LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V5

Axile
post Dec 3 2015, 11:19 PM

85 posts

Anyone hear something like "takkk" sound for 1~1.5 sec when you begin driving? I noticed this only today when I go in my car, start the engine, on the A/C and few seconds later, this sounds kick in for 2 - 3 times. After that no more... Just wondering is this the engine fan sound?
Axile
post Dec 4 2015, 03:01 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Dec 4 2015, 02:57 PM)
Yup...below 500Km is still considered as problem from factory...but if you noticed it during collection or after collecting your car, they will ask u drive at least 200-300KM because sometimes is tyres having issues... so after about 300KM, still problem u need to bring back before 500KM.

If bring back during first service, depends on SC...usually they will say user problem d...  sweat.gif
I thought i compile all problems and share it with them all at once tomorrow morning. Should as TS to highlight this in main page for future new owners to bring the car to SC before 500KM to prevent from additional charges. Just hope they won't charge me for factory fault i.e: glove box not fitted properly and seat belt cover is loose. Also, hope they can solve the minor rattling sound. Good thing I didn't experience HU volume fluctuation like other owners (touchwood).
Axile
post Dec 6 2015, 01:10 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Dec 6 2015, 12:17 AM)
dear Axile,

why proton charge you? can give us more detail.

I have not being charge for warranty claim so far  whistling.gif
Not me, but another owner who mentioned that there will be charges for job alignment if it's highlighted after 500km.
Axile
post Dec 6 2015, 01:16 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(saufeq100 @ Dec 5 2015, 11:57 PM)
Mine too. Dunno which one right way
Same here. Even Manual book say that is the way too. I asked my friend who's a technician he claimed push start button is recommended to just brake > push start. No need to do the 3-step way (only applies to manual).
Axile
post Dec 6 2015, 01:23 AM

85 posts

After first service, more rattling sound encountered. Dashboard sound getting more frequent and new noise kick in. Anyone experienced sound from steering wheel when you turn to left / right? Its a very soft like pressing on mechanical pencil sound.. Occurred after my first service. Hmmmm..
Axile
post Dec 7 2015, 10:33 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 6 2015, 06:38 PM)
hope it's a one-time problem..my car just 2 days old  sweat.gif
I have this issue when I collect my car. But after a week, the noise is gone. I think the rubber too new. Haha
Axile
post Dec 8 2015, 12:03 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Axile @ Dec 6 2015, 01:23 AM)
After first service, more rattling sound encountered. Dashboard sound getting more frequent and new noise kick in. Anyone experienced sound from steering wheel when you turn to left / right? Its a very soft like pressing on mechanical pencil sound.. Occurred after my first service. Hmmmm..
Bumping again. It's like a 'click' sound when turning the steering.

Can hear the click quite obvious in parking lot (quiet environment) when turning left and right to find parking. Anyone have this problem?
Axile
post Dec 8 2015, 01:54 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Dec 8 2015, 12:28 PM)
LOL, at least got me thinking for a min or 2 that they will improve  sweat.gif
wonder proton know abt these rattling, electronic problems, wiper hose cabut,
rubber flew away that many ppl complain abt and think of somethingy to fix
it at the process of production instead of let SC do the wipe butt procedure?
or... these only 100 cases happend in millions of produced so insignificant to
make them change the sOP? hmm.gif  or simply they just dun care, let SC do the job.
I think they did improve from our comments. When I collected my car on early November this year, the car only got minor rattling sound and glove box not perfectly fitted. Other than that, the 2x rubber on top is super glued, front and rear washer is functioning well.
Axile
post Dec 9 2015, 08:57 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(Musikl @ Dec 8 2015, 07:54 PM)
I picked up my car from a 10k service and other warranty rectifying works.
Total cost: 256 on fully synthetic.
1. Rattling issue on dashboard solved. No more rattle after picking up the car.
2. Told them to check the glovebox because it wasn't flush with the body. They changed it and somehow made it worst lol. Told me to come again when they have A replacement kit on the metal thing holding the glovebox hook.
3. Front passenger door had a loud different sound when closing. They did something now it's ok. Same as drivers door.
Had some issues after picking up car.
1. Next service reminder they didn't reset. Gave them the car again. Waited 15mins. They came back to me saying they couldn't reset it because the reminder hasn't shown the notice warning yet. And they couldn't pass that to have it reset. So I have to go to a sc again when the notice warming pops up.
2. Radio somehow couldn't pick any stations, on all frequencies. Went back to the SC again after leaving it 10 mins. They took the car in. 10 mins or so. Came back with the car and now the radio is fully functional. Because of entenna lose. Now sure how that happened.
Anyway.. They made my glovebox looks worst now lol. Other than that. Happy with the solved rattling issues.. But I'll give it another few days..
May I know which SC you went? Since they are able to solve rattling sound. Might bring my car for an inspection during weekdays.
Axile
post Dec 9 2015, 11:36 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 9 2015, 07:15 PM)
Guys, which is the best practice before turning off the engine?

a) turn your fan knob into 0, let the a/c stay at any current position (a/c lights on)

b) turn both your fan and a/c knob into 0 (a/c off automatically when its knob turned into 0)

c) keep the fans knob stays at any current position, turn the a/c to 0

d) push the a/c button too switch it off, but keep both knob stay at any current position

e) keep both at any current position
(A) Are you the one who commented on FB? Same Q. Haha
Axile
post Dec 10 2015, 08:14 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(adijb @ Dec 9 2015, 11:36 PM)
Just came back from a family holiday trip. Stayed at Felda Residence Hot-spring in Sungkai, Perak. Went to Lumut, Penang Island and Cameron Highlands. Both 1.6 cvt and 1.3 cvt performed admirably.

Was initially worried about the aggressive engine braking. However, found that at certain speeds / gradient, the engine braking does not happen. I was going down hill somewhere near Ipoh  / before/after the tunnel where the sign says "Please test your brake now" and the car was going at over 120km/h without pressing the pedal and no engine braking occurred. Quite a number of similar situation caused the engine braking to not occur. And no issue with this. Simply press brake and the car is under control.

Going uphill, both cars have enough power in it to climb up without much effort. Went up Cameron via Tapah and no issue going up the winding road, though two of my children had to depart with their breakfast / lunch when going up and down again..  sweat.gif

In terms of fc, the 1.3 cvt performed better then the 1.6 cvt at similar speed, when going to Penang Island and back. However, when going up to cameron highlands, the fc was similar.

Found quite a number of Iriz when going to Penang and back though most did not drive fast except for 1 or 2 that over took us.

Next is a short holiday to Mersing this christmas  biggrin.gif
Hope you enjoyed your holiday and have a great Christmas getaway! smile.gif
Axile
post Dec 10 2015, 09:52 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(viperlsm @ Dec 10 2015, 09:28 AM)
Old unker here officially joins the Iriz gang, with a blue 1.3 manual exec. A great ride, in my opinion, at the price range. And i owe it to everyone here because my decision was greatly influenced by u all.. And oso, found a great sales advisor in this forum, Vincent. Booked on 23rd Nov and got it yesterday, much earlier than the promised time..
Congratulations uncle and welcome! Glad you enjoy your ride there.
Axile
post Dec 10 2015, 04:42 PM

85 posts

Tomorrow COE close (Selangor public holiday). Any idea where is another good alternative Proton Edar SC in Kuala Lumpur that I can send in my car for inspection?
Axile
post Dec 11 2015, 06:08 PM

85 posts

This noon went to minum kopi with my SA even I had gotten my car for about a month. He just want to give me after sales service and follow up. He is very transparent and will tell you the truth. I voiced my rattling issue as well as steering 'click' sound so he reckon me to do it at COE as they are well equipped and familiar with this for Iriz case. After chit chat below are se hot topic he told me.

1) 3 new cars coming out in 2016 (Saga, Iriz sedan and Perdana)
2) All 3 launching between Q1 and Q2.
3) Iriz no more 1.6 variant as it will be replaced with 1.3 + turbo.
4) same engine for all new models but got new chasis (im not sure how true is this point but he says no new engine for Iriz as claimed by articles)

Axile
post Dec 15 2015, 05:13 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rainbow6 @ Dec 15 2015, 04:45 PM)
Just bought 1.3 MT Exec for my son, car already at sales center but no time to pick up yet. Maybe thursday only pickup.
Only got time to read all the happenings here. Hopefully not much of a problem. 1st service is 1000km or 500km? I will surprise him by picking him up at his university in Perak.

All in took about 1 week after loan approval. Got 3 digit old number somebody didn't pay at JPJ, so JPJ sell cheap cheap la. WB XXX E.

Now where can I put DRL on 1.3 without voiding warranty? Also want to replace the rim and/or tyres without voiding warranty.

BTW, what is the best petrol to use on Iriz for best FC?
What a modern and lovely mum. Haha. First service is 1,000KM.

As for other questions, wait for other people to get back to you. smile.gif

Add on: So far Shell & Petron give me the best mileage.

This post has been edited by Axile: Dec 15 2015, 05:15 PM
Axile
post Dec 16 2015, 08:25 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(ngveantat @ Dec 15 2015, 10:17 PM)
Hi i would like to know if the Solid White Proton Iriz will pick up a lot of dirt and turn yellowish after a while. Im getting an Iriz soon and White, Black and Blue are on my list of "Whoa that looks cool" list. White being on the very top of the list, naturally. But i'm a bit of a slacker and im just worried the white will pick up more dirt than a rat and it'll turn yellowish like i've seen some white cars, especially MyVi

Any and all comments, advice and opinions are greatly appreciated smile.gif
Do wax and apply sealant 3 -4 times a year. Heard this can slow down the yellowish gradually. Perhaps > 7~10 years.
Axile
post Dec 17 2015, 04:16 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(rainbow6 @ Dec 17 2015, 04:09 PM)
Finally collected Iriz 1.3 MT Exec for my son. Did not manage to drive yet cause the mother want to test first. Son coming back next week only. Anyway will do the driving later to fill up petrol and drive around to test on the alignment. SA put RM15 only in there. Now blink blink already.
Congrats! Hope all in fine and your son will enjoy driving it.
Axile
post Dec 20 2015, 11:00 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(Dk669 @ Dec 20 2015, 10:02 PM)
Mine! My steering keep squeaking whenever i make any tirn in any direction
Senaxis SC can't solve my issue. Going to COE this Wed to fix this. Update you the issue if it can be rectified.
Axile
post Dec 22 2015, 09:25 AM

85 posts

QUOTE(sienAa @ Dec 21 2015, 08:44 PM)
Just found out that the guidelines on the screenfor the reverse camera is not accurate. Anyone facing the same issue? Can it be fix?
I did not face this issue hmm.gif

Mind taking a pic of the display from the inside vs actual range / accuracy from the outside?
Axile
post Jan 5 2016, 08:41 AM

85 posts

Anyone who is driving 1.6 Premium variant experience stiffness in suspension / chasis? I used to drive Saga FLX and feel the suspension is not that stiff. Meaning I can feel more vibration from uneven road from my seat in Iriz 1.6 Premium compared to Saga FLX. Not sure if this is due to leather seat? Assuming fabric seat absorb the vibration in uneven roads.

Need professional advise here.

Thanks! smile.gif

0.2946sec    1.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:19 PM