb 3 2016, 11:49 PM

1,524 posts

the hlb i went to do fd in January no gift no ang pow pack. maybe february now only got.

today went to bsn do a 12mth 4.5%, only know that bsn branch do not issue banker cheque, only hq bsn got this facitility, hard to believe.... when fd mature issue cash to u... i think i would use ibg transfer
coolstore
post Feb 3 2016, 11:50 PM

1,524 posts

btw, cimb fresh fund 12 mths is 4.3% now

and sbd mentioned affin 12 mths 4.5% but after checking only 3.7% (quoted by affin jln ipoh KL)

This post has been edited by coolstore: Feb 4 2016, 12:05 AM
coolstore
post Feb 4 2016, 04:42 PM

1,524 posts

btw, adding info to bsn conventional fd 12mth 4.5%: no need opening saving acc. interest credit to principal upon maturity.

bad thing is ya, they kinda slow...

good thing is nearby, walking, no need driving & illegal parking (lately i see many JPJ/dbkl traffic officers very rajin 'writing notes' near bank area, shopping complex area, eatery area, no play play...)

This post has been edited by coolstore: Feb 4 2016, 04:45 PM
coolstore
post Feb 4 2016, 11:26 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 4 2016, 10:10 PM)
I just placed Affin FD 4.5% for 12 months yesterday, please see picture:

[attachmentid=5969802]
According to BR staff, if the amount is big like RM 200K and above, then Yes, BR will issue a banker's check..
fresh fund requirement?
coolstore
post Feb 5 2016, 08:18 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(intrepidity85 @ Feb 5 2016, 05:15 PM)
hmm i guess must be aim by someone else.. i always take precautions step.. all my notes are 100 .. so not so obvious lo.

yes nowadays most of banks will ask u fill form if u deposit >50k over counter

if u deposit via ATM, then wont have such issue

may i know how much interest u got last time for 5 yrs?
what form is that?
coolstore
post Feb 5 2016, 08:19 PM

1,524 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Feb 5 2016, 11:46 AM)
Not much lah... Mine is 5 years FD..
I will open the warp and show each item inside hamper later..
I have Affin saving account.
But when I placed my 4.5% FD, Affin did not mention about saving account.

I will ask Affin bank and let you know next week.

I think Affin Bank is checking my source of income, I will need to go back there to
fill out a form next week.

But my FD amount is only RM 66,000.00, this amount also need to check
source of income meh..?

Happy Chinese New Year to you and everybody in advance too..  thumbup.gif
Recently I see so many leng lui here, so I have to show up..  lust.gif
affin bank checking source of income? what form is that?

0.0445sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:39 PM